Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Linksys Cisco - Valet Wireless Hotspot (Wireless N Router)

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Linksys Cisco - Valet Wireless Hotspot (Wireless N Router)

Home wireless gets easier with the Cisco Valet Hotspot. Now you can quickly enjoy the range and speed of Wireless-N with the Valet Wireless Router. Create a wireless hotspot inside your home and simply connect your gaming consoles, computers, smartphones, and other equipment. The Cisco router can be easily setup by inserting the Easy Setup Key for launching Cisco Connect software that connects to wireless components in the vicinity. You can curb Internet usage or block unwanted websites during certain hours by using the personalized Parental Controls of Cisco Connect. With the Valet Wireless Router you can provide guest access to visiting family and friends by setting a temporary password without having to reveal your own personal details.
Average Customer Rating:
4.531 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(499 Reviews) 414
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
373
4 stars
76
3 stars
13
2 stars
16
1 star
21
Customer Recommendation92%452 out of 493reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
373
4 stars
76
3 stars
13
2 stars
16
1 star
21
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Cisco - Valet Wireless Hotspot (Wireless N Router)

Great DD-WRT platform

12/17/2011
By ,
Ahwahnee, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I immediately loaded open source Linux based firmware, DD-WRT. This allows many handy options such as using the router as a bridge or range extending repeater.
Basic router was nicely packed with a small usb memory stick with automated setup (I didn't need or use) and documentation (also not relevant since it covers only firmware I didn't use).
$25 Black-Friday price was a good deal. I took advantage of free shipping to the store rather than fight the crowds on BF.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 2 for Cisco - Valet Wireless Hotspot (Wireless N Router)

saintpo

12/14/2011
By ,
Alexandria
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cisco - Valet Wireless Hotspot router was very easy to setup.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 3 for Cisco - Valet Wireless Hotspot (Wireless N Router)

Didn't Work For Me

10/19/2011
By ,
Marsing, ID
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Wow! I waited almost to weeks to have this delivered to the store. My old Router, a D-Link 615 is almost on it's last leg. It keeps dropping the connection. It use to work fine. After reading all the reviews on the Cisco M10, it looked like that was the one that would work for me. HA! I could get it to connect to my laptop but NOT the wife's laptop for more then about 20 minutes. We were only like 20 feet to the router. I have two laptops and one desktop. I never even got to that point of trying it on our desktop. Seems it was either hers or mine but not both for longer then 15-20 minutes. Handy little USB stick but a CD would have worked just as well and probably would have been cheaper. I am no IT Tech but the instructions are really very simple so no problem with that. When I couldn't even get it to work the way we wanted I took it back to Walmart. VERY easy return. I'm not sure what kind of a router now to try now. Sorry for any mistakes in this review. It's the 1st one I have ever written.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+9points
Review 4 for Cisco - Valet Wireless Hotspot (Wireless N Router)

Simply Put, The easiest router to hook up ever!

11/29/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This thing is amazing, In all of 3 minutes I got the laptop, Xbox 360 and Wii connected with absolutely no problems whatsoever! just plug in the cord from your modem, plug the power supply in and then insert the supplied flash drive in your computer and wham! done in minutes! the easiest router ever to get connected with period. I've had belkin and net gear and this is far superior and just fool proof in its installation!!! BUY THIS!!! =D
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+37points
Review 5 for Cisco - Valet Wireless Hotspot (Wireless N Router)

Works great with DD-WRT, also without

03/08/2012
By ,
Indiana
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
While not quite as good as the Linksys E2000, due to a slightly lower power single-band transceiver, but nearly identical in hardware to the E1000, the Cisco M10 is a great router from the hardware standpoint. While I didn't use the Valet software that comes with it, I have heard it is quite good, however, I flashed each router I purchased to DD-WRT's open source firmware, in order to use them in a wireless distribution system (WDS). I set this up with the first batch of these routers I bought last year, and later added several more to the setup, and have had great success with speed and reliability. I think that even for a much higher price, this would be an excellent deal, and it is a steal for the $25 and $26 prices I purchased them for at Wal-Mart, and walmart.com, respectively. I would definitely recommend this router for a variety of uses, especially if this price stays this low, and in fact I purchased several extras for friends, who have all been very pleased with them as well.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 6 for Cisco - Valet Wireless Hotspot (Wireless N Router)

Awesome!!!

