Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for GE GE 4.5 cu. ft. Compact Refrigerator, Black

GE GE 4.5 cu. ft. Compact Refrigerator, Black

Retain the freshness of fruits, vegetables, and other food items for a long time with the GE 4.5 cu ft Compact Refrigerator in black. Perfect for any room in your home where space is a premium, this GE 4.5 cu. ft. refrigerator has everything you need, including a defrost tray, beverage in-the-door can rack, and several fresh food shelves. Although the looks can be deceiving, this GE mini refrigerator provides enough compartments to store beverages, food items, and more. Make ice cubes in a few minutes and enjoy unlimited cold beverages with your friends and family. Plus, this compact refrigerator is Energy Star-qualified, which means it will cut down on your electricity bills too. One simple touch is all that this mini fridge with freezer requires to start a defrost cycle. The reversible hinges make this fridge a great choice for smaller kitchens, whereas the recessed handles add to its style.
Average Customer Rating:
4.481 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(727 Reviews) 577
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
461
4 stars
209
3 stars
23
2 stars
14
1 star
20
Customer Recommendation94%678 out of 722reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
49 Questions | 161 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
461
4 stars
209
3 stars
23
2 stars
14
1 star
20
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for GE 4.5 cu. ft. Compact Refrigerator, Black

Great shopping and shipping experience

08/05/2010
By ,
Maple Grove, MN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this at 10:00 am Monday and it was at my door at 10:30 am Wednesday. The box was somewhat shredded in the lower corners and the styrofoam packaging was quite thin and cracked. I thought for sure my fridge would be damaged but when I opened it up it was fine. btw, for those who said they lifted their fridge out of the box, all you needed to do was cut the plastic straps and lift the box off the fridge. I like the price and the fridge is quite spacious. My picture shows the interior with some pop and other drinks. The shelves are glass which I like and the door works great for storing 12 oz. cans. The fridge very quiet when the door is shut but when the door is opened and the fridge is cooling, the noise is quite noticeable. So far I like it.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+107points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for GE 4.5 cu. ft. Compact Refrigerator, Black

I Like!

04/20/2009
By ,
Tallahassee, FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I love it. Keep my produce, orange juice, deli meat, milk in here....even cookie dough whenever i dont have space in my big fridge! Only setback is the freezer compartment. Doesn't hold much of anything with the ice tray...without it you can fit a couple of small stouffers dinners in there. Had it four a few weeks now.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+81points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for GE 4.5 cu. ft. Compact Refrigerator, Black

Trouble with shipping.

03/28/2010
By ,
Oklahoma City, OK
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I ORDERED THIS PRODUCT ONLINE, AND WHEN IT ARRIVED VIA FEDEX, THERE WAS A MISSING PART, AND A BROKEN FREEZER DOOR, {SEE PICS}, AND WHEN PLUGGED IN IT DID NOT WORK, AT ALL.
I RETURNED IT, AND GOT ANOTHER ONE. WHEN IT ARRIVED VIA FEDEX, IT WAS IN GOOD CONDITION BUT WHEN PLUGGED IN, IT DID NOT WORK EITHER.
I WOULD ADVISE THAT ANYONE WANTING TO PURCHASE THIS ITEM SHOULD PURCHASE IT AT A LOCAL STORE, AND TAKE IT HOME YOURSELF. DO NOT HAVE IT SHIPPED.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for GE 4.5 cu. ft. Compact Refrigerator, Black

Did the trick for us...

05/18/2010
By ,
Mesa AZ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Long story short: My wife and I are living in an RV after having lost our home in the Phoenix area. RV fridges have a very small fresh food capacity and are relatively inefficient (especially the older ones like ours).
In order to gain enough space to refrigerate the items we need to live full time in a 5th wheel, we purchased this little GE fridge. It cools very nicely at the medium setting. The main storage section is actually quite spacious. The freezer section is comically tiny and of no real use. We are generally pleased with the purchase and hope the fridge continues to perform as it has so far.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+26points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for GE 4.5 cu. ft. Compact Refrigerator, Black

