Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Sony Sony CFD-S05 CD Radio Cassette Player

Sony Sony CFD-S05 CD Radio Cassette Player

The Sony CFD-S05 CD Radio Cassette Player is highly compact and portable so you can carry it with you to beaches and other public places. Popular with music lovers, the CD MP3 player plays all your cassette-tapes and audio CDs with ease. It sports a digital flat panel screen that displays the track numbers or the radio frequency. Also, you can create your own mix tape using the synchronized CD/cassette dubbing feature. It can playback CD-R/RW discs and can store presets up to 10 AM and 20 FM stations. You can play the songs from your iPod on the radio player by using the audio-in jack. The portable CD radio cassette player integrates a bass reflex speaker system that delivers high-quality sounds and reproduces even the low frequencies in accurate detail. The sound quality is fairly consistent across the entire audio spectrum and doesnt distort even at high volumes. The Sony CFD-S05 features an easy-to-use interface with large buttons.
Average Customer Rating:
4.404 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(569 Reviews) 478
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
366
4 stars
135
3 stars
27
2 stars
14
1 star
27
Customer Recommendation92%511 out of 557reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
259 Questions | 1,169 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
366
4 stars
135
3 stars
27
2 stars
14
1 star
27
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Sony CFD-S05 CD Radio Cassette Player

Worth spending a little more than cheapest models

08/21/2013
By ,
Colorado
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
If you're looking at this model, you're probably also comparing it to the very low-end units that typically cost 50 or 60% of what this one does. The short version of my review is, this one is worth the difference.
The very low-end portable stereos often break when the CD laser gets out of alignment. One reason this happens is that the CD loading door is heavily sprung, but undamped, and over time the vibration vibrates the laser out of alignment. This player, on the other hand, has a CD door that opens much slower and smoother. Compared to the cheapest units, this one has an obviously-better build quality. Everything fits together well and moving parts are smooth.
A few minor gripes: Tuning the radio receiver is notably slower than other models I've used. The carrying handle must be lifted before stowing the antenna, and younger children can easily break it when they get frustrated and try to force it.
Overall, this is a reasonably good deal, certainly worth the extra $20 over the very cheapest units. I recommend it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+131points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Sony CFD-S05 CD Radio Cassette Player

I wanted to like this Sony

12/28/2012
By ,
Tarpon Springs
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I tried to find this unit in a Walmart but they were sold out. I ordered it online because it was just what I wanted in terms of function. The cassette player was important. As it turned out, I never even tried the cassette. Its a great looking radio and I really wanted to like it.. So what went wrong?? First off, I went to FM and scanned for stations. It found a few across the band but only a few. Hmm.. reception was poor. The stations it did find were a bit staticy. Next I put in a CD and listened.. Sound was a bit too much treble but it had a Bass Boost button to fix that.. right?? Unfortunately it was almost imperceptible when I hit the Bass Boost. Maybe i didnt do it right.. maybe hold the button down? Nope.. Trust me.. I wasnt expecting high priced sound from this radio but its a Sony.. I expected at least SOME bass. And since there were no other tone controls, I called it quits, boxed it up and took it back to the store.. Sorry Sony but I cant recommend this unit.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+57points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Sony CFD-S05 CD Radio Cassette Player

Sony CFD-S05 Better than I Expected!!!

12/10/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
For weeks I was looking for a compact cd player/AM FM Radio player!
And then The Sony CFD-S05 Caught my eye! At first I thought it was too expensive,
But after reading all the 1,000nds of reviews on other boomboxes I decided not to get the other ones.
And after reading the reviews for this Sony boombox I decided it was worth the $49!!!
so I went down to my Walmart And,Oh Walmart is always in stock in Electronics They tad 6 of the Sony boomboxes in stock!!! Walmart is da best! OK so i bought the boombox and tookit home,
Exellent Radio it played my cds fine even the cassetes id say its worth over 75 dollars Walmart has the BEST prices of any other store! OK and with the boombox it has an audio in which means you can hoockup Any mp3\mp4 OR ant ipod ANY!!! or insert your microphone And wakeup your Neighbors WoW its so loud!!! MEGA BASS!!! OH and the audio out Is so you Can listen privateley through Headphones! WOW So Overall its an exellent boombox. Thankyou Walmart for Giving me such great deal, GreatValue I Guess!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+45points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Sony CFD-S05 CD Radio Cassette Player

