Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for ProScan Proscan 42" LED-LCD 1080p 120Hz HDTV, 1.5" ultra-slim design 42LED55SA

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

ProScan Proscan 42" LED-LCD 1080p 120Hz HDTV, 1.5" ultra-slim design 42LED55SA

The Proscan 42" LED HDTV features a 42" LED screen for excellent viewing. The 16:9 aspect ratio provides a 1920 x 1080 resolution for excellent picture. Four HDMI inputs give you a lossless HD experience. Enjoy great entertainment with this top of the line product. Note: You must have a source of HD programming in order to take full advantage of the Proscan 42" LED LCD HDTV. Contact your local cable or satellite TV provider for details on how to upgrade.
Average Customer Rating:
4.524 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(212 Reviews) 187
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
140
4 stars
57
3 stars
5
2 stars
6
1 star
4
Customer Recommendation93%197 out of 212reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
140
4 stars
57
3 stars
5
2 stars
6
1 star
4
Customer Reviews
Review 61 for Proscan 42" LED-LCD 1080p 120Hz HDTV, 1.5" ultra-slim design 42LED55SA

worth the price

07/10/2010
By ,
Columbus,OH
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I dont know how I stumbled accross this tv but Im glad I did. Picture quality is superb in SD and HD. The depth in the picture is like no other, the closest to 3D without the stoopid glasses. The 5 HDMI im puts lets u hook up multiple components without the wire entanglement. THe only downfall is that the sound quality kinda sucks :-( but a nice home theater system can fix that. I was scheptic to buy at first but I looked it up and it is made by RCA which was a popular company in the 80s n 90s. Proscan is there " Top of the line LINE" anyway it is a really nice LED tv for the price. Worth the buy.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 62 for Proscan 42" LED-LCD 1080p 120Hz HDTV, 1.5" ultra-slim design 42LED55SA

Great picture for the price!

06/26/2010
By ,
Los Angeles, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This TV is a great value. Picture is very bright even in daylight lit room. I can see clearly from any seat in the room. Colors are rich and blacks are black. Material with motion is fluid and little amounts of blur are present but not for very long. Of course, this TV sound isn't very loud, but it was designed to be use with a Home Theatre sound system. There are not a lot of extra features, such as Internet features, but if your BluRay player has them, as mine does, it is not a problem. Plenty of connecttion makes this TV a winner. Remote could be better, but for the price, I can live with it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 63 for Proscan 42" LED-LCD 1080p 120Hz HDTV, 1.5" ultra-slim design 42LED55SA

Excellent choice

08/14/2010
By ,
Georgia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We searched all over the internet for a low cost LED Tv. We decided on the Proscan 42 inch. It cost only 599.00 We ordered it online and it arrived within a few days! (shipping was free)
It was bigger than we thought since our old set was 32" and we didn't have HDTV. All we can say is this tv is great for the cost. We have it in our bebroom. It was half the cost of most LED's on the market. The picture is wonderful especially in HDTV.
We plan to save and buy the 47" for our tv room. I have no complaints at all. This is a great buy if you don't like throwing away money on a big name brand.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 64 for Proscan 42" LED-LCD 1080p 120Hz HDTV, 1.5" ultra-slim design 42LED55SA

Great Buy, Amazing Price

07/30/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this TV about a month ago. I got it home, mounted it to the wall, and I love it. Tons of inputs into the TV. The picture quality is amazing. I purchased a 200.00 PC that mounts to the back of the TV for internet access, which is very cool.
- I do not like the buttons on the side of the TV. They are not buttons, you just touch the side of the TV and the button is supposed to work. I can't seem to get them to work.
- The control is not robust at all.
- I also noticed a tiny bit of light leak into the black near the bottom of the screen.
Buy this TV, you will love it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 65 for Proscan 42" LED-LCD 1080p 120Hz HDTV, 1.5" ultra-slim design 42LED55SA

Can't beat it for the money

07/08/2010
By ,
Virginia
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It was previously mentioned that this is an RCA TV. It is not. The Proscan name was sold to the ON Corporation and the TV is manufactured by them.
That being said, this TV performs very very well for any amount of money. Blue rays are incredible and HD TV broadcasts are unbelievably crisp. It works very well in a room with windows on 3 sides with a lot of sunlight. My previous LCD TV did not do as well. The speakers for this TV are poor. Switching them to surround makes it a little better, but they are very weak and sound tinny. Other than that, I have no complaints at all.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 66 for Proscan 42" LED-LCD 1080p 120Hz HDTV, 1.5" ultra-slim design 42LED55SA

Good TV for a small budget!

