Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for 2K Games Civilization V: Sid Meier (PC)

2K Games Civilization V: Sid Meier (PC)

Sid Meier's Civilization V is the fifth offering in the multi-award winning Civilization strategy game series featuring the famous "just one more turn" addictive gameplay that has made it one of the greatest game series of all time. In Civilization V, players strive to become Ruler of the World by establishing and leading a civilization from the dawn of man into the space age, waging war, conducting diplomacy, discovering new technologies, going head-to-head with some of history's greatest leaders and building the most powerful empire the world has ever known.
Average Customer Rating:
3.857 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(35 Reviews) 27
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
21
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
5
1 star
5
Customer Recommendation66%23 out of 35reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
8 Questions | 15 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
21
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
5
1 star
5
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Civilization V: Sid Meier (PC)

Have to download 5 Gig to install game.

12/17/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I liked the old Civ game, and thought it would be nice to have a newer version. I bought this at Walmart, and it does come with a CD. To install it, you'll have to install Steam and download over 5Gig worth of files to get it to do anything. If I had known that I wouldn't be able to play the game for a couple of days, I would have left it at the store.
I'd give zero stars if I could.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Civilization V: Sid Meier (PC)

Steam ruins games

11/15/2010
By ,
Van, Texas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
While the game itself is awesome the fact you have to sign up to and use the steam program to play the game ruins the experience. Even though steam allows for an offline play setting it still creates issues with game play. The fact that nowhere on the packing does the game state you have to join steam before you can play it on your own PC offline is inexcusable. Due to this all people who purchased this game without the notice of having to sign up to some online site before being able to play should be refunded the cost of the game.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+123points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Civilization V: Sid Meier (PC)

Expected Better Overall

06/06/2011
By ,
Warner Robins, GA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The best thing about this game is the beauty of it but it ends there. The game is slow with very predictable civs. With the 5th edition of this great franchise I was expecting better layouts of civs beginning with the number of leaders to the units inside and I was very disappointed with how few civs came with the original game. I am a diehard civ fan but will not waste my time purchasing expansions that should have come with the original.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every day
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Civilization V: Sid Meier (PC)

Steam problems

11/18/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This game has one problem; you have to install and upload this Steam thingamajig to play the whole game. The game will just freeze the game and have a pop-up saying 'please install Steam.'
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Civilization V: Sid Meier (PC)

Very unhappy!

09/25/2010
By ,
Toledo, Oh
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Very disapionted that three days after recieving this game I have not been able to play it. I paid next day freight and once on this "Steam" website it needed another 15hours to down load the rest of the game... that was three days ago. I have contacted the "Support" many a times with no responce. I have a Broadband internet connection and it is still taking this long. I have owned every "Civ" game out there and cann't beleive that now they would put a game out there like this through a website that can not handle the traffic... Something needs to be done and soon...
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+27points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Civilization V: Sid Meier (PC)

horrible

10/01/2010
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This game does not meet the standard. It constantly freezes due to the fact that it is stored offsite on steam. You must install and use steam to play the game. You cannot create or modify the game in anyway except to download from steam. Steam will constantly download updates without your knowledge. Do not buy this game.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+33points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Civilization V: Sid Meier (PC)

great game, but requires steam

03/12/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This game is mucho fun, especially if you like turn based strategy! Most of the complaints about this game is because you have to download steam to play the game. Well first if you PC gamer you should already have steam! and secondly get used to it, because nowadays you need internet to register games and play them and steam is easier for the developers to do that. Also I have had 0 trouble from steam, the game however has had many glitches but are now updated enough that the game is finally polished!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+21points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Civilization V: Sid Meier (PC)

