Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Midwest Pets Midwest Homes For Pets Exercise Dog Pen

Midwest Pets Midwest Homes For Pets Exercise Dog Pen

Average Customer Rating:
4.632 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(171 Reviews) 141
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
125
4 stars
36
3 stars
5
2 stars
3
1 star
2
Customer Recommendation96%163 out of 170reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
43 Questions | 177 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
125
4 stars
36
3 stars
5
2 stars
3
1 star
2
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Midwest Homes For Pets Exercise Dog Pen

AWESOME PLAYPEN!

11/20/2013
By ,
Tennessee
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought the 36" pen for my 4 pound Maltese. He is a jumper, and he cannot jump out. If he jumps up on the sides, the cage doesn't move very much either (although a bigger dog that weighed more than my dog could probably move it). It is a very tall cage, and it is very large! The cage covers half of my bedroom! I bought a hard plastic office chair MAT to put beneath the cage for easy cleaning. The stabilizers do not work, but I don't really need them because I have a small dog. My dog thought that the stabilizers were a fun chew toy, so I just took them off. I am happy with this dog playpen!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Midwest Homes For Pets Exercise Dog Pen

Great for what I needed

08/06/2011
By ,
Michigan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this to use as a bunny condo, and am very pleased with the purchase. It's well made, has a very good finish, and is easy to move around.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Gilbert, AZ
Bunny Condo Question
Posted 06/02/2014
I really like the set up you have for your bunny with this dog pen. What did you use for the flooring?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 3 for Midwest Homes For Pets Exercise Dog Pen

Peace of mind

10/02/2013
By ,
New York
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The pen was simple to put together. The panels are already connected, so you just have to hook the two ends together and you've got an enclosure. The floor guards/stabilizers were hard to put on, and I'm not sure I'm using them the right way. But they're doing the job. I wound up putting a sheet of plastic under the pen (she still pees in there), so that's protecting the floor anyway. I'm so happy to have a place to put her while I'm working next to her at my desk. I know she's safe and not ruining anything!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Midwest Homes For Pets Exercise Dog Pen

LOVE IT!

11/07/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
For the Price.....Well worth the Money. Cheaper than Dog Kennels and Portable. Breaks down flat.
Keep the Box, and store the kennel/exercise/holding cage lol/travel pen whatever you want to call it with you. Fast ship, Nice Product for a Great Price! We put an 80 lb dog and a 30 lb dog and they were Happy!
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
Recommends this product? Yes
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Litter of small puppies????
Posted 06/24/2013
Hi I read how you put a 80lb dog & 30lb dog in this play yard & I am looking for one for a littler of small breed Boston Terrier pups do you think this will work good for them? Don't want them jumping out...
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 5 for Midwest Homes For Pets Exercise Dog Pen

Awesome!!

11/13/2013
By ,
Lancaster, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is going to sound a little strange, but we bought this for our goat! We have a yellow lab and a Nubian goat that we are raising together as pets. Whenever the dog comes in the house, my poor goatie cries and cries. He used to fit in the dog crate, but now he is too big, so I decided to try this. It is perfect. He is already tame and once we told him not to jump on the sides, he didn't. He just laid down and went to sleep!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Midwest Homes For Pets Exercise Dog Pen

great puppy pen

09/05/2012
By ,
South Carolina
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This pen is exactly what we wanted. We got a new golden retriever puppy and I didn't want to put him in a big dog pen outside since he was only 8 weeks old. We bought this pen to put under our carport/garage so we could train the puppy to stay under the carport at night when he is bigger. This pen is easy to move anywhere like: move it into the sun for a couple of hours while you hose down the carport (only a couple of accidents the first week, now he is trained and won't go to the bathroom in his pen), put it in a shady area for a couple of hours, or put it in the back of your vehicle and take somewhere else. In other words, it is very portable. It comes in different heights for all size dogs. The walls are not "fence walls" but they do a great job at teaching boundaries and he knows this pen as his. When he is a fulll grown dog, we want him to sleep in it under the carport with the gate open. We would recommend this pen to anyone.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Midwest Homes For Pets Exercise Dog Pen

Overall, user friendly, except for stabilizers.