08/05/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We bought this product about a month ago, and I am very pleased with it. It is true that it takes it a few seconds to turn on and the sound quality is poor, but we have a surround sound system, so that takes care of that. I was amazed when we upgraded to the HD service with our cable company, and I could see skin pores and glistening sweat on the actors' faces! You need to set up the individual settings to get the picture just right, but after that - WOW! Definitely worth the $$$! We did, just in case, purchase the extended warranty with it being a "no name" brand.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 67 for Proscan 42" LED-LCD 1080p 120Hz HDTV, 1.5" ultra-slim design 42LED55SA

Super Big Screen

08/18/2010
By ,
Greentown, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a really BIG screen. It doesn't look like it when you are in the store, but it is tremendous. The picture quality is superb. I have never seen something so good. I did have a problem programming my DirecTv remote to it. I could not find the code, probably because it is new to the line. I think eventually DirecTv will obtain the codes. It isn't a big deal though. I just use the remote to turn the tv on and off and for the volume. It is just Sooooo big. I do like that it has so many HDMI inputs. I makes things easier to hook up with other stuff.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 68 for Proscan 42" LED-LCD 1080p 120Hz HDTV, 1.5" ultra-slim design 42LED55SA

Excellent first flat screen purchase

07/30/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is the first flat screen television that I have purchased and I am more than pleased. While I don't watch much television or movies, I find myself now more interested. The picture is great! I was able to easily connect my son's Wii, our cable box and a stereo surround system which more than makes up for the sound coming directly from the television. I didn't notice much of a lag while watching television or movies. I have recommended this television to many since receiving it and setting it up. For the price, this television cannot be beat.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 69 for Proscan 42" LED-LCD 1080p 120Hz HDTV, 1.5" ultra-slim design 42LED55SA

Great Value

06/14/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this TV for living room, I am very happy with it price and quality. This TV is light and thin, only 1.5 inch depth and generates far less heat than LCD which also means less energy use. Picture Quality wise – I have it hook up with a Blu-ray player via HDMI cable and the result is amazing. Like many other review mentions, sound quality was just okay but if you plan to hook it up with a sound system that won’t be matter much. I won’t say it is not acceptable if one mainly use it to watch TV. It does have an option to perform different sound effect e.g. Surround sound.
Cons: Slow TV start up time – I am not sure if it is because of LED technology but I notice it will take as much as 10 sec to turn on the TV after 6-8 hours of cool-down period. (Away or during sleep) I also wish the remote do offer black-light support and better feeling\material on push buttons. There is one cable organizer behind the TV; however it is located in far right where I don’t see much of the point to hide and organizer cables if it is not in the middle like one in many major brands and the material it use is very easy to break. No USB support, many major brands do offer USB support for many purpose, one of which I think is important is firmware upgrade and pictures viewing.
Bottom Line – Great LED TV for the price, energy efficient, 1,000,000:1 dynamic contrast ratio. I will recommend to everyone who is on budget and don’t care about the brand name.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 70 for Proscan 42" LED-LCD 1080p 120Hz HDTV, 1.5" ultra-slim design 42LED55SA

Great for the price!

05/31/2010
By ,
Ohio
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I just bought this TV and I am very happy with it. However, I have only had it a week and I had to call for service because one of the speakers blew out and both component 1 and 2 video inputs aren't working. I am happy that they are sending someone out tomorrow first thing, very pleased with the customer service. The TV itself, other than these minor defects is a great buy. The LED high definition is so much more realistic than LCD, and its been awesome watching all our favorite movies and seeing more than we ever have before.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 71 for Proscan 42" LED-LCD 1080p 120Hz HDTV, 1.5" ultra-slim design 42LED55SA

NICE, BASIC LED.

07/19/2010
By ,
BALTIMORE,MD
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
THIS T.V. IS GREAT , FOR A BASIC LED. I READ ALOT OF REVIEWS AN IT SEEMS LIKE THIS T.V. IS NOT FOR SOME OF YALL. SO STOP COMPLAINING AN GO GET THAT $1500 T.V. BIG SHOT. THIS IS A GREAT VALUE FOR THE LITTLE PEOPLE.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-1point
Review 72 for Proscan 42" LED-LCD 1080p 120Hz HDTV, 1.5" ultra-slim design 42LED55SA

Great Buy.

08/01/2010
By ,
Phildelphia, PA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My thoughts are right in line with with most of the other comments. This is a very nice looking TV it has one of the most clearest pictures i have seen on any LED TV. The sound is a little weak but you are looking at a TV that is only 1 1/2" thick that do not leave much room for really good speakers, so get a soundbar speaker or surround sound system to help it out and it does sound somewhat better on the surround sound setting. Other than that it is a great TV for a great price, buy this TV it really is worth the money.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 73 for Proscan 42" LED-LCD 1080p 120Hz HDTV, 1.5" ultra-slim design 42LED55SA

