Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Hefty Hefty Slim-Fit, Step-On 10.8-Gallon Trash Can, Black

Hefty Hefty Slim-Fit, Step-On 10.8-Gallon Trash Can, Black

Collecting trash and emptying it is easy with the Hefty Slim Trash Can. This Hefty wastebasket has a capacity to hold 10.8 gallons of waste equivalent to 41 liters. You can easily accommodate up to 13-gallon trash bags within the can for a convenient one-time waste disposal. It has a step-on foot pedal to raise lid for a hands-free usage. The space-saving design of the 10.8-Gallon trash can is particularly useful in small spaces and it can easily fit in nooks and corners. It is especially comfortable for use in kitchen and has a huge capacity that is concealed by the appearance outside. The elegant look of the black trash can perfectly blends anywhere you place it. It will well for gatherings, parties and daily use.
Average Customer Rating:
4.283 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(53 Reviews) 40
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
31
4 stars
14
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
3
Customer Recommendation91%48 out of 53reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
4 Questions | 21 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
31
4 stars
14
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
3
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Hefty Slim-Fit, Step-On 10.8-Gallon Trash Can, Black

Attractive garbage cans

03/25/2012
By ,
Nashville, TN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought two of these, one for recycling and one for garbage. I figured two slim fit cans next to each other would look nice together and not take up too much room. I ordered these and was able to pick them up later that day. I think because they were in stock in the store, they had been out as display models and they don't come in a box or anything so they were kind of scratched up already when I got them. I was a little disappointed, but it's only a garbage can, so it's not that big a deal. I think they will look better when I get black garbage bags as well. Only problem I've seen with durability is sometimes when I step on it, one of side of the mechanism that lifts the door comes off it's little hinge, but it's probably me not stepping on it flatly. I always try to include pictures in my reviews because I think they are really helpful.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Hefty Slim-Fit, Step-On 10.8-Gallon Trash Can, Black

Great trash (diaper) can, holds up!

02/22/2012
By ,
Andersen AFB
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I use this trash can as a diaper pail for my daughters cloth diapers. Because of its use it gets opened MANY times a day, every day, and after over a year it still looks and works like new! It also works well for keeping smell in! If this can ever gives out I'll replace it with the same one no hesitations! I like that its slim and fits perfectly next to the changing table as well.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Hefty Slim-Fit, Step-On 10.8-Gallon Trash Can, Black

Best Value in all the Town

03/07/2012
By ,
Hyde Park, UT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I looked all over this valley, from the hardware and other stores and found this one to be the best value for the money. I was initially wanting one that was wide in front but found that this one goes great with my narrow recycling one. I even made a "trash sign" for it showing a universal figure throwing trash into it. My daughter loves it so much she suggested it needed some teeth, so I laminated some paper teeth and taped them to the upper lid. All it needs are some large eyes and it will be a great surprise for the grandkids!!!!! I really like it being black as the only one that came close was white in color and they get dirty awful fast!
The biggest reason for its purchase was the foot control as a lot of the lids get dirty from opening and throwing trash into them! The foot pedal is tucked away so it won't trip anyone as it is in line with the rest of the front of the can. It is small, but what else are you going to get from such a narrow can. Best of all you can fit it in narrow places, like between cupboards and the fridge!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Hefty Slim-Fit, Step-On 10.8-Gallon Trash Can, Black

Great product

02/13/2011
By ,
Houston, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my third trash can like this one. The last one lasted 6 years before it quit working when you stepped on the lid release. I have looked for this for the last year in local stores. Every place I looked including Lowe's, Target, and Walmart had the trash cans but the lids were nowhere to be found. The simple solution was to merely order it from Walmart. I should have done it a year ago when the old one broke. This is a great trash can when a small size is required due to lack of space. I bought one like this for my daughter after she married 10 years ago, and hers is still functioning even with 2 small children. I ordered black this time, but white would have worked better because the liners I use are white.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Hefty Slim-Fit, Step-On 10.8-Gallon Trash Can, Black

Perfect Size Garbage Can

09/07/2010
By ,
Bella Vista, AR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this garbage can for my kitchen because I needed one that was large enough to hold a 13 gallon garbage bag and was also thin enough not to take up much floor space. The black color also blends in nicely with my appliances.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Hefty Slim-Fit, Step-On 10.8-Gallon Trash Can, Black

Great fit

08/01/2010
By ,
Trevose,Pa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We needed 2 trashcans, 1 for recycle. These trim cans work great and need less space.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Hefty Slim-Fit, Step-On 10.8-Gallon Trash Can, Black

Should have bought this a LONG time ago.

