Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Panasonic Panasonic 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, TC-L42U22

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Panasonic Panasonic 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, TC-L42U22

ENERGY STAR ® Products that are ENERGY STAR-qualified prevent greenhouse gas emissions by meeting strict energy efficiency guidelines set by the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency and the U.S. Department of Energy. The ENERGY STAR name and marks are registered marks owned by the U.S. government, as part of their energy efficiency and environmental activities. Enjoy a beautiful image from almost any angle. The Panasonic 42" 1080p LCD HDTV features VIERA Image Viewer so you can enjoy your photos on the big screen. With VIERA Link, control multiple compatible devices. Energy Star qualified. Note: You must have a source of HD programming in order to take full advantage of this 1080p LCD HDTV. Contact your local cable or satellite TV provider for details on how to upgrade.
Average Customer Rating:
4.779 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(68 Reviews) 40
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
56
4 stars
9
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Recommendation97%66 out of 68reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
56
4 stars
9
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Panasonic 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, TC-L42U22
06/16/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The colors are very sharp and true. The best part is the ability to watch tv at any angle.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+24points
Review 2 for Panasonic 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, TC-L42U22

A good product

08/15/2010
By ,
Southern Mississippi
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The product is what I expected. Delivery was extremely quick, and the price was right. The free shipping of the product also influenced my purchasing from Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+14points
Review 3 for Panasonic 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, TC-L42U22
06/16/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The picture output is flawless. Vivid colors, and clear sound makes it joy to watch my sport programs.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+14points
Review 4 for Panasonic 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, TC-L42U22

Great buy

12/18/2010
By ,
Edmore MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
exceptional picture and sound quality. We also bought from Walmart a Sauder corner tv stand,which the descriptions says will work for tv's up to 39"
The Panasonic 42" fits on the stand just fine.
Sauder model number 409067
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Review 5 for Panasonic 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, TC-L42U22

Quality LCD TV

12/15/2010
By ,
Hanover MA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I researched before buying....was going to buy a TV at a local store on Black Friday....then I found out that the specially priced sets for Black Friday were specially manufactured lesser quality units. Research indicates Panasonic is a better quality brand than Sharp, Samsung, etc. This Panasonic model is not top of the line, but is 1080p and reasonably priced. The only negative for me is that the speakers are rear facing and the sound quality is not ideal for a hearing impaired person like myself. Nevertheless, I would buy it again. I liked the fact that I could order a top quality product from Walmart and have it delivered to my nearest store a mile from my house.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 6 for Panasonic 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, TC-L42U22
06/16/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Beautiful sharp images and great sound.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+6points
Review 7 for Panasonic 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, TC-L42U22

Chistmas gifts for self and son

01/08/2011
By ,
Fombell. Pa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cheapskate as my nickname is appropriate, as I always try to get the BEST price for what I pay for. But in that BEST, quality and quantity is as much a factor as price. I had the option, for purchasing a Christmas gift for my 26 yr. old son, of buying a new 32" or 37" HD flat screen TV. he really wanted a the larger TV, and he had an old tube TV. Since he has made very dramatic positive changes in his life, this past year, I really wanted to show appreciation and pride in that change.
When pricing 32" and 37" TV's I noted that a 37" from a reputable company was, at least, $450, so I checked out prices for larger ones. I have had a 40" Samsung, I bought about two years ago, and I love the quality of that. So did my son. I found this Panasonic Viera 42" TV, highly rated on the Walmart website and on other websites. The price at time of purchase was $529 with free home shipping.
My son was happy to have my 'hand-me-down', 40" Samsung as his Christmas gift, and I am very pleased, so far, with my choice of this Panasonic model, to replace it.
The difference in size, from 40" to 42" inch is more notable than expected. If you refer to my ratings, you will see that the only area I didn't rate as excellent is sound. Don't let that mislead you. I haven' t played any DVD's or tried to adjust sound qualities yet, but the sound from regular TV programing has been just fine. I have yet to use the Viera features, but from the experience, so far, I am sure they will perform as documented.
Buy the way, since I felt I got a very good deal on this TV, I bought a 32" Emerson HD, a Walmat, for my wife. Why the 32", and not better for her? She has an entertainment center in her den and it won't house a larger unit unless it was placed on the top, or wall. She wanted something to fit where her old tube TV fit.
For once in my life, I made both of them Happy.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 8 for Panasonic 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, TC-L42U22

happy camper

09/04/2010
By ,
western kentucky
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this online and was a bit worried about buying sight unseen. TV was delivered quickly and was easy to set up. After some adjustments I am very pleased with the picture, even though I don't have HD service. I have only had it a few weeks so unless it just quits working I am very happy.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 9 for Panasonic 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, TC-L42U22

