Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Generic Metropolitan 3 Piece Dining Set, Espresso

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Generic Metropolitan 3 Piece Dining Set, Espresso

The Metropolitan 3 Piece Dining Set comes with an elegant espresso finish. Ideal for small kitchens, this dining set can transform a dull-looking place into a more charming one. Owing to its durable rubber wood construction, the wood dining set is sure to remain your favorite dining furniture for years to come. The two included in this dining room set comes with a regal espresso finish and brown micro suede upholstery, making them both trendy and comfy. The finish easily blends well with many styles of dining room dcor. Even though assembly is required, it doesnt take up much of your time.
Average Customer Rating:
4.195 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(113 Reviews) 101
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
56
4 stars
39
3 stars
8
2 stars
4
1 star
6
Customer Recommendation89%101 out of 113reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
56
4 stars
39
3 stars
8
2 stars
4
1 star
6
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Metropolitan 3 Piece Dining Set, Espresso

Looks nice but assembly issues (bad parts)

08/12/2010
By ,
Hopkins, MN
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I purchased this dining set for a small kitchen area. I usually have no problems assembling these kinds of things.
The table was very easy to put together, but the chairs have given me a lot of trouble. After the first couple screws in the first chair, I could not seem to get the next in. I thought I was having issues lining up the parts and kept trying and trying while getting more frustrated. I finally gave up and looked to see if I had damaged the screw in my attempts. To my surprise, the threads were actually straight across instead of spiraling down the screw. I compared the rest and found a second defective screw. I've contacted Walmart, who in turn contacted the company and I'm still waiting on replacement parts.
Besides that, the angles for some of the screws in the chairs are very awkward to get the hex wrench into and it's still hard getting them together even with the right parts. The one chair I do have put together and the table both look nice that, and seem quite sturdy. If you buy this set (or any from the same manufacturer), I would check the screws very closely. I've added comparison photos, even though it's not easy to see. The rough screw has the straight threads.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
+66points
Review 2 for Metropolitan 3 Piece Dining Set, Espresso

Perfect set for a small apartment

01/26/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
this set fit perfectly in my small apartment! I would recommend it to anyone who does not have a lot of space to work with. It looks nice and is very comfortable. I had no issues putting it together. It took two people about two hours. The reviews I read had me expecting much worse. After we put together the first chair we were able to do the second one in a matter of minutes. The table was also very easy. as long as you follow the instructions carefully you shouldn't have any issues either. I am pleased with this product It looks great and was fairly cheap. You get exactly what you pay for. A cute, functional piece of furniture. A good buy for someone with a tight budget!! very satisfied.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+42points
Review 3 for Metropolitan 3 Piece Dining Set, Espresso

Great product

05/20/2011
By ,
tampa fl
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We ordered this table and chairs for our kitchen, hoping the colors matched. The color matches our cabinets perfect! The chairs are comfy and seems to be a great product! We are very happy with it!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 4 for Metropolitan 3 Piece Dining Set, Espresso

EXACTLY what I wanted!!

04/01/2011
By ,
Monroe, MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I needed something small and durable to put in my little kitchen - it's just for me and my toddler son. This 2-top is great! Exactly what I wanted. I read the reviews - good and bad - and my 19-yr-old nephew put the whole thing together in just under 2 hours with no issues - not even with the screws. I love it and definately recommend to those who have small spaces and want something stylist, modern, functional and durable.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 5 for Metropolitan 3 Piece Dining Set, Espresso

nice...

06/13/2012
By ,
tampa fl
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
perfect for my small dining area in my apt. chairs were a pain to put together, table easy. took us about an hour. love it. chairs are comfy and the color is great! get this table and chair set! you'll love it :)
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 6 for Metropolitan 3 Piece Dining Set, Espresso
10/07/2011
By ,
Champaign, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The size of the set is perfect for the small space I have. The table is very lovely. It was long, but easy to assembled. I would definitely recommend it to anyone who is looking for a small, but nice table. The color and finish are beautiful.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 7 for Metropolitan 3 Piece Dining Set, Espresso

awesome for limited space

06/23/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love my new dining set. It looks great and great quality for the price.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 8 for Metropolitan 3 Piece Dining Set, Espresso

Overall Good Product

12/20/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Table came fairly simple to setup. Wish table portion was a little bit sturdier, but the chairs are very sturdy. Good color and product. Enough room for 2 people to eat, with table mats. Was good for the space we had available in our apartment.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 9 for Metropolitan 3 Piece Dining Set, Espresso

Great buy for a College Student or Couple

08/12/2010
By ,
Greencastle, IN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great table for a college students apartment or someone moving into their first home. Its small but still enough to fit four the price was a little high for my taste but the quality overall compensated the cost for me. Chairs are very comfortable on the rear and back.
*Something to note on the instructions, when assembling the chairs the instructions tell you to place the back of the chair with the Hump out. well this is very uncomfortable and i highly advice to spin it the other away around.
__(
| |
_Bad_
__)
| |
*_Good_*
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+43points
Review 10 for Metropolitan 3 Piece Dining Set, Espresso

