Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Bayco Bayco 7-Piece Light Bulb Changing Kit

Bayco Bayco 7-Piece Light Bulb Changing Kit

The Bayco Seven-Piece Light Bulb Changing Kit comes with everything you need to change most standard bulbs, recessed bulbs and floodlights. This ceiling bulb changer kit saves time and is safer than using a ladder. The four-section aluminum pole that comes with this kit can be expanded from 42 inches to 11 feet to help you change bulbs quickly and easily. The standard thread at the end of the pole allows you to use it with painting and washing accessories also. This light bulb changing kit comes with a duster that you can use to clean ceiling fans.
Average Customer Rating:
3.619 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(21 Reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
10
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
6
Customer Recommendation71%15 out of 21reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
5 Questions | 12 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
10
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
6
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Bayco 7-Piece Light Bulb Changing Kit

Best $18.00 I've spent lately!

04/10/2012
By ,
Augusta, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My basement staircase has one light blub about 12 to 15 feet about the stairs. There is no way to change it since a ladder is of no help. A friend told me about this product available at Walmart. It took me a while to take a chance on an $18.00 item I really didn't think would work.
Found it on-line at the Walmart website and decided to give it a try since I had no other options than call in a handyman.
First, I was impressed with all of the attachments that came with it for different size bulbs. I chose the one I needed and immediately broke the glass trying to unscrew it. I then attached the rubber end and after a few tries, and to my surprise, the metal part came right out.
Screwing in the new bulb was as if I had it in my hand!
I now own a fairly expensive bulb changer that I only need for one bulb in my house but I know now it's the "Best $18.00 I've spent lately! At last.......something that works!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per year
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Bayco 7-Piece Light Bulb Changing Kit

Great Product

08/07/2010
By ,
North Dakota
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Does just what you need it to, can change nearly any light bulb made from rediculous heights with the 11 foot pole. Got it for use at work where we have 15 foot ceilings and tons of pain in the backside recessed lights, the suction cup gets the ones with the angled reflector covers that you cant quite get at with anything but a suction cup, and for the others yould normally change by hand on a very high ladder, the bulb grabbers do fantastically from the safety of standing on the floor.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+33points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Bayco 7-Piece Light Bulb Changing Kit

pretty good

07/14/2012
By ,
Florida east coast
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Being a person well-connected to the ground, I can't reach a lot of things (unlike my annoyingly tall son who just casually reaches up to the ceiling and changes the lightbulbs!).
This bulb changer works very well for me, although I initially had to get someone to loosen the bulbs and retighten them using the changer. After that, piece of cake. That was because the changer is a little circle of spring stuff - it grips tight enough to install different sizes of bulbs and remove them, but not tight enough if some strong fingered person made them too tight.
It comes with little doohickeys to remove broken bulbs as well, very handy.
I haven't tried it with the coil-type cfl bulbs yet. I imagine it would work but would need some extra care to get loose without catching on the coils.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Bayco 7-Piece Light Bulb Changing Kit

Works quite well. Good value for the price.

05/22/2012
By ,
Ocean Pines, MD
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Had my doubts about whether or not it work well. Surpized that it was so easy to replace both conventional lights and recessed lights at heights I couldn't reach otherwise.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Bayco 7-Piece Light Bulb Changing Kit

Very handy tool for long reach light bulb changes.

10/15/2012
By ,
Lake Tapps, WA.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I volunteer my maintenance skills to a local Church. Some of the lights in the chandeliers were burned out. I saw how dangerous it was for one of the youth workers to climb a ladder to change out the bulbs several months ago, during the summer. I saw this tool for changing lights, so I bought one. I used it this afternoon. It made the job almost effortless! With the additional adapters it will work on many different bulbs, and the extension handle is sturdy, and is easy to use. I am very pleased with this handy versatile tool. And, buying it at Wal-Mart, it was a bargain too. Thank-You for the opportunity to express my appreciation. I am, Happydayze :)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Bayco 7-Piece Light Bulb Changing Kit

THE BEST

10/30/2013
By ,
Temple, Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I RECEIVED THIS TODAY AND IMMEDIATELY REMOVED A BULB THAT HAD BROKEN OFF IN THE SOCKET IN MY BATHROOM MONTHS AGO. IT WAS SO EASY. THEN, I REMOVED A BURNED-OUT OVERHEAD LIGHT IN MY CLOSET AND PUT A NEW ONE IN-------ALL WITHOUT A LADDER!!! I HAVE 10 FOOT CEILINGS AND I AM JUST SO GLAD TO HAVE THIS ON HAND FOR ANY OTHERS THAT COME UP. IT IS SO SCARY TO GET ON A LADDER AT MY AGE AND ALSO SO HEAVY TO CARRY IN.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per month
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Bayco 7-Piece Light Bulb Changing Kit

Seems like a great idea but less than ideal.

