Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for GE GE MWF Refrigerator Water Filter

GE GE MWF Refrigerator Water Filter

The GE MWF Refrigerator Water Filter delivers pure drinking water and is fully interchangeable with older GWF installations and GE branded side-by-side refrigerators. The filter can be used in GE Monogram, GE Profile, GE, Hotpoint and some Kenmore side-by-side refrigerators. The interchangeability feature of the filter makes it suitable for various makes of refrigerators used in different households. This interchangeable water filter is NSF approved and meets the required standards for reducing contaminants in your drinking water, minimizing risk of waterborne diseases. The installation and removal of this in-line filter is simple and easy. The improved design makes for easier gripping. The small installed base of the refrigerator water filter is only 8mm in measurement which saves you much needed refrigerator space. The 300 gallon capacity water filter has life expectancy of 6 months and must be replaced after this period to get pure drinking water every time.
Average Customer Rating:
4.447 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(47 Reviews) 30
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
31
4 stars
12
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
3
Customer Recommendation96%45 out of 47reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
4 Questions | 12 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
31
4 stars
12
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
3
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for GE MWF Refrigerator Water Filter

great tasting water from refrigerator dispenser

12/21/2012
By ,
Temple, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We have used these filters in our GE refrigerator for two years. The water tastes clean and fresh and so does the ice. They only have to be changed every six months and they are very easy to change.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for GE MWF Refrigerator Water Filter

filter

11/19/2012
By ,
Blackfoot, ID
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The filter worked great, only had one problem and just one suggestion to other buyers, when you get your new filter it is to be wrapped in plastic and sealed with a paper the opening on the filter. I had ordered mine on line and picked it up a few hours later, brought it home and went to put it in pulled the paper tab off and looked in the filter, well it was pretty gross there was mold and other gross stuff. In other words someone did a switch, bought a filter and then returned their old one. So back to walmart I went, they looked at the filter and let me exchange it for new one. This time i opened the box looked at the filter it was wrapped in shrink plastic and paper tab in place.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for GE MWF Refrigerator Water Filter

Works as advertised

09/01/2012
By ,
Ft. Lauderdale, FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
What can I say about a refrigerator water filter? It makes the tap water taste a lot better in drinks and when cooking which means that it is doing the job that it was intended to do. Also, it cost $10 less at Walmart than Home Depot where it was out of stock.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for GE MWF Refrigerator Water Filter

Great price on a needed item

11/16/2011
By ,
West Haven, CT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This filter installed perfectly and for a GREAT price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for GE MWF Refrigerator Water Filter

Authentic, Least Expensive + Free Fast Shipping

10/25/2013
By ,
San Francisco, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I did a lot of reseach to find the least expensive option for these water filters. I searched Home Depot and Amazon, and Walmart was the cheapest. I still don't know why they are so expensive, but it's convenient for me. The non GE brands don't seem to work as well. I'll be back in a few months to order again. Thanks Walmart for the free shipping too!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for GE MWF Refrigerator Water Filter

Excellent response

08/12/2010
By ,
Sonora, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Order process very easy, arrived ahead of schedule and service at the pick up site was exceptionally good
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for GE MWF Refrigerator Water Filter

Cheaper than buying direct from Manufacturer

08/30/2012
By ,
Rancho Santa Margarita, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I needed a new filter and it was cheaper to buy it from Walmart than direct from GE. I received it within a couple of days which was very convenient. I'll probably pick up a spare filter when I am next in Walmart.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for GE MWF Refrigerator Water Filter

Pretty standard, easy to install

08/12/2012
By ,
Tempe, az
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Installs in a minute. I installed it with the label backwards and decided to remove and reinstall it. The water shot out forcefully. Works fine though. Cheaper than home depot or Lowes
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for GE MWF Refrigerator Water Filter

Works fine

12/09/2010
By ,
Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product worked as expected. The price and speed with which it was received from Wal-Mart was what I found outstanding. I had price compared with other on-line and brick-and-mortar stores and Wal-Mart's price was, by far, the best. The speed with which they deliver their products cannot be surpassed.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for GE MWF Refrigerator Water Filter

Great price for a necessary item

07/04/2012
By ,
West of Atlanta
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This was the best price for a water filter that is required for my refrigerator's water dispenser and ice maker (Kenmore frig made by GE). Only one filter fits the frig, although I wish there were competitive products in the marketplace.
Walmart online had the best price anywhere. I even got a dollar back for a price decrease from the time I ordered online to the time I picked it up at my local Walmart store .... which was only a few hours.
I'll definitely be back in six months to get another one and in six months after that.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for GE MWF Refrigerator Water Filter

GE Filter - needed for clean water

03/19/2013
By ,
Arlington, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
On the Value rating - nothing against Wal-Mart, necessarily. These are just too high-priced in general, in my opinion. It works as it should.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for GE MWF Refrigerator Water Filter

Real Deal -- Not 3rd Party

06/29/2012
By ,
Brownwood, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is an actual GE manufactured or authorized product. There is a 3rd party out there that has a very competitive offer for 2 filters for a slightly higher price. Since I can't pop them open to compare to this one I figure I will stick with the name brand.
This is a great type of item to buy online. It doesn't have a limited shelf life, ships easily, and can be a lot cheaper than in the store. It will easily be $5 to $10 more if you pick it up from most competitors shelves.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for GE MWF Refrigerator Water Filter

Great filter

10/20/2013
By ,
Walpole , Ma
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Been using this filter in my high end GE fridge for years. My water taste good and the ice is clean. It's easy to change and hassle free.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for GE MWF Refrigerator Water Filter

Best Price I could Find

06/12/2013
By ,
Portland OR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I ordered this on line and picked it up at the store on the same day. It was exactly what I needed to replace the one in my GE refrigerator. I checked several places for prices and Walmart had the best price. I paid $10 less here than Home Depot.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for GE MWF Refrigerator Water Filter

saves from buying plastic bottle water

09/30/2010
By ,
new port richey, fl.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
makes the world more green.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
-9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for GE MWF Refrigerator Water Filter

This was much easier than buying from GE direct.

07/05/2013
By ,
Fort Worth/Dallas, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The convience of going into WalMart to pick up this product beat waiting for days for it to arrive in the mail. In addition, I saved money with this purchase. I will continue to buy from WalMart.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per year
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for GE MWF Refrigerator Water Filter

Great filter

06/06/2013
By ,
Colorado Springs, CO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After doing a lot of searching for a lower price than the GE website, I found it on Walmart website at a better price. Pick up in store the next day installed all is working great...thanks Walmart
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for GE MWF Refrigerator Water Filter
12/23/2011
By ,
Bell Road Phoenix
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Installs very easily. The question is cost and effectiveness. To me the water doesn't taste that much better. The next question is how long the filter lasts. I wrote the date on it with a magic marker. If you install one you should too. There are other inline filters that are easy to install and may be just as cost effective.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for GE MWF Refrigerator Water Filter

Does the job.

08/07/2013
By ,
San Ramon, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Received the unit all packaged up. Works great.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for GE MWF Refrigerator Water Filter

Filters water for ice and drinking water

07/26/2013
By ,
West Chester, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This will be the third filter. We replace it once a year.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 28 total reviews
1 2 Next