02/22/2012
By ,
Somerset KY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is the third exercise pen that I have purchased.
This last one was 30" high, the previous two were 36" high.
Our usage is inside, on oak wood floors and/ or tile or concrete.
If you have smaller dogs, under 20 pounds, I prefer the 30" high pen
because it is so much easier to reach/ step over than anything higher
(probably could get by with the 24" high which will be our next purchase).
It also keeps the puppies corralled while you get them food/ water/ cleaned
without opening the gate.
I find the pen is very versatile (re-sizes easily) and setup/ tear down is a cinch.
You can pack it up and take it with you anywhere easily.
Only thing from receiving a 5 star rating are the corner (support) stabilizers.
They do not function as advertised, break very easily and are chewed to pieces by puppies!
I have used them on top and bottom... they simply do not work for me.
For protective "Sliders" on wood floors, you can take a 1/2", 600psi pvc pipe and cut a 1/4" groove in it with a table saw, (like the stabilizers) to any length desired, to fit BETWEEN the 24" wide panels. This is not what the CORNER stabilizers are designed for, but serves our purpose better. I cut them 16" in length.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+33points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Midwest Homes For Pets Exercise Dog Pen

Wonderful Product

03/06/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I usually do not buy stuff online but I was very happy with this when I received it. It is perfect for my little chihuahua who obviously is too small to move it around on the tile floor.
Its perfect and worth the money.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+53points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Midwest Homes For Pets Exercise Dog Pen

Great for small to medium dogs

05/17/2012
By ,
Cherry Hill, NJ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a great alternative to a cage for small to medium dogs. If you use the pen indoors, it may not be good for large dogs or active medium dogs, as they will drag the pen all over your floor, especially if you have wood floors. I got the largest size. I have a medium energetic dog and we solved the dragging problem by putting a large rug underneath. It was smooth sailing afterwards. It seems a little flimsy and awkward at first, but I found that it holds up well. We are able to feed and pet him in there and he has enough room to move around when we are not home. Great for house training as it is large enough for a bed and food bowls. It is easy to put together right out of the box. No tools needed. And it's easy to pack up and take with you. It also comes with stakes to secure it to a grassy area outside if need be. Good product for the price. We're very satisfied.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Midwest Homes For Pets Exercise Dog Pen

Highly Recomend

07/14/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product is a lot better than I expected. I purchased 2 and they were easy to combine and provide adequate room for my 2 beagle/dachshund mix dogs. I wil lbe buying a third to give them more room to run around more. Highly recomend.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+93points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
California
This cage & my rabbit
Posted 06/06/2012
I was looking to see if this would be good for my rabbit when she's out in the front yard with my labs. But since it's only 24" high, I guess not. She could easily jump this. It's a shorter height than my bed & she can jump that. So, it's not for my rabbit, it's not for my labradors who could easily jump it or just ram it apart if they wanted to. I love Walmart, but they need to see if they can aquire some better pet suppliers. I like the fact that they have extended their pet aisle supplies. But online, should have more to choose from and better quality of items listed. Looking forward to major improvement in this area from my favorite store.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 11 for Midwest Homes For Pets Exercise Dog Pen

Great product

05/07/2011
By ,
West Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I shopped around before choosing this exercise pen. I just needed something to put my tiny chihuahua in outside because I couldn't keep up with him in my big back yard. The price was the best I found for the size I needed. (It was much less expensive than the vet bill I paid when my pet ate something that made him sick.) This pen was easy to set up and is easy for me to move around. I didn't need the stakes that came with it since his 3 lbs. isn't enough to move it at all. It works perfectly for me!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+34points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
NJ
What size is best for your 3lb. Chihuahua?
Posted 05/26/2014
What size did you get for your 3lb. Chihuahua? I know 30 would be tall enough but would be harder to reach over into the pen. But would 24 be tall enough if the dog tries to jump out?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 12 for Midwest Homes For Pets Exercise Dog Pen

Purchased (2) 24" x 36" Exercise Pens

04/15/2013
By ,
Evans, NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased these for our puppies and decided to connect the 2 pens together. Was very easy to assemble right out of the box. Not to strudy once assembled, so I drove in metal stakes at each junction and connected the pen to the stakes by using several cable ties. Units came with metal snaps to connect the panels together, not the best choice so I used cable ties to connect them also. Placed one door gate in front and other at rear, made somewhat of a rectangular shape which gives my puppies alot of room. Placed a dog house at the rear open gate gate giving them a place to sleep. I would recommend using more than one of these units as one would be too small and at least the 36" height as 24" would be too easy for your pupiies to get out! Now with my modifications we have a safe secure enviroment for our puppies to stay in and I know they will be safe. They spent there last night outside and could come in and out as they please to eat or have some water as well as do there business. I would recommend for anyone who has puppies to get a couple of these and make them an outside play yard.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Midwest Homes For Pets Exercise Dog Pen

