Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for INSTYLER InStyler Rotating Styling Iron (1-1/4 Barrel)

INSTYLER InStyler Rotating Styling Iron (1-1/4 Barrel)

InStyler Rotating Styling Iron (1-1/4 Barrel) has an amazing hair styling technology that might just replace your flat iron. The rotating hair hot iron straightens curls and styles faster than ever, taming the coarsest curl, the thinnest flyaway hair and straightening even the thickest, curls - all with less frying drying heat.
Average Customer Rating:
4.048 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(147 Reviews) 123
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
86
4 stars
22
3 stars
12
2 stars
14
1 star
13
Customer Recommendation76%111 out of 147reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
19 Questions | 72 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
86
4 stars
22
3 stars
12
2 stars
14
1 star
13
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for InStyler Rotating Styling Iron (1-1/4 Barrel)

Good over all

04/14/2011
By ,
College Point, NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I got the instyler about a year ago and have been using it enough to review it.
I have long medium hair, straight but with lots of volume, process with highlights and have been doing it for +10.
It has is prons and cons, here is an honest and very real review, this is what you will get.
PROS:
- It's very fast to heat-up.
- Fast to do your hair with usually takes me 15 min with long hair.
-It gives your hair an expensive look like a blow dry from a salon and lives the hair shinny.
-Does not pull your hair.
CONS:
- Material is not very high quality for the price, it makes a funky noise when the brush is rolling like a icky sound.
- It lives my hair frizzy on the roods (maybe its just my hair, I'll just very tinny hairspray on the roods and it's all good.
- If you are looking for a flat look like the chi the instyler is not for you!! it will more give you the look of a blow dry , than a flat iron, and the ends will not look good if you try to make them straight with the instyler, only looks good if you turn them in or out.
GOOD LUCK deciding on your purchase.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per week
+144points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for InStyler Rotating Styling Iron (1-1/4 Barrel)

Just What I Needed

12/13/2010
By ,
Pennsylvania
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product is great!!! In minutes I was able to straighten hair and even curl it. On top of that it is so easy to use. I've always had problems doing my own hair with a regular iron but this one was so simple. I can now get up in the morning and do a great style in minutes. The only problem I had was the price. It is cheaper online and more expensive in the store. I told the associate about it and she said they couldn't match the price. I was disappointed with that but after getting home and trying it out the price of $100.00 was worth the investment. I recommend this product to everyone. It is great for African American hair and natural hair as well. I used it on my mother and it shined her hair and straightened it better than the other irons. If you watch the DVD and read the instructions you shouldn't have any problems with it. I really love this product and look forward to taking it with me everywhere I go.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+22points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for InStyler Rotating Styling Iron (1-1/4 Barrel)

I like the way my hair looks!

10/01/2012
By ,
Melrose, NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Now I'm not going to say this is the revolution of hair products but... I'm a minimalist and very "get out of bed , run my fingers thru my hair and run out the door" type of girl... I really like that this product heats up very fast (since having 2 little ones to get ready in the morning-time is of the essence) ... and it does make my hair shinier and sleeker. I always liked the curved - just blown out straight look... and though my hair is already straight and pretty healthy, I received comments on how "nice" my hair looked that day! Now i haven't really gotten into the whole major styling of my hair yet , but definitely straightened (more) and curved my ends, and it seemed much "healthier" looking, with life and movement. I'm content with its ease of use. I still don't know if almost 100 dollars is worth this and would like it to be a little better handling on the top of the iron itself when it's EXTREMELY hot. Over all I like it. I spent the money might as well use it to it's fullest. One day it'll happen. :-)
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for InStyler Rotating Styling Iron (1-1/4 Barrel)

It's okay.

08/05/2011
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I was so excited when I ordered my InStyler, I could not wait for it to arrive (I felt like a child waiting for Christmas morning). I had always wanted one, so when my curling iron broke I jumped on the opportunity to get an InStyler. I COULDN'T wait to use it once I received it. I washed and blow dried my hair as normal and used my new InStyler. I was pleased and disappointed with the InStyler. It worked wonderful as a flat iron, but due to the flat that I already had a CHI I didn't need another flat iron. My hair was straight and silky after using the InStyler. My hair is long and thick. It was beautiful after a few struggles. The power button is in the wrong place. It is on the handle in the area where you hold the InStyler. I kept hitting the power button while using the InStyler. If you do not place your hair exactly right between the roller and the plate the hair will crinkle. It does not curl the hair very well. The ends of the hair fly away. The InStyler is not well crafted and it is a bit noisy when it rotates. If you are looking for a good flat iron this is a great product, but if you are looking for a wonderful curling iron keep looking.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+27points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for InStyler Rotating Styling Iron (1-1/4 Barrel)

The InStyler saves so much time and effort

11/26/2010
By ,
Chicago
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I LOVE this product!! It was a process learning how to use it, and I suspect some of the other reviewers haven't learned how yet. The best thing I can tell you- go slow to go fast (or YouTube girls using it like I did). The brush (which I love because it seperates and isolates the hair- which a traditional straightener cannot do) made me originally mimic the action of brushing my hair, which I do quickly. Going slower gives the barrel time to heat up the strands. It gives gorgeous, straight yet not flat hair. My box said the InStyler polishes your hair, which I laughed at. I take it back after using- it truly does. My hair looks sleek and shiny in around 6 minutes (I have wavy but not curly, fine hair). The same look takes at least 15 with other heating products. I always get compliments after I use it- I highly recommend.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for InStyler Rotating Styling Iron (1-1/4 Barrel)

super simple with beautiful results in minutes!