Just What We Expected

04/01/2014
By ,
Dallas, Pa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We so wanted to buy a cassette player before they disappear for good, as we found hundreds of cassette tapes in the basement and some even had talking on them from family's youth.
This is all you need for a basic all round player, nothing too technical and the sound quality is great for what it is. It's not a 'Bang and Olufsen' after all, it's a Sony and they are good enough.
Although the Walmart web sight said they were 'out of stock' in the Wilkes-Barre, Pa store. I popped in there to look for something similar and sure enough, there was one looking up at me and at $49:87 plus $5 for the two year plan, it's a bargain.
I think this model is being discontinued but, we like it anyway.
If you buy on-line, make sure it is not a reconditioned one, I have read revue's that say some but not all are... ASK.
Battery Life we are not yet sure of, as we have it plugged in.. :)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Sony CFD-S05 CD Radio Cassette Player

Meets all my expectations!

01/06/2011
By ,
Des Moines, IA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I arranged to receive the Sony CFD-S05 CD Radio Cassette Player as a Christmas gift for myself. The machine lives up to all my hopes and dreams. My needs are simple—primarily to listen to NPR on one station, and to listen to the broadcast of local college games on several different stations. What I wanted was the ability to switch from AM to FM, and from one station to another without having to tune in each different station every time. The pre-set system allows me to change stations with ease, and switching bands is a one-touch operation. Occasionally, I might want to record an NPR show. Recording is as easy as everything else, and the CD player worked without a hitch as well. Along with everything else, the headphone jack was crucial. It's got that too. When I don't use headphones, the speakers are loud and clear—much better than the machine it has replaced. I couldn't be happier.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+85points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Sony CFD-S05 CD Radio Cassette Player

Bought for my mother and my daughter

07/03/2010
By ,
Southern California
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When my mother (age 87) and my daughter (age 35) both had their multifunction boom boxes fail in the same month, I bought a SONY CFD-S05 for each of them. The units have been reliable and the buttons are big enough for my mother to see and use them. Both ladies have both CD's and cassette tape collections -- so this unit was ideal. The digital tuner works great, and personally the styling is more sleek than SONY's predecessor model FD S01. I have been really pleased as have the two ladies. Since quality cassette players are either professional (and very expensive) or not being offered any more, I am actually considering buying a couple more for future use (store them in the garage in the original cartons and when the need arises, I will have a unit available).
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+528points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
northeast of Boston, MA
If you like it, makes sense to buy more
Posted 12/05/2013
Yeah, I have done that myself. I have purchased additional things because technology has changed & decks to play certain media are getting really difficult to find. In my case, I got 4 VHS VCRs a few years ago, when the state Governor declared one weekend "sales tax free". I am looking at this model for the same reason you want to get additional units of this to just store, so when this unit "dies", and it will; you'll have immediate replacement units. Thanks for your review of this unit. It may just be what my husband is looking for.
0points
Customer Avatar
Posted 12/11/2011
happy u think for others first!!!
+2points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 7 for Sony CFD-S05 CD Radio Cassette Player

