Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Straight Talk Straight Talk Samsung R355C Prepaid Full QWERTY Keyboard Cell Phone

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Straight Talk Straight Talk Samsung R355C Prepaid Full QWERTY Keyboard Cell Phone

The Straight Talk Samsung R355C Prepaid Cell Phone with a QWERTY keypad is all that youll need in a phone without entering into a contract with a service provider. The QWERTY keyboard cell phone provides ease of use, as the entire keypad can be used to text and type messages in a familiar format. The large 2.2-inch TFT LCD screen is big enough to make reading text messages and browsing easy, and watching the screen a pleasure. The phone is also Bluetooth enabled, which is useful for transferring data from your computer or pairing up with a Bluetooth hands-free unit. The phone has a phonebook capacity of up to 100 entries, and the microSD card slot can be used to store images and music. This phone includes a built in MP3 player. This prepaid cell phone offers up to 5.5 hours of talk time and a standby time f up to 16 days. The phone also has a VGA camera for capturing events.
Average Customer Rating:
4.061 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(430 Reviews) 375
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
201
4 stars
132
3 stars
44
2 stars
28
1 star
25
Customer Recommendation82%353 out of 429reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
201
4 stars
132
3 stars
44
2 stars
28
1 star
25
Customer Reviews
Review 61 for Straight Talk Samsung R355C Prepaid Full QWERTY Keyboard Cell Phone

Straight talk Samsung R355C

08/29/2011
By ,
New York, N.Y.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great phone! It has excellent reception, excellent voice quality and the full qwerty keypad is very nice. The internet is a tad slow but I can still bring up weather, news and more and view these very well on the phone browser. Pictures on the screen are vivid and clear. The standard wallpaper selection for the background is good. Battery life is also very good and the phone charges up very fast.. Basically, if you want an excellent phone for making phone calls and for texting, this is your phone. It helps that the price is $69 dollars online at WalMart.com and $79. dollars at the WalMart stores. You cannot beat the service, the price and most phones that straight talk provides. I left sprint where I had been a customer since 1997 and will absolutely never go back to a contract plan. I used this phone on a drive from upstate New York all the way down to NYC and the reception was awesome! Setting the phone up was very easy online and I must say that I did not have a nightmare experience when I did deal with the Straight Talk customer Reps. By the way my other phone from Straight Talk which I upgraded with the R355C was also a Samsung and that model was the T340G which is alos absolutely a GREAT phone and the internet on the T340G is blazing fast! I went from a Straight Talk GSM phone to a Straight Talk CDMA phone and the quality of service has remained the same which is EXCELLENT! Save yourselves lot's of dough and go with Straight Talk. On a bit of a sour note, I had purchased a Nokia E5 Smart Phone from Straight Talk and I must say, what a horrible phone. Right out of the box the internet was the worst, the calls kept dropping eventually leaving me unable to make calls and I kept recieving a "system error" message when I tried to make phone calls. Needless to say, I returned the phone to the WalMart store ASAP. So if you want to save lot's of money and not be tied to contracts with a truly unlimited quality service for $45. dollars per month, give Straight Talk your business. You won't be sorry.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 62 for Straight Talk Samsung R355C Prepaid Full QWERTY Keyboard Cell Phone

Good phone!

09/30/2011
By ,
Northern California
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am very happy with this phone! I have an expensive smart phone on a plan that I can not get out of for a year. I needed to be able to use "the other" company's resources since my smart phone doesn't work in a rural area I spend a lot of time in. All I needed was talk, text and data. Browsing takes a little time, so just have a little patience. This Samsung is easy to use, has all the features I wanted in a second phone, is clear as a bell and reliable. The set up was a snap. I can't send lengthy texts, but who cares. Just need to be able to contact my office if needed. If you are looking for a second device that won't cost an arm and a leg or a 2-year committment - this is the one for you. The fact that you can refill at ANY Walmart or on-line is a big plus.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 63 for Straight Talk Samsung R355C Prepaid Full QWERTY Keyboard Cell Phone
12/23/2011
By ,
west warwick, RI
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have had this phone over a year now. It worked fine for the first six months, then the problems started. It has stopped acknowledging calls and text messges. At first I thought it was me not having the volume turned up but when i checked on that it's turned up all the way to high. It still never notified that I had a message or any incoming calls.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 64 for Straight Talk Samsung R355C Prepaid Full QWERTY Keyboard Cell Phone