10/09/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
With a 33 month old with activites and different events daily, she comes first in fashion, hair, accessories, so time for myself is limited. The instyler is the best fashion investment i've made for myslef in years. This tool truly has made me feel up-to-date with other moms, fashion wise, and has put a pep in my step, really. its funny, how, when your hair looks like you just stepped out of the salon the confidence level is lifted!
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for InStyler Rotating Styling Iron (1-1/4 Barrel)

My Hair is STRAIGHT!!!!!

12/17/2010
By ,
Camp Hill, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My hair is thick and curly. I have spent countless hours trying to tame it. So far the only straightener that works for me is the pricey T3. The InStyler works in half the time and at half the cost. I was sure it was a gimmick and that it would get caught in my hair but it does not. It seriously works. My daughter has very long, curly hair. I can straighten her hair easily. I don't even blow dry it straight first. If you have wild, curly hair you will LOVE this product!
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+91points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for InStyler Rotating Styling Iron (1-1/4 Barrel)

Curling Iron

12/09/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My girl friend loves it. Make her hair so relaxed and shining. Very good purchase.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for InStyler Rotating Styling Iron (1-1/4 Barrel)

Yes it works on Ethnic Hair

03/28/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am the mother of 2 African American girls with challenging natural hair or more accurately my hair skills may be a bit challenged. Anyway I usually spend a good portion of my weekend washing, blow drying and straightening their long thick coarse hair. Actually one has hair that is curly and comb-able after washing and the other has hair which is coarse and tangled after washing. I always looked at this product but was afraid to buy because like most infomercial products they are too good to be true. Well not this one, I can truly say the Instyler really straightens and made their hair shiny and more manageable. I was busy this weekend and didn’t get to wash their hair until Sunday so I knew I would need help getting through both their heads in one day. I washed both of their hair, combed it through with detangler and let them air dry. I purchased the Instyler the same day and it wasn’t until Sunday evening before I started the straightening process. With school the next day I rushed through both of their heads but surprisingly with pretty good results. I can tell for sure if I took my time their hair would be bone straight (the sistas know what I'm talking about.) I realized the con reviews are probably people using the product on themselves which I can imagine may be a little harder, also I think better results probably happen for people with longer hair than short. My hair is relaxed and shorter than my daughters so I'm going to give it a whirl and will let you know stay tuned!
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+107points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for InStyler Rotating Styling Iron (1-1/4 Barrel)
08/12/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a black woman with long natural hair and at first I was skeptic about using the Instyler. However, I used my cousins one day and I was so amazed at how glossy and straight my hair looked. I am online at this moment purchasing one of my own. It sure beats getting it blown straight at the salon. I highly recommend it.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Color Appeal
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
+131points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for InStyler Rotating Styling Iron (1-1/4 Barrel)

MODERN DAY MIRACLE FOR AFRICAN AMERICAN HAIR

04/05/2012
By ,
North Carolina
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I NEVER review anything unless I'm really really ticked off and absolutely hated it. I had to break with tradition because this tool is worth sharing with others. Less than a year ago I bought a $130 Sedu flat iron in hopes of taming my thick, coarse, unruly, african amercian hair. While it straightened for the short term, it also left my hair looking dry and fly away. The InStyler is an absolute modern day miracle. I allow my hair to air dry, use a heat protectorant, a smoother, and aragon oil along with the InStyler. In less than an hour, I have shiny, beautiful straightened hair with great body and movement (a great hair cut helps too#. I give only four stars due to the burn risk #which I avoid by placing a headband around my head to protect my forehead, face, and ears) and the cost.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Color Appeal
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
 
My Product Recommendations
 
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for InStyler Rotating Styling Iron (1-1/4 Barrel)

Amazing results!

01/08/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I requested and received this item as a Christmas gift, and I love it! My hair has changed over the years, and most recently my curling iron was leaving a crimp line at the top of my bangs. As well, the bangs were not curling well in general due to the fact that I was battling both a very bad haircut and new (baby hair) growth at my hairline above my forehead. This product has literally brought new life to my hair. My hair looks and feels so much more healthy. Also, the cut, although still not what it was supposed to be, is now much more manageable. I really like the ease of use, the lack of grabbing and pulling, and the elimination of burning my hair. I highly recommend this product. I had no specific expectations, so I was pleasantly surprised.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for InStyler Rotating Styling Iron (1-1/4 Barrel)

Salon styled hair at home

11/25/2010
By ,
Los Angeles, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was absolutely amazed by this product. I have very thin fine hair that is hard to do anything with. I bought the Instyler to straighten my hair but also give it body. I am extremely happy. I get compliments every time I use the instyler and often get asked if I just came from the salon. I love that my hair is straight but not like when I use a flat iron, which straightens my hair with no volume.
I also bought one for my sister who has thick curly hair. It took her a little longer to get the hang of it, but it is also harder for her to blow dry her hair because it is so thick. Now she uses it everyday and says she will never go back.
This is truly a great product. I am very happy with my purchase.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for InStyler Rotating Styling Iron (1-1/4 Barrel)

Original Instyler Great for SuperFine Curly Hair!!

