Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Straight Talk Straight Talk Samsung R355C Prepaid Full QWERTY Keyboard Cell Phone

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Straight Talk Straight Talk Samsung R355C Prepaid Full QWERTY Keyboard Cell Phone

The Straight Talk Samsung R355C Prepaid Cell Phone with a QWERTY keypad is all that youll need in a phone without entering into a contract with a service provider. The QWERTY keyboard cell phone provides ease of use, as the entire keypad can be used to text and type messages in a familiar format. The large 2.2-inch TFT LCD screen is big enough to make reading text messages and browsing easy, and watching the screen a pleasure. The phone is also Bluetooth enabled, which is useful for transferring data from your computer or pairing up with a Bluetooth hands-free unit. The phone has a phonebook capacity of up to 100 entries, and the microSD card slot can be used to store images and music. This phone includes a built in MP3 player. This prepaid cell phone offers up to 5.5 hours of talk time and a standby time f up to 16 days. The phone also has a VGA camera for capturing events.
Average Customer Rating:
4.061 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(430 Reviews) 375
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
201
4 stars
132
3 stars
44
2 stars
28
1 star
25
Customer Recommendation82%353 out of 429reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
201
4 stars
132
3 stars
44
2 stars
28
1 star
25
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Straight Talk Samsung R355C Prepaid Full QWERTY Keyboard Cell Phone

It wasnt what i expected

01/28/2011
By ,
Mesa, AZ
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I thought this phone would be better. It looked amazing like brand new on the website. But once i bought it didnt do three way calling with all my friends. The mobile web took 20 seconds to load one page. The menu looks like it was made in 2007. Other than that the mp3 speaker is great but when you plug in headphones its not that loud. My advice would be the Nokia 6790 which has more feautures and it is what im going to use soon when i return this phone back to walmart.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-1point
Review 2 for Straight Talk Samsung R355C Prepaid Full QWERTY Keyboard Cell Phone

Great little phone!

11/24/2010
By ,
Fortuna, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this phone right before going on a loooong road trip. This phone came with the $30 all you need card. I was able to mapquest with the internet, keep in contact with my family as I travelled, take GREAT pictures, and all sorts of other things. Writing with the keyboard is very simple and easy. I love that the keys are raised and click, it really cuts down on multiple keys being struck at the same time. I have yet to install any music on the phone, but I do have a card in it, just lazy so far. Charges quickly, lasts a decent amount of time before needing a recharge, considering my teenager is constantly playing with it. Highly recommend this phone. I've added a picture of my cat I took with the phone, in the evening. It doesn't have a flash, but it still takes good pictures in semi-low light.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Review 3 for Straight Talk Samsung R355C Prepaid Full QWERTY Keyboard Cell Phone

Awesome

08/08/2010
By ,
Georgia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm an insurance agent and totally love this company and phone. I got accessories from ebay and DecalGirl, a cool skin for my phone, under the R350 number, the same phone just a different provider. I totally love the service that keeps me from paying a huge bill from calling all of my clients with so many minutes used each week!! Others in my office have switched over too because their bills were sky high on their old companies considering their unlimited plans were $85. Get this company and their phones!!!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+25points
Review 4 for Straight Talk Samsung R355C Prepaid Full QWERTY Keyboard Cell Phone

one of the best phones i had so far

11/28/2010
By ,
Millinocket, ME
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
i bought this phone last week at the WalMart store and so far i am in love with it i have had other cell phones threw us cellular and Verizon and it was a pain to keep up with the bill so once i got this Straight Talk R355C Full QWERTY Keyboard cell phone i fell in love with it and so far i haven't had any problems with it so anyone getting this phone i highly recommend you get this product
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+16points
Review 5 for Straight Talk Samsung R355C Prepaid Full QWERTY Keyboard Cell Phone

SUPER DUPER PHONE!!