Great Value, Better than expected

08/17/2010
By ,
heart of illinois
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very fast shipment, excellent picture quality on this TV. I have already recommended this item to several people. You do need an alternative surround sound system, but I have several high end, (even the new 3-D TV, along with 2 other HD, LED TV's), and all of them have needed an upgrade in the sound system. The Bose System, that also plays DVD's, CD's and FM stations is excellant and is a great addition to any of these TV's. (Sam's Club carries these in a "box" set up, very easy to hook up and sound quality is absolutely excellent!)
Excellant value, purchased the 3 year extended warranty, which was very affordable, considering Wal-Mart's low on-line price. We put an older DVD in to test and were really impressed with the picture quality. Purchased this for a guest house, so we have not used it extensively, but my husband is very into HD, LED TV's and he could not believe that I got this TV at the price I did. He really questioned me about what the picture quality would be and even he was really impressed. Wal-Mart takes a lot of heat over importing so much merchandise from China, & I do wish that Wal-Mart would feature more American made products, but in this case, I could cannot be a critic, as this is an exceptional value. Thanks, Wal-Mart, for a great HD, LED TV, at the exact price I was looking for. You continue to help us consumers during difficult economic times & I, for one, will always check your on-line site before making any major purchase!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Review 74 for Proscan 42" LED-LCD 1080p 120Hz HDTV, 1.5" ultra-slim design 42LED55SA

Great TV with a few issues

02/26/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This TV is amazing. The picture quality us great and its feature set is unbelievable for the price. the soundis good in srs mode but not great. The problem is gming over HDMI there is to much lag even with all video processing disabled. But over component it looks and works great with my xbox so it is a non issue for me. Also thebuttons on the tv are hard to see and use and my power button was DOA. But overall think this is the best 42U tv for the price everyone that comes over is impressed.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 75 for Proscan 42" LED-LCD 1080p 120Hz HDTV, 1.5" ultra-slim design 42LED55SA

Very Good Buy

08/10/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ordered it Saturday arrived on Tuesday, the picture quality is better than the sony non-HD tv i owned before this one
gaming, this is a good tv to do it on, watching movies on it in 720p is impressive, the price was by far the best news, i got it at 600$ and am happy that i waited for a buy like that
i have suggested to all of my friends to get a proscan tv because they seem to be very well made and the stand that the tv connects to allows it to swivel if you need to turn it easily
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 76 for Proscan 42" LED-LCD 1080p 120Hz HDTV, 1.5" ultra-slim design 42LED55SA
07/10/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Returned the tv because of significant backlight bleed through in the bottom corners that was driving me crazy. But I ordered another to see if it was just bad luck since only one other person has mentioned this. because the picture was good other than this issue i decided to give it one more shot before getting something else. also im not sure if it is actually 120hz since it says 60hz for all inputs in the manual. and it only supported 60 hz when i hooked it up to my computer.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 77 for Proscan 42" LED-LCD 1080p 120Hz HDTV, 1.5" ultra-slim design 42LED55SA

Excellent performance, features & low price

07/23/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was going to get a Samsung LED, but it was more than twice the price for a similar size. My brother ordered one and after reading the reviews I decided to give it a try. Another friend has a Samsung 46" LCD HDTV and I know what to expect after watching that every week for a year.
I know a thing or 2 about audio and video (frequent the AVS Forum for years and myself have gotten respect getting "stickies" posted there). After 1 month of use, never regretted my decision. :)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 78 for Proscan 42" LED-LCD 1080p 120Hz HDTV, 1.5" ultra-slim design 42LED55SA

Awesome TV!

11/04/2010
By ,
Melbourne, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Please don't let a generic brand deter you from purchasing this tv! Prior to purchasing this tv I bought a "brand name" 44 inch tv. I literally got motion sickness from the picture and had to take it back. I really didn't want to spend a lot of money so I decided to take a chance and purchase this tv. So far so good! I love it and so do my children. If you want a decent tv and cannot afford to spend 1000s of dollars I highly recommend this tv! You will not be disappointed.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 79 for Proscan 42" LED-LCD 1080p 120Hz HDTV, 1.5" ultra-slim design 42LED55SA

Exceptionally good picture for the price!!

05/06/2010
By ,
St. Augustine, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Was a little worried after reading mixed reviews on Proscan, but as soon as I opened the box and read the warranty and hooked the tv up and watched a 1080p movie my worries were set to ease.
Really my only complaints are the remote is kind of cheep feeling and the speakers are ok but not great, however I have been told that all the new ultra thin panel tvs have ok at best speakers, I see a small 3.1 or 5.1 being installed down the road.
Overall very happy with this tv!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 80 for Proscan 42" LED-LCD 1080p 120Hz HDTV, 1.5" ultra-slim design 42LED55SA
06/11/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Simply put, WOW !!! This tv is the awesome !!! The picture quality and sound are terrific. I bought this tv just for my xbox360 and I must say that I am impressed. It's just like watching the game from the stands. The audio and video adjustments are easy to understand. Setup was a snap. I was playing in about ten minutes. When I watched a movie on Netflix I was BLOWN AWAY !!! I would recommend this tv to anyone looking for a 42" tv and you can't beat the price !!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
61-80 of 188 total reviews
Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6  ...  10 Next