Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Avatar (Blu-ray + Standard DVD) (Special Edition) (Widescreen)

Avatar (Blu-ray + Standard DVD) (Special Edition) (Widescreen)

Average Customer Rating:
4.825 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(188 Reviews) 115
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
165
4 stars
19
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
2
Customer Recommendation97%183 out of 188reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
21 Questions | 78 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
165
4 stars
19
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
2
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Avatar (Blu-ray + Standard DVD) (Special Edition) (Widescreen)
05/05/2010
By ,
Orlando,FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this movie when it came out in theatres, the 3-D version was so amazing; the story is good and the special effects will blow you away.Even this version its the regular version, its still great and the blue ray look's brilliant.I can't wait for the Ultimate Edition DVD in November.I recommend this, you should get it.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Avatar (Blu-ray + Standard DVD) (Special Edition) (Widescreen)

Great Flick

04/28/2010
By ,
Eugene Or.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Not 3D, But way cool in Blu-Ray. Awesome Picture Quality. Well Worth Buying In Blu-Ray. But I'm still going to get the better release in November.
(click to see the video)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Avatar (Blu-ray + Standard DVD) (Special Edition) (Widescreen)

Not "SPECIAL EDITION"

04/23/2010
By ,
Oregon
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great movie, worth buying, HOWEVER: It is missing some footage that was in theatres. Save your money for the REAL "SPECIAL EDITION" that is supposed to be realeased at the end of this year.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+32points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Avatar (Blu-ray + Standard DVD) (Special Edition) (Widescreen)
06/25/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I really liked this movie. The plot was great and the acting to me was wonderful. The couple of things that I didn't really like was that it started out really slow and it just continued to be slow. But to me, half way through the movie it started to really pick up and kept me entertained. The second thing that I didn't really like was that some parts of the movie could have been shorter and/or cut completely out and then some parts of the movie I felt I wanted to see more of and it just didn't get into it to much. Overall, this is a movie I would recommend to anyone (and I am not a big SciFi fan).
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Avatar (Blu-ray + Standard DVD) (Special Edition) (Widescreen)

Beautiful

04/22/2010
By ,
San Juan, Tx
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
All i have to say is....WOW amazing the cgi in this movie was remarkable and was easy on the eyes at the same time. Truely is one of the most beautiful movies of our time thanks keep producing and i'll keep watching =)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Avatar (Blu-ray + Standard DVD) (Special Edition) (Widescreen)

Exellent movie

05/01/2010
By ,
Elkhart,IN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exceptional graphics and sound.There's been people saying that their Samsung blu-ray players would not play the movie.The problem is not in the movie,it's in your player.That's why you have to download new firmware.I have a Samsung BD-P1590 and had trouble viewing a couple of movies about a month ago.Contacted Samsung and they sent me a disc to upgrade it to basically their P1600 and have no problems since.Again,it's the player,not the movie!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Avatar (Blu-ray + Standard DVD) (Special Edition) (Widescreen)

Great value

06/08/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When deciding whether to get Blu-ray or DVD, I always ask myself, "Will the visuals or audio in the movie be worth the extra dollars?" Some movies, like Invictus and The Road, where it is just a story unfolding, are great for DVD. Then there are movies like Avatar, Pan's Labyrinth, the X-men series, and the Harry Potter series. Movies that make you feel you need to see the extra clarity of every scene in it's originally intended immaculate details.
At times, I almost forgot the movie wasn't in 3-D anymore, just because the visual imagery was so spectacular. Of course, if a person has something spectacular, they have to immediately text several friends about how awesome the picture looks, but that's the glory of bragging rights for whenever you have something fantastic that others can't get their hands on right away. =)
Anyways, Avatar is a great movie that is well worth having on Blu-ray.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Avatar (Blu-ray + Standard DVD) (Special Edition) (Widescreen)

Stunning!

05/01/2010
By ,
Henderson. NV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had the pleasure of viewing this movie in bluray on my 1080p, 120 hrtz HDTV and the picture quality was breathtaking. This has to be the finest bluray I've purchased to date. A must for your movie collection. You will be immediately immersed in an alternate universe full of beautiful beings, animals and exotic plants colors and a fantasy land beyond belief. A treat for all your senses. A sweet story, however a bit predictable in the concept of the aliens being more evolved, spiritual, and understanding. Whereas the humans are typically war mongers and the "scum of the earth" big surprise?? It's a 3 hour movie with never a dull moment, because if the story line gets a bit long, you will be too mesmerized to notice. This is a must buy. Happy Viewing.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Avatar (Blu-ray + Standard DVD) (Special Edition) (Widescreen)

Great Movie @ Awesome Walmart Price

05/15/2010
By ,
Gresham, OR
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I loved this movie when I saw it HD 3D in the theater.
The only reason why I didn't give this a full 5 stars is I was expecting some "behind the scenes" content especially with the BlueRay version and - there isn't anything other than the movie.
I'm sure they'll be making an "collectors" version or something. The movie and its quality on this is outstanding, as expected.
If you haven't seen the movie - there are reasons why it did so well if you can still see it in 3D HD at the theater - do so - it is a stunningly unique experience.
I know they are coming out with 3D HD TV's for home, and this movie has inspired me to save up some $$ to get one someday.
Best price was here at Walmart and it wasn't but a few days for delivery. I was impressed.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Avatar (Blu-ray + Standard DVD) (Special Edition) (Widescreen)

