Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Dr. Scholl's Dr. Scholl's - Men's Escape Freestyle Sneakers, Wide Width

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Dr. Scholl's Dr. Scholl's - Men's Escape Freestyle Sneakers, Wide Width

These Dr. Scholl's Men's Escape Freestyle Sneakers feature an Air-Pillo gel insole system with gel domes that absorb shock and provide cushioning comfort. They will keep your feet feeling wonderful all day long. These men's wide width sneakers are crafted from leather with a stability bridge for extra support.
Average Customer Rating:
4.012 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(83 Reviews) 60
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
50
4 stars
13
3 stars
4
2 stars
3
1 star
13
Customer Recommendation80%66 out of 83reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
50
4 stars
13
3 stars
4
2 stars
3
1 star
13
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Dr. Scholl's - Men's Escape Freestyle Sneakers, Wide Width

Garbage, don't last, uncomfortable

08/22/2013
By ,
NJ
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I got these for work 5-7hrs a day on concrete floors with some outdoor duty, delivery stops. Out of the box they were painful, the design of the insert and probably the center 'energy disc' didn't feel good. Unfortunately I pushed my last cheap Starter shoes to the limit and needed new ones and this brand was the only one in my size that looked good. So I put in 2 pairs of shoe inserts and they were then fine, I should have known better.
After a month they started falling apart, pieces coming unglued, etc. It wasn't too much longer after that when they started letting water in through the energy disc.
I wish I could just blame this brand/model but this is the way $25 shoes are made, they don't even last a year anymore. It wasn't more than 3 or 4 years ago $30 shoes lasted a year easily now I'm lucky to get 6 months out of them, these have been the worse yet falling apart so quickly.
I just hope spending more money means a shoe that doesn't have super thin soles glued on with cheap glue.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Overall Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Fit Accuracy
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 2 for Dr. Scholl's - Men's Escape Freestyle Sneakers, Wide Width

Waste Of Money

08/04/2010
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bought the shoes because of Dr. scholl's name but the quality is very poor. not much comfortable as i thought of. Started to rip apart in less than a month, stiches from the side started opening. do not recommend this shoes for anybody.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Overall Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Fit Accuracy
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Styling
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+28points
Review 3 for Dr. Scholl's - Men's Escape Freestyle Sneakers, Wide Width

Good shoes, good price

01/28/2011
By ,
Central PA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My teenager has been wearing this type of Dr. Scholl's shoes in both black and in white for years, which makes it really easy to shop for him. He finds them comfortable, they're decent looking, and the price is good. The only issue has been that each pair wears out at the inside of the back, around the padding at the top - above the heel. I'm sure it could be fixed or we could glue on a pad, but we just get a new pair every 6 months or so.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Fit Accuracy
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+8points
Review 4 for Dr. Scholl's - Men's Escape Freestyle Sneakers, Wide Width

Money not well spent

11/08/2012
By ,
chicago,il
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I wish I had read the reviews here first :(..but we just happen to be shopping and my Stubby (Stud Husband) mentioned She needed work shoes..So we figured good price and Dr scholls..can't go wrong right..pfft wrong they started ripping from the sides she calls me from work because she works outside and was like honey my feet are cold..:(...yep they started opening on the sides.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Overall Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Fit Accuracy
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Styling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+9points
Review 5 for Dr. Scholl's - Men's Escape Freestyle Sneakers, Wide Width

Don't waste your money...these are junk

12/04/2010
By ,
Southern MD
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought these shoes for walking on concrete floors indoors (warehouse job). I work a part time job (4 to 5 hours daily) and in less than a week, the soles started coming unglued. I fixed them several times with Shoe Goo, but the final straw was at 4 weeks, the front toe stitching started coming undone on the left shoe. Total junk don't waste your money on these shoes. Quality is sub-standard.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Overall Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Fit Accuracy
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Styling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+10points
Review 6 for Dr. Scholl's - Men's Escape Freestyle Sneakers, Wide Width

