Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for HP HP Officejet 4500 Desktop All-in-One Printer/Scanner/Copier

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

HP HP Officejet 4500 Desktop All-in-One Printer/Scanner/Copier

The HP Officejet 4500 All-In-One Color Printer combines the features of a printer, scanner, and copier. It uses HP Officejet inks for printing documents, scanning images, and sending and receiving faxes. This all-in-one printer features hi-speed USB port for connecting external devices. It maintains a resolution of up to 600 dpi for black and 4800 x 1200 dpi for color. This printer has a capacity of printing 28 pages per minute in black and 22 pages per minute in color. These economical high-speed printers provide professional-quality color and black-and-white copies. This HP desktop all-in-one printer is energy star certified, as it consumes very little power and is cost efficient.
Average Customer Rating:
3.145 out of 5
3.1
 out of 
5
(379 Reviews) 357
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
125
4 stars
74
3 stars
24
2 stars
43
1 star
113
Customer Recommendation55%207 out of 379reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
125
4 stars
74
3 stars
24
2 stars
43
1 star
113
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for HP Officejet 4500 Desktop All-in-One Printer/Scanner/Copier

Good for what I payed for

01/15/2012
By ,
New York
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this printer because its one of the few in my price range that will work easily with Linux. I have a IBM xSeries 226 running Debian 6.0.3 (squeeze). I Plunged in the printer and in 30 seconds it was installed ready to go.
The good:
- Linux driver works 100% (Printing and Scanning)
- Ink is cheap
- Copy's/prints fast for the price
- Turns on very fast from power save mode
- Windows Install was very easy... and you can choose to installing HP's extra junk or just the driver!
The Bad:
- No Ethernet port
- When you print something it just spits it out on top of the input paper tray (not good for printing more than a few things at a time)
- No USB Cable (Like most printers)
Over all Its not bad. works great for what I do
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Review 2 for HP Officejet 4500 Desktop All-in-One Printer/Scanner/Copier

DONT WASTE YOUR MONEY

10/14/2010
By ,
usa
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This printer is terrible! Sounds like it is going to die when it is printing and the noise would wake the dead. It took nearly 10 minutes of trying to get the paper to feed. It started the alignment process and used over 20 sheets of paper while jamming multiple times. I put in the paper just as instructed and watched as it crumpled page after page. Then after all that it requested I place the alignment paper in the scan and of course it couldn't locate the document and used the default settings instead. This is a piece of junk I am returning straight away. I could have had my three year old draw a copy and have it look more professional and be finished quicker.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+89points
Review 3 for HP Officejet 4500 Desktop All-in-One Printer/Scanner/Copier

...Bought in store...

03/18/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this in the store...came home to set it up and low and behold no usb cable...it says really tiny on the BOTTOM of the box USB (not included) it would be nice if they would make this clear....
In the setup booklet, it doesn't say its not included or anything it talks about the usb cable, but it never says anything about whether its included or not...after extreme examination of the packaging, it finally tells you it doesn't come with it >.<
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+164points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
10,000 feet above sea level
Awesome Linux Printer!
Posted 05/18/2012
The USB cable may not be included.... but then usb cables haven't been provided in most printers for over a decade.
Linux installation under Ubuntu 11.x was as simple as plugging in the usb cable. Printer was immediately available with all printing options. Scanner just worked.. no tweaking involved.
Can't wait to set it up on the ethernet so both machines here can quickly print.
Sweet!
0points
Customer Avatar
So. FL.
HP office jet 4500.
Posted 05/08/2012
Do your self a faver leave it in the store .never have i had such a piece of junk since i took a chance with a Acer computer also wall mart.I have had my old HP 2210 for a decade Never had 1 problem till i ran out of ink.the ink is so pricy that i took a chance on this as it was less than the ink for my old one.Problems? were do I start.does not like to print,Has only 1 wheel on the tractor drive for paper to pull it in & squeal like a tire burning rubber,NO JOKE. then if u try to print more than 1 page u get every error message in the book from out of ink to aline cartilages to check cables and on & on WHAT A HUNK OF JUNK.DON'T WAST your $$$$ buy a real one This have given me more trouble than i have ever seen u have to pull out the power cord to make it work again then the spinning tire affects kick in then it starts throughing out paper across the room...leave IT alone worst deal ever I lost my receipt i still have the box all paper work but lost the receipt .I rate this less than zero and a100% in the raise your blood pressure dept.
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 4 for HP Officejet 4500 Desktop All-in-One Printer/Scanner/Copier

great value

02/02/2011
By ,
winter springs fl
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this copier far exceeded my expectations. just be sure to use the phone cord that comes with it. i used an old phone cord and couldn't recieve faxes. i ran a settings test on it and identified my old phone cord as the problem. so use the phone cord supplied with this unit. i highly recommend this to the person who occaisionally sends and recieves faxes. it also prints ,scans very clear.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+63points
Review 5 for HP Officejet 4500 Desktop All-in-One Printer/Scanner/Copier