Problems DVD

04/25/2010
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Had problems with the Blue Ray disc, which would not proceed forward till downloading software. I own a new samsung blue ray player, and never had an issue with blue ray discs. Read online many others are having problems with the Avatar Blue Ray Disc. Was very disappointing, had a gathering of friends to watch the movie and it wouldn't load.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Avatar (Blu-ray + Standard DVD) (Special Edition) (Widescreen)

THE BEST CGI MOVIE

04/24/2010
By ,
ga
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I PURCHASE THIS MOVIE THUR. 4-22-2010, AN HAVE SEEN THIS MOVIE THREE TIMES ,I OWN 17 BLUE RAY MOVIES 2012,THE NEW STAR TREK MOVIE,TRANSFOMER,S REVENGE OF THE FALLEN,AND SIN CITY TO NAME A FEW,THIS MOVIE IS THE CLEAREST MOVIE I HAVE SEEN ON BLUERAY,THIS MOVIE IS THE BEST DEAL ON THE MARKET FORTHE PRICE AND WALMART HAS THE LOWEST PRICE , THIS MOVIE MAKES my AVERAGE hd tv 1080p 60hz 80000 contrast tv look like the top of the line hd tv,s ,this is a must for you collection an i seen avatar on regular dvd,anyou can,t compare the two.this is the best looking blue ray i have ever seen
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Avatar (Blu-ray + Standard DVD) (Special Edition) (Widescreen)

Avatar blu-ray/dvd combo

05/13/2010
By ,
Salt Lake, UT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great movie.
Demo material for both video and audio. I don't use it as demo yet because of the firmware update needed for many of my clients (takes to long to justify when I have other discs I can demo to just show the player and tv are working).
Not the most amazing story, it is enjoyable.
This release does NOT have any special features or 3d. James Cameran said that before the release so I was expecting just the movie as received. I do plan to also get the "ultimate edition" when it comes out in October with the extended version.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Avatar (Blu-ray + Standard DVD) (Special Edition) (Widescreen)

special edition

05/06/2010
By ,
bradford me.
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I bought this online for a "pre-order" they send it ups for only part of the way what they dont tell you is they give it to the post office and then you get it when they feel like giveing it to you the pre-order is a joke.There is Nothing special about this bluray it does not even have any special features which is strange considering the epicness of this movie.#1 bluray in america #1 in highest grossing movie EVER.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
-4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Avatar (Blu-ray + Standard DVD) (Special Edition) (Widescreen)

The Best Movie You'll See This Year

04/22/2010
By ,
Atlantic City, NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This movie has it all. This years Blockbuster is worth owning especially if you have a home theater!
Turn up the volume, sit back and enjoy the show.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Avatar (Blu-ray + Standard DVD) (Special Edition) (Widescreen)

AMAZING

08/12/2010
By ,
Billings MT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this is the most amazing movie ive ever seen.i saw it in theaters and didnt even look over once to grab a handful of popcorn. I was to caught up staring at all the colors on the screen. with amazing picture, beautiful sound, and a great story together, avatar takes you on an adventure of pure beauty and color. i would abosolutely recommend this movie to everyone. It will change the way you look at movies forever. and if you dont believe me it is the top grossing movie of all time!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Avatar (Blu-ray + Standard DVD) (Special Edition) (Widescreen)

AVATAR

07/17/2010
By ,
Maryland
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
At the awards for best movies I was wishing for UP. I had not seen AVATAR. WOW - WHAT A GREAT MOVIE AVATAR IS. lOVE IT. LOVE IT. LOVE IT. Eye Candy. Wake up people behind it all the theme is, look at what we are doing to OUR Mother Earth. We have to take Great Care of this planet. AVATAR is a Lesson we have heard before but this time it is saying, if we ruin what we got here we will travel for ever looking for it again & we still have it LOVE IT. AVATAR IS A GREAT MOVIE!!!!!!!!!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Avatar (Blu-ray + Standard DVD) (Special Edition) (Widescreen)

Excellent

05/10/2010
By ,
Escondido, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent movie and visual special effects, sorry we didn't get to see it in-theater. IMAX and 3D would have superb enhancements.
Purchased Blu-Ray w/ DVD combo which is the way to go in multi-format player homes. Picture on our 50" HD flat panel is still tremendous.
Paid for the pre-release, surprised to get a price difference refund when the price dropped and actually received it earlier than est. delivery date. Pre-releases from Walmart have always come early.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Avatar (Blu-ray + Standard DVD) (Special Edition) (Widescreen)

All time greatest movie

05/29/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been a movie maven since the first time a TV was turned on in my presence. This is the greatest movie and the special effects are so seamless you can get lost in the film as if everything is real. You will think you are seeing 11 foot tall blue people made just for this film. James as out done him self and should have been given best director and genius of the year!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Avatar (Blu-ray + Standard DVD) (Special Edition) (Widescreen)

entertaining

05/19/2010
By ,
Harrison,AR
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We enjoyed the movie as it was not filled with bad language.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per year
-3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Avatar (Blu-ray + Standard DVD) (Special Edition) (Widescreen)

Great movie, great deal!

05/07/2010
By ,
Oregon
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I saw this movie twice in the theatres. Had to have it on Blu-ray. The DVD copy that was included is a great bonus for watching on the go (no blu ray in my laptop). Since I pre-ordered, when the price dropped I was issued a credit for the difference! What a great service. Thanks Walmart! I will pre-order movies and games from you from now on.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 116 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 6 Next