Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Kent International 26" Genesis, V2100,Mountain Bike, Dual-Suspension, Men's Bike, Black

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Kent International 26" Genesis, V2100,Mountain Bike, Dual-Suspension, Men's Bike, Black

If you want to enjoy superior comfort while riding on hills, then you might have to get the Genesis V2100 26" Dual-Suspension Men's Mountain Bike, featuring a dual-suspension frame, this men's Genesis 26" bicycle is very hill-friendly and offers you a smooth riding experience even on rough terrain. The suspension fork of this Genesis Mountain Bike ensures you don't feel the bumps on the road. The Shimano gearing system of this men's Genesis 26" bicycle makes shifting between gears a breeze, thus letting you move up and down hills effortlessly. Sudden braking will now be safe, as this 26" Genesis V2100 Dual Suspension Bike features a front disc brake and a rear V brake. Long-lasting tires provide a strong grip over rugged paths. Those who love off-road cycling will enjoy the Genesis V2100 Dual-Suspension Bicycle.
Average Customer Rating:
3.934 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(304 Reviews) 276
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
130
4 stars
101
3 stars
25
2 stars
19
1 star
29
Customer Recommendation81%244 out of 300reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
130
4 stars
101
3 stars
25
2 stars
19
1 star
29
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for 26" Genesis, V2100,Mountain Bike, Dual-Suspension, Men's Bike, Black

Very nice value.. good quality overall

12/20/2012
By ,
Pahoa, Hawaii
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Received bike, easy assembly, great condition, great quality only negative is chain broke on second outing, decided to replace with a heavy duty chain and have had no problems since. Did require some adjustments to gearing, but overall well worth the cost.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 2 for 26" Genesis, V2100,Mountain Bike, Dual-Suspension, Men's Bike, Black

Very good mountain bike starter's bike

02/04/2013
By ,
FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I've been doing mountain biking for many years. I own a high end bike with very good component which has been with me for many year. I started looking for a low price good quality bike to test with the possibility to buy 10 more to send to Venezuela to a team of Christian missionaries who are working with WAYUU Indians. After looking around for different options and prices, I selected this one. After removing all the plastic reflectors and the stand and test riding it at Markham Park mountian bike trails, going through the Intermediate and expert trails, I can tell you that I am not dissapointed at all. For the price this bike handles very good. The only item that I would replace would be the plastic pedals. I am buying and upgrading to medal pedals. Of couse, I haven't owned this bike for very long (a week or so) and cannot provide a comprehensive analysis, but for what I can tell it's a good starters mountain bike at a very good price. Happy trails!!!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Review 3 for 26" Genesis, V2100,Mountain Bike, Dual-Suspension, Men's Bike, Black

Black & White

10/04/2011
By ,
Rogers, AR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this bicycle from a Wal-Mart in Rogers, AR. There are several things that I like about this bike. The bike is light! It weighs more than 6lbs less than my last bike. The top cross bar is diamond shaped not round. This makes it easier to lift in to the back of my truck. The rear suspension spring is in cased inside of a rubber housing. Which will keep spring clean. The gear shifters have two leavers one to lower the gear and one to increase the gear. The tires have a real aggressive tread pattern. The ride is very smooth even off road. The disk break on the front wheel helps stop the bike even faster than the normal beaks. And the rear wheel kickstand is awesome! I can move the bike with the kickstand down. Although, the spring loaded release has to be taped with your foot instead of the stand itself. The only drawback is the seat! It was designed for looks and not for comfort. The seat is almost painful to use. I replaced it with an after-market seat. Believe me, you will want to budget for a new seat.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 4 for 26" Genesis, V2100,Mountain Bike, Dual-Suspension, Men's Bike, Black

amazing deal

05/12/2010
By ,
ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was shopping around for a bike and i went to Wal-Mart hoping to find a good deal and did I ever.
This bike is wonderful and exactly what i wanted but for much less money than i expected to spend.
I would advise getting a different seat though.. i found a bell seat for about $25 that is pretty awesome. took me 5 minutes to take the original seat off, put the new one on, and adjust it. Much much better.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
+56points
Review 5 for 26" Genesis, V2100,Mountain Bike, Dual-Suspension, Men's Bike, Black

Replace the Peddles!!!

