Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Hefty Hefty D-Shape Touch-Lid 13.8-Gallon Trash Can, Tan

Hefty Hefty D-Shape Touch-Lid 13.8-Gallon Trash Can, Tan

The Hefty D-Shape Touch-Lid 13.8-Gallon Semi-Round Trash Can features a touch-button that opens a spring-loaded lid for convenience. Simply press the lid down to close. This Hefty trash can in tan is ideal for kitchens, cafeterias, offices or any location where extra capacity for trash is needed. This touch-lid trash can is designed with a semi-round shape to help save space.
Average Customer Rating:
4.346 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(26 Reviews) 22
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
18
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
3
1 star
1
Customer Recommendation81%21 out of 26reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
6 Questions | 19 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
18
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
3
1 star
1
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Hefty D-Shape Touch-Lid 13.8-Gallon Trash Can, Tan

It is a nice addition to my kitchen.

03/31/2014
By ,
Tinley Park, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I needed a new garbage can. I wanted a step-on garbage can, but I can't seem to find those in a bisque/tan color. This is a good substitute. I hope the mechanism doesn't brake after repeated uses.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Hefty D-Shape Touch-Lid 13.8-Gallon Trash Can, Tan

Lid latch does not hold.

01/10/2014
By ,
Cherry Hill NJ
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I have had this trash can for less then 4 months. I love the color and shape and was very pleased until the lid latch stopped holding. The latch seems to have loosened or moved over time and does not catch the lid any longer. I have cats so I need to have a trash can that closes securely. It is not worth that price if it stops working so quickly.
Donna R.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Troy, MI
Wastebasket inquiry
Posted 01/16/2014
If you are having issues with your Hefty wastebasket, please call customer service at 1-800-689-4467 so we can resolve any problems or concerns you may have.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 3 for Hefty D-Shape Touch-Lid 13.8-Gallon Trash Can, Tan

Love this.

02/12/2014
By ,
Winter Springs,Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It took a lot of years,to find a kitchen waste basket. Most of them were ovepriced. Remember, people, its only for trash. Press a lid and it opens up. How very,very smart.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Hefty D-Shape Touch-Lid 13.8-Gallon Trash Can, Tan

Perfect tan trash can!

06/06/2011
By ,
Athens, AL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This trash can does exactly what it is suppose to do! It looks great and I love how it has a smooth surface and is super easy to clean! The smooth surface is shiny so it looks really good! Great buy! Tan trash cans aren't that easily found so I wouldn't pass this one up!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Hefty D-Shape Touch-Lid 13.8-Gallon Trash Can, Tan

Spacesaver

11/23/2010
By ,
Carthage, MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am pleased with this trash can. I love the D-Shape design. It is space saving since it fits against the wall. The smooth texture makes it very easy to clean.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Hefty D-Shape Touch-Lid 13.8-Gallon Trash Can, Tan

Good Function, Ugly Color

01/24/2012
By ,
Midwest
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Having studied Fashion Merchandising, I know the almond or beige color is a thing from the '70's. So why Hefty would make such a hideous colored KITCHEN trash can in 2012 is beyond me. It was either this or black. Black? In the kitchen? I'm not a bachelor into the industrial look. What is wrong with white? All my kitchen appliances are white. Get it together Hefty!! I do like this can because it is actually an entire 13 gallons, same as the trash bags that are placed into it. I like being able to completely use the whole trash bag, as its not so wasteful. The fact that the back of the can has a flat back is another plus, as it takes up less room and stays flush against the wall. The lid does stick somewhat, and needs to be closed firmly. Other than that and the color, I recommend it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Hefty D-Shape Touch-Lid 13.8-Gallon Trash Can, Tan

Perfect!

01/21/2014
By ,
Oklahoma
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This trash can holds a great amount of trash! We had a silver circular one before that was not working for us. So the shape of this is perfect, the color goes great with our kitchen! No complaints here!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Hefty D-Shape Touch-Lid 13.8-Gallon Trash Can, Tan

Great trash can for tight spaces

09/27/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exactly what I was looking for. Love the D-Shape for the small space I have, yet it still fits a lot of trash in it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Hefty D-Shape Touch-Lid 13.8-Gallon Trash Can, Tan
02/28/2012
By ,
New Jersey
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this item because the design affords me extra room in my kitchen. It holds just as much as my older square can. Works well if you have limited space.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Hefty D-Shape Touch-Lid 13.8-Gallon Trash Can, Tan