08/23/2010
By ,
Oklahoma City
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have long very curly super fine hair but a lot of it...Nothing works to straighten it...Chi does nothing...I must have 10 different straighteners and nothing works..My hair stylest used the Instyler on me on my last appointment and it WORKED !! I could not believe it but it worked...I ran out to Bed and Bath and bought the Original Hairstlyer...I used to wash my hair every morning cause of the hairspray and frizzys..now I only wash 3 times per week cause the Instyler straightens like a charm and I don't use but a little hair spray everyday and my hair looks like hair not dried rope anymore...just a touch up with Instyler in the morning and I'm off...This may not work on every texture of hair, but if you have a lot of superfine curly hair, it does the trick!!! Use the Original Hairstyler, the Professional Quick Heat Up did not work as well..
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for InStyler Rotating Styling Iron (1-1/4 Barrel)

Very bad product, not helpful at all

09/26/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Didn't work in my hair
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for InStyler Rotating Styling Iron (1-1/4 Barrel)

Glad I bought it, my daughter is very happy.

06/22/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was on the fence with buying this product. I have a daughter that has very curly, thick and frizzy red hair. She can do nothing with it. I read a lot of reviews, and as usual, they were mixed. I finally broke down and bought it from somewhere it could easily be returned if I didn't like it. I read all instructions before using it. I could not believe it. I did her hair in less than 20 minutes. It only took one swipe, sometimes two, but no more than that. I found out to go a little on the slow side but I had to go slow with the flat iron and run through it at least 5 - 6 times with that. Her hair was also a little on the damp side. I hope it continues to do the job it's been doing. So far so good. If your on the fence, just try it, you can always return it. Just purchase it from a store that will stand behind it.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for InStyler Rotating Styling Iron (1-1/4 Barrel)

so so

09/24/2010
By ,
florida
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
the product is good but two things I did not like
1.in the first use the bristles of the brush were opened :(
2. the power button is badly placed, every time I brush my hair, accidentally and every moment I touch the button of heat levels and accidentally the heat level changes :(
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Color Appeal
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for InStyler Rotating Styling Iron (1-1/4 Barrel)

I love it!!!

07/08/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I absolutely love the instyler. I'm a mom of two so therefore i dont really have that much time on my hands. It usually takes me about 30 minutes to straighten my hair but with the instyler it takes about 15. I recommend trying it. I've heard it doesn't work for everyone's hairtype though.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+32points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for InStyler Rotating Styling Iron (1-1/4 Barrel)

Great hair product

11/30/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have used this product for two years and have had no problems with performance. I use it every day and could not imagine styling my hair without it.
I have straight hair with wavey hair underneath and this is the equalizer. It also eliminates the friz. It takes me about 5 minutes to have a polished look.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for InStyler Rotating Styling Iron (1-1/4 Barrel)

Awkward at first, but worth learning how!

05/27/2012
By ,
Humid coastal SC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was going to send this Instyler back after the first couple of tries.. I even printed out a return receipt for it, but then decided to give it one more chance. This time, I wasn't in a big rush, and washed my hair, got it pretty much dry with a regular dryer, then started working on my somewhat frizzy, somewhat damaged (from flat irons!) hair. It's very fine, long & blonde, and can be difficult to keep smooth. After a short time, I finally learned to make sure the roller was going in the right direction, and a few other tricks the video teaches, plus I got the hang of doing the left side right handed, without it feeling awkward. It takes about 3 times to master this thing,,,, you have to be patient! Now, I wouldn't part with it, and it scares me how close I came to giving up on it! The Instyler caused no damage (I use the LOWEST setting) and it looks marvelous after I finish. I would recommend that the best way is to go in sections. Doing the underside layers of my hair first worked best, then the top layers. Smooth on some silicone shine spray with your hands, add a bit of hairspray, and you're done. I love this product, and would recommend it highly. Important: When you buy, Be REAL careful to make sure it's a GENUINE Instyler, there seem to be a lot of counterfit ones on eBay. I think that might be why some people aren't happy with theirs. Remember, be patient, work on technique, and also, go S-L-O-W-L-Y when you're using it, for best results. The noise it makes isn't bad at all, it's not loud either. I'm not sure why it bothers some of the reviewers, but then maybe they had a fake one....? I ordered mine online at Wal-mart, because their return policy is so convenient. But I won't be returning this item! They weren't kidding, it really does "polish" your hair and makes it shine. Buy one TODAY!
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 124 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  7 Next