04/25/2010
By ,
Woodstock, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This wireless router truly works as advertised. I was very skeptical when I purchased, as I really douted that it would be this easy to setup a secured wireless network. My old wireless router took hours to get working, and still was never able to have a secured network. I installed the Cisco Valet and using the included "Easy Setup Key", I was on a secured network in less than five minutes!! I setup three more wireless computers in less than five minutes each. I highly recommend this product!! 5 STARS
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+98points
Review 7 for Cisco - Valet Wireless Hotspot (Wireless N Router)

Nice Cheap and works like it should

01/04/2012
By ,
Webster, Ma
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this on the fly to replace a very old dieing router. Since I plugged it in and installed the item using the dongle that came with it the Router works like a charm. It even has a setup guide for those not as tech literate as others making it easy for beginners. Also Cisco home runs you through a simple process for setting up whatever product your trying to connect to the router. I had my laptop and two game systems up and linked to the router in less than half an hour. There is also a guest feature on the router in case you have guests and they want to get on for a day. It also has parental controls for people who do not want their kids on the internet after a certain time. It has given me good signal strength as well throughout the house.
The lights are a BRIGHT blue so you may want to have a way to hide it if you sleep in the room with the router. Really there are no other problems I have seen or had with this product and happy to have this router and will recommend it to others.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 8 for Cisco - Valet Wireless Hotspot (Wireless N Router)

Easy Set-up

06/23/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I found this router extremely simple to set up. The only reason I did not give it 5 stars was the wireless signal was not quite as strong as I had hoped. I mainly bought it to have wireless for my new Blue Ray player so I could instantly stream netflix. The router is upstairs, and the Blue Ray player is downstairs, in a cabinet. At first it was not getting a signal, but I was able to move the router around a bit, and now it usually gets a good signal.....granted, it is beaming not just all the way downstairs, but also through a cabinet.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+17points
Review 9 for Cisco - Valet Wireless Hotspot (Wireless N Router)

good router for the price point

01/05/2012
By ,
NC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Before you begin to install the router. It is very advisable to temporarily disable both your anti-virus software and firewall for a short period of time and re-activate them after a successful install.
I had problems getting the router to work initially and had to call Cisco's 24/7 toll-free number and experienced a three-minute wait time (great for 9 PM EST), and a English speaking tech support person who was extremely knowledgeable with the product line / and it's relationship to Windows 7. Once we figured out that the anti-virus software and firewall software was prohibiting the install and disabled it, the install went very smoothly and afterwards, reactivated the anti-virus software and firewall
Other features include nice aesthetics, great packing, and easy setup / administration, plus you also receive a short cat5 ethernet cable to go between the cable modem and CISCO VALET.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 10 for Cisco - Valet Wireless Hotspot (Wireless N Router)

Cisco Valet Router

06/06/2010
By ,
Cedarbrook, NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
absolutely a great buy! So simple to establish a full network. One little jump drive does it all....laptops, desktops, printers.....I couldn't believe how easy it was. I tried cheaper routers and did not like the way you had to keep running back and forth and writing things down. Took me about 20 minutes to do 2 laptops , 2 desktops, and a printer!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+139points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Effingham,Il.
Posted 06/10/2012
I just have 1 question. do u have to have internet service allready in the home,like mediacom or consolidated?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 11 for Cisco - Valet Wireless Hotspot (Wireless N Router)

Good Stuff

04/08/2010
By ,
NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Cisco router Valet is an easy set-up router with great connection and range at a good price. Really pleased with this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+56points
Review 12 for Cisco - Valet Wireless Hotspot (Wireless N Router)

Excellent purchase

01/23/2012
By ,
Racine
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm a PC Technician with 15+ years experience and I rarely buy anything from brick and mortar stores..
I rarely come across deals that cant be beat even after shipping, from the web.
I needed a Wireless router to replace a Netgear I had ordered that came DOA and I needed it right away.
I took a chance on a cheap Cisco - Valet Walmart had on sale and was VERY pleasantly surprised..
It was easy to set up out of the box and came packaged exceptionally well, ( I know that seems trivial, but most packaging is annoying and senseless) and even included a small "Easy Setup Key" fob and a guest network...
I usually forgo the companies wireless setup and do it manually myself, but actually used the easy setup with no issues.
I will be looking for Cisco Valet units in the future because of this experience.
Walmart itself was convenient especially in this situation.
There used to be a much wider berth between online and B&M stores, but with the advent of web phones and QR codes there is alot more competition lately
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 13 for Cisco - Valet Wireless Hotspot (Wireless N Router)

Not good if people want to do more then one thing

05/13/2012
By ,
Newport News,VA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I got this because my father would be online down stairs and or my girl would be online next to me and when I played my zombies I would get booted offline or lagged really badly SOOO I tried a NetGear router and could use my xbox with 4 bars while my father was online BUT my girls laptop would constantly get booted off also started to run really slow outta nowhere when I hooked it up to it NOW I bought this router and its really mixed I can play while my father is online but some times its still just as lagy as my first Cisco also when my girl uses her laptop for some reason almost anything makes me lag but sites like youtube or anything with video or music for that matter makes me lag really really bad AND now for what ever reason the laptop is having alot of trouble connecting to the router all and all if your gonna get a router to use for the xbox dont bother unless you wanna spend alot of money Im looking into getting a cable modem for my room to hook my box to.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-1point
Review 14 for Cisco - Valet Wireless Hotspot (Wireless N Router)

Cisco Valet is great!