Great for camping

03/15/2013
By ,
Washington State
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We just purchased our 5th panel to enlarge the fenced area for our two Labs. We're full-timing in a 5th wheel trailer, and these panels make a great 'yard' for our dogs. No more tangled tie-outs, and it's great to be able to open a door to let them outside. The panels fold compactly to fit in the bed of our truck when we move, and it only takes a couple of minutes to move the fence if needed. For camping and dogs... almost a 'must-have.'
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Midwest Homes For Pets Exercise Dog Pen

Great Buy!

05/20/2014
By ,
Charlotte, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this play yard for my little Chihuahua and am very pleased with with purchase! WayFair always ships quicker than stated and I am never disappointed by them. The product is easy to put outside and doesn't weigh too much for me to lift. Now if I could just convince the little princess that she can walk on grass and that it is good for her :)
:Wayfair.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
NJ
How Tall
Posted 05/26/2014
Which height did you get for your Chihuahua? Our Chi puppy is a jumper. Is 24" high enough?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 15 for Midwest Homes For Pets Exercise Dog Pen

great product

07/23/2011
By ,
Texas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a great product. Lots of room for your dog not to fell like he is in a cage, however, if you have a climber like my maltese is, this is not for you.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Midwest Homes For Pets Exercise Dog Pen

Economical fencing and very sturdy with extra's!

04/26/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I raise Yorkshire Terriers..keeping them contained in one area of the yard was difficult. I shopped online for dog runs all over the internet and found them to be so expensive..I found this online here at Walmart and ordered this pen last week since the price was exceptionally within my budget. This Midwest Pets Exercise pen is FANTASTIC..I am coming back to order two more today! It comes with reinforced black clips to hold the pen stable and metal rods to attach the fence secure into the ground. I had no idea this company had such great products. Anyone who needs a confined area for their pet should consider this fence. My order came earlier than expected also, so this was a double good deal for me..I am so pleased with this product and the company, I will recommend them to everyone.
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Midwest Homes For Pets Exercise Dog Pen

Dog Exercise Pin

07/05/2010
By ,
McColl, SC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The pin was what I expected except it was missing some parts! But thanks to my handy dandy husband he fixed it right up and it works great. We bought the product to take to my in laws for them to baby sit our two pit puppies. Now it is outside so we can put them outside for them to play in the eveing time. After they grow to big we plan to use it for our pekingese so he can enjoy the outdoors too! Great product for a great price! I feel I got my money's worth!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Midwest Homes For Pets Exercise Dog Pen

Overall good product

03/01/2012
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: Keeps my yorkie safe and secure all day while I'm at work.
Cons: The door is attached by removable hooks that seem a bit cheap and the rubber stoppers to keep the octogon shape fall off and the pen moves in shape. It's not a real danger or anything but it just down't stay in the nice shape that was in the picture or when I first put it together.
Overall, it's good. It does what it needs to do and it's less expensive that other play pens I say anywhere!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Midwest Homes For Pets Exercise Dog Pen

Great for the price

02/20/2012
By ,
Chapel Hill, NC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This pen is great for my dachshund puppy. I got the medium size, and there's no chance of him ever jumping over. Sometimes I use it like a pen, and sometimes I use it to block off areas of the house that a baby gate can't reach across. As I read other reviewers saying, the little plastic clips that are supposed to snap onto the top corners of the walls for stability snapped and broke really easily on me too. I haven't really missed them though. The walls are sturdy enough. If my dog was more of a jumper, I could see how this wouldn't be a great pen. I use this all on carpeted floor, but I imagine on hardwood, the dog could easily push the pen all over the place, possibly scratching up the floor, if you don't anchor it down somehow.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Midwest Homes For Pets Exercise Dog Pen

Great product, no complaints

05/31/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy setup and quality construction makes me glad I bought this product. We're using the smaller version for our new miniature dachshund puppy, so the only thing I would change is making the entrance to the pen have a lower lip so that smaller dogs can easily jump over. Ours makes it if he's determined enough, but it's inconvenient if you want your dog to wander in and out at will. The door latches securely and I have no concern whatsoever about him ever getting out when we want to keep him contained. Definitely a good buy.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 142 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  8 Next