12/02/2011
By ,
Van,TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My husband bought this phone last Christmas(2010) at $99 for my gift. He couldn't have done better!! Good pics, have not had a problem with dropping calls, great coverage area, and more. I used to have service with Sprint and carried a Palm Centro (which I loved# and this phone is very similar. I would highly recommend to anyone who likes to SAVE money...get off the carriers who like billing#Service,Fees,TAXES out the yazoo,etc) and get a Straighttalk Service Plan!! Whole lot cheaper, get the same benefits and a super phone. The only difference is having to take the time to add your plan, whooppee!
This price now is unbelieveable!! My phone is still running strong and looking great. THANKS for coming out with a heck of a phone!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 6 for Straight Talk Samsung R355C Prepaid Full QWERTY Keyboard Cell Phone

Superb Phone!

09/15/2010
By ,
North Dakota
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I started of using the R451C model and had nothing but trouble...no service in our area even though it said there should be...dropped calls and it was a real nuisance to have to use the key pad that pulled out. At first i thought that would be really cool...but i found it to be a real hassle and when I UPGRADED to the R355C I found out what i had been missing! Wow, talk about a FABULSOUS PHONE..not only do i have 1-3 bars in our rural area, but i've got great reception, no dropped calls (even in buildings in our rural area or in the city) and using the qwerty keyboard on this phone is far more user friendly than that pain in the bum pull out pad the other phone had!! This phone has all kinds of other really nice features that make it more fun and user friendly! I would recommend this phone over any of the other Samsung phones they offer at this point. I can't give any info on any other brand they offer, but I LOVE MY NEW R355C AND WOULDN'T TRADE IT IN AT THIS POINT FOR ANYTHING!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+290points
Review 7 for Straight Talk Samsung R355C Prepaid Full QWERTY Keyboard Cell Phone

Great phone, Great Price

10/17/2011
By ,
My apartment
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got my phone a few weeks ago, and I love it! I never get dropped calls and the calls are always clear! Amazing upgrade from the small flip phone I had for almost a year from straight talk! Not a black berry, but it pretty much does the same thing. Love the qwerty keyboard too! My old phone didn't have a keyboard it was just a standard phone. I recommend this phone to anyone who is looking for a new one! :)
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 8 for Straight Talk Samsung R355C Prepaid Full QWERTY Keyboard Cell Phone

Overall A Good Phone

08/08/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this phone! Although it does have some Cons.
Pro's
Mp3 Player
2.7 headphone Jack…So u can use regular earphones
Big screen
You can record your own Ringtones
Has a Calendar & Voice SVC short cut on the Keyboard
QWERTY Keyboard
Also has A Vibrate shortcut on the Keyboard so if u press it, it will autuomatically go on vibrate
I'm not sure if it's because of my location or not, But the Web is fast and the photos load quickly on my phone.
The camera has 29 fun frames,zoom,normal, black n white, Sepia, Negative, and green.
Has an icon Glossary
MP3 player an hold up to 16GB with sim card.
PROS
You can't change to color of the layout menu
You can only send up 5 messages to different people at a time.
Not sure if this is good or bad but u have to hold the camera button for like 2 seconds until it comes on. So if u accidentally press it, it won't come on.
Camera is Average
You can't record Or play videos.
It has no games.
…And Yeah, That's all I can think of :)
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+81points
Review 9 for Straight Talk Samsung R355C Prepaid Full QWERTY Keyboard Cell Phone