Great tv for the price

11/29/2010
By ,
La Puente, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The tv has some great clarity on regular motion but when the scene gets too fast the bluring starts to kick in wish I could have gotten a higher Hz but this is all I can afford right now. Other than the bluring this is a great tv and would I recommend to anyone looking for a high quality tv on a budget.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 10 for Panasonic 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, TC-L42U22

Fantastic Deal and Superior Product

12/05/2010
By ,
Brunswick, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Panasonic says it all. Easy to get programmed and installed. Highly Recommend this televison to anyone who wants superior picture quality and a great value.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 11 for Panasonic 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, TC-L42U22
06/15/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
what can I say about Panasonic's top quality products. I have never been disappointed, and this beauty is another example of it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Review 12 for Panasonic 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, TC-L42U22

Nice picture

09/09/2010
By ,
Freeport,Ill
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very good product but volume is weak
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 13 for Panasonic 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, TC-L42U22

Outstanding Quality and Value

08/17/2010
By ,
Connecticut
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this tv as a birthday gift for my daughter. I researched other stores and websites for the best buy. I read the reviews which gave this set the hightest ratings. I was pleased that WalMart gave me free shipping which might have cost as much as the set. My daughter loves the television set. It has an HD element which makes the set even more visually perfect. She cannot believe that I paid a reasonable price for such a large screen, brand name television set of such excellent quality. WalMart has reinforced my trust once again in their quality goods and reasonable prices.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 14 for Panasonic 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, TC-L42U22

What a KILLER Buy

08/04/2010
By ,
Arizona
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture is awesome. Great for viewing off to the side too. Great color. Light wt. only 39 #. Sound is very good. Got the $39 tilting wall mount which was easily installed. Was able to lift the TV up onto the mount myself. I use Dish Network and the HD is incredible. I'm ordering this TV again tonight for another bedroom. Just GREAT!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 15 for Panasonic 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, TC-L42U22

Tv is ok

08/04/2010
By ,
Southfield, MI
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
tv looked fine i watched two blue-ray movies on it i wasnt all that impressed with the picture quality tv contrast ratio 20,000:1 which is not that great i returned to the tv i was disappointed with it..
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Picture Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per month
0points
Review 16 for Panasonic 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, TC-L42U22

I <3 this TV

08/04/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought a 27" LCD TV four years ago and paid more for that than I paid for this TV. With a TV that size, I have been thinking I need to upgrade for awhile. After researching LCD TVs this TV seemed to offer the best value. I can say I am SOOO happy with this TV. The HDTV quality is awesome. Even though my old TV was HD capable, I rarely watched HD channels. With this TV, the picture is so amazing that I have quickly switched to only watching HD channels. I definitely recommend this TV.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 17 for Panasonic 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, TC-L42U22

Excellent picture - Very Satisfied

12/21/2010
By ,
Clearlake, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this for a friend who does not have HD cable service. However, the picture, sound and performance are terrific. Gets a superb picture quality even though it is only an SD signal. Clear and sharp images and was very quick and easy to set up. Could not be happier with this product and the price for a 42" was very reasonable. Did some research before purchase and Panasonic 42" was rated a "Best Buy" by Consumer Reports. Highly recommend this HDTV.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 18 for Panasonic 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, TC-L42U22

Great value

01/09/2011
By ,
Minnesota
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was my first LCD tv purchase, and after much research, I selected this Panasonic.
I'm extremely pleased with the quality and picture
of this set as well as the features it has.
Sound quality could be improved, but other than that this is a great tv. If one added a sound bar or surround sound to it it would be perfect.
Very easy to set up and Viera Link adds alot of
ease to adding and controlling other Panasonic devices.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 19 for Panasonic 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, TC-L42U22

This is a good product.

01/08/2011
By ,
So. Central Wi.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The only factor that I wouldn't give this TV a 5 star rating is on the sound. It may be the stations themselves, but some programs require the sound to be turned up very near the maximum level in order to get a normal sound level. This has not been a real problem, just a bit puzzling.
We are very happy with the TV and would highly recommend it. If we had it to do over, we would buy it again.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 20 for Panasonic 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, TC-L42U22

A worthy HDTV

02/21/2011
By ,
Frederick MD
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I can't say i've spent loads of time with many other HDTV's, but I can say this one meets or exceeded my expectations in every area.
Now if I can get some years of problem free use out of it, I'll definitely look at another Panasonic purchase in the future.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
1-20 of 41 total reviews
1 2 3 Next