Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Mongoose 26'' Mongoose XR-75 Dual Suspension Men's Bike

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Mongoose 26'' Mongoose XR-75 Dual Suspension Men's Bike

The new Mongoose XR75 men's bike can tackle just about any terrain. Its dual-suspension frame is powerful, yet lightweight enough for young riders to maneuver. This powerful men's bike has 21 speeds, linear pull brakes and a quick-release seat post. Please note: If you select Site to Store delivery, your bike(s) will not be assembled upon pickup.
Average Customer Rating:
3.276 out of 5
3.3
 out of 
5
(76 Reviews) 71
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
24
4 stars
17
3 stars
10
2 stars
6
1 star
19
Customer Recommendation58%44 out of 76reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
24
4 stars
17
3 stars
10
2 stars
6
1 star
19
Customer Reviews
Review 61 for 26'' Mongoose XR-75 Dual Suspension Men's Bike

EPIC BIKE!

08/18/2010
By ,
Alexandria, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
First, I wrote this review based on the fact that I'm a former bike assembler and tester and I have current knowledge on various bikes, braking systems, and gearing systems. So, I hope you will find this review helpful.
The Mongoose XR-75 performed exactly how I expected it to.
The front fork and mono shock suspension systems make going over curbs or any rough terrain very comfortable and easy to manuver.
The Shimano TZ Shift System is exactly what I was looking foward to, one click and there's the gear you want and it's shifts so smoothly too! (Properly adjusted of course.)
The weight of the bike is very light, thanks to the aluminum frame it's roughly 41lbs, Which makes it easy to ride and easy to carry upstairs.
Now, I do recommend buying a more comfortable seat because the one that comes with it is not exactly what I would call friendly on the rear or pelvic areas. (Especially if you're a heavy person like myself. Just to give an example, I'm 6'2" 256lbs.) But, it is sturdy.
Honestly, the bike does a lot more for it's small price. I would recommend this product to anyone looking for a great, yet affordable bike!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+40points
Review 62 for 26'' Mongoose XR-75 Dual Suspension Men's Bike

A great bike

09/07/2010
By ,
Warsaw, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This a great bike ! I saw the bike in my store and i just had to get it. The colors (yellow and black) I call it BumbleBee ! just caught my eye . What I like the most is the spring shock absorber suspension and having the shifters on the handle grips. Had the bike for two weeks now. No problems whatsoever ! I recommend this bike to anyone !
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+6points
Review 63 for 26'' Mongoose XR-75 Dual Suspension Men's Bike

Very good for what you pay

10/14/2010
By ,
Hurst, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This bike has met all of my expectaions. There are some mixed reviews and I was very skeptical from that, but took the chance based on a few factors. Most of the complaints stated simple issues that led to a bad experiences. I saw a lot of flat tires, chain issues, bent rims and so on. I bought this bike assembled from the store, first thing I did was check every bolt for proper tension. Then aired the tires to proper inflation psi. Made sure to oil and lubricate all movable components. Basically, don't trust anyone else to assemble the bike for you. I realized this bike was below $150, some bikes that look the same go for $1500. It's obviouse the $1500 ones are better bikes, but this bike is fine for the casual rider. Read the 1 star reviews, most, if not all, issues can be fixed with a little work on your part. I weigh over 200 lbs and pull my 2 yr old in a trailer and have nothing but enjoyment while riding this bike.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+31points
Review 64 for 26'' Mongoose XR-75 Dual Suspension Men's Bike

Love It!!

12/28/2010
By ,
Phoenix
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It was the best bike I have ever gotten. Mongoose's are the best!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 65 for 26'' Mongoose XR-75 Dual Suspension Men's Bike

Excellent Value

06/07/2010
By ,
Bristol, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent Value for the money. For Optimum performance, you must tune the wheels, brakes, and make sure all bolts and screws are tight. I am a tall rider (6'2") and preferr to sit more upright instead of leaning over, so I had to replace the handlebars for a "High Rise" (5") for $7.95 (NOT AT WALMART). I also like a more comfortable seat so I purchase a Bell Gel Cell. Add Zefal bar end mirrors ($6.95 each end - $14.00) and you are on the road. Both seat and mirrors are available at Walmart. Gears shift a little hard at first but with some use and a little lubrication, this bike is a great deal. NOT a hard core mountain biker, so don't know how it would stand up on rough trails, but great for leisure trails and Rails to Trails conversions. This is my third Mongoose over the past 15 years. When the tires, tubes, cables, and chain need replacing, I just buy a new bike. Highly recommended for the PRICE!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+6points
Review 66 for 26'' Mongoose XR-75 Dual Suspension Men's Bike

very good longivity

12/14/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
a friend gave me this bike and it was in pretty good conditions but the cables were badly stretched and slighty rusted. i tune the brakes suspension and gears and after that every body that rode this bike said they have never riden a more pleasurable bike. i highly recomend this bike has held up very well for me
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 67 for 26'' Mongoose XR-75 Dual Suspension Men's Bike

REAL AWSOME BIKE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

06/11/2010
By ,
Syracuse, N.Y.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I like the color, but it needs assembley.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
-6points
Review 68 for 26'' Mongoose XR-75 Dual Suspension Men's Bike

Great Bike!

04/28/2010
By ,
SelinsgrovePA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had wanted a good mountain bike so I researched and found this one in my price range. I had needed more money but I watched it like a hawk. Eventually I went to look at it again and that was the day that they changed the price down to 99.00.
I bought it and ever since the nnever regretted it. I ride it almost every day on back country hills, and the gear shifteds always get it done. It's gears are really easy to turn and the suspension is faantastic. Bought one of these for my older sister at 67.00 for her graduation from college this week. We are going to bike across americe in four years. (am probaly going going to get another one by then)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+27points
Review 69 for 26'' Mongoose XR-75 Dual Suspension Men's Bike

Love it!!!

04/03/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This bike is amazing, fun to down hill, Takes the bumps really nice, I love this bike
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 70 for 26'' Mongoose XR-75 Dual Suspension Men's Bike
09/16/2010
By ,
Salt Lake City, Utah
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this bike to replace my old viper mountain bike, was an awesome purchase and very happy with it, alot better ride and smooth on the roads. i would recommend this bike to anyone.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 71 for 26'' Mongoose XR-75 Dual Suspension Men's Bike

Good Product

06/19/2010
By ,
St Augustine, Fl
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased the bike online and it was great experience. Walmart contacted me when the bike arrived at the store for pickup and even put the bike together for me.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Ratings-Only Reviews for 26'' Mongoose XR-75 Dual Suspension Men's Bike
Based on the average of (5) ratings-only reviews
4.2 out of 5
4.2 out of 5
Product Attributes:
Value
4.4 out of 5
4.4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4.3 out of 5
4.3 out of 5
61-72 of 72 total reviews