04/18/2014
By ,
San Francisco
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I was excited to get my hands on this as it would save climbing ladders all the time to replace burned out bulbs, however I noticed that in practice it was difficult to use and the attachments were too flimsy and weak to remove cfl and decorative LED bulbs (which were not very tight)
It's a great idea I feel just this version is a bit too cheap and flimsy to get the job done.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Bayco 7-Piece Light Bulb Changing Kit

NO MAN IN SIGHT

03/04/2013
By ,
Colonels Island GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Living alone with can lights constantly blowing out, no one to change then, tired of asking neighbors. I bought this thinking well I will return if it does'nt work. Had a little trouble at first using the suction cup but now I can reach any light in my home. It's my Mr.Man and I am so happy that I bought it. I cant reach most of the lights in my home even with a ladder so this has been a great tool to have around. There is also a duster attachment for cob webs. Should have bought this 6 months ago instead of asking people to help me change out bulbs.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Bayco 7-Piece Light Bulb Changing Kit

Not worth the price

01/11/2014
By ,
Kansas City, Mo
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I was extremely disappointed with this product. It does not do what it promises. I needed it to change out some ceiling floods and the flimsiness of the arms does nothing. The arms are not made of sturdy material to grab the light and it kept sliding off of the bulb. It is simply springs that stretch around the bulb and as soon as you try to turn it the extension arms unscrew from themselves. I returned the product and used a ladder. I would not recommend this product to anyone
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Bayco 7-Piece Light Bulb Changing Kit

Useless. Save your money!

06/30/2012
By ,
Tampa, FL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this because I just moved into an apartment with very high ceilings and mini track lighting. I didn't have a ladder that could reach and hoped this would do the trick. The advertisement said it worked on almost all lights. On mine it was useless. The mini basket didn't work for these lights because the bulb goes almost all the way into the base. And the suction cup was too big. I thought about buying more attachments that had smaller suction cups but they were only available online through some no name company. Rather than waiting another week or two and still not have. a workable solution, I decided rather than throwing good money after bad I would just buy the size ladder I needed. A waste of money and very frustrating.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Bayco 7-Piece Light Bulb Changing Kit

Bayco Light Bulb Changing Kit

09/01/2013
By ,
Mesa, AZ 85207
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Purchased this 8/31/13 at an E. Mesa Supercenter. I will return it tomorrow as the pole does not fit any of the attachments. It could be that someone switched the poles from another model or item. I will check that when I return it and hope to have someone open another one to see if the pole fits the attachments. Lowes and Home Depot sell the same brand, but they may have different models, however, they look the same in the online pictures. Walmart's price beats the competitors so I'd like to buy it there. I am a loyal Walmart shopper, but am not happy about this particular item.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Bayco 7-Piece Light Bulb Changing Kit

Exactly as described. Good service. I hope to deal

11/01/2013
By ,
San Jose, Ca
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exactly as described. Good service. I hope to deal with you again. Thank you.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per month
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Bayco 7-Piece Light Bulb Changing Kit

Bulb Changing Kit

05/31/2013
By ,
San Antonio, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought the light bulb changing kit because my parents have a yard light that is about 20 ft. I was afraid for my dad to climb on the ladder so i purchased it. I was skeptical but bought it anyway, I was disparate because I could not find someone to do it. Well, let me tell you this kit worked great. I thought the bulb would come loose from the grabbing device but it never did. It's very strong and sturdy, did not bend or break. The length that it extends is perfect. I used the large grabbing device. Great peace of mind because, I don't have to wait for someone to do it for me.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Bayco 7-Piece Light Bulb Changing Kit

It seems to be broken as the telescope function

11/14/2013
By ,
Wichita KS
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
will not hold, no matter how much I turn it in the direction the instructions say. If the telescope or extensions will not stay extended when grabbing the light, the end cannot grab the light with any torque to unscrew or screw the bulb in.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Bayco 7-Piece Light Bulb Changing Kit

Save your money and buy a ladder

01/13/2013
By ,
Texas
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have 6 recessed flood lamp fixtures in a very high ceiling. Bought this last Friday in hopes of not having to drag a 12' ladder into the living room to change bulbs. Now I have one of the fixtures partially hanging from the ceiling as this piece of junk broke one of the springs that secures the trim to the base. I never was able to screw in a new bulb.
It will go back to Wal-Mart next week and I'll go back to using a ladder.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Bayco 7-Piece Light Bulb Changing Kit

works as intended

12/24/2012
By ,
MA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Used it on high ceiling flood lights. Was able to take out the large flood light 75W bulbs with the large grasping attachment, and put in the eco bulbs (with twist shape) without much difficulty, using smaller grasphing attachment.
Much easier than using a ladder :).
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Bayco 7-Piece Light Bulb Changing Kit

Great Product!

12/27/2012
By ,
Tonawanda, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am vertically challenged (short) and hate climbing to change light bulbs. This device makes it child's play. Wish I had thought to look for it sooner.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Bayco 7-Piece Light Bulb Changing Kit

Good but not great

08/20/2012
By ,
Bakersfield, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This changing kit gets the job done. It's good, but not great. You really have to tighten the different sections to prevent it from coming loose while trying to get the bulb.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Bayco 7-Piece Light Bulb Changing Kit
Based on the average of (3) ratings-only reviews
4.7 out of 5
4.7 out of 5
Product Attributes:
Value
4.7 out of 5
4.7 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4.7 out of 5
4.7 out of 5