Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Electronic Arts EA Sports Active 2 (Wii)

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Electronic Arts EA Sports Active 2 (Wii)

EA Sports Active 2 is a new suite of digital fitness programs available on multiple gaming consoles focusing on improving muscular strength, endurance and flexibility, while providing an intense cardio workout. Featuring the Total Body Tracking wireless control system that combines a heart rate monitor and motion tracking technology, EA Sports Active 2 provides an effective workout that delivers accurate, measurable results. Additionally, users will now be able to track and share their workout stats, including heart rate, on the new EA Sports Active 2 online hub.
Average Customer Rating:
4.402 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(132 Reviews) 105
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
89
4 stars
26
3 stars
6
2 stars
3
1 star
8
Customer Recommendation91%120 out of 132reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
89
4 stars
26
3 stars
6
2 stars
3
1 star
8
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for EA Sports Active 2 (Wii)

Extremly unhappy

11/27/2011
By ,
Pelzer, SC
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This product will be returned. My daughter was so unhappy with it, she would not even open the box it came in.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
-27points
Review 2 for EA Sports Active 2 (Wii)

Best Workout Game!

11/18/2010
By ,
Allen, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've only had the game for a couple of days but I spent quite a bit of time playing with it and I also have the Active 1 game. I am a little disappointed that of the 3 versions of this game (Wii, PS3, and XBOX) the Wii version is the only one that isn't completely hands free because there are times you must hold on to the Wii remote. In fact when I saw the packaging with the picture on the box showing the woman doing arm exercises still holding on to the remote I was a little mad because that was one of my biggest gripes with Active 1. However it's not that bad and I'll explain further.
Here are the best improvements to the game from Active 1.
1. The leg strap - the Active 1 leg strap is awful and breaks after a short time using it. Plus you are constantly retightening it as it continues to slip down your leg. However with Active 2 all of the straps are an elastic fabric with loop on one side and rubber gel lines on the back to grip. I did a very hard workout last night involving lots of sprinting and I didn't have to adjust the leg strap (or any of the straps) once. They stayed in place and because it isn't lycra covered neoprene I think it will last a long time.
2. Hands Free Exercises - I'm not sure if all the arm exercises are hands free but all the ones I tried were in fact hands free where you do not have to hold the Wii remote. This is fantastic because with Active 1 I couldn't use a resistance band with nice foam grips and the nylon handles that it came with hurt my hands. Now I don't have this problem. Plus now I can use hand weights when I want to. You may be wondering how it registers movement on the arm without a sensor but they changed the arm exercises slightly from Active 1. Now the arm exercises have you move both arms at the same time (both arms do the tricep kickbacks, bicep curls, etc) rather then one arm at a time and the game just assumes you are moving the arm without the sensor. I also love that now you don't have to waste time putting the nunchuck in the leg strap and then taking it out for a different exercise as you do in Active 1. The game moves much better because you don't have to do those things anymore.
3. The Heart Rate Monitor - I like the addition of the heart rate monitor. It is nice to see how hard you are working. Supposedly as you continue to workout it will track how well your hear rate recovers which would be cool to know. I think it probably results in more accurate calorie calculation as well.
4. The game is MORE like a game - Active 1 is nice because it was like having a personal trainer at home. However you will work harder with Active 2 and have more fun. It has a mountainboarding exercise where you have to jump from one leading foot to the other and has points you can get on each side. You also have to squat and jump and then run up hills. In addition it has a Fitness Trail - Sprint Outrun exercise where you have to actually catch up to and outrun 6 runners on the trail. The thing is that when the other runner sees you getting closer they start running harder so they are hard to pass. This got my heartrate up to 185 bpm trying to pass the other runners. It definitely pushes you harder. I am disappointed that additional motion sensors aren't sold at the release of the game because I would like to race my husband on some of these games and will be buying the extra sensors as soon as they become available. I am also looking forawrd to finding someone I can workout with online.
5. The Wii Balance Board can be used to weigh yourself. However don't feel the need to get the Wii balance board if you don't have it because every exercise that uses the Wii balance board also has the same exercise which doesn't use the Wii balance board.
6. Custom Workouts - There are 13 Upper Body, 22 Lower Body, 11 Full Body, 12 Cardio, 26 Fitness exercises (including boxing, step aerobics, mountainbiking/boarding, dance, & kickboxing), 6 Core, 15 Basketball, 15 Soccer, 8 Warm Up, and 8 Cool Down exercises to choose from. Most are between 1 and 2 minutes long with some like the Step Aerobics actually lasting 10 minutes. You can create a custom workout with a combination of any of the these exercises to make longer or shorter workouts as needed.
7. Online Community - With Active 2 you can join online workout groups which hopefully will help you stay motivated. I joined one and time will tell if it really helps me but it can't hurt and it's nice to see there are other people like you trying to get fit.
Here are my disappointments
1. I wish the game were completely hands free. I feel like the PS3 and Xbox versions are better than the Wii because they are truely hands free. I haven't had a chance to do all the exercises but I won't be surprised if I don't run across an arm exercise that requires the remote be held since the packaging show a woman doing this. I just don't understand why the PS3 version comes with 2 arm sensors and the Wii version doesn't.
2. I wish the extra motion sensors were available now as it would be fun to play with another family member. Sure they could do it with you but you'll push yourself more if you can race them. I do understand however that EA is probably anticipating huge demand over Christmas and likely won't have the time to create straps for the multi-user option until after the holidays. After all selling the straps separately now may create a shortage of the game which would cause prices to rise.
3. I wish the workouts on the 9 week challenge would allow you to choose how long you want to workout. All of the workouts are around 30 minutes long. I would love to have the option of doing a 1 hour workout. I can achieve this with the custom workouts but it would be nice in the challenges too. The game will also formulate a workout for you based on what you want to workout but again it will only make a workout that is up to 30 minutes long.
4. The resistance band that comes with it is still cheap. Go buy the resistance tubes with nice handles for $10 - $15.
All in all though this is a fantastic fitness game. I workout with a trainer too that does much of the same things throughout his class. He is impressed with the game and will be helping me choose which exercises to do so I can make some great custom workouts. If you don't lose weight and get fit with this then it's because you eat too much and don't actually play the game very often.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+401points
Review 3 for EA Sports Active 2 (Wii)

