Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Meade Bell Hitchbiker 400 Rack

Meade Bell Hitchbiker 400 Rack

Folding design is easier to store or just leave on the car.  The unique cradle design improved to wider range of bike fit.  Arms fold donw smoothly when not in use. Fits both 1 1/4 and 2 inch receivers with unique all-metal insert.  Reflective end caps. Rich gray powdercoat over 3-coat for long lasting finish.  Folds up small for easy storage.  Carries bikes up to 35 lb. each and 140 lb. total.
Average Customer Rating:
4 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(18 Reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
8
4 stars
6
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
2
Customer Recommendation83%15 out of 18reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
4 Questions | 11 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
8
4 stars
6
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
2
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Bell Hitchbiker 400 Rack

Sloppy Fit - Shakes and Sways - Not as described

08/11/2012
By ,
Newark NJ
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Terrible product - do not buy. Not too hard to assemble, but it does not fits together tight. The hitch connection and the quick realse are so loose and sloppy. There is no way to tighten it up. Even without bikes on it, it shakes and sways from side to side. With bikes on it, it sways making the bikes bang into the car.
The online picture appears to show that the arms will fold down, so you can leave the rack on when the bikes are off. This is incorrect. If you zoom in on the picture you will see that the upper angle is held with two a solid bolts (the only solid connection on this rack.) This rack folds downward from the bottom angle, which would allow you to open the tailgate.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per month
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Bell Hitchbiker 400 Rack

Just what we were hoping for

07/21/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great bike rack for four! We bought it in a hurry before vacation. Wanted to find out more about other styles, as we knew there were many brands and styles to choose from. But we were VERY happy with it overall. Setup was quick and easy (even for first time use). The quality and durability of the rack were just what we were hoping for. And the price was right!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Bell Hitchbiker 400 Rack

Great!!

08/20/2010
By ,
New Hampshire
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We picked this up to carry 4 bikes and it works great. Very easy to put together and fit right in our hitch with no problem. Would highly recommend this.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Bell Hitchbiker 400 Rack
04/02/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We bought this rack as a means of transporting long distances during moves and for leisure. When it was purchased my husband wasn't home to help me learn how to use it. I was easially able to assemble it without him. There are a few common tools needed to assemble it correctly, but it is just a few different sized wrenches or sockets. I was also able to easially mount it on my 1 1/4 in reciever WITHOUT drilling any holes into my reciever. I did have some difficulty getting 4 bikes to fit but with a little work was able to do so. It is a snug fit for 4 bikes.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Bell Hitchbiker 400 Rack

Great rack for the price.

06/25/2012
By ,
Juneau, Alaska
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I read several reviews before deciding to purchase this bicycle rack. It is everything that the good reviews stated. It is secure and stable as long as the mounting bolt is tightened. I decided to go with the four bike rack even though I thought I would rarely put more that two on it. Smart choice as I have had to put four bikes on it already.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Bell Hitchbiker 400 Rack

Shims were difficult to remove

08/16/2013
By ,
Cincinnati
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The bike rack works fine. The issue I had was removing the factory-installed shims in order to use it with my class 1 hitch. The rack is shipped with the shims installed. A 10mm socket is required (not supplied) to remove the 2 nuts attaching the shims. Normally this would not be a major issue except the nuts were over-torqued at the factory, stripping the carriage bolts. The only way to remove without drilling them out is to pry between the shims, forcing them apart while using the 10mm socket on a ratchet. This process took about 45 minutes but finally worked. I will have to replace the carriage bolts and nuts if I want to reinstall the shims to use the rack with a 2" receiver.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Bell Hitchbiker 400 Rack

Better than I expected

04/07/2013
By ,
Stuart, FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I went to Walmart to check what they had in stock before ordering. Originally eyeing the Allen hitch bike rack but after looking at packaging between the products, I chose the Bell- also the well known name. In summary:
Pro's- Easy to assemble looking at the instructions -3 bolts w/ tools provided.
The bolted hitch/pin is great- absolutely no wobble- must be bolted from the passenger side.
Sturdy w/ 3 bikes.
Easy to place and secure bikes on rails.
Con's- Quick release pin was tight but hit it to get in- after that, it worked well. Probably a sliver- better to be tight than lose.
Could be tight for 4 bikes.
Surprised how fast to throw the bikes on, Velcro secure and leave. Look forward to more trips with the bikes.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Bell Hitchbiker 400 Rack

Awesome Buy

07/12/2010
By ,
MA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is an awesome bike rack I bought this for when i go camping and just for me and my family to take our bikes out somewhere for the day, It fit right into my hitch no problems what so ever I recommend this bike rack, this bike rack fits on all three vehicles with different brand name hitchs perfect. And NO DRILLING was required.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Bell Hitchbiker 400 Rack

CBpas

08/12/2012
By ,
california
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I purchased this 4 bike rack for our 4 bikes and it only fits 3 bikes. As a family of 4 bike riders this is a problem!!! Someone doesn't get to take their bike :(
Disappointed.
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Bell Hitchbiker 400 Rack

Don't buy this product

06/26/2010
By ,
WV
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this product to haul our bikes on a camping trip and like the fact that it said easy to use and little assembly required. What a joke. I don't know what type of reese hitch it was made for but it doesn't fit a standard hitch. We were counting on using it but first we had to redrill the hole to make it fit. If you don't have a drill press and aren't handy to make this fit tight do not buy this product. I am very disappointed and will not by any other bell products.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per month
-7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Bell Hitchbiker 400 Rack

Nice bike rack for SUVs

09/19/2013
By ,
Jacksonville, FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Assembly was pretty easy with one of my sons helping me hold parts as I fit them together. All required tools were included. Installation on my SUV was simple. The fit is decent but not snug. There is a little bit of wiggle but everything is strong and well secured so it's not going anywhere. Getting bikes on and off of the rack is quite easy. The upper rack swings down when not in use which is nice. The bottom portion is hinged so as to allow access to the lift gate, if needed. Typically I just use the window in the back to access things in the rear of the truck so I haven't actually had to utilize that feature yet. Overall, it is serving its purpose well.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Bell Hitchbiker 400 Rack

Well worth the $$$

01/23/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Well built bike rack for the money. Fits my four mountain bikes easily also.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Bell Hitchbiker 400 Rack

surprisingly good quality

10/09/2013
By ,
Sullivan County NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It's almost like people are reviewing two different racks. I found the rack well designed and surprisingly well built. I bought this to replace my usual rack (2 bike) when friends ride with us. I expected it to be marginal but it's quality was very good (I usually buy Thule). It didn't wobble and was easy to assemble EXCEPT I have a 1 1/4" receiver on my hitch and couldn't unbolt the 2" shim. It appears that the lock bolts had been over tightened at the factory and were stripped. I finally ground the nuts off and was on my way.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Bell Hitchbiker 400 Rack

good, easy to assemble

12/30/2013
By ,
co
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
have not used it on the road yet but assembled and installed it and it went together very easy and installed on car very easily,.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Bell Hitchbiker 400 Rack

Works good.

07/21/2013
By ,
Redlands, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Only had 1 issue the locking pin would not work with my vehicles hitch. Had to use a cotter pin to secure the bolt. It is just the bolt to prevent the mounting bolt for the hitch from coming out and causing the rack to fall off.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Bell Hitchbiker 400 Rack
07/16/2013
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased this as a gift for my son and he advised me that it was good and he liked it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Bell Hitchbiker 400 Rack

Quality product!

07/24/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great product!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Bell Hitchbiker 400 Rack
Based on 1 ratings-only review
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5