Just a bit over-priced

06/20/2010
By ,
Montana
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I wanted a radio for my office just to listen to the radio. It seems almost everything either has and ipod player or cd player. No good quality radios. I went with Sony only for the name brand. I could have bought some other AM/FM radios for half the price of this, but did not trust them to sound good. I would like to see a sleep feature, or even a clock for the money I spent on this, $50. I have not been able to crank the volume up past 3 out of respect for my co-workers.
The local radio stations come in clear. The quality of the materials is adequate, but I would like it to be built a bit more durable. I would not trust it to hold up to repeated moves. Occasional trips as a portable perhaps, but as a portable radio only, you will have to very careful not to break something on it.
Just a few more features, and a bit more durable and I would have no complaints.
Or price it at $40 or less.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+28points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Sony CFD-S05 CD Radio Cassette Player

great old school

10/05/2013
By ,
landing,nj
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My mom wanted a player so she can still listen to her tapes and cd's. She was so happy with Sony. She says the sound is great. She says it is well worth the price. This is perfect for her because she lives in small apartment and it does not take a lot of room.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+44points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Sony CFD-S05 CD Radio Cassette Player

Not perfect. Yet!

03/15/2014
By ,
Central Florida
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Others have commented on the complexity of set up. I agree. Study the instructions and take your time FOLLOWING the instructions. I have a comment/suggestion for Sony. Yeah! Right! I'M making suggestions to SONY! This type of radio is more than likely going to be used in a location that is LESS than likely going to be spacious. It's going to be placed on a shelf against a wall. Maybe a kitchen, etc. Then why do both cables, power and headphone, come straight out the back of the unit forcing it to use two inches of shelf space that probably doesn't exist. It's a good thing I haven't bought the shelf for my kitchen yet. Hey Amazon! Have you got a 90 degree angle power connector adapter? But all in all the radio looks good, sounds good and I can again listen to my Willi Nelson IRS tapes.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Sony CFD-S05 CD Radio Cassette Player
03/25/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This player was a huge disappointment. The other reviews are excellent, but my experiences have been very different from nearly all of these. The sound is really bad, kind of like listening in a wind tunnel. I primarily bought it to play cassette tapes and to listen to the radio in the mornings. The radio part is okay if I turn the sound really loud. However, the second cassette I played on this was eaten after 40 minutes of play. When I say eaten, I mean chewed up, destroyed. Considering this was a mystery audiobook, you can imagine my keen disappointment. My last boombox was a beautiful Sony that lasted 23 years and performed way beyond expectations. The Sony CFD-S05 is definitely not up to Sony's standards as far as I'm concerned. I will think again before buying Sony.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+28points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Sony CFD-S05 CD Radio Cassette Player

A quality product

06/18/2010
By ,
Happy Jack, AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We spend 3 summer months in our RV. We have audio books on tape and also on CD so for us this is a great product. The sound is terrific on tape, CD or radio.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+200points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Sony CFD-S05 CD Radio Cassette Player

A great radio

10/20/2010
By ,
Yerington Nevada
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I didn't think the speakers would replace the ones I had, but they are just as good or better, and I can get more stations on it than I could my old radio.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+161points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Sony CFD-S05 CD Radio Cassette Player

A nice product.

11/16/2010
By ,
Bloomfield, IN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I've looked for quite a while for a small tabletop radio/Cd player and was surprised at how hard they were to find. This one even plays cassettes. It's easy to use and sounds pretty good.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+155points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Sony CFD-S05 CD Radio Cassette Player

perfect for playing cd's borrowed from the library

12/28/2013
By ,
Los Angeles, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I wanted to listen to cd's that I borrowed from the library while I ride my exercycle. The first player I bought (a Memorex) had terrible sound quality, so I exchanged it for this Sony. I am very happy with my purchase and would recommend it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+27points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Sony CFD-S05 CD Radio Cassette Player

Great features but not to Sony standards

01/28/2014
By ,
Dayton, OH
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sorry to say that this Sony product does not meet the standards expected of the manufacturer. I wanted another sound machine to meet the standards of the GE Super Radio II. I liked the features of the Sony so I purchased it without knowing the quality. I am returning the unit because of the poor audio quality. I was disappointed with the mega bass which did very little to add more bass. The reception was poor and I was unable to tune in stations that I could with my old GE Super Radio. Overall...save your money and step up to something more expensive and maybe you can find something of better quality. As a sub note...I also ordered the RCA Super Radio III (old GE Super Radio II) hoping that this model would provide the audio quality of my old GE Super Radio II. I again was disappointed and returned this unit.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Sony CFD-S05 CD Radio Cassette Player

Plays it all.