Great phone for texting and talking

08/26/2011
By ,
rhome, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you are looking for a phone that is simple to use this phone is for you. I like a phone with a qwerty key pad, I find the qwerty key pad much easier to use then the number key pad like on a flip style phone or candy bar style phone. I don't need a phone to do anything more the text and talk this one dose that and can even play mp3's which is a nice bonus because I like music. the web browsing is nice too. The camra is ok but not great I would expect 1.3 pixal for the price but not a big deal for me.... that is why I gave the phone a 4 star rating and not a 5 star rating on value.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 65 for Straight Talk Samsung R355C Prepaid Full QWERTY Keyboard Cell Phone
04/02/2011
By ,
Central Illinois
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
At first I thought the keyboard was going to be way too small, but it hasn't been a problem at all. I really like the phone a lot, but a few things that seem to annoy are:
1. that it is difficult to go from one text message to another. There may be another way to do this,but so far, I've had to back completely out and go to the menu and select the previous or next message. On my last phone I was able to do this easily with the navigation button.
2. You MUST use the key lock or you'll be dialing someone across the country. (literally did this). So every time I want to use the phone I have to press the menu button and then the 'space bar' to unlock. Fortunately, the lock does reengage by itself.
3. Using punctuation when texting is a little tricky. You have to press the function key, not the shift key. then you have to press function again to return to letters.
I do love being able to access the internet on this phone. The 'unlimited everything' plan is worth every penny. With taxes and fees its $50. My last plan was $65 a month with no internet and limited minutes.
This phone does have lots of bells and whistles that I have not yet investigated. Overall I am very satisfied with it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 66 for Straight Talk Samsung R355C Prepaid Full QWERTY Keyboard Cell Phone

Excellent phone for StaightTalk network

11/06/2011
By ,
Northern Wisconsin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am very satisfied with this phone and my Straight Talk plan that goes with it. The phone works great and has everything I wanted on it. One thing a lot of people do not understand is Straight Talk uses more than one Network, do your research. If the phone model number ends in a "C" it does not have a sim card and will operate on the CDMA network which is Verizon. If the phone model number ends with a "G" the that particular phone is a GSM phone, has a sim card and operates on either AT&T or Tmobile so watch out for this. Verizon is the way to go for me.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 67 for Straight Talk Samsung R355C Prepaid Full QWERTY Keyboard Cell Phone

Decent

09/29/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is by far the best deal out there as of now. This phone is great. My only qualm with it is that when I receive a text, it does not show me who it is from before I open it. ?? I don't understand this so if anyone knows how to fix it let me know. Overall my service is great, haven't heard a bit of static. Internet is a little problematic....but serves its purpose when I do need it. BEWARE: I am a female with small hands, and the keyboard is dissapointingly small and VERY hard to txt or even dial on. I thought I would adjust to this, but its impossible.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 68 for Straight Talk Samsung R355C Prepaid Full QWERTY Keyboard Cell Phone

Good Phone

02/02/2011
By ,
Dallas, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The phone is a great product for the price. Only a few surprises and I'm not sure they aren't the service and not the phone. Overall, I'm pleased with the phone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 69 for Straight Talk Samsung R355C Prepaid Full QWERTY Keyboard Cell Phone

happy I bought it

11/04/2010
By ,
Mahnomen,MN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I needed a cell phone with a Verizon plan. Straight Talk was my answer. After looking at all options and reading the reviews I choose the R355C and I'm glad I did. It was easy to set up and works like a charm. I've even downloaded 2 ring tones to my phone from Straighttalk.com/mobileweb.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 70 for Straight Talk Samsung R355C Prepaid Full QWERTY Keyboard Cell Phone

Much better than what I used to have!