great workout

12/25/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really like active 2 for wii. There are three levels: easy, medium, hard. This is great for a beginner all the way to an athlete. The "game" is easy to follow and understand. The exercises are all within reason to complete. The one thing that I don't like is that there is too much of a "break" in-between exercises which allows the heart rate to drop. It is a great workout and only takes about 20 minutes to complete.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+25points
Review 4 for EA Sports Active 2 (Wii)

Not good for a harcore workout

10/04/2011
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I bought this product because I got it through the website for only $20!!! I was so excited to have a new exercise program in my routine especially one that tracks your heart rate and calories burned. Unfortunately my expectations fell very short with this.
I am a seasoned exerciser so it takes quite a workout to get me going. I felt this program, even on the hardest setting, wasn't doing it. Some exercises are great but it's the time in between each generated exercise that takes more than a few seconds to load thereby defeating the purpose of circuit training which is non stop. Also some exercises like side planks have you do 1 side plank for 10 secs on each side and that's it!!! What a joke!
This would be good for someone just starting out (easy setting) or more active (hard) but not someone looking for a really intense heart pumping butt kicking. I prefer Jillian Michaels's "30 Day Shred" or "The Biggest Loser" for Wii on the hard or intense setting although the calories burned on that program are wayyyyy off. Still an excellent training tool.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
 
My Product Recommendations
 
+1point
Review 5 for EA Sports Active 2 (Wii)

good exercise game addition

12/05/2010
By ,
oklahoma
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I paid $100 for this but if you get it for $60 on the cyber week sale than you definitly got a good deal.Its a good addition to my active sports /more/my fitness coach games. Its a harder than the " MORE".The remote will "lose connection" if you don't hit a button now and then.One bad thing is it wont let you workout on the program you've chosen on a rest day.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+11points
Review 6 for EA Sports Active 2 (Wii)
12/18/2011
By ,
NC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bought this item after I used the first version for over one year. This one is more improved. Really like the workouts. The best thing is that it is completely wireless. For the first version you needed the nun chuck for some workouts and that got in the way sometimes. Also the resistant band is stronger and does not rip. The only negative is that the programm will stop and you have to click the A button to continue since the Wii remote is not needed much. I always click the A button after 2/3 exercises and that works and does not hinder the workout. The positive is that you do not have to hold the remote all the time, like in the first version. Overall I like it and I get good workouts at my convenience with a free personal trainer.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Review 7 for EA Sports Active 2 (Wii)

Excellent Product!!!

03/24/2011
By ,
North Louisiana
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a 27 yr old woman with two children. I was exceedingly over weight with my first pregnancy and have fought a battle with my weight since then 9yrs ago. As well have been in a car accident resulting in hip problems, have disc problems, and was diagnosed with Fibromyalgia along with depression. I hit almost 200lbs again in my life and was just fed up. I had never gone to a gym and was considering it when I found this product. I have been using this for about 2 months now and am down 20lbs. and stronger than I have been in years. I can even pick my 3yr old up again. If you are a parent reading this you can imagine how priceless that is in itself. But all that aside if you would like, I can assure you that you can NOT pay a trainer 40 dollars one time and get these results. If I can keep my kids from touching the disc I'll have this for a very long time. And I will never use anything else if I can help it. There are so many accessories to add with this as well. I haven't purchased any yet but the variety out there is really great. I can't praise this product enough for the change it made in my life. If you are looking for something that you can do for 25-30 min. a day (at home) that is semi-intense (for someone not used to doing these type of workouts like me) and have the ability to increase the intensity from easy, medium, to hard this is for you.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Review 8 for EA Sports Active 2 (Wii)

What a disappointment!