DO NOT BUY

07/02/2010
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this becouse it was a HP and I have hade good luck with HP products. DON'T wast your money. After 3 hours with tech support, lots of flustration I am packaging it up and taking it back to Walmart!! It is slow and will not work correctly. If I hade to rate this product I would say it is the worst hp product I have ever purchased.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+61points
Review 6 for HP Officejet 4500 Desktop All-in-One Printer/Scanner/Copier

No Scan

03/23/2011
By ,
Valley Cottage, NY
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Was unable to scan from the printer but was able to set up a way to scan from my computer. Had problems with alignment and paper would not stay straight. Price is good.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+12points
Review 7 for HP Officejet 4500 Desktop All-in-One Printer/Scanner/Copier

printer/copier/fax

05/26/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i love this product. it surpassed my expectations for printing photos. copying, and uploading documents onto my computers.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+17points
Review 8 for HP Officejet 4500 Desktop All-in-One Printer/Scanner/Copier

great value

10/07/2010
By ,
portland Oregon
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great value easy setup all features work correctly.the only draw back is printer cable not included that should have been stated on website page
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+16points
Review 9 for HP Officejet 4500 Desktop All-in-One Printer/Scanner/Copier

Good printer, but consider others first

01/29/2012
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I bought this printer in store because I needed something to print, copy, and scan for school. I was happy that it came with black and color ink. The ink cartridges are not too pricey whenever I run out and have to get more. They are cheaper than most other printer ink cartridges. My husband set it up quickly and without frustration. It goes onto power save mode if left on, which is nice.
However, it constantly tells me that there is not paper in the tray when there is paper in the tray. I am frustrated with this thing EVERY SINGLE time I use it. I have to rearrange the paper and then attempt to re-print every single time I have something that I need to print or copy. I have tried different amounts of paper, but the thing is stupid or something.
If you want a good printer and don't feel like shopping around, sure get this one. But I would look around more because of that annoying paper tray issue. Good luck.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 10 for HP Officejet 4500 Desktop All-in-One Printer/Scanner/Copier

A very nice All-In-One

09/07/2010
By ,
Natchitoches, LA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great looks and great performance. Setup was a breeze on my 64-bit Windows 7 computer. Very nice quality prints.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+14points
Review 11 for HP Officejet 4500 Desktop All-in-One Printer/Scanner/Copier

great printer

10/26/2011
By ,
Florida
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
my husband purchased this printer for me nearly a year ago. i have had no trouble w/ it whatsoever. it prints cleanly, quickly, & w/out jamming. I've printed to multiple paper types & sizes with absolutely no issue at all. this printer is a great buy. also, i'm just now about to replace the b&w ink for the first time since purchased (and i print coupons almost weekly in addition to other documents). The color printer is 3/4 full. I haven't printed photos from this printer though, so that's about the only part i don't feel qualified to speak to.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 12 for HP Officejet 4500 Desktop All-in-One Printer/Scanner/Copier

Printer

07/20/2011
By ,
Great Falls, MT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this to replace another HP Copier/scanner/printer. Loved the Pick up today option it was in my store & I didn't have to wait for it to arrive :)
When I got it Home I discovered that it also has a fax feature that I do not need as I do not have a house line but nice to have if I need it. Realatively easy to set up, comes with both color & B/W cartridges & haven't had to replace them yet. Color is clear & crisp & aligning the cartidges is as easy as scanning a piece of paper. The power & setup panel is on the front instead of on the top like my other printer I was replacing, & the black color looks really nice. Powersave mode as well, but always on the ready for the job you need.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Review 13 for HP Officejet 4500 Desktop All-in-One Printer/Scanner/Copier

Do not purchase

01/13/2011
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
First of all, I'd like to say I've been an Administrative Assistant for over 20yrs and in that course you get to be computer and mechanical saavy. I spent a minutes setting up and downloading the installation software but to my SURPRISE...when I tried to fax a document it was like pulling teeth. The manual is complicated as far as going back to retrace your steps. I have an HP desktop at home and No problems. This all-in-one HP....PROBLEMS....DO NOT PURCHASE!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+7points
Review 14 for HP Officejet 4500 Desktop All-in-One Printer/Scanner/Copier

The best All-in-one

08/20/2011
By ,
Adelanto, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This HP All-in-one is the best low cost product I evey had. I had one fax, and a 3-in-one printer, just take up space on my work desk. Now with this All-in-one, I have more space on my desk for work.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
 
My Product Recommendations
HP Officejet 4500 Desktop All-in-One Printer/Scanner/Copier
3.6 out of 5(120)
 
 
 
 
 
+5points
Review 15 for HP Officejet 4500 Desktop All-in-One Printer/Scanner/Copier

Great all-in-one printer!

