Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for L'oreal L'Oreal, Studio Secrets Professional Magic Perfecting Base Primer, 0.5 oz

L'oreal L'Oreal, Studio Secrets Professional Magic Perfecting Base Primer, 0.5 oz

L'Oreal Studio Secrets Professional Magic Perfecting Base Primer is a silky, lightweight formula that glides onto skin, leaving it velvety-smooth to touch. Get a unified matte finish that is flawless. L'Oreal Studio Secrets Magic Perfecting Base comes in a 0.5 oz container. It is suitable to use for all skin types.
Average Customer Rating:
4.325 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(200 Reviews) 196
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
130
4 stars
38
3 stars
11
2 stars
9
1 star
12
Customer Recommendation86%171 out of 200reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
7 Questions | 26 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
130
4 stars
38
3 stars
11
2 stars
9
1 star
12
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for L'Oreal, Studio Secrets Professional Magic Perfecting Base Primer, 0.5 oz

My Godsend!

12/16/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have normal skin, not dry, not oily... but I do have pot holes, big pores and blackheads and there just doesn't seem to be anything I can do about it. I also have freckles and a birthmark, dark spots, when I'm oh natural, you can also see veins. I start with neutrogena pore minimizing toner, dry, neutrogena oil free lotion, dry, magic perfecting base primer- applied generously over my problem areas and very well blended (and quickly). Dry completely (all these drying sessions can be rushed with a hair dryer or go pick out your clothes, etc. Then, if you have skin like mine or dry skin, liquid foundation, my fav is L'Oreal's True Match, awesome color palette, super blendable, great coverage, wears well, competes with some of the big boys at a fraction of the cost. If you have combination or oily skin or are prone to breakouts, you should find a good powder foundation, again, the True Match may work, but if you have sensitive or acne prone skin, it may be harder to find the right one. You can set you look with a loose translucent setting powder, L'Oreal sells that too. All I can tell you is that this stuff has been a blessing to me, I can't live with out it, it even my skin out so amazingly. It fills in all those pot holes without causing acne. It makes everything smooth and matte, fresh faced, even toned, if I don't have time for any makeup, if I can at least get that on, I look much much better. But although it is basically colorless, it is kinda whitish pink, which is what i am, so it looks great on me, I'm not sure exactly how it wears solo on darker skins, I do know that it works perfectly under any color makeup. I do spray tans all the time and have a dark set of foundation, does great with it too. I think this stuff is amazing, priced very fairly for how long it lasts and well it works and THANK YOU L'Oreal! Please don't stop making it!!!! Sorry I don't have time for proofreading, I have kids. Hope this helped somebody.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for L'Oreal, Studio Secrets Professional Magic Perfecting Base Primer, 0.5 oz

Love it !!!!!!

10/06/2014
By ,
Dublin, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would definitely recommend it!!!! My skin looks so fresh and also it minimizes my acne scars . Also a good base for makeup as it's really smooth on skin.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for L'Oreal, Studio Secrets Professional Magic Perfecting Base Primer, 0.5 oz

How did I ever go without this stuff??

06/02/2011
By ,
NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had read a lot of good things about using face primers and decided to give it a try. They are all expensive, but it is worth the money! Dab it on your face and blend in and it instantly makes your face feel satin smooth. I give it about 60 seconds to dry and then put on my foundation. The primer makes it go on smooth and gives your foundation a nice matte look, instead of a shiny look. The primer also gives you great coverage from dark spots, acne and acne scars. It keeps your makeup looking great all day because it creates a barrier between your pores and your makeup, so it won't sink into your pores and wipe away. I wouldn't do my makeup without it now.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+109points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Jacksonville, NC
What's a good foundation?
Posted 09/04/2013
I work at Walmart everyday and I have Combination/Dry skin. From experience; what foundation do you recommend for us who work in crazy heat.
I've used Covergirl Outlast and it was decent and I've also used Dermablend and it was fantastic but expensive.
I steer clear of Mineral foundations because when you sweat; they are prone to itching.
I don't work in Cosmetics but I've had a lot of girls ask me for my help with their selecting foundations and I've always found Revlon and Covergirl to have the best full coverage and Physicians Formula provides great powders for setting your foundation.
I'm not a freelance makeup artist or actively attending a school for it (though I plan to soon) outside of Walmart but I follow makeup quite closely and I've found a lot of dupes for high end products through our product offerings at Walmart. I'm open to anything new.
This primer I've heard many great things about. Some of my favorite beauty gurus have raved over this one and the Rimmel London primer.
+2points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 4 for L'Oreal, Studio Secrets Professional Magic Perfecting Base Primer, 0.5 oz