09/17/2011
By ,
Kansas City, Kansas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I researched this bike for the pros and cons for couple months. I was already aware of the plastic peddles needing to be replaced. I went to a local bike store and purchased METAL (not plastic) peddles for less than $12. When I went to Wal-Mart to get the bike; I saw the same bike at the clearance section due to broken peddles. I inspected the bike for any other flaws but could not find anything else. Due to someone not researching and returning the bike, I got the bike for $90...thanks for the return buddy! The bike is perfect with the new peddles!!!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+17points
Review 6 for 26" Genesis, V2100,Mountain Bike, Dual-Suspension, Men's Bike, Black

This was a birthday gift to me.

05/08/2010
By ,
Henderson, Nevada
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I brought this bike for my birthday and gave it a spin and I was very impressed with the smoothness of the bike even going up the hill. And yes it took me a second to figure out the kickstand being that it was not the traditional kickstand. LOL Other then that I have not hit a bump but if I do I will look into a better set of wheels. I saw a Schwinn with similar features for $229.00. This is a great bike for the price I don't regret purchasing it.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+26points
Review 7 for 26" Genesis, V2100,Mountain Bike, Dual-Suspension, Men's Bike, Black

A blank slate for greater things.

03/19/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Awfully cheap, useless components, but if you replace all the steel components ( stem, handlebars, shock, cranks, seat post, rear spring, kick stand ) with aluminum ones, this bike can be great! Think of it this way - you're basically buying a frame with upgrade capability for later on! I've seen these things falling apart in the store brand new.
The rear shock is actually a spring, and will make creaking noises which are kinda alarming. This is easy to replace with something better.
I replaced the original rear 'shock' ( it's actually a spring ) with a fox shock, threw a used rock shox judy on the front, and it rides fantastic & easily dropped 8lbs off the bike, so it's within the weight of something you'd buy at a department store.
This is the perfect project for a DIYer who's willing to work on his own bike and tune it into perfection. If you are not knowledgeable with bikes, forget this one - it will be a maintenance nightmare. With good components on it, it is a dream however.. you won't find a dual suspension bike frame for anywhere near the cost of this entire bike!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Review 8 for 26" Genesis, V2100,Mountain Bike, Dual-Suspension, Men's Bike, Black

Great bike for the $$$

09/27/2010
By ,
Neptune Beach, Fl
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
First, this is a sharp looking bike. I've gotten a few compliments on it after only having it a week. I've peeled almost all of the ridiculous stickers off though.
Pros- Shimano drivetrain, dual suspension, front disc, looks GREAT.
Cons- No rear disc, plastic pedals that feel small, handlebar neck isn't adjustable.
Overall- Great bike, good looks. I've added some stuff already(saddlebag, headlight, chain slapguard). But I need to add more. Wider aluminum pedals, and maybe firmer shocks up front.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+8points
Review 9 for 26" Genesis, V2100,Mountain Bike, Dual-Suspension, Men's Bike, Black

Great Bike--Great Price!!!!

05/27/2011
By ,
Kansas City, KS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this bike! It looks and rides impressive. Admittedly, i don't jump off cliffs or ride down sheer mountain faces but I ride it hard and it works just fine. I was doubly lucky to find the white whale of the V2100s!! I liked the black on white and was ready to purchase it when by accident I came across this one in one of the local Walmarts. They don't even show this color scheme as being an option on the site.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
 
My Product Recommendations
Alloy MTB Pedal
3.7 out of 5(3)
 
 
 
 
On Guard OG series 12mm GLO Combo Cable Lock, 5513
4.9 out of 5(9)
 
 
 
 
 
+4points
Review 10 for 26" Genesis, V2100,Mountain Bike, Dual-Suspension, Men's Bike, Black

Great bike for the price.