A nice small refrigerator

06/20/2010
By ,
Orlando, FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This GE frig is used in the family room where the hd projector is set up. Holds plenty of cold drinks/snacks and is quiet. Too bad it is not frost free.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+24points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for GE 4.5 cu. ft. Compact Refrigerator, Black

Serves the Purpose

07/25/2011
By ,
Prescott, Arizona
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I use this refrigerator in my garage to store extra water and can drinks to free up space in our main refrigerator. It's not a noisy refrigerator but I wouldn't want to put it in a room that I spent a lot of time in as it is noticeable. Since it's in my garage I don't hear it at all. I've only had it about a month but it has been working just fine and keeping the filled up space cool on setting number 3. I appreciate the glass shelves which will hold smaller items. If you do not use the freezer put a bag of frozen water in it and it will not frost up. The manual says the refrigerator will not perform correctly if the temperature is below 50 degrees so I guess I won't be using it in the winter. My only real complaint is that I received it with a large dent on the top, rear of the unit. I decided it was too much of a hassle to pack it back up and return it for a replacement so ended up just keeping it. Since I've only had it about a month I can't speak for its durability so I only gave it one star. I only gave it one star for appearance because of the large dent in the back. Otherwise it look just fine.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for GE 4.5 cu. ft. Compact Refrigerator, Black

Good looking, & simple.

07/01/2010
By ,
Massachusetts
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This fridge looks nice in my room, and doesn't take up too much space. The only thing, after I took it home and out of the box, on the top right corner there is a dent. It looks like it may have been dropped on its corner or something. It didn't do any type of damage to the fridge, and I covered it with decorations on top of the fridge. I've had this for about 3 days now. Works good.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for GE 4.5 cu. ft. Compact Refrigerator, Black

Great for Teens Rooms

06/07/2009
By ,
Helena,Ala
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We got this for my son's 15th b'day & put it in his " party room " & so far he loves it. We have only had it 24 hrs, but it cooled down fast, it's quiet,it's the perfect size & sleek looking. Now I don't have to listen to all his friends running up & down the stairs all night! The only draw back I see so far is I have no idea how to defrost the freezer! lol
Get one U will love it!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for GE 4.5 cu. ft. Compact Refrigerator, Black

Installed this in our camper

02/04/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The perfect solution for us as a replacement for the dead refrigerator in our motorhome\camper.
We've used it for 2 seasons now & it has worked fine.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for GE 4.5 cu. ft. Compact Refrigerator, Black

Great product

08/19/2010
By ,
Winston Salem, NC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I really like this fridge. It is large enough to keep quite a few canned drinks. I set the thermostat to 3 as suggested in the instruction booklet and it really keeps the drinks cold. I do think that the packing needs to be a little more protective. I had my choice of the last three in the store and picked the least beaten up box but when I got it home and unpacked it I immediately noticed a sizable dent in the front cover and a dent in the internal shelf track. Also the mini freezer compartment was dislodged and just hanging. I was able to reattach the freezer compartment and felt it was too much trouble to box it back up and take it back to the store for a replacement plus the next one might have been worse!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for GE 4.5 cu. ft. Compact Refrigerator, Black

Keeping it cold !!!!!

06/20/2010
By ,
hawaii
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i just got my little ice box and it gets really cold in there , i like it alot . Hooray to drinking cold milk !!!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for GE 4.5 cu. ft. Compact Refrigerator, Black

delighted

03/14/2010
By ,
Terre Haute, In
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had read many reviews on similar products, and liked what others had to say about this refrigerator. Now that I've had it for a couple of weeks, I thought my two-cents worth hight help someone else decide. I am completely impressed with this product. It runs super-quiet, has nice adjustable shelves, will hold two 1/2 gallon containers in door, and really is much better than I expected. We have it set on 4, and it takes about 24 hours to freeze the ice cubes, but we don't use the ice anyway, Freezer compartment will hold about a 3 pound pkg of hamburger. Door shelves will accomodate over 12 cans of sodas, plus the 1/2 gallons.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+220points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for GE 4.5 cu. ft. Compact Refrigerator, Black