Best sneaker to escape discomfort priced right

10/24/2013
By ,
Easton, MA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
These sneakers meet or exceed the comfort and fit of many sneakers that sell for $100.00 or more. I have purchased these sneakers for more than 3 years and will continue to buy them so long as they are available. You will be amazed how Dr Scholl's Escape Freestyle sneakers are the most affordable quality purchase of footwear that provide both comfort and style that you can make.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fit Accuracy
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Review 7 for Dr. Scholl's - Men's Escape Freestyle Sneakers, Wide Width

On a cloud

09/23/2013
By ,
Idaho
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
For the money, these shoes are the greatest value I have ever found. The comfort is beyond expectations and you can get wide widths. These are not 150 dollar athletic shoes, but for everyday wear and confort they can't be beat.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fit Accuracy
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 8 for Dr. Scholl's - Men's Escape Freestyle Sneakers, Wide Width

Great sneakers for a great price!

01/23/2014
By ,
Roseville, MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent fit, and the wide width makes doing my daily hourly treadmill painless on the feet. The last pair I bought lasted me over 4 years with very little "wear and tear" on the sneakers or my feet.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Fit Accuracy
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 9 for Dr. Scholl's - Men's Escape Freestyle Sneakers, Wide Width

do not waste your money if for work

12/02/2012
By ,
east coast
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I had been buying the Tread Safe for a few yrs, working at walmart, I do a lot of walking and bending. They have stopped carrying the Tred Safe in my size and that shoe did withstand for many months the wear and tear I put on them. So my wife got me these.
•Leather and man-made upper
yes, and very handsome for a shoe like this, can even pass for dress.
•Air-Pillo Gel Insole System: gel domes absorb shock and provide cushioning comfort
•Shock Reduction System: gel inserts absorb shock.
•Stability bridge for extra support
This was nice, for a few weeks then broke down quickly.
•Flex Grooves in outsole adds flexibility
This was nice and comfortable, feeling broken in somewhat, however within 2 months, they tore in this area.
I tell ya, these did not last me even a few months. And they were more expensive than the Tred Safe. Those would last me typically around 8 - 11 months, and with additional inserts gave me good support.
These would be good for someone who just wants a good comfy shoe in general or to shop in, and they don't need them for work or a lot of daily walking. The gel part on the heel is still good, and sturdy, however the overall support failed quickly.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Overall Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Fit Accuracy
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Styling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 10 for Dr. Scholl's - Men's Escape Freestyle Sneakers, Wide Width

A good pair of sneakers for the money!

08/22/2013
By ,
Upstate, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought these sneakers for my son as part of his birthday present. He likes them. He said they fit well and are very comfortable. He does a lot of walking because he does not have a car at this time and needed something comfortable and durable. I was hesitant got a little confused when one of the other reviews stated that they were for someone with medium width shoe needs. My son definately needs a wide width shoe. I am glad I disregarded her review and went ahead and bought them because he said they were plenty wide enough. They were on sale and that made it an even better deal. As far as holding up to wear and tear, that remains to be seen. So far, so good!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fit Accuracy
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 11 for Dr. Scholl's - Men's Escape Freestyle Sneakers, Wide Width

Not as wide as the white ones!

09/07/2013
By ,
Visalia, C.A.
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I don't know if these were made separately from the white ones but they certainly don't fit as well as the white ones. In fact one of them was smaller than the other, so I am going to have to return one. I've worn the white ones and they fit and feel wide and great. Then I put these black ones on and they don't feel wide, and one is smaller than the other. Please take more time in making these shoes-- I have a busy schedule and don't have time to return poorly made products!!!!! (I liked the white ones so much that I bought four but these don't fit well).
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Overall Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Fit Accuracy
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 12 for Dr. Scholl's - Men's Escape Freestyle Sneakers, Wide Width

Not worth it.