12/11/2012
By ,
Dallas,Tx.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this bike about one year ago to replace a trek fuel that was stolen. Not to compare the two, I just needed a bike to ride local trails till I had the funds available for a new trek. I thought just to ride this genesis v2100 till it broke down, one month tops, and then dish out the money for a name brand mtb. Turns out this bike can really take a beating. I slowly began to upgrade components, mainly spare parts I had lying around from previous bikes. More than one year later, I have not had the need to replace the bike. Granted, most components have been changed and my point is this. This bike is a great buy for the money. It will get you riding. If you can work on your own bike, it can be upgraded to meet your needs as you go. A bike is only as expensive as the components that are in/on it. High dollar, name brand quality mountain bikes have good components and a very well built frame. I can contest, this bike's frame is well built. What you add to it, only makes it that much better. A great canvas, for good things to come. If you want top notch out of the store, and cant work on bikes, look elswhere. Expect high dollar. If you are handy and can research upgrades, this bike can grow with you as you ride. Thus, you need to look no further, this one is for you. No doubt.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 11 for 26" Genesis, V2100,Mountain Bike, Dual-Suspension, Men's Bike, Black

rigid bike

05/11/2012
By ,
Jamaica, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i have been using this bike for a year now, it has been my primary mean of transport and it has not given me any problem, i hv used it in d snow n rain, no slippery, it well built and rugged, i have received a lot of complements on this bike...really a good bike for the price...
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 12 for 26" Genesis, V2100,Mountain Bike, Dual-Suspension, Men's Bike, Black

great

05/17/2012
By ,
allen texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
love it
gears weren't adjusted when i got it but they were easy to adjust.
went ahead and swapped pedals with aluminum bmx pedals
this bike is amazing for $160
i would buy it over and over again:)
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 13 for 26" Genesis, V2100,Mountain Bike, Dual-Suspension, Men's Bike, Black

Rubbish seat & front suspension

09/07/2011
By ,
Pullman, WA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I like the overall look of the bike. The all aluminum parts (from the chain, rims, spokes, to the sub -frame) are dependable - I dont need to worry about any rusting part. Liked the paddle shifting/trigger style shimano shifters. suspension are smooth.
Disk brake is sturdy and strong - feels like its made from "carbon-ceramic"
CONS:
! You CANNOT ride this bike for more than 3 miles straight (unless if you are less than 140 lb. or have replaced the seat) or your buttocks will hurt painfully. I suggest your replace your seat ASAP
! Front suspension is wobbly, not firm. It feels like it wont last long.
! V-brake not so strong as the disk
! small space for your water bottle
! Jerky transmission
! feels heavy than expected - pedaling is a bit heavy
bottom line:
good value for features (if you like disk brakes and dual suspension for less than $ 150)
Not horribly made - feels ok
only good for light off road or you'll brake the flimsy front suspension
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Review 14 for 26" Genesis, V2100,Mountain Bike, Dual-Suspension, Men's Bike, Black

Genesis V2100 bicycle

04/17/2011
By ,
st louis, mo
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this bike. bought it 2 days ago and and road 2 miles on it right away and then just got done riding a 6 mi ride, which included dirt rocks grass mud street riding loose gravel and sum choppy rocks i guess supposed to be used as steps...up hill down hill..its a very good bike.
i will agree however that the seat is a lil ruff on the tush but its an easy fix...love the suspension. when i was 1st looking for a bike to ride to campus and back home an to take back to idaho and ride rougher trails i didnt really want to spend $400+ for a good good mt bike. this 1 i know i wont be going entirely rough back woodsy but what it handled today i was impressed. and its a very good looking bike..
right when i bought it 2 of my guy friends told me to keep an eye on it otherwise they'd snatch it from me lol good bike
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+16points
Review 15 for 26" Genesis, V2100,Mountain Bike, Dual-Suspension, Men's Bike, Black

Tough! Cheap!