12/30/2010
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I own both the original EA Sports Active and EA Sports Active More Workouts and have been very happy with both (Wii versions). The original was a good start and More Workouts was a home run. So, I had high expectations when I purchased EA Sports Active 2 (Wii version). What a disappointment.
First, as all Wii owners know, the Wii remote turns off when not in use after a few minutes (designed feature to save batteries). This is not a problem, unless you are using EA Sports Active 2. Even though the Wii remote is not required for most of the workouts, when the remote turns off Sport Active 2 stops whatever it is doing and prompts you to turn the remote back on. This also happens with the Wii balance board, whether the board is being used or not, when it turns off (again, a designed feature to save batteries) Sports Active 2 stops whatever it is doing (mid exercise) and prompts you to turn the board back on. The fix for the balance board issue is to change the program's setting to opt out of using the Wii board. They only fix for the remote issue is pressing the A button every few minutes.
Also, the program takes a lot of time to transition from each exercise resulting in a lot of standing and waiting (and hear rate dropping which defeats the purpose of aerobic exercising).
Speaking of heart rate, I thought the heart rate monitor function would be great, and it would be, if it was anywhere near accurate. For some reason, when doing a light aerobic exercise, the heart rate monitor gave very high readings (I routinely workout with a heart rate monitor and have never seen readings as high was what Sports Active 2's monitor was showing).
Also, for many of the aerobic exercises with high reps where each rep is counted based on body sensor movement, only about 70% of the reps are counted. This wouldn't be so bad since I don't mind doing extra reps, but the game's trainer badgered me about trying harder to the point that the exercise was more annoying than entertaining.
It's like a whole new team of programmers created Sports Active 2, because these issues were non-issues with the previous versions.
After reading of similar problems and complaints on the EA Sport Active forums, I was able to return mine for a full refund noting that the product was defective. Maybe in a few months to a year, EA will address these issues and correct them. And, even the, I will check the EA Sports Active forums before I purchase another EA product again. Until then, I'm sticking with More Workouts.
Bottom line: Buyer Beware! Check out what others are saying at EA Sports Active forums before buying this product.
Advice: For those of you who own EA Sports More Workouts and want to go cordless (chucking the nunchuck cord), try a wireless nunchuck. I purchased the Kama brand wireless nunchuck that's Wii Motion Plus compatible and have used it for several workouts with More Workouts. Works great! Same motion capture as with the corded nunchuck and fits in the leg strap perfectly, but no cord! So, save your money for now until EA gets their act together, and instead drop a little money (I found mine locally for $20) and purchase a wireless nunchuck. A wireless nunchuck is something you can use with other games too.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+21points
Review 9 for EA Sports Active 2 (Wii)

I like this product much more than Wii Fit

01/01/2011
By ,
Philadelphia PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've only been using this product for one week, but so far I like it much more than Wii Fit. I got bored with Wii Fit rather quickly. This program has much more variety. This is what I thought an exercise program would be like using Wii. You don't have to use the controllers very often which is great. The only negative is occasionally the sensors don't pick up what you are doing. I just make sure the sensors are where they should be ( when I do side planks I move the leg sensor because I'm afraid I will break it if I lose my balance) and I readjust my body and it fixes the problem. Some people might feel that there's too much of a break between exercises--this may be because I am doing the easy version. I also love that it has a 9 week challenge and breaks it up into 3 phases so that you slowly increase intensity. I actually look forward to doing the program. If I remember, I will post a new review after I finish the 9 week challenge.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 10 for EA Sports Active 2 (Wii)

Love this!