Amazing mini-fridge

04/04/2011
By ,
Oregon
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great mini-fridge, I am so glad that I bought it. I bought it hoping that it would be able to hold gallons of milk in it and it can, which made me very happy. It can easily hold two gallons as well as nother half gallon on the bottom alone. I gave the meets expectations section four stars because it has a lot of shelves, which can be nice, but at the same time it is a small fridge so lots of shelves limits the height of things that can go on the shelves. They are adjustable and can be removed but it is still difficult so I just put them all on the lowest setting and use one shelf to hold things like large containers of yogurt and bottles. The door panel has a lot of space for cans, some bottles, and a copule of rows for smaller things like small condiments and whatnot. The freezer is very small so it can't hold anything larger than about four inches tall so if that is a big priority look elsewhere. It comes with a nice little ice cube tray as well. Even though this is one of the bigger models it is also one of the cheapest to use! I was very impressed by GE on this fact. It was estimated at $29 per year compared to others running around $33 or so. It isn't too loud and the more items that are in it the quiter it gets. I have had it for about a month now and I don't even notice it turning on anymore. It has an adjustable thermostat that ranges from 0-7 with three being the average fridge temperature. I would recommend this mini fridge to anyone. It works and looks great in the sleek black.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+45points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for GE 4.5 cu. ft. Compact Refrigerator, Black

Not a bad little fridge

06/27/2009
By ,
Baltimore, MD
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Gets nice and cold, and is adjustable if you find your veggies nippy or your meat too tepid. The hardware to reverse the door swing is a little bit of a pain but that is usually something you only have to do once or twice over the lifetime of the fridge. The soda-can dispenser in the door is nice, but there's no way to remove it, so you're stuck with it. Runs pretty quiet, but it does draw a bit of juice when the compressor kicks in, don't put sensitive equipment on the same circuit. Overall, I like :) I've only had it a short time so as for longevity, only time will tell...
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+37points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for GE 4.5 cu. ft. Compact Refrigerator, Black

ge fridge

06/21/2009
By ,
nd
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
it holds 3 cases of 12 oz. cans easily,with room to spare for food perhaps?.....plug n play,set it on about 5,and your beverages will be chilled to around 40 degrees......door is reversible.......i wish it had a light......good all around deal......used the site to store free shipping,and it arrived in about 10 days for pickup.........grrrrrrrrr8.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+134points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for GE 4.5 cu. ft. Compact Refrigerator, Black

Love It!!!!!

04/08/2010
By ,
Chensee, SC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I read the reviews on this before I bought it... checked it out in the store and it was $ 25.00 higher.. So, I order it on here and it was here in less than 4 days, ordered it late saturday night and it was here on tuesday afternoon.. it's not loud at all.. It sits beside my bed.. wanted it to hold sodas and odd stuff.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+34points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for GE 4.5 cu. ft. Compact Refrigerator, Black

Excellent Value

12/20/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was a gift for my boyfriend to have in his room, he LOVED it! He told me the colour, the glass shelves, the shiny black appearance makes this fridge look alot more than the actual price (the paper work was included in the box) next time i'll make sure its stated to be a gift! But seriously he loves everything about it.. he's had it over a month now and it keeps everything nice and cool.. the motor has a little hum to it.. but the more food he has in it the less the hum... typical with any fridge! Excellent buy! Beautiful look! Quality outstanding!! Thanks so much!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+21points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for GE 4.5 cu. ft. Compact Refrigerator, Black

Mini Fridge in My Bedroom

05/20/2009
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Awesome fridge except it has no light in it- so if it's dark or you're watching TV at night, you can't see what the heck is in there..if it had a light it would be perfect!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+49points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for GE 4.5 cu. ft. Compact Refrigerator, Black

Great little refrigerator

08/13/2009
By ,
Long Island NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this item for our office. It looks great and fits perfectly. The only reason I gave it 4 stars on features rather than 5 is that I think the inside door storage could have been designed better. Other than that this product gets a total 2 thumbs up from my boss and me. Oh and I love the freezer - fresh cubes every day now!!! Yipee :-)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+38points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for GE 4.5 cu. ft. Compact Refrigerator, Black

Well worth the extra cash

08/19/2010
By ,
Henderson,NV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We have had this refrigerator for 10 years and it has been through a half a dozen moves, yet still runs like the day we bought it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+20points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 578 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  29 Next