Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Mongoose 26'' Mongoose XR-75 Dual Suspension Men's Bike

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Mongoose 26'' Mongoose XR-75 Dual Suspension Men's Bike

The new Mongoose XR75 men's bike can tackle just about any terrain. Its dual-suspension frame is powerful, yet lightweight enough for young riders to maneuver. This powerful men's bike has 21 speeds, linear pull brakes and a quick-release seat post. Please note: If you select Site to Store delivery, your bike(s) will not be assembled upon pickup.
Average Customer Rating:
3.276 out of 5
3.3
 out of 
5
(76 Reviews) 71
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
24
4 stars
17
3 stars
10
2 stars
6
1 star
19
Customer Recommendation58%44 out of 76reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
24
4 stars
17
3 stars
10
2 stars
6
1 star
19
Customer Reviews
Review 21 for 26'' Mongoose XR-75 Dual Suspension Men's Bike

Great Bike

11/20/2010
By ,
Tampa,Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this bike in February 2010 and have put about 1700 miles on it so far. How much more could you ask for a bike this price?
Yes, I have had to tighten and adjust a few things over that period, but so what? It's par for the course.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 22 for 26'' Mongoose XR-75 Dual Suspension Men's Bike

Very good for what you pay

10/14/2010
By ,
Hurst, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This bike has met all of my expectaions. There are some mixed reviews and I was very skeptical from that, but took the chance based on a few factors. Most of the complaints stated simple issues that led to a bad experiences. I saw a lot of flat tires, chain issues, bent rims and so on. I bought this bike assembled from the store, first thing I did was check every bolt for proper tension. Then aired the tires to proper inflation psi. Made sure to oil and lubricate all movable components. Basically, don't trust anyone else to assemble the bike for you. I realized this bike was below $150, some bikes that look the same go for $1500. It's obviouse the $1500 ones are better bikes, but this bike is fine for the casual rider. Read the 1 star reviews, most, if not all, issues can be fixed with a little work on your part. I weigh over 200 lbs and pull my 2 yr old in a trailer and have nothing but enjoyment while riding this bike.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+31points
Review 23 for 26'' Mongoose XR-75 Dual Suspension Men's Bike

Worth every cent

04/18/2010
By ,
Port Angeles, Wa.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have just recently purchased this product. It is actually an awesome bike, the frame is excellent. I have had to upgrade the neck, stem, and rims because I'm a little over the weight capacity for them but for the price I have no complaint. For any-body under 200 lbs I see no problem with the stock equipment. I purchased the 1 year warranty and I plan on using it to the fullest. Before riding you should always check to make sure everything is tightened down properly and set to a comfortable zone for you. I would buy this product a hundred times over and I have just recently purchased one for my fiance. So if your looking to get in shape or you just need something to cruise around on this is the bike for you.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+22points
Review 24 for 26'' Mongoose XR-75 Dual Suspension Men's Bike

Great bike for the price...

05/26/2010
By ,
Santa Clarita, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased this bike as a supplemental to my road bike. The shipping charge was only $2.97 and it arrived at my office within 3 days of ordering!!!
I had it professionally assembled at a local bike shop.
I took it out the other day and rode for a little while. Nice ride!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Review 25 for 26'' Mongoose XR-75 Dual Suspension Men's Bike

good bike

04/20/2010
By ,
fitzgerald, ga
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this bike after breaking my other one. It actually arrived to my house quicker than what Walmart.com said it would. It only took me about 15 mins to assemble and another 15 to get everything adjusted, such as brakes and gear shifts. I had a little problem getting the front tire to take air. I have taken the bike through some mild trails and jumps. It seems to be holding up real good. I am a 200 lb man and ride hard. I used to mountain bike alot. I've owned the high dollar bikes and this one seems to ride as good as they did, just a little heavier. It seems to be a quality built bike. I bought this one because I wanted something cheap to see if me and my boy's wanted to get into trail riding. I am very pleased with this purchase. The bike looks great and rides real smooth. After making the adjustments everything on the bike works great. I am going to get my oldest son one of these bikes also. I have only had the bike for a week, but am expecting a good amount of use out of this bike.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+62points
Review 26 for 26'' Mongoose XR-75 Dual Suspension Men's Bike

Very nice!!