Need for Under Counter Over Hang Trash Can

11/20/2010
By ,
Stockbridge, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just exactly what I needed for my new camper. The fit is perfect for a rounded counter overhang at the end of my Kitchen Counter. I had to trim a very small part of the closing tab to get the spring loaded top to open easily; but, this is a top notch trash receptacle for the Glad 13 Gallon can liner.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Hefty D-Shape Touch-Lid 13.8-Gallon Trash Can, Tan

Poor lid construction

02/03/2012
By ,
Fort Leonard Wood, MO
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The lid doesn't stay closed on this can. The color is more of a dark cream than tan. The shape and size are really nice. It fit under the overhang of my counter, and the lid still opened all the way. If the lid doesn't stay closed though, it's not worth anything to me.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Hefty D-Shape Touch-Lid 13.8-Gallon Trash Can, Tan

I love it!

03/06/2011
By ,
Iowa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This trash can is just what I wanted. Nice looking, roomy interior, neutral color, and inexpensive.
I did have to trim a very thin sliver off of the catch with an utility knife, because the catch didn't always release. Now it releases fine.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Hefty D-Shape Touch-Lid 13.8-Gallon Trash Can, Tan

Great if you have pets that like to trash pick!

10/02/2013
By ,
Cherry Hill NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I haven't had this long but so far I really like it. It is easy to open and close and stays closed so my cats can't get in. It is good looking and fits nicely against the wall in my kitchen.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Hefty D-Shape Touch-Lid 13.8-Gallon Trash Can, Tan

lid release sticks

12/05/2011
By ,
Norwalk, Ct
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I read reviews and they were right on the money when they said the lid release sticks - I may have to give it a little fix. However, this was exactly what I was looking for in color and shape.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Hefty D-Shape Touch-Lid 13.8-Gallon Trash Can, Tan

Does it's job

02/03/2011
By ,
Kennewick, WA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I like it's shape - it fits flush to the wall & is big enough for the kitchen trash. I also like the neutral color.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Hefty D-Shape Touch-Lid 13.8-Gallon Trash Can, Tan
12/01/2012
By ,
indiana
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Hard to find a beige trash can and I am happy with this one. When I first got it out of the box I was about to return it because I couldn't get the lid to stay on. It kept popping off. I don't know if the box had something heavy stacked on it previously and this warped the can, but after it was out of the box for a while the lid fit fine and stays on now. Other reviews mention having to shave a little plastic off the catch to release the lid, I think it is fine. I do have to press harder than my last trash can, but my last one would pop open every time you bumped the can. This one is much better, plus my younger kids can't get it open as easily and make a mess. Wish they would have carried it in stores so I didn't have to pay shipping!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Hefty D-Shape Touch-Lid 13.8-Gallon Trash Can, Tan

Perfect in every way

09/03/2012
By ,
Lauderhill
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This container is the perfect size for a tall hefty kitchen garbage bag. What I like most about it is, the bags don't slip off and wind up inside the container - and the bag is so-o-o easy to pull out of the container when it is full which is a drastic change from the sterling silver round garbage can I quickly threw away once I saw the performance of this one. It is super easy to open the lid, even with things in your hands, and the click close works like a charm. Can you tell I am completely satisfied with this purchase? Don't hesitate, it is so worth the $15.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Hefty D-Shape Touch-Lid 13.8-Gallon Trash Can, Tan

Flimsy and too easy for my cat to get into.

07/11/2013
By ,
Fort Campbell
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The lid of this trash can doesn't have a deep enough lip to keep it securely on the can. I've resorted to using adhesive tape to keep the lid on; not only because my cat knocks it off with his racoon-y nose, but because I've knocked the lid off a couple times myself just by bumping it as I passed by it.
I'm already looking for a replacement. Maybe something nicer in stainless steel that will last the rest of my natural life! lol
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Hefty D-Shape Touch-Lid 13.8-Gallon Trash Can, Tan

The best

07/12/2013
By ,
Kingston, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The best trash can ever, holds more than any can we have ever had don't know why but it does. My husband says everyday how much he likes this can. I am so glad we found it. Highly recommend especially for small areas.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Hefty D-Shape Touch-Lid 13.8-Gallon Trash Can, Tan

Perfect for my kitchen !

07/16/2013
By ,
Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This trash can was exactly what I was looking for - color and size.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 23 total reviews
1 2 Next