Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Super Pet Super Pet My First Home Complete Guinea Pig Kit, Kaytee

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Super Pet Super Pet My First Home Complete Guinea Pig Kit, Kaytee

Create a wonderful home for your pet cavy with the Super Pet My First Home Complete Guinea Pig Kit. Made of chew proof coated wire and stain resistant plastic wires, the cage is quite durable. The deep scatter less base removes readily for easy cleaning. You can replace it back quite fast. The guinea pig starter kit includes food for your pet. Your pet can lie down on the bedding that comes along. Serve food and water in the food dish and water bottle provided. You can take proper care of your little pet with the pet care guide that comes along with guinea pig supplies.
Average Customer Rating:
3.333 out of 5
3.3
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
6
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
5
Customer Recommendation67%10 out of 15reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
6
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
5
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Super Pet My First Home Complete Guinea Pig Kit, Kaytee

Plenty large enough

07/08/2011
By ,
US
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After seeing all the negative reviews about the size of this cage, I had to post my review. I researched SEVERAL kits before choosing one for my daughter's 1st guinea pig. All of the guinea pig starter kits were about this size (some smaller), regardless of brand. We actually chose this one in part because of it's large size compared to comparably priced kits. We have had our guinea pig in this cage for over a month and since growing accustomed to his new home, he has become a very lively and happy member of the family. I wouldn't put more than one guinea pig in the cage, but as stated on the description, it's a "Starter Kit" so I wouldn't expect to have room for more than one.
I would like to add, however, that the bedding provided with the kit seemed cheap and was very messy. Also, the bowl was not sturdy enough and we had to swap it out for a heavier bowl that could not be tipped over. I had already read about this in earlier reviews, so it wasn't a surprise. The kit was such a good price, I didn't mind purchasing another bowl seperately. All in all, a great product for the price!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+25points
Review 2 for Super Pet My First Home Complete Guinea Pig Kit, Kaytee

a very nice cage

03/18/2011
By ,
North St Paul Mn
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I think this guinea pig starter cage was a very good deal. I would think that anyone would be happy to have it.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+34points
Review 3 for Super Pet My First Home Complete Guinea Pig Kit, Kaytee

Great!

06/01/2010
By ,
Brick, NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It is big enough for two fully grown female guinea pigs. The set up was a snap. It took 5 minutes to completely set it up including bedding. I have a large dome inside of it for them to hide and sleep. It is so good I am buying another one for more guinea pigs! They have enough room to run and play. It is a very good value for the money. And it is a wonderful price. It is cheaper at Walmart then at any pet store that I went to. (Not a Shock!) :)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Female
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every day
+56points
Review 4 for Super Pet My First Home Complete Guinea Pig Kit, Kaytee

I loved it! =)

04/29/2011
By ,
Newark, NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got this cage for my new guinea pig lola and she loved it! i added a little ramp and a sitting place for her because i love to spoill her.anyway you should get this cage
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+27points
Review 5 for Super Pet My First Home Complete Guinea Pig Kit, Kaytee

Great kit.

10/13/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Starter kit is just as advertised. Has everything you need to get started with a guinea pig. The cage is attractive and sturdy. No concerns at all with this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Review 6 for Super Pet My First Home Complete Guinea Pig Kit, Kaytee
06/19/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
wonderful starter home for a new guinea pig. It has everything you'll need. The cage is ewally big, lots of room to add toys.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 7 for Super Pet My First Home Complete Guinea Pig Kit, Kaytee

Not big enough

10/08/2010
By ,
Wisconsin
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Just want to remind those of you looking at this product, that ONE Cavy needs a MINIMUM of 7.5sqft of space. At just over 4sqft this cage is beyond less than adequate. Please use this site as a guideline for how large of a space you need for your guinea piggies, they deserve the best <3
http://www.guineapigcages.com/
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
-6points
Review 8 for Super Pet My First Home Complete Guinea Pig Kit, Kaytee

Not sized right

12/27/2010
By ,
Chesapeake, VA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This set up is not big enough for one guinea pig. SuperPet sizes their cages too small for the animals they are meant for. Because guinea pigs do not climb, they need a lot of floor space, and thus need at least 3 feet by 2 and a half feet., and an additional foot on each side for each additional guinea pig (so 4 feet by 3.5 feet for 2 guinea pigs). Guinea pigs are very active and social animals so you do not want to only own one guinea pig if at all possible. They need the maximum amount of space you can provide, but no smaller than 3 ft by 2.5 feet for one guinea pig.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Never
-7points
Review 9 for Super Pet My First Home Complete Guinea Pig Kit, Kaytee

Too small

05/23/2010
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Not enough size for a single guinea pig even though it touts "generous" living space. Less than half the required square footage for one piggy.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
-5points
Review 10 for Super Pet My First Home Complete Guinea Pig Kit, Kaytee

not even big enough for one!

10/19/2012
By ,
GA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
There is not a commercially available cage on the market that is big enough for even one guinea pig. The minimum square footage for one guinea pig is 7.5ft. This one is only 3.75 sq ft! We didn't learn that until after purchasing this cage which we have now replaced.
Visit http://www.guineapigcages.com/ to find an appropriate cage or learn how to build your own.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
0points
Review 11 for Super Pet My First Home Complete Guinea Pig Kit, Kaytee

Not worth it.

06/11/2010
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The cage was waaaay too small, even if it advertised ample space. My pigs were squished and had no room to run. Never again.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Female
-7points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Posted 11/23/2011
Well this is for 1 guinea pig not several..
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 12 for Super Pet My First Home Complete Guinea Pig Kit, Kaytee
05/16/2013
By ,
Mn
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Wish it came with timothy hay :) and not treats my piggys did not like the treats.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 13 for Super Pet My First Home Complete Guinea Pig Kit, Kaytee

Piggy Cage Is Nice

10/17/2012
By ,
Newaygo, MI
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The cage is nice. It was easy to put together, although the wiring wasn't quite square so some adjustments were needed. The piggies seem to like it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Ratings-Only Reviews for Super Pet My First Home Complete Guinea Pig Kit, Kaytee
Based on the average of (2) ratings-only reviews
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5
Product Attributes:
Value
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5