07/22/2010
By ,
Ohio
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The bike was better than I expected. I bought it for my husband on his birthday. It's very sturdy and well built.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 27 for 26'' Mongoose XR-75 Dual Suspension Men's Bike

Worth It

07/28/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very nice sturdy bike but the rear suspension bottoms out way to easy!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 28 for 26'' Mongoose XR-75 Dual Suspension Men's Bike

Mongoose XR-75 Mountain Bike

01/25/2011
By ,
Jacksonville FL area
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The bike arrived in good condition, though not put together, as was stated. Thus, I expected to put it together.
What was needed, though, were a few more graphic images showing proper handlebar alignments, tire pressures, brake pad alignment, the little things like that.
The bike rides well and serves my needs today without problem.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 29 for 26'' Mongoose XR-75 Dual Suspension Men's Bike

Great Quality for the price

05/04/2011
By ,
San Diego, Ca
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased this bike online and recieved free and fast shipping. The bike did not come fully assembled, I had to put on the handlebars, front tire, seat and petals. Which was fairly simple to do. I use this bike to take my son for rides. I attached the weeride kids seat in front of my seat. Im only 5'6 and i stil had plenty of room to navigate and peddle. So far I've taken it on all different types of terrains, pavement, dirt, gravel, rocks, and it holds up fine. Feels secure and comfortable to ride. The seat it came with was highly uncomfortable to use so I bought a comfort seat at walmart for 20 bucks. For the price and the quality you wont be disappointed!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 30 for 26'' Mongoose XR-75 Dual Suspension Men's Bike

decent bike for what i paid for it

01/30/2011
By ,
lancaster ohio
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
bought the bike bout 3 weeks ago first ride chain guard snapped off but replaced it with better then the cheap plastic one it comes with other then that good ride for the price
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 31 for 26'' Mongoose XR-75 Dual Suspension Men's Bike
02/20/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Really pretty happy with this bike. Does all that i need it to do and does it well. Sure lets ya know how out of shape you are when you first get on it haha.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
-1point
Review 32 for 26'' Mongoose XR-75 Dual Suspension Men's Bike

Not Bad

05/08/2011
By ,
Texas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I am a college student who was looking for a decent bike at an even better price. Went to Wal-Mart and was quickly impressed with the beauty of this bike. Read a couple reviews and said what the heck, why not? 3 months later I am writing this review to help fellow riders make an informative decision. Not Bad! Remember you always get what you pay for, so there may be some slight issues, but overall its working amazing. I ride 6 days a week on rough terrain and the only problems I have had have been a flat tire (My Fault---:), chained popped out once but fixed in less than a minute (got a little dirty), and my breaks were a tad weak (tighten the screws myself and works like a charm). What Im getting at is they are minor things you can adjust yourself. Id buy it again in a heartbeat. Noone believes me when I tell em where I got it and for how much. No lie, Ive actually stopped telling people cuz now I see 4 dudes riding the same bike at the university. Bummer! lol Good luck on your decision~
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 33 for 26'' Mongoose XR-75 Dual Suspension Men's Bike

Assemble and adjust properly and it will be great

09/06/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
A bicycle is like a guitar, even the best classic Les Paul will sound horrible if it is not properly tuned. A bike is the same way. The SRAM shifting is a little complicated, but when adjusted correctly is amazing. The next key is that all bikes will need constant adjustment, cables stretch, screws move, it has to be maintained. This bike is terrible on a road as-is. It is designed to be off road. The wider tires with the aggressive tread do not coast well on pavement...it was not designed to. Changing to a smoother tire that operates at a higher psi makes a huge difference. The suspension is good for the price range. Remember that true dual suspension bikes cost around $1200. I am a big guy, weighing about 330 lbs, and the bike can handle me. Flat tires happen, especially if the rim liner is not installed properly or if tools are used. A major downfall is that there is no where to mount a water bottle, but I got a camel pack and it is fine.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+8points
Review 34 for 26'' Mongoose XR-75 Dual Suspension Men's Bike

A Gem!