02/10/2011
By ,
Fort Lauderdale, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
For all you non-computer folks out there (I'm one of you) - I have wanted to go wireless but dreaded trying to figure out how to hook up a router so I put it off for a long time. I even put off buying the Valet thinking it couldn't be as easy as it says it is. Guess what! IT IS! In 5 minutes, my laptop was wireless and when I saw the message on my screen: Congratulations - I was ecstatic. Go out and buy the Valet M10 (don't need the M20 unless you have a huge wireless area to cover).It's a bit pricey compared to other routers but in the end, it is really worth it!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+7points
Review 15 for Cisco - Valet Wireless Hotspot (Wireless N Router)

Best Value-Priced Router By Far

07/16/2012
By ,
Minnesota
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall I am very pleased with the Cisco Valet M-10. Searched far and wide (Craigslist, E-bay, retail stores) for an affordable new or used router. Very happy with the Cisco Valet. The ease of set-up is as advertised. Forgoing the standard installation CD and using a USB Key instead is a brilliant idea. Why? Because the USB Key can be overwritten, so when you change your SSID or Password, for example, the new log-in info can be saved to the USB Key.
The range on the M-10 is excellent. I have the router set-up on the 3rd floor office, and I get full signal when I connect in the basement of my home. Speed is also very good, I notice very little if any lag compared to when I am connecting directly to the LAN port. The only knock I give the M-10, on one occasion I could not connect my laptop to the network. Finally had to reset (unpower) the router, and then it worked fine. This is a common problem for many routers, as long as this is not a sign of things to come I will be very satisfied with the Cisco Valet.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 16 for Cisco - Valet Wireless Hotspot (Wireless N Router)

Easy to Use

02/08/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was the easiet router to use. I am be no means a computer person. I thought I would need help "installing" but there was nothing to it, you plug it in, you insert the USB and you are done. Fast, Simple, Easy.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+9points
Review 17 for Cisco - Valet Wireless Hotspot (Wireless N Router)

A value

07/09/2012
By ,
Oregon
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We recently upgraded our internet service and it required an upgrade in routers. We went from a Wireless G to a Wireless N. Great price for people on a budget. Easy installation/ setup. Just follow the instructions after plugging in the USB key (for setup only). Had my network up and running within minutes. Performance is smooth. Have not experienced any buffering. We can play videos, games, and stream music. Uploads are equally as smooth. Features such as "Guest" are nice to have so as not to give out your password. I did notice, it was an unsecure network whereas the primary network I set up is a secure network. Perhaps, I need to read the instructions how to make "Guest" secure... Overall, I am very pleased with this router. I'm especially pleased with the price, after the installing internet technician "offered" a new router for $90. I said "No thanks" since I couldn't see spending that much money for a router, especially researching routers prior to the internet installation. My overall rating is Excellent.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 18 for Cisco - Valet Wireless Hotspot (Wireless N Router)

My first router and it works GREAT!

09/09/2011
By ,
El Paso TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this router about a month ago and it hasn't given me any problems what so ever. I have it connected to my desktop computer and have wireless internet for my PS3, Nintendo's, ipod 4g, and a laptop. Everything works so smooth and fast on the internet. This is exactly what I was looking for.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+15points
Review 19 for Cisco - Valet Wireless Hotspot (Wireless N Router)

Pass on this !!! Wont work!!!! Terrible Support!!!

12/02/2011
By ,
Illinois
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bought the Cisco Valet on Black Friday to replace my old Netgear router. It would not work!!! After spending several hours on the phone with their tech support ( hard to understand--kept trying to sell me extra tech support) doing the same thing over and over I gave up and returned it. Purchased the Netgear N300 router!!! Took it home, hooked everything up, inserted cd, followed step by step directions, done!!!! Desktop, 2 ps3, laptop, and Ipod touch up and running in under 45 minutes!!!!! No problem streaming Netflix to the 2 Ps3 either.. Save the time and headache of buying the Cisco Valet and buy the Netgear!!!!!! Netgear comes with lifetime warranty...Cisco Valet 30 day warranty!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+9points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Thurmont, MD
Netgears "lifetime" guarantee
Posted 06/10/2012
I have a Netgear router and recently it was disconnected by my mother and daughter trying to get the desktop to work. Naturally I was left to pick up the pieces and get everything back the way it was. I called Vonage and they referred me to the internet provider which then referred me to Netgear to get technical support bc every time we hooked the router into the mix the internet was lost. I KNOW the router is good bc it was working the previous day with no problems. Since I had bought the Netgear router over 90 days ago they would not help me reconfigure the router without me PAYING FOR TECHNICAL SUPPORT. I have decided to buy a new router bc I don't feel that I should have to pay for support on a product that I purchased form their company.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 20 for Cisco - Valet Wireless Hotspot (Wireless N Router)

NAT Type Problems

03/21/2011
By ,
Barto , Pa
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Bought this router so my son could play live on xbox 360 and certain games he was not able to host and join in because NAT type is to strict. Spent 2 hours on phone with cisco, xbox and ISP and none could help. Returned and bought a cheaper NetGear and instantly worked. Works great if you don't need it for XBOX, easy to set up.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+14points
1-20 of 414 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  21 Next