Great Value

04/21/2011
By ,
Ocean Shores, WA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The Straight Talk Samsung R355C is a very good value, especially for someone like myself who lives in a rural area. The R355C uses the Verizon network and that's pretty much my only other reliable option. I had been an every two-year customer with Verizon for the past six years - no more. Registering with Straight Talk service on their website was flawless. It took about two hours to port my cell number. I even received a confirmation call from a ST rep to confirm my website transaction. The R355C is user friendly and gets great reception. My new Samsung Blue Tooth unit works very well with the R355C. I also purchased accessories inexpensively on Ebay. The R355C takes up to a 16GB microcard to store music files or digital photos. The camera features work well but the phone does lack video capability which would have been nice. But, overall the R355C is a fine choice and Straight Talk's $45 Unlimited Plan provides me much more value than I was paying for and receiving from Verizon. I highly recommend switching to Straight Talk.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+198points
Read Comments (6)
Read Comments (6)
Customer Avatar
clevland ohio
horrible service
Posted 05/03/2012
this phone worked for bout a month and after that i had vms but no missed calls. 70% of texts n call that were sent to me never were received or received super late. my bf also has this exact phone and it messes up the exact same way i highly recommend not to get this phone. i originally got this phone in tn n travel work n it did the same thing everywhere local n non local
0points
Customer Avatar
Sacramento, CA
Samsung R355c does not work with Gmail
Posted 04/22/2012
It works fine with Yahoo mail but not at all with Gmail, which is my primary email program. I will return the phone today and go back to AT&T. Smart Talk tech support was useless and they told me to call Google. Everyone knows that you can't call Google.
+1point
Customer Avatar
Save your money
Posted 09/16/2011
I bought this based on the reviews, however it may be possible the reception is just not good in my area for this phone..........I can barely get a single bar anywhere around on this phone.
0points
Customer Avatar
Newport
I hate it more then I love it :-/
Posted 09/01/2011
I've owned this phone for a while now and it's constantly messing up! The phone freezes, you can't record videos, and a lot of times you can't receive texts..it gets clogged up for some reason and after an hour or so, all the text will flood in at once. It's just aggravating. I will soon be switching to a new phone.
+1point
Customer Avatar
south dakota
great phone!
Posted 08/31/2011
i have been with sprint since 2008. i could not longer afford the 200 dollars a month for my phone plan and my husbands. it was an unlimitied plan also. i looked into getting a straight talk but just was unsure. but last week my sprint bill was 500 dollars. so i went straight to walmart to get me a new phone.
it took about 30 minutes to get my phone activated and did not take long to charge at all.
the buttons are small but after a while u get used to it. if u dont use the key pad lock u will pocket dial. the battery life is amazing! i am on mine all the time and it has not died yet. my sprint phone had to be charged everyday.
its not the fasted phone in the world but it does all the same. i love MINE! i cant wait to only pay 45 dollars a month from now on! i would not go back to sprint ever!
+2points
Customer Avatar
Southern USA
Great Device
Posted 08/02/2011
I am a former Verizon Wireless Blackberry customer and I wouldn't go back. This device doesn't push emails but I can check them very quickly and the sweetest part, I WAS paying $80 plus tax and now $30.00! That is a savings of over $600.00 a year!!!!
+1point
Read Comments (6)
Read Comments (6)
Review 10 for Straight Talk Samsung R355C Prepaid Full QWERTY Keyboard Cell Phone
08/15/2011
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
So I bought this phone probably about 6 or 7 months ago. When I first got it, I really liked it! As I started to get familiar with the phone I discovered that I didn't really love it as much as I thought I might when I purchased it. The buttons on the keyboard are very small but I got used to them and I don't have a problem using it at all now! You cannot record video on this phone, which is a bummer! Also, I personally think that the quality of the camera in the phone is very low. I have a difficult time using the camera and getting a good, clear pictute. On top of these two cons, I also find the internet access rather slow. I basically just use the internet on my phone for Facebook but if the internet was faster I would use it for other things as well. On Facebook you don't get the full experince(not all pictures, icons, or links show up.) I would recommend this phone to someone who doesn't like very difficult or high tech phones. It's really really easy to navigate and it's a good phone just not right for me.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Female
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 11 for Straight Talk Samsung R355C Prepaid Full QWERTY Keyboard Cell Phone

