Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for RCA RCA RTD316Wi - DVD Home Theater System with Dock for iPod

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

RCA RCA RTD316Wi - DVD Home Theater System with Dock for iPod

This RCA DVD home theater system features an iPod dock — listen to your iPod, CDs, or turn on the digital AM/FM tuner. Watch DVDs and connect your HDTV, satellite or cable box for a full surround experience. The RCA DVD home theater system includes a remote control.
Average Customer Rating:
3.133 out of 5
3.1
 out of 
5
(30 Reviews) 22
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
9
4 stars
6
3 stars
3
2 stars
4
1 star
8
Customer Recommendation50%15 out of 30reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
9
4 stars
6
3 stars
3
2 stars
4
1 star
8
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for RCA RTD316Wi - DVD Home Theater System with Dock for iPod

Very cheap

12/18/2010
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Very disappointed. Product does not work correctly or respond to inputs. Have to push buttons 5 or 6 times to get anything to work. Was a gift and reciever is highly disappointed.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+2points
Review 2 for RCA RTD316Wi - DVD Home Theater System with Dock for iPod

For the kids room....

05/19/2010
By ,
SurroundTown USA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Disappointment. Not 5.1 , Feels cheap, smells cheap, yes, tech geeks can smell the cheapness. My coby 2.1's sound better. No built in equilizer so you cannot adjust the bass(which is NON Existant) , cant adjust the center, rear, nothin. its po%^. usually, when a company puts 5 +1 sub in a box you can set the system for surround. You cant set nothin. The menu looks cheap too, I mean I couldve slapped together a nicer menu on my PC. You can only change a few things in the menu, and they could have programmed this system to do these things on an auto setup when turned on. This system has NO features really. I cant wrap my mind around why they would sell this set like this. You just plug it up and sound comes out the speakers.... and I mean whatever is coming out of the front right is the same thats coming out of the rear left and center, and etc... since you cant adjust the volume of each speaker, you have to turn the volume to max to hear any bass AT ALL, but then the center channel is busting your ears with squelching, i mean lol , this system is going back first thing in the morning. thats how bad I hate it. DONT BUY THIS ! !! !1 111!!! one oneone!!! 111
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+69points
Review 3 for RCA RTD316Wi - DVD Home Theater System with Dock for iPod

Not what I expected!

07/29/2010
By ,
South Carolina
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I purchased this RCA Surround Sound in a package that included a 42" Proscan LCD TV. The TV is unbelievable, but this RCA system does not meet my expectations. I have never owned a surround sound system and assumed that all of them are rather robust and loud. This system is not robust or loud. After using it for a few days, (and listening to a few of my neighbor's systems), I now understand that it is a "low end, very basic" system. It worked...but considering the quality of the TV, the surround sound needs to be much more. I returned it after one week. Sorry RCA...but I would not recommend this system to anyone.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+9points
Review 4 for RCA RTD316Wi - DVD Home Theater System with Dock for iPod
06/09/2010
By ,
powell, WY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
it works really good. the surround sound is awesome.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 5 for RCA RTD316Wi - DVD Home Theater System with Dock for iPod

Horrible!

12/04/2010
By ,
Morrisville PA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I just bought this system this afternoon at my local Walmart....Once I got home and unpacked the box I immediately noticed how cheap the product looked in the box. Once I set it up and turned it on to listen to the sound...it was laughable just how bad the sound was! Not only can't you control the Base you cannot equalize anything! I guess you get what you pay for...the system I bought 5 years ago that was much less value works 10 times better! I am re-packing the system in the box and returning it back to the store ASAP. I am very disappointed, I figured with RCA it could not be that bad...well I was wrong, it was worse!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 6 for RCA RTD316Wi - DVD Home Theater System with Dock for iPod

OK but kind of cheap.

07/01/2010
By ,
Lansdale, PA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This unit seems kind of cheap and flimsy and doesn't have alot of power. The tray that you put the CD's on is so flimsy that it feels as if it might break off if you apply a little too much pressure to it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 7 for RCA RTD316Wi - DVD Home Theater System with Dock for iPod
09/22/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A terrific system in every way!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Review 8 for RCA RTD316Wi - DVD Home Theater System with Dock for iPod

Poor sound

11/29/2010
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The sound on my tv was going out so I decided to go to walmart and look for a cheap surround sound system. I purchased this thinking that some sound would be better then none. I was wrong. The sound coming out of this is more annoying then having none at all! It was ok when watching sports but if it makes watching any kind of drama unwatchable. Would not recommend this to anyone. Returned it the next day.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Review 9 for RCA RTD316Wi - DVD Home Theater System with Dock for iPod

First box...