09/03/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I upgraded from a tracfone because I was going through many minutes a month. Very pleased with my purchase so far, and even though it cost an arm and a leg I have much more I can do with this phone than with my old $15 phone! The keys are quite small, and takes some getting used to; but loving it more every second I have it. Doesn't have youtube capability and has some weird markings when I use the upper case P, and lower case k. I'm not a picky person so this phone is perfect for me! :]
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 71 for Straight Talk Samsung R355C Prepaid Full QWERTY Keyboard Cell Phone

Wish I had known before I purchased.

06/04/2011
By ,
North Carolina
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The phone itself is great. I've been very pleased with reception and features. The problem is the daily texting from Straight Talk or the spammers that they give your number to. I've called, emailed, and snail mailed asking the texts to stop but they have not. The customer service is almost non existent. They are forcing me to return to Verizon. Today is Saturday and they have already texted before 9:00 am.
If the texting isn't an issue to you then this is a great phone at a good price. I would not have purchased the phone if I had known that the service allows the spamming.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 72 for Straight Talk Samsung R355C Prepaid Full QWERTY Keyboard Cell Phone

Best Verizon serviced phone

07/08/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I've now tried several phones from straight talk and net10. I used all 3 major carriers (ATT, Verizon and tmobile) I live in Los Angeles and by far Verizon's coverage and call quality can not be touched. Tmobile is very clear but has many dead spots and ATT is terrible all around. This phone is not as capable as the LG900G (GSM) phone but this is the best phone offered to be used on Verizon's network. It's a basic phone that texts, calls, takes pics and can do limited internet. For $45 to be on Verizon's network this is the clear choice for me. If you don't mind tmobile or ATT the LG900G is a much better and more capable phone. I love that phone but having coverage everywhere made me stick with this one.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Review 73 for Straight Talk Samsung R355C Prepaid Full QWERTY Keyboard Cell Phone

Great Phone!

07/01/2011
By ,
Salisbury, North Carolina
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have only had this phone for a few days but I really don't have very many complaints. It works as it should and it took literally five minutes to activate. The buttons are small but are not difficult to master. I like the fact that the phone does not flip or slide because those types wear out easily if you text a lot like I do. The internet is pretty fast. Faster that the Samsung R 451 that I previously had. Great call quality. Calls are clear and I have not dropped a single call yet. This phone works on the verizon network which is wonderful. Overall my only complaint about the phone is that the graphics that you can download from the straight talk website do not fit the screen. The phone is not a blackberry by any means. It doesn't have apps but if you just talk, text, and go on mobile sites like facebook it gets the job done.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 74 for Straight Talk Samsung R355C Prepaid Full QWERTY Keyboard Cell Phone

overall a good working phone

12/07/2010
By ,
Northeast Tennessee
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
overall a good phone But being an older couple here are few problems myself and my wife have with it thus far after 5 months.
The keys are really small so we have trouble with texting and when talking we have to hold the phone just right or you sound muffled or eating the phone, like if your holding it with your shouder and/or to close to it..
The features and phone itself work great otherwise and have not had any trouble with it.
We are changing to the T401 slider phones though due to larger keys and better hearing on those phones however.
This phone has come down in price I now see. We paid $99 each for them so its now a better price.
But if the small key pad is an issue check that out before making a purchase. Thats our main issue with tis phone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 75 for Straight Talk Samsung R355C Prepaid Full QWERTY Keyboard Cell Phone