10/05/2010
By ,
CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have to have the slim trash cans due to our small house. I have the white one for regualr trash and used to have the Rubbermaid dark greyish/brownish one for recycles. The plastic material used for the Rubbermaid is very flimsy and breaks easily. You can't push the recyclables down to make more room without breaking the part that lifts the lid (the part uner the can). I got tired of buying a new can every year and finally found the black one by Hefty which is the exact same thing as my white one which is nice. I couldn't switch and use the white one for recycle, and the other one for trash - that would have confused my whole family. I have only had the black one for a week or two now but I figure it will last long like my white one. It helps having a white can for trash and a black one for recycle so my 4 year old can throw away his trash in the right can. I also like that you don't have to touch the can to lift the lid when you're cooking and have dirty hands, or when your hands are full. I just wish they sold these in all the stores so I didn't have to wait so long to get it. I had it shipped site to store which didn't take too long but nothing ever happens fast enough for me. When I want it - I want it now.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Hefty Slim-Fit, Step-On 10.8-Gallon Trash Can, Black
03/09/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Lid doesn't always go up and down right but all in all I prefer theses to the white front openers I use to have.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Hefty Slim-Fit, Step-On 10.8-Gallon Trash Can, Black

well worth its price

01/09/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this one after my touchless trashcan broke after 3 years. It is slim and looks very nice. It fits well with the trash bags purchased from Costco. After three weeks of using it in the kitchen, I would definitely recommend it to everybody.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Hefty Slim-Fit, Step-On 10.8-Gallon Trash Can, Black

A great garbage can

01/24/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this garbage can because I really hate touching the lid of the garbage can (which we need with our puppy). This step on can is great. It is nice and tall so I can actually fill up my 13 gallon bags now and the step really works well. It really feels like a sturdy can and for the price I was very impressed. My only issue is that it is little awkward to put on the bags because it is connected on the back, but overall it works great.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Hefty Slim-Fit, Step-On 10.8-Gallon Trash Can, Black
07/05/2011
By ,
Memphis, Tn
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
When I received the product it didn't appear to be new, don't know if it was because of the shipping or maybe just storage in the warehouse. Perfect for the tight space it was purchased for. We had a hard time fastening the lid to the can and if it closes completely and you press on the foot peg the lid will come off. Overall, I love it for what I am using it for and the space that it's in.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Hefty Slim-Fit, Step-On 10.8-Gallon Trash Can, Black

arrived beat up

02/27/2011
By ,
South East Pa.
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I opened the box and the lid on this plastic trash can was ALL scratched up. I thought I recieved the one Wal Mart used in their warehouse! When you put a plastic liner in it the step-on opener doesn't work very well, many times you have to push the lid down after you take your foot off. It was intended for the laundry room but it got demoted to my shed.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Hefty Slim-Fit, Step-On 10.8-Gallon Trash Can, Black

Good space saver

11/08/2010
By ,
Mesa, AZ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I'm very happy with the trash cans design and function. The surface of the lids for the trash cans in the store were extremely scratched which is why I order online. Unfortunately, its lid also was quite scratched up when it came. But in order to have an inexpensive trash can that holds a good amount yet takes up little space, I kept it anyway.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Hefty Slim-Fit, Step-On 10.8-Gallon Trash Can, Black

good trash cans

10/02/2010
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
i ordered 2 of these trash cans. packages arrived poorly packaged! on top of the boxes fulling apart, they have got sticky white paper stickers all over them. it made those brand new black trash cans looked like it was dug up from the dump! it took me forever to get some of them off and the rest are still on it!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Hefty Slim-Fit, Step-On 10.8-Gallon Trash Can, Black

Super Value

06/06/2011
By ,
Las Vegas, NV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What can I say? I love my trash can! I replaced a metal step-on trash can that cost 5X as much but broke right away. This little gem is a perfect fit in my small kitchen. The black Hefty 13 gal. trash bags (sold separately) fit so perfect and are so easy to remove. Great purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Hefty Slim-Fit, Step-On 10.8-Gallon Trash Can, Black

Nice Trash Can, but poorly shipped

01/03/2011
By ,
Miami, FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a nice, space-saving trash can. Unfortunately, it was so poorly packaged that the lid arrived warped and doesnt close evenly. The lid lever is also twisted, and the gloss outer shell was scuffed. If not for it being so poorly packaged, it'd be a great trash can.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Hefty Slim-Fit, Step-On 10.8-Gallon Trash Can, Black

Great Product Great Delivery!

01/27/2011
By ,
Atlanta. Ga
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This trash can is really cute and fits perfect in any kitchen it is a really nice design and it shipped perfect! I was excited when it came today I will recommened any one looking for a nice trash can for a good price to buy this!
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Hefty Slim-Fit, Step-On 10.8-Gallon Trash Can, Black

I like them!!!

12/08/2010
By ,
Coachella Valley
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got 2 of them in black. One for trash the other for recycling. They are the perfect size for my cupboard and look nice.
Also shipped super fast!! I got them within the week I ordered them.
Thank you!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Hefty Slim-Fit, Step-On 10.8-Gallon Trash Can, Black

Not a good trash can

10/01/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The bag covers the thing that pushes the lid up. Very poor design. Not recommended. Replaced with a simple human can that is much better and about 10 dollars more. Well worth it.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Hefty Slim-Fit, Step-On 10.8-Gallon Trash Can, Black

perfect fit

12/22/2010
By ,
Streamwood, Il
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The slim design is great. The top is just the right size to stretch a 13 gal trash bag around for a good tight fit to hold the bag in place without falling off.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 41 total reviews
1 2 3 Next