I can't believe how well this product works

10/07/2011
By ,
Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I never write reviews but I felt I needed to give props where a compliment was due. I love this product! I have been trying to minimize my pores on my face for quite awhile to know avail. I bought this product hoping that it would help cover them before I put on my foundation. And that is exactly what it did. I did not need to use a lot. I just dabbed my pinky into the container and then spread it over my face. A little bit goes a long way. Instantly my face looked flawless - I could not believe it. When I went to work, I received a lot of "I don't know why you look different but you do" compliments. Incredible product at an incredible price. if I could give this product more than 5 stars, I would.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+46points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for L'Oreal, Studio Secrets Professional Magic Perfecting Base Primer, 0.5 oz

good product

05/20/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a very good product, i have only tried two primers, this and mary kay primer. This product beats Mary Kay by miles! I have combination skin. Some days it's oily, some days it is dry. Either way this primer helps keep my makeup PERFECT! It helps hide the dry skin and it keeps my oily skin less oily! It is a little high but it is worth it when i do not have to check the mirror every hour to make sure that i don't have patches of makeup on my skin!!
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Color Appeal
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+76points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for L'Oreal, Studio Secrets Professional Magic Perfecting Base Primer, 0.5 oz

help where you need it

09/25/2011
By ,
wesson.ms
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i have acne scars besides being 60 um something and this stuff really works. Try it you"ll love it. Just like l'oreal to keep making great affordable beauty products!
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+38points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for L'Oreal, Studio Secrets Professional Magic Perfecting Base Primer, 0.5 oz
12/07/2011
By ,
Phoenix, AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product is so worth it, I seriously cant leave my house without putting this on. It leaves your face feeling silky smooth and your makeup looking great and long lasting and not oily or greasy. I even put a dab on my eyelids for my eye shadow not to crease and look messy after work. I use to bring my makeup to work to do some re touches and now i dont have to because it ACTUALLY stays on, I'm so glad i bought this product :) !!
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for L'Oreal, Studio Secrets Professional Magic Perfecting Base Primer, 0.5 oz

Not Doing Much For Me

08/20/2012
By ,
Deltona, FL
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I usually do not use any primer. I've combination oily skin and I use Revlon ColorStay foundation which lasts all day without any primer itself. I am Asian, I do not have large pores, nor dark spots. I do have some small freckles across my nose, but I've never tried to cover them up. Upon putting this primer all over my face, I can see it make my face a bit lighter in shade. It does not go well with the Revlon foundation though. Without the primer the foundation goes on easily, with this primer, it leaves strikes, hard to even out. How I am going to say this, like if you use a pencil to draw on a regular paper, it's easy. But if you make the paper as smooth as glass and then use to pencil to draw on it, it's hard to leave a mark. Another thing is this product will not hold well if you sweat a lot which is my case, since I live in FL, and I love outdoors. It's better of to use milk of megnesia, which absorb oil and sweat efficiently.
BTW, if you've never heard of using milk of megnesia as primer, go on YouTube to find out, it's like a wonder.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:A few times per year
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for L'Oreal, Studio Secrets Professional Magic Perfecting Base Primer, 0.5 oz

Awesome stuff.

01/31/2012
By ,
Indiana
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
First off, this is [obviously] a face primer. I've used many more expensive brands and this stuff is either equal or better than the rest. It hides all those fine lines [even for those young folks!], large pores and skin imperfections and makes a perfect base for applying makeup. You can even apply this and then buff in a power and you still look awesome. I will def. be purchasing this again. I get comments on how nice my flawless my skin looks, I always say it's from this product.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for L'Oreal, Studio Secrets Professional Magic Perfecting Base Primer, 0.5 oz

L'Oreal, Prof. Magic Perfect Primer is PERFECT!