05/08/2010
By ,
Riverside, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This bike was is amazing! I bought it on a monday, and went to the mountain on tuesday. It was great for the most part, everything worked really well. However with absolutely no experience in mountain biking, I rode it down a very high steep mountain, which bent the tire. I took a tumble. Even with the bug fall the bike stayed together, I took it to a shop to get the wheel fixed. But overall it was a great and fun bike.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 35 for 26'' Mongoose XR-75 Dual Suspension Men's Bike

mongoose xr-75

08/09/2010
By ,
Hollister CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
purchased the mongoose xr-75 on line and received it within three business days. assembly was a breeze it was as easy as just the front tire, handlebars and peddles. It took a few tries to get the front brakes adjusted just right. the dual suspension works great and grip shifters are easy and simple to use. i would recommend to check and re-tighten the front screw on the handle bar every now and then mine has come loose more than once , with routine maintenance this should not be a problem. bike rides great.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 36 for 26'' Mongoose XR-75 Dual Suspension Men's Bike

Good for this price

01/17/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
For the price it is an excellent product, I recommend a professional adjustment after assembly, brakes, gear, wheels, etc. Negative, these type of shift gear i do not really like
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 37 for 26'' Mongoose XR-75 Dual Suspension Men's Bike

cool bike

05/19/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
just got this bike. love the dual suspension. assembly took a little time, especially the front brakes. But now it's great. will need to tune-up a few times before I'll be confindent to take it on the trails
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 38 for 26'' Mongoose XR-75 Dual Suspension Men's Bike

:( Disappointed

06/04/2010
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I liked the bike at first but i am the kind of person who wheelies bikes like crazy after 2 weeks the rear free wheel (rear sprocket) blew up and didnt work. Other than that the bike rides well and the colors are a perfect combo. Also the bike is not ready to ride right out of the store it needs adjustments to the front and rear derailers. The rear suspension is really squeaky at first. The bike is not made for real trail riders.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 39 for 26'' Mongoose XR-75 Dual Suspension Men's Bike

Alright but problamatic - buy at the store.

06/06/2010
By ,
Chippewa Falls, WI
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
When purchasing the bike online, it comes almost assembled. All you need to do is just put on the front tire, the seat, and tighten down the handlebar. However, the brakes are not adjusted, neither are the gears. The breaks are a bit simple but the gears aren't. It took me about a day to fine-tune the rear derailleur but the front one did not come properly angled.
The front tire also came bent. I took it to walmart and they fixed the front tire bent for the most part, but after riding over one curb going about 5 MPH, the back tire rim bent.
Taking this bike to my local bike shop, They estimated that it would cost around 50 dollars labor to fix all of the broken aspects. I returned the bike to walmart and luckily, they had one assembled and ready to go. After that, I had no problems with the bike.
The seat however was uncomfortable, so You will need a bike pad or a new saddle.
Despite all of the problems, Save yourself time and money by purchasing it at the store.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 40 for 26'' Mongoose XR-75 Dual Suspension Men's Bike

handle bars loose

04/29/2011
By ,
waterford ct
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
My son recieved this bike as a present for christmas 4 months ago. He has only ridden it 10 times, of those ten times I have had to put his handle bars on 3 times now. I am going to return this bike now as I am afraid that he is going to get hurt riding it. This would be his 3rd mongoose bike that we have purchased from walmart. I also have a bike that I bought from walmart myself.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per month
0points
21-40 of 72 total reviews