01/29/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We have had this since Christmas, and it is wonderful. My husband and I are doing the 9 week training at the easy level. The first week I did this, I was actually sore from the workout. The intensity increases as the weeks go on, and you are guided through exercises that work different muscle groups harder on different days. This is similar to when I've used a trainer in the past. Unbelievable! I would highly recommend this to anyone!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 11 for EA Sports Active 2 (Wii)

Great fitness game

05/22/2011
By ,
San diego,CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this game because I have kids,busy mom but I don't even have to go to the gym to work out.It's been 4 days since I bought this game but I already notice the change of my body.I also wear SAUNA SUIT when I work out so I can sweat more.I love this product!!!!!It works for me.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Review 12 for EA Sports Active 2 (Wii)
10/09/2011
By ,
seguin, Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Heard that it had problems with the arm and leg senors but for me they work 100%. It keeps me going when I slack back abit. I think this is the best deal I got in a long time.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 13 for EA Sports Active 2 (Wii)

Gym @ home

12/28/2010
By ,
Sullivan, WI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got this because with the schedules of everyone in my household it it really tough getting to the gym.
This program does everything that I would get from an aerobic class with the bonus of knowing exactly what my heart rate is and how many calories that I have burned.
The only down side is that sometimes it has difficulty reading my left arm bluetooth band, which I'm not sure if I just need to replace the batteries.
It is nice to be able to switch out free weights for the elastic band and not to have to use the Wii board. I will probably purchase the Wii board at a later date but am using my own step currently.
I am using the 9 week preset program and am now on day 10 and I'm feeling great. Each day gets more and more challenging. It is nice that there are so many different routines that I never get bored. The time really flies because the routines are changed up every day.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 14 for EA Sports Active 2 (Wii)

Active 2

01/08/2011
By ,
Lakeville, Ma.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Had no idea a game like this existed. Got it on impulse while I was shopping for another game. Brought it home and have been using it non stop since! I love it. Gives your body a really good workout and you can feel the difference in your body after a few days of working out.
Do not buy this if you are older out of shape. I am 30 and relatively healthy and active my muscles hurt from the workouts! My 60 year old mother who is somewhat out of shape tried to use it and it was very difficult for her. There is options to put in your age and weight however It gives the same workout regardless of this info. She could not handle the first workout and has not touched it since.
Other then that A+
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 15 for EA Sports Active 2 (Wii)

Very Surprised

01/11/2011
By ,
New York
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ea sports active 2, was better then expected! Has a ton of options to challenge you aswell as fun sport activities to get your blood pumping. I am a personal trainer and would highly recomend.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Review 16 for EA Sports Active 2 (Wii)

AWESOME game!

01/22/2011
By ,
Indiana
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
As a New Years Resolution, I made the decision to be healthier and work out. So, I went out and bought this game. I've had it for 3 1/2 weeks, and can already tell a difference. I've lost over 18 pounds and 10 inches since starting this. I'm recommending it to all of my friends and family that want to get a jump start on their resolutions also. It's also fun to work out with someone else too. My step-son plays this game with me when we have him. He's 6 and breaks out in a sweat..
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 17 for EA Sports Active 2 (Wii)

Great Workout

12/25/2010
By ,
Upstate NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've been using the EA Sports Active products for the Wii for months and none of them have touched the level of workout you get with this iteration. Workouts are very fast paced, so it keeps your heart rate up. It seems they have a better tracking system with the new peripherals as it's much better than previous versions where the routines would consistently be interrupted by the trainer complaining about form. Having a built in heart rate meter has been very helpful in really getting some good feedback on how hard of a workout it was, aside from muscle fatigue. On good and bad thing: you don't use the Wiimote for most of the exercises but have to make sure to poke it once in a while or else it will power off which in turn pauses the screen until it's turned back on. All in all, it's definitely worth the investment.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 18 for EA Sports Active 2 (Wii)

Glitches!

06/22/2011
By ,
Boston, MA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I purchased the Wii bundled with this set and I'm disappointed in a few things. After using it for one day, I will probably not use it much. I did break out in a sweat, but I noticed two major glitches that prohibited me from completing all the tasks. The first glitch is that the arm row with the bands does not register. Every time I got to an exercise that involved the resistance band and arms the system kept telling me I wasn't doing anything so after restarting the exercise I would try again and still nothing. I eventually skipped the exercises all together. Also, the game froze twice during an hour.
If the glitches were fixed, and more options were added (such as weight loss goal or exercises based on body shape) I would buy this game if they came out with a third version. Until then, I will look at others.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 19 for EA Sports Active 2 (Wii)
11/07/2011
By ,
Wilmington NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was excited when I put the disc in and saw that the program was 90% workout and not just a bunch of kid games. It gives you the option to use free weights instead of a resistance band, and I can feel my muscles burning. I'm a 16 yr old guy and I usually use 35ibs but for this I used 20ibs. It slows your reps so that you get maximum relults curling, pressing, or whatever you choose. Look forward to getting ripped with this.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 20 for EA Sports Active 2 (Wii)

Best Fitness Game Ever!

01/03/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This program is awesome! The workouts are great and activities rotate so you never get bored. I love the idea of having a virtual personal trainer. I highly recommend this program! It is excellent for beginners (like me!) but also has settings that would be more appropriate for those who are more advanced. An excellent value and one of the best purchases I have made recently!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
1-20 of 106 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 6 Next