10/08/2013
By ,
Portland
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have had these shoes for 5 days and I will be returning them tomorrow.
The comfort insert came unglued and re-glued itself out of alignment halfway up the inside of the shoe, in both shoes.
Granted, these shoes were very comfortable until the insert got off kilter. I stand and walk all day for my job and I'm guessing the heat in the shoes caused this.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Overall Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Fit Accuracy
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 13 for Dr. Scholl's - Men's Escape Freestyle Sneakers, Wide Width

Nice Sneakers but not as Expected

08/31/2013
By ,
San Diego Ca
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I though these would be a Good Buy, due to Price & Size Wide. They are not really all that wide, so I am disappointed. Would have returned them, but have to get a 1/2" Sole put on Right Shoe, due to shortness of Leg. The Cost for sole alone is $50, so now I have some Expensive UN-comfortable Sneakers, to put in my Closet.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Overall Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Fit Accuracy
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Styling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 14 for Dr. Scholl's - Men's Escape Freestyle Sneakers, Wide Width

These shoes fall apart within 48 hours on average

04/19/2013
By ,
Lakeland, Fl
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I noticed something was not right the day after I bought these. The right side didn't fit correctly. I thought it was a problem with the alignment of my socks. Nope. It was the insoles coming unglued and snagging up. No more than 2 days later, I tip my shoes upside down and there are a bunch of foam particles falling onto the floor from the insoles disintegrating. I should have known better than to buy these again. I bought a similar pair from Wal Mart about a year and a half ago that did the same thing, except it took about a week, and this time both the insoles and shoes were ripping apart. Back around 2006, I could get about 6 months out of a $30 pair of Dr. Scholl's.
What did I do? I probably should have looked for my receipt and taken them back , but instead I bought a pair of Dr. Scholl's insoles that cost about 1/3 of the price of these. They seem to e of much better construction. If the shoes themselves don't start ripping apart within 2 weeks, I might be good.
Bottom line, I should have bought a pair of Nike's' but the mall is not open when I get off work. The quality of these shoes were unacceptable a year ago, and they still are today, (if not even worse)
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Overall Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Fit Accuracy
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Styling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 15 for Dr. Scholl's - Men's Escape Freestyle Sneakers, Wide Width

sizing changed

09/11/2013
By ,
east Tenn.
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I purchased a pair of these 6 months ago and they fit perfectly. So I recently ordered these again, same size, but the sizing seems to have changed, they are not as long as the previous ones. I had to return them.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Overall Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Fit Accuracy
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
+1point
Review 16 for Dr. Scholl's - Men's Escape Freestyle Sneakers, Wide Width
09/20/2013
By ,
Torrington, CT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
These sneakers are very comfortable and fit perfectly. They were delivered in a timely manner. I'm very satisfied.
Thanx,
Just Joe
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fit Accuracy
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 17 for Dr. Scholl's - Men's Escape Freestyle Sneakers, Wide Width
09/15/2013
By ,
scottsburg In
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My husband works on his feet 12 hours a day & loves the comfort of these shoes.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fit Accuracy
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 18 for Dr. Scholl's - Men's Escape Freestyle Sneakers, Wide Width

Great shoes for a low price.

09/14/2013
By ,
SC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very great shoes, very comfortable and very affordable.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fit Accuracy
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 19 for Dr. Scholl's - Men's Escape Freestyle Sneakers, Wide Width

Too Narrow

12/02/2010
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Our son wears Dr Scholl's 12 W. They're
excellent but the inner fabric lining tears up.
Tried this different style and they were
impossibly narrow for him. Not across the toes
but across the top of foot. Had to return them.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Overall Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Fit Accuracy
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Review 20 for Dr. Scholl's - Men's Escape Freestyle Sneakers, Wide Width
12/19/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very easy shopping on line.Received in mail very quickly.Very satisified.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
+1point
1-20 of 61 total reviews
1 2 3 4 Next