08/25/2011
By ,
Murchison, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Even my old cassettes and scratched CD's sound just fine on this player. Great for my counter
in kitchen. Mega-Bass is virtually non-existent until you crank it up to high volume levels. AM
and FM radio are crystal clear good sound. I purchased a 3.5mm double male end earphone
cable to use this player to transfer old cassettes into my computer, CD's too. Works great to
"burn" my stuff to new CD's.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+69points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Sioux City, Iowa
Question
Posted 05/28/2013
How did you use the 3.5mm double male end earphone
cable to transfer music from your cassettes to your computer? I have A LOT of cassettes that I would love to transfer to my computer, but don't know how.
0points
Customer Avatar
Naples FL
Transfer old cassettes into computer
Posted 09/24/2011
Where do you purchase the 3.5 double maile end earphone cables? What do they look like and how much do they cost?
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 17 for Sony CFD-S05 CD Radio Cassette Player

A great little unit !

05/19/2011
By ,
Bristol , Va
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is an example of why you don't buy Emerson or Memorex or RCA portable audio systems. The electronics in this unit work well as a system. I cannot stress enough the importance of these systems working well together. YOU WILL NOTICE THE DIFFERENCE ! The sound is crisp and tight, but not in the $1,000.00 way......JUST RIGHT! If you want a system with these features, you just found it! If you compare the CFD-S05 with the other systems in this price range, you will find that this is a solidly built, well designed machine.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+48points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Sony CFD-S05 CD Radio Cassette Player

Don't waste your time or your money.

06/04/2013
By ,
Phoenix, AZ
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I generally have good results when I buy a product that has a large number of positive reviews and a small number of negative reviews. So I bought this one figuring it would suit my needs.
It was delivered promptly although only in the factory package with untaped ends and a damaged corner. Fortunately, the player was intact with no damage.
Unfortunately, the plastic body of the player is cheaply made and the CD lid didn't feel like the catch would last very long.
First I played the radio. Awful results. Got nothing but static on most stations. Got two talk radio stations and it sounded like people were talking in a barrel.
Then played a cassette tape. Sound quality was terrible but I figured OK, my cassettes were decades old and the age could account for the bad sound quality.
So I played a couple of CDs of relatively recent production that play wonderfully on my truck's factory CD player. Not even close.
Others have commented on the Mega Bass setting not making any difference in the tone. They are correct.
This player is a serious disappointment across the board.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Sony CFD-S05 CD Radio Cassette Player

Great Buy

09/20/2010
By ,
San Diego, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Again I am happy with the Sony brand. This is the ideal small radio/CD/cassette player. I listen to a lot of books on tape or cassette. It is getting really hard to find something that will play both CD's and cassettes. it is even harder to find a player that keeps your place when you stop in the middle of the CD. This player does that. The sound is good and it is easy to use. If it has a negative it would be that the tape player isn't a continous play. You have to turn the cassette over to play the second side. Other than that, I love it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+22points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Sony CFD-S05 CD Radio Cassette Player
12/24/2011
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The digital tuner's scan function is extraordinarily inconvenient.
First, there is no dedicated scan button. Instead the + and - tuning buttons must be pressed and momentarily held to initiate scanning. If you hold the buttons too long, you can scan by several stations. If you don't hold them long enough, the scan doesn't start. This gets old very quickly.
Second, the scan completely stops when it finds a clear station, it does not pause and continue. Consequently, if there are 25 stations between your current station and the one you want to change to, you will have to press and momentarily hold the tuner button 25 times. A analog tuner would be more convenient than this. (The station preset function partially compensates for this, but once a preset is set, it cannot be deleted.)
The over all quality is good for the price, but the missing radio tuning functions make it a two star product.
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 455 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  23 Next