Except for Web browser, great phone

01/17/2011
By ,
Southern Indiana
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Don't confuse this with a "smart" phone. It isn't. But with the straight talk plan, you're getting a great phone for a great price. I went with the "All You Need" plan for $30 per month and I'll never max out the 1000 minutes of talk or 1000 texts. The 30MB browser download is another matter, but the browser is so limited and slow I won't use it that much anyways. If all you'll need the browser for is to look up a phone number or get directions then you'll be fine. I like the QWERTY keyboard and navigation on the phone is relatively simple. Sound quality is pretty good for playing mp3s as well. Quality of workmanship and durability seem pretty good, too. Glad I ditched my old 2-year contract with AT&T. The Verizon network on this phone has better coverage, too. I get good signal in locations I never got with AT&T and it hasn't dropped a call yet.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+50points
Review 12 for Straight Talk Samsung R355C Prepaid Full QWERTY Keyboard Cell Phone

I love this phone!!

10/13/2010
By ,
Nebraska
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I will admit that this phone does not have the bells and whistles of phones you buy with a contract, but come on I only pay 30 a month and it does me just fine. The internet on my phone is actually resonablly fast and it keeps me up to date on my email and facebook on the go. The buttons are a bit small so if you have big fingers probablly not a wise choice. I upgraded from the samsung slider thru straight talk and gave my 11 year old my old phone. Customer service thru straight talk is horrible, but I have learned to call Tracfone instead and they solve your problems INSTANTLY! The phone is awesome for what I pay per month, and the more you learn how to use it the better. Oh, one thing is--buy a snap on case for it, to protect it, make it easier to hold on to, add your own ringtones and graphics to it using an SD card and your computer! Compared to the service of other phone companies/phones this phone is no less than a steal!! No one believes me when I tell them what I pay.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 13 for Straight Talk Samsung R355C Prepaid Full QWERTY Keyboard Cell Phone

Great phone, great price

09/11/2010
By ,
Kansas City, MO
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I got this phone to replace my expensive Blackberry service. I primarily used my Blackberry for calls and texting, and ocasionally used the browser to check sports scores and surf craigslist. I also used the Gmail app lightly.
While this phone is not at all technologically sophisticated like the Blackberry, it gets the job done very nicely. It is one of the simplest phones I've had, and the QWERTY keyboard is very easy to use. The phone calls are crystal clear (the phone runs on Verizon towers) and I've never had a problem with my texts.
While you cannot download apps to this phone, I have used the browser to very easily check my Gmail -- and it does work with the secure https connection. Also, checking sports scores and surfing craigslist has been pretty easy too.
I have read several complaints about if you have the $30/month plan, when you place a call, it tells you how many minutes you have left. Some people don't like that -- but you can have them remove it. I've left it on mine, as I don't mind the reminder.
For anybody trying to cut their phone bill in half and willing to give up a bit of their elite smartphone status, this phone is a great way to go!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+47points
Review 14 for Straight Talk Samsung R355C Prepaid Full QWERTY Keyboard Cell Phone

Great product at a great price

08/09/2010
By ,
Louisville, KY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this product to reduce monthly expenditures. I have been more than pleased with the result. I wasn't expecting an iPhone by any means and most definitely don't have one. I just needed a phone to make calls and text. I got both. The network is Verizon's and I just left them for this product and the coverage has been identical so far. Getting through to applications, menu, etc is a little clunky and not very intuitive, but I'm sure as this catches on that will be smoothed out. The other minor issue that I can overlook with the cost savings is the announcement of how many hours and minutes you have to make the call everytime you make a call. I would prefer the announcement at various milestones like halfway used minutes and maybe 250. Overall I am very happy with the phone and the network. I would recommend this phone as opposed to the Samsung R451C. My wife got the Samsung R451C and it has frozen up several times and we had to take the battery out to reset it. I have not had those issues. I also managed to find a case for mine online and hers cannot take one because the keyboard slides out.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+16points
Review 15 for Straight Talk Samsung R355C Prepaid Full QWERTY Keyboard Cell Phone