06/27/2011
By ,
Galloway,OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great all-in-one printer. Far superior to my Epson all-in-one, and much easier on ink. I bought this one for a friend in need in LA. I have one just like it in OH, that I've had for nearly a year.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 16 for HP Officejet 4500 Desktop All-in-One Printer/Scanner/Copier

Why are there no zero star ratings?

08/01/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this in a bundle because it was such a "bargain". It has taken more of my time attempting to get it to perform as HP claims and it never did though I have only printed about 50 pages. Forget about the wireless connection that I had to repeat with the HP laptop I purchased too. It eventually connected but then the print quality failed within those 50 pages with smearing and distortion. In short if you purchase this piece you will always be one of PT Barnum's favorite people and I am one but too. But because I plan to get my satisfaction with this product I will use it in the woods becasuse I live in an area where we can shoot guns and I will hang it by it's cords in a tree wrapped with duct tape and shoot it until it disappears.
Oh and by the way I am not inexperienced with hardware or software. Before I retired I was the network coordinator for an office with 20 work stations.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:9 - 10 months
0points
Review 17 for HP Officejet 4500 Desktop All-in-One Printer/Scanner/Copier

Great Product

08/24/2011
By ,
Clinton Twp., MI.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Printer setup went smoothly and completed without a hitch as long as you follow directions. I think many of those who are having problems with this printer are not following the setup directions and thus things get screwed up in the software installation department. It prints fast and is not any noisier than any other printer I have owned. It seems to be well constructed and is a great value for the money. Well pleased.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 18 for HP Officejet 4500 Desktop All-in-One Printer/Scanner/Copier

Great product for the price.

11/21/2011
By ,
AL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My HP 1200 series finally bit the dust after about 10 yrs of use. Did some research and despite some of the bad reviews purchased HP Officejet 4500 Desktop All-in-One Printer/Scanner/Copier for less than the ink cartridge replacement cost for the HP 1200. I linked the printer to my network via network cable (not included) patched into a wireless router, did not need the supplied USB cable. Must admit had to install the software twice on each WS and laptops using the CD for a successful install. Ink is my concern so I setup the default print on each WS and printer preference set to Economic Fast print. So far very pleased with network printing and scanning capabilities. Hopefully it will last as long as it’s predecessor. So far no complaints and I would recommend this as cost saving multifunction device.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 19 for HP Officejet 4500 Desktop All-in-One Printer/Scanner/Copier

High ink usage and terribly noisy!

11/10/2011
By ,
Minnesota
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This printer was fine for about a month. It does use ink rather fast, so you have to be sure to go into settings and set the ink volume down. Either way, it's too expensive to purchase the ink retail.
Lately, the printer has been having paper jams and making seriously loud noises. I've jumped out of my seat about 4 times so far, because the noise is so loud. I swear something broke, but then it works OK after.
There is only a side paper guide, so you have to be careful when printing. There is nothing stopping the paper from slipping out of the paper tray. If you have to print many documents, you must take them as they are printed as there is no tray for printed documents. They kind of just get spit out.
Spend more money and get something that won't use ink so bad or make you jump out of your seat.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 20 for HP Officejet 4500 Desktop All-in-One Printer/Scanner/Copier
08/10/2011
By ,
Virginia
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This printer is a piece of JUNK. Bought it tried to install it with no success. LED just bleanked saying to cut off and restart. Power button would not work to cut it off, had to unplug it but it did the same thing. NO support number to call just web site. Went to web site called the number given. After 35 minutes on the phone with a person who could hardly speak english NO results. He stated that he could fix the problem if I bought their one year support package for 159.99. I asked the man if he was going to help with the problem and he stated NO, unless I bought the support package. Hung up and took it back and got my money back. Will never buy a HP product again. VERY DISAPPOINTED. The only reason there is one star is because I had to select one.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+1point
1-20 of 100 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 Next