Excellent game for the genre

10/24/2013
By ,
Westmoreland, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good Points: Superb Graphics, Good Pacing and progression though the different Techs. Only to be expected from a fifth generation game. This is a really impressive update to an old friend. I've owned the first release, the 3rd, 4th and now this one.
Downers: Memory HOG. I have 8GB on board (max for my older system) but still received low memory warnings. I was able to win a match on Chieftain without any real issues, but it crashed when I tried a mod match on Warlord. I found that my page file was quite small so I raised it to 8GB virtual RAM. I’ll be checking out that fix after I finish this review. I’m pretty sure it’ll fix the problem.
All that being said I’d highly recommend this game to anyone who likes a change of pace from blowing things up all the time.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Civilization V: Sid Meier (PC)

Civilization V, Boring

07/23/2014
By ,
Bismarck ND
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Program lacks the excitement of past civ games. Improved graphics, but sacrificed this for less action. Used to play old civ games for hours, and look forward to more action. This one is boring.
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Civilization V: Sid Meier (PC)

More graphics than game

04/19/2011
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Graphics are great, and some features are an improvement over previous versions of CIV. But the graphics are so overwhelming it gets in the way of the game. When playing large world scenarios, the graphics are to detailed and micromanagement of the map is necessary.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Civilization V: Sid Meier (PC)

Civ 4 in better wrapping

10/16/2010
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
For all intents and purposes this game is a re-release of Civ 4 with better graphics and a few improved or added game elements. Not what I was expecting at all and I am very disappointed. Wait a year and buy this once it has been reduced to $19.99, trust me, you'll feel alot better about buying it at that price and might not be as annoyed with the game as I am.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Civilization V: Sid Meier (PC)

Can't justify the purchase right now

10/11/2010
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This game had really high expectations that just were not met. The game itself has SO much potential it is just broken right now. As you probably already know there have been drastic changes in the gameplay but unlike most people I LOVE these changes. If I wanted to play a game like CIV IV I would play that, this games is truly a new Civilization. Once an update or two gets thrown out at this game I can recommend this easily, just hold on for now.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Civilization V: Sid Meier (PC)

Not Good

10/05/2010
By ,
Madison WI
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Problem with Steam, very little product support, game is unfinished, no in game map editor, very disapointed overall. Just buy Civ IV
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per year
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Civilization V: Sid Meier (PC)

outstanding product

01/12/2011
By ,
Queen creek, AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Outstanding performance, unusual load procedure in that it requires Steam to download the game product instead of running off the DVD as in the past. Game is great though once loaded..
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Civilization V: Sid Meier (PC)

Civilization V

01/11/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great purchase for the money. Continual entertainment and learning with historical content. Great for teenagers learning history.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Civilization V: Sid Meier (PC)

One of the best games ever played.

11/01/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This game is amazing. I started playing Civ 19 years ago when the first part came out. This one gives you everything. Depth but nothing that confuses you. Graphics, strategy, tactics ...I am already addicted to it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Civilization V: Sid Meier (PC)

Disappointment

10/06/2010
By ,
Raymondville, MO.
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Call me a die hard for the old format, but the game play, and format in general, stinks. Don't bother.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Civilization V: Sid Meier (PC)

Great game

09/22/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is another great entry in the Civilization series, maybe the best one yet. Certainly worth purchasing. I was very happy that I could register it to my Steam account also....
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Civilization V: Sid Meier (PC)

Great Strategy Game

12/13/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My 15 year old son and I both play this game. I am currently on the "settler" setting of the game to learn the ropes. It really seems like the only feasible way to "win" the game ie by miliatary action against other players. There is an on-line play but I haven't tried it yet. I am about 3 hours into playing it so far and haven't won a game yet. There is additional actions over what was available on the Xbox 360 version "Civilization Revolution" - however it still has the "advisors" that give you suggestions during the game in order to help you learn.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Civilization V: Sid Meier (PC)

Back to the basics...

10/04/2010
By ,
Canton, MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The original Civilization game got me hooked big time. Subsequent versions did not live up to the original and I quit playing. Version V brings the fun back and adds graphics that are so real you will not believe them. Start playing...
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 28 total reviews
1 2 Next