12/02/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This Primer is the best new makeup product I've come across in over a decade! I got it as a sample from WalMart. I was skeptical but I was truly AMAZED at what a good job it did smoothing out my enlarged pores and camouflage my 'age spots'.
You won't be disappointed.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for L'Oreal, Studio Secrets Professional Magic Perfecting Base Primer, 0.5 oz

Good, But Not GREAT

03/31/2012
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I ordered this online, and upon receiving it, the first thing that struck me was just how TINY the jar is. The packaging makes it look larger in the picture, but at just half an ounce, you aren't getting very much.
I applied it with my pinky by dotting a bit on the problem areas and then rubbing it in. It has a creamy, but not greasy, feel and it definitely had a matte effect right away. I was a little worried that it would rub off when I applied my foundation since I use a cream to powder variety that I apply with a makeup sponge.
Overall, the matte effect is very nice and it seems to have smoothed things out overall. But I think I could probably get the same effect with a good foundation and setting it with powder. I don't know that I would purchase it again, but it's nice for days that I'd like a little extra oomph with my makeup.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Color Appeal
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for L'Oreal, Studio Secrets Professional Magic Perfecting Base Primer, 0.5 oz
05/10/2012
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
this product was drier than I anticipated and clumpy. It blends in ok, but not great.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Color Appeal
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for L'Oreal, Studio Secrets Professional Magic Perfecting Base Primer, 0.5 oz

Wonderful Product

06/25/2012
By ,
rainstained
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have a lot of allergies so it's hard for me to even find makeup that I can use. When I found this I found it at Dollar General and it was reasonably priced there. I used this product and it was so simple to apply that I was awestruck. My face can be blotchy sometimes and I was just looking for something to mask that a bit, this product makes me feel beautiful one the outside. I do not wear foundation with it and I know that's what it's for but I was so happy with the way this looked on it's own I found I didn't need the foundation.
It is a smooth base coat and not much is needed when applying it otherwise it's too greasy.
I'm so glad to find a must have item for my makeup collection. My advice though is to try it in the smaller version you can get at dollar general first before purchasing the bigger product they sell here.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for L'Oreal, Studio Secrets Professional Magic Perfecting Base Primer, 0.5 oz

Good for Oily Skin

06/27/2012
By ,
Alabama
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is the best primer/base I have ever used. I usually pay $30 and thought I would cut back. My face gets oily and this product keeps my make-up on and my face is much less oily. The only thing I don't like is the delivery system. I wish it was in a tube or pump. I don't like sticking my fingers in a jar. Also, a bit more product would be greatly appreciated. Overall I am going to purchase this product again.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for L'Oreal, Studio Secrets Professional Magic Perfecting Base Primer, 0.5 oz

Love it!!

07/12/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love this stuff and can never find it in the store
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for L'Oreal, Studio Secrets Professional Magic Perfecting Base Primer, 0.5 oz

I have not been using this too long but.....

07/09/2014
By ,
Tucson Az
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It leaves my skin feeling soft and smooth, will report back later to let you know if I see any difference. So far I like it, and the price is good at Walmart.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for L'Oreal, Studio Secrets Professional Magic Perfecting Base Primer, 0.5 oz

What Happened, L'Oreal?

09/28/2012
By ,
Boston, MA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I used to get samples of this in my magazines all of the time. And they were great! I closed my pores and made my skin appear to be FLAWLESS. So obviously I immediately went to buy the product. But... For some reason the primer didn't go on as easily as the samples did. It clumps, it's very dry and sometimes it refuses to blend in. Also, it says that you can wear this product by itself for a matte finish, but I would only recommend doing that on fair skin.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for L'Oreal, Studio Secrets Professional Magic Perfecting Base Primer, 0.5 oz

Feels great putting on and looks great too.

08/30/2011
By ,
Grand Rapids, MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This customer did not provide a text review.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for L'Oreal, Studio Secrets Professional Magic Perfecting Base Primer, 0.5 oz

This stuff is awesome

01/24/2014
By ,
Baltimore,MD
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have these annoying lines under my eyes that makeup always gets caught in. And dry skin on my t zone especially. This helps. It also helps to lessen the appearance of the pores on my nose which I have always had a problem with! I have big pores and fine lines. And we all know how attractive that is. Haha. The stuff is thick but you don't need much and I also use another moisterizer a few minutes before for the areas that don't need it as much because it's a small jar. I really do recommend this, it's my second jar of it and it works so well with foundation and covering what I need to cover.. which is everything LOL
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for L'Oreal, Studio Secrets Professional Magic Perfecting Base Primer, 0.5 oz

Not sure

12/02/2011
By ,
chicago
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I did a lot of research before purchasing and i'm not sure what all the hype was about. I tried using the product alone and it give me an ashy dull look. I wore around my eyes and placed concealer on top. I saw creases
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Color Appeal
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 45 total reviews
1 2 3 Next