11/21/2010
By ,
saint louis, mo
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had to swap out the sub-woofer but it's an awesome product to have.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 10 for RCA RTD316Wi - DVD Home Theater System with Dock for iPod

First surround sound, impressed

12/14/2010
By ,
Alabama
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is our first surround sound and I am very pleased. A little irritated I had to go back to the store to get cables, but that was my fault. Overall good product.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 11 for RCA RTD316Wi - DVD Home Theater System with Dock for iPod

you get what ya paid for

06/29/2010
By ,
bradenton, fl
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
bought for my sons room, has no bass no EQ it sounds terrible and only has one input so if you need to hook more stuff like your tv or game station forget it. so gave it back got recever and speaker combo from somewere else best by. but bought the dvd recorder here its my second sony recorder. works great. never by in all in one unite you can't hook up more then one thing or do more stuff with it plus if the dvd breaks the thing is useless to you. by a reciver combo & allways by a warrenty no matter were get it they allways cover lighting strikes. and in most cases give you new one then repairing it
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 12 for RCA RTD316Wi - DVD Home Theater System with Dock for iPod

Great Product for the Money

08/11/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Unless you're an audiophile, this is a great product for what you pay. It allows you to listen to your ipod through the speakers, get surround sound on DVD & cable (if you have a cable box), and listen to the radio. The quality is nice. The only thing that makes this a 4 star instead of 5, is that the volume control could be better. The radio & ipod volume needs to be low, but if you put in a DVD player, you almost need it on MAX volume to get good sound. So, if I forget to turn the volume down after I play a DVD, and then plug in my IPOD, it comes out REALLY LOUD!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 13 for RCA RTD316Wi - DVD Home Theater System with Dock for iPod

Waste of Money

06/06/2010
By ,
Hastings, NE
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this as a gift for my daughter, spent 2 days trying to make it work. The DVD/CD player would not work. I called RCA and was told by the representative that I needed to buy a cleaning disc and clean it 3-4 times and it would work. I could not get her to understand that it would not play at all and only spit the disc out at you. Took it back to Walmart for a refund and purchased a different unit at a different store and a much better brand!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Review 14 for RCA RTD316Wi - DVD Home Theater System with Dock for iPod

Good product for surround sound to smaller areas.

11/28/2012
By ,
Columbus, OH
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My old DVD player and receiver I had in my bedroom finally crapped out, so I bought this system and the system has been great once I worked the input confusion out. I was disappointed at the quality of the out put from the side speakers. If you want a inexpensive system for a smaller room this is a good buy.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 15 for RCA RTD316Wi - DVD Home Theater System with Dock for iPod

Difficult to Program and No Bass

10/15/2010
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
It seems cheaply made (it's very light). The surround sound doesn't get very loud, barely has any bass, and the I find the unit to be difficult to program (not intuitive). I'll have to keep my instructions. It was inexpensive though, as I bundled it with a TV.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-3points
Review 16 for RCA RTD316Wi - DVD Home Theater System with Dock for iPod

Bundle package

09/08/2010
By ,
Sterling Hts,Mi
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Easy hook up,the sound is not loud enough for a surround sound hook up.You will have lots of speaker wires showing if you don't hide them. The volume is poor.The dvd and fm tuner are a good product.over all its ok for the bundle price.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 17 for RCA RTD316Wi - DVD Home Theater System with Dock for iPod

Don't waist your money

08/01/2010
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I was extremely disappointed with this product. I only got a chance to use the system one time before it broke. I will never purchase this brand again.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Review 18 for RCA RTD316Wi - DVD Home Theater System with Dock for iPod

Weak Sound

06/29/2010
By ,
Maryland
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The sound is not worth what I paid for this system. There are much better systems (with blue ray) out there for less or about the same price.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 19 for RCA RTD316Wi - DVD Home Theater System with Dock for iPod

OK Product

07/08/2010
By ,
Escondido California
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The unit works fine but the DVD player is very noisey. Sometimes if we take the disk in and out several times the noise reduces.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 20 for RCA RTD316Wi - DVD Home Theater System with Dock for iPod

work one day

08/22/2010
By ,
Alexandria VA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We hooked up system and it work for one day. The system will not turn on and is not useable,
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
1-20 of 23 total reviews
1 2 Next