Great phone

01/27/2012
By ,
Altamont, Illinois
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good phone, have used it a week with no problems and great signal strength on the Verizon network. In order to use the USB connection to transfer pictures from the phone to your PC, you'll need to have the micro SD card installed (by the battery). Once you take a picture, go to the picture, select options, then transfer to the SD card. I assumed I could see the pictures via usb without the SD card, but that's not the case. Inserted the SD card and now it's no problem. I've been all around where I live in central Illinois through rural areas and the signal strength has been great. Some people might think the key pad is small, but I can actually type faster on this that the previous phone that had the key pad on the screen (I wear glasses for reading). You can find a handy tutorial online at http://tracfone.deviceanywhere.com/straighttalk/tutorial.seam;jsessionid=342A8878B01024C3B376080F1CF216E9?tutorialId=8198&locale=en_US&deviceId=737&cid=14203916&conversationPropagation=end
Bought the phone and a $30 airtime card, called Straight Talk from a land line phone and had my new cell phone up and receiving calls in about 10 minutes. KUDOS to straight talk.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 76 for Straight Talk Samsung R355C Prepaid Full QWERTY Keyboard Cell Phone

Excellent Phone!

09/02/2011
By ,
Michigan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've owned my R355C for just over 2 years now and I couldn't have asked for a better phone!
I've always gotten superb reception. Dropped calls are just about unheard of.
The qwerty seems easier to use than most touch screens that I've ever used.
The web service works fine to check my gmail, queue stuff up on netflix or use google to settle a few arguments.
The camera isn't so hot, but it'll get the job done.
It's durable. I've dropped it plenty of times yet it remains in perfect condition. I've had it in a silicone skin for the past year.
For the price, you simply can't beat it!
If you can avoid ever having to call customer service, Straight Talk is where it's at!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 77 for Straight Talk Samsung R355C Prepaid Full QWERTY Keyboard Cell Phone

Beware of StraightTalk's number porting

03/04/2011
By ,
Colorado
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This review is primarily related to StraightTalk's service. The phone itself was OK - my main problem was with the super-small QWERTY keys that make it very inconvenient to dial numbers.
StraightTalk made a big mistake by porting my _contact_ number, instead of my cell phone number. It took >3 weeks< and over 10 solid, frustrating hours on the phone with incompetent StraightTalk reps to get it fixed. During those 3 weeks, my business number (which I had given as my contact number) was in limbo, and my customers got a "number disconnected" message. Very damaging to my business.
I am still negotiating a settlement with StraightTalk's parent corp TracFone, via the Better Business Bureau.
Beware, beware, beware...
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 78 for Straight Talk Samsung R355C Prepaid Full QWERTY Keyboard Cell Phone

Great Bargain

12/11/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I'm a college student and I bought this phone because I was tired of sharing a sprint line with my mom. Our plan included unlimited everything and the bill was usually around $200. I decided to go straight talk after doing some research and I'm glad I chose this phone. Originally I had a blackberry and I figure this phone didn't look too far off from it, plus the price was great. Even though it doesn't have games and you cant change your "theme" it's still a great bargain. You can talk on it for hours without the battery going dead on you, and it doesn't take a long time to charge or reboot. The only thing I would complain about it the fact that there is no alert when you have a message waiting, it just sounds once and if you miss it you would never know.I have the unlimited plan for $45 and I would recommend that to any college kid, considering we text ALOT and surf the web for random things in between classes.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 79 for Straight Talk Samsung R355C Prepaid Full QWERTY Keyboard Cell Phone
06/24/2011
By ,
Clearwater, Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This phone is great overall. I have had this phone and service since October 2010. I have never had a dropped call. ST in my area uses Verizon towers. The only thing I don't like is when I use craigslist I can't post or respond. I can view all content. I do alot of business on my phone. Overall yes i would recommend the phone and the service.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 80 for Straight Talk Samsung R355C Prepaid Full QWERTY Keyboard Cell Phone

A great alternative to the BlackBerry

08/19/2010
By ,
Elizabethtown, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Straight Talk Samsung R355C is fun and easy to use. It has great battery life. It has a camera, music player, and you can use songs from your mini SD card as ringtones! It is a great alternative to the BlackBerry, but it could be improved by adding a camcorder/video function. Otherwise, the Straight Talk Samsung R355C is wonderful phone!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
61-80 of 330 total reviews
Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6  ...  17 Next