12/06/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This bike is good if you do not do any technical mountain biking. I've had this bike for about 2 months and it has worked great for me. I've put about 70 miles on it and it still works. Would recommend it to anyone who is not a really serious biker, but is someone who just likes to get on the trails and have some fun! I thought the directions where not very good, but if your mechanically incline I think you will have no problem putting it together. Note: You shouldn't have to mess with the derailleur, but if you do have a problem take it to the local bike shop to look at it. I did this and they charged like $4.00 to adjust my front derailleur. The front shock is not the best, but you can't get too much for the money you pay. I hope this helps you out when deciding on a bicycle.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per month
+3points
Review 16 for 26" Genesis, V2100,Mountain Bike, Dual-Suspension, Men's Bike, Black

I haven't replaced the pedals yet

07/04/2012
By ,
St. Louis, Mo.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reading the reviews here, i guess I better replace the pedals, but after about 50 miles riding (50% paved with some steep hills, 50% flat crushed limestone), the plastic pedals ain't broke yet. I haven't biked in years. I wanted something comfortable with suspension, so I just grabbed this one from the neighborhood Walmart. I put an "old man" style seat on it, a luggage rack, and peeled off the "hood" looking decals. (see pic.). I'm 57 yrs. old, so I doudt if i'm going to be doing much extreme biking. But it seems good enough for getting some exercise. No problems shifting.I think a lot depends on what Walmart employee assembles the bike. It looks like whoever assembled mine did a decent job. I always soak down the chain and derailers with WD-40 b-4 I take the bike out. If anything happens, I'll update this review.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Keaau, Hawaii
noseless seat
Posted 11/16/2012
I have an inexpensive mountain bike that was given to me (a Next brand). The stock seat was a killer. So I replaced it with a Schwinn No Stress seat like the one you have, and it seems to be working well. I just turned 59, so I guess I qualify for an "old man seat". Ha.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 17 for 26" Genesis, V2100,Mountain Bike, Dual-Suspension, Men's Bike, Black

Great bike, low priced

09/16/2010
By ,
Toronto, Ontario
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great bike being used on the road, assembled at home and tuned at the local store in Canada where the equivalent sells for around $450/-.
Ride it everyday, no problems. Worth every buck.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Review 18 for 26" Genesis, V2100,Mountain Bike, Dual-Suspension, Men's Bike, Black

An Amazing Mountain Bike!

07/12/2011
By ,
Dayton, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I’ve had my Genesis V2100 for a couple weeks now and I love it! I had it shipped and it was very easy to put together. For the past few weeks I’ve been on mountain biking trails and through my neighborhood and rough terrain and this bike handles fantastically! One of the best bikes I have ever bought for the money. I would suggest getting a gel seat for the seat and make sure you fine tone the gears but once you do that it is an amazing bike.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 19 for 26" Genesis, V2100,Mountain Bike, Dual-Suspension, Men's Bike, Black

Great deal!

06/09/2010
By ,
Spt, IN.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Got the bike and put it together very quick, but after assembly and riding was skeptical. It was having trouble switching gears and such, and I know nothing about tuning so I took it to a bike shop where they adjusted and tuned for 10 bucks now runs like a champ, and shifting is amazing with the shimano trigger shifters! If you purchase this bike I highly recommend u get it tuned right after purchase so it can reach it's maximum potential... By the way the shocks on this thing is amazing I can ramp and land and not feel a thing its nuts...
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 20 for 26" Genesis, V2100,Mountain Bike, Dual-Suspension, Men's Bike, Black

Great bike for the price

07/28/2012
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very happy with this bike. I know my way around bikes so when I bought this I did check it over. Too many bad reviews over bad assembly LOL. I did replace the pedals right away to avoid that problem. And crank arms aren't plastic they are steel with a plastic shell. I gave this 4 stars though cause i had a problem with the rear freewheel hub. Bad one from shimano I gather but was cheap fix. Over great bike for the price and easily upgradable to make a good mountain bike and not spend 1000 being as I have been doing it.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Bell Dawn Patrol Headlight, Assorted Colors
4 out of 5(24)
 
 
 
 
 
+1point
1-20 of 277 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  14 Next