met all my needs

05/24/2011
By ,
cleveland,ms.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
was looking for a inexpensive phone to replace one i have had for a few years.wanted to upgrade to a phone with some smart phone features.this phone is it especially with the available service plan.with this phone you get everything unlimited for 30 days.thats something you can't get with any other phone plan.the phone itself is easy to operate,the reception is clearer than any phone i have ever used.it takes a little time to get use to the small buttons if you have large fingers,but its no big deal.another sale point for me is,that you can have your old # ported over to the new phone.all taken care of when you activate the phone.with the micro sd slot you can transfer your old info into the new phone(from cpu or card from old phone).for the price the you get a lot of functions you would pay a lot more for if you get an expensive smart phone and with the service plan,you can't go wrong.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Review 16 for Straight Talk Samsung R355C Prepaid Full QWERTY Keyboard Cell Phone

EXCELLENT PRODUCT!!!!

01/02/2011
By ,
Danville/Charlottesville VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this phone after being very unhappy with the coverage I was receiving (or not receiving) with AT&T. The Straight Talk coverage area is great and far much much better than AT&T. I have traveled (up and down the east coast) with this phone and had great coverage everywhere I've been! These phones are serviced by Verizon so you can count on excellent coverage everywhere you go. Posting my current cell number was also easy. Also, you simply cannot beat the cost especially if you have teenagers. The cost savings with Straight Talk cannot be beat. Say goodbye to your contract phone now!!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+46points
Review 17 for Straight Talk Samsung R355C Prepaid Full QWERTY Keyboard Cell Phone

Love this phone

06/12/2011
By ,
Pennsylvania
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ok, its not a smart phone or an ipod, but if you are looking for a phone for talking and texting, this is the one. Once you get used to the smaller keys, its a snap. Phone has lots of features, including volume, which is something samsung has lacked in the past. Great battery life as well as takes great pics, even tho there is no zoom. Very user friendly and changing from one talk phone to another i did online in like 2 minutes...Cant go wrong, especially at the reduced price. Very thin and lightweight....Love it!!!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+61points
Review 18 for Straight Talk Samsung R355C Prepaid Full QWERTY Keyboard Cell Phone

Not a bad little phone

05/21/2011
By ,
Terre Haute, IN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
After having a smart phone at work, this one's not quite that feature-rich, but it's a great little phone for what I paid for it. A qwerty keyboad (without a slide) was mainly why I bought this phone. The service is great. Like most phones the exterior is slick, so you might want to buy a rubber skin/cover to keep from dropping it. The only thing I don't like is that all text messages are separate. What I mean is that if you have an ongoing back and forth texting conversation with someone, the messages aren't grouped together.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+57points
Review 19 for Straight Talk Samsung R355C Prepaid Full QWERTY Keyboard Cell Phone

Great phone

12/02/2010
By ,
Missouri
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My wife and I both bought two of these cell phones in June, 2010. We dumped our landline at home and use the ST cell phones exclusively on the $30 a month plan.
We have used these phones on both coasts of the US and always have a strong signal. We live in the mid-west and have a strong signal as well. We have not experienced a drop call.
What we like about the phone is the simplicity of texting and using the other phone features. When people ask if our phone is a 'Blackberry' I joke that our phones are 'Blueberries'.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+40points
Review 20 for Straight Talk Samsung R355C Prepaid Full QWERTY Keyboard Cell Phone

Helpful Information

04/30/2011
By ,
Coudersport, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is to all the people who are first time straight talk buyers. Make sure what cell tower company you want your phone to work off of. Look for the color of map on the phone ad. Blue maps work off AT&T towers and red maps work off Verizon towers.
If it has a sim card it's AT&T tower. If the model numbers have a "C" at the end it will run off a verizon tower.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+54points
1-20 of 330 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  17 Next