Nice compact table

12/02/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was in need of a decent size dining table with two chairs for my new studio apartment. Once the package was shipped to my apartment, installation was a breeze and looks great in my apartment. Couldn't be happier with ths purchase.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 11 for Metropolitan 3 Piece Dining Set, Espresso

Very Nice

01/25/2011
By ,
Nashville, TN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I don't see why everyone's having trouble putting the chairs together. I had everything put together and sturdy within 1 hour. I can understand if the screws that were included weren't threaded properly, but ours did not come with faulty parts. It arrived very quickly, I put it together in an hour, and I absolutely love the table and chairs. The finish is nice and I like that it's real wood. The chairs seats feel nice and it fits perfectly in my tiny kitchen. I'm very very satisfied with this dining set.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+32points
Review 12 for Metropolitan 3 Piece Dining Set, Espresso

Old Lady Can Put Together...

04/16/2011
By ,
Seattle, WA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I put this together myself. The table was a quick and easy installation. The chairs were a bit more time consuming. It took me two days to do two chairs but I did it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Review 13 for Metropolitan 3 Piece Dining Set, Espresso

Very sturdy and a great bargain.

06/30/2011
By ,
Sonoma County, California
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This dining set is very sturdy and it was a great bargain. The table went together very easily and the legs are triple bolted for added strength. Mine is solid as a rock. The chairs were a little more challenging to put together. I went step by step with the first one, and it was a little slow trying to comprehend the illustrations. On the second chair, I thought I had the process down and didn't review the "directions" as closely, and ended up messing one little thing up that forced me to take it apart and start over again. But once they are assembled, the are very sturdy and comfortable. Cosmetically, it all looks pretty good, but you can easily see some of the places where bolts were put through. A little plastic cap to cover the hole would have been nice. Otherwise, I'm very happy with it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 14 for Metropolitan 3 Piece Dining Set, Espresso

perfect for small spaces

05/22/2012
By ,
Lorain, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great product. the chairs are a bit awkward and hard to put together but the table was a breeze. i have a small studio apartment and it fits perfectly in here. chairs hold a heavier person which was my concern because i as well as many of my friends and family are on the larger side. highly recommended.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Review 15 for Metropolitan 3 Piece Dining Set, Espresso

Looks Beautiful!

04/19/2011
By ,
Huntington Beach, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Not good for everyday use, more for show. It could be mad a little stronger. I expected it to be a little bigger, it is very small. Chairs were very difficult to build. I had to find a way to make it work. Wood was missing a screw hole completely so the screw was loose. I ended up glueing it in.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
+4points
Review 16 for Metropolitan 3 Piece Dining Set, Espresso

Good Quality!

08/10/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Aside from having to assemble the whole set, the product is great. The price is right for what you get. Assembling was quite a pain though. It took two people a couple of hours to put two chairs and a table together. I must say that it was worth it in the end. It looks great. We use it as a breakfast table in our kitchen area.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+5points
Review 17 for Metropolitan 3 Piece Dining Set, Espresso

Perfect for an apartment

11/28/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Perfect little table and chair set for my apartment. Looks good, feels comfortable, perfect for me and my fiance in our 1 bedroom apartment.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+4points
Review 18 for Metropolitan 3 Piece Dining Set, Espresso

A great size and color dinette set for the price.

04/03/2011
By ,
Kodak, TN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I really do like the size and color of the dinette set for the price and my husband assembled it just fine.
The only thing that I do not like is that the chair is too tall for me, I am 5'2" and my feet does not touch the floor, but the height is fine for my husband. I thought the chairs would be closer to the floor. Also, I think the bottoms of the chair were a "little bit" harder than I expected. It sure is beautiful 3 pc. dinnette set in my newly updated kitchen, the set goes well with our new granite counter tops and etc.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 19 for Metropolitan 3 Piece Dining Set, Espresso

Excellent Bistro Set

06/19/2011
By ,
Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great price, looks nice & classy, and is very functional.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Review 20 for Metropolitan 3 Piece Dining Set, Espresso

Arrived damaged

08/13/2012
By ,
Orlando, FL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Delivery man was actually holding the cardboard and table together like an open turkey sandwich. One peak and the table had a big gash. There was no reason to look any further into the already open box so I refused delivery. I can't believe it shipped with such little care and I can only guess it traveled a long way falling out of the box. The color looked rich and if it was it good condition I would imagine it might be a good set but I guess I'll never know. I'm hanging up the notion of ordering large items online...this is the second large return (1st was a computer desk) and I had physically take the desk to the post office myself...after fitting it back into it's original box like a puzzle...not fun.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+2points
1-20 of 102 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 6 Next