Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Channel Sources Channel Master CM-7000PAL Antenna-Compatible DVR

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Channel Sources Channel Master CM-7000PAL Antenna-Compatible DVR

Let the Channel Master DVR with antenna enhance your TV viewing experience. View and record local over-the-air digital broadcasts. With the Channel Master DVR, you can pause, fast forward and rewind your programs; you can even use the slow-motion feature to watch clips frame by frame. The Channel Master DVR offers an electronic program guide that allows you to preset recording schedules so you never miss your favorite shows. Unlike many other DVR set-top boxes, there are no monthly subscription fees. The unit includes an infrared remote control, which operates the CM-7000PAL and up to three other components.
Average Customer Rating:
4.236 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(72 Reviews) 69
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
46
4 stars
14
3 stars
1
2 stars
5
1 star
6
Customer Recommendation85%61 out of 72reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
46
4 stars
14
3 stars
1
2 stars
5
1 star
6
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Channel Master CM-7000PAL Antenna-Compatible DVR

Great DVR! I got the extended warranty this time

09/30/2011
By ,
Fort Collins, CO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I owned a DTVPal DVR previously (same unit, but with a 90 day warranty, and it wasn't sold by Walmart or other major retailers when I was looking), and it was great too... for 5.5 months. Then it froze up in a continual start-up loop, and would never come back.
This DVR is just like the DTVPal DVR. I love it because it's nearly identical to the interface my family and I had grown used to with the Dish Satellite HD DVR unit we had before these two over-the-air DVR units. We live in northern Colorado, and pick up 1 weeks worth of programming information in the guide for most of the bigger channels. Also, the tuner on the DVR is better than what is on our Panasonic HD Plasma TV. We get more channels than we did when we hooked our TV straight to the antenna coaxial input (and the DVR shows the signal strength of each channel every time you change channels!).
We have had NO issues with this unit in the month or so that we've had it. And, just in case Channel Master has the same firmware hicup that brought our other unit to it's knees, I bought Walmart's 3-year extended warranty.
I highly recommend this unit to anyone wanting to watch over-the-air programming!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 2 for Channel Master CM-7000PAL Antenna-Compatible DVR

The CM7000PAL performs as good as the antenna used

08/21/2011
By ,
Las Vegas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The CM7000PAL does what it advertises.
1. Records in high definition for (over the air) programming
2. 1 week ahead guide for programs
3. Clock runs ontime
4. Can record two programs at the same time, while watching a (recorded) program
5. Pause,freez,fast forward,frame at time run,rewind,skip 30 seconds ahead
6. No monthly fees
That is to name several of the functions it does...
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 3 for Channel Master CM-7000PAL Antenna-Compatible DVR

Channel Master CM-7000 PAL Exellent

07/25/2011
By ,
SF Bay Area
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Purchased the the Channel Master DVR about a month ago.....it works great for me. I have been without subscription TV for 6 months now, not because I could not afford it, but because of the monopoly it has become! The Channel Master has been great. I record most late night shows, my personal favorites.....Letterman, Leno, Fallon and Kimmel and watch them when I want. I also really like CBS Sunday Morning which starts at 6am here in the bay area. Both recording situations are either too late or too early for me. Now I can watch them anytime. The Channel Master DVR is bit of a steep initial cost, but after that there are no costs! $300 plus tax at Walmart, but if the cable bill was $50 a month, that's $600 a year.....so DVR pays for itself in 6 months or so. Remember it is an Over-The-Air DVR only which is exactly what I wanted. Reords perfect HD quality. Hopefully it will last for 4 or 5 years.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 4 for Channel Master CM-7000PAL Antenna-Compatible DVR

Locks up all the time-Customer service is a joke

07/16/2011
By ,
Missouri
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this unit last year. When it works it works pretty good. However it randomly locks up when the unit is off and will not respond to remote. When locked up it will not record programmed times for shows you do not want to miss. The only solution to the lockup problem is to unplug the unit for a minute or so and then plug back in. The system will then re-boot and once again respond to the remote allowing you to turn it on and watch TV. Also when locked up the hard drive is spinning -so the unit will probable not last very long before the hard drive fails.
Customer service pretends that they have not heard of the problem but if you do a quick internet search you will see that many reports have been made by many other customers having the same problem. Technical service was suppose to call back to help with the issue but never have (its been over 6 months).
The result of the locking up means that you can never record your shows when you are not home because if the frequent random lockup occurs then nothing will be recorded until you get back and unplug it and let it reboot.
If I had to do it over again I would choose a different product. I definitely will never buy from channel master again.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 5 for Channel Master CM-7000PAL Antenna-Compatible DVR
07/15/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It plays back HD recording in HD, or full screen. It performs as advertised.
Needs bigger hard drive.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 6 for Channel Master CM-7000PAL Antenna-Compatible DVR

Piece of Junk

07/05/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased two of these and both of them constantly had problems with locking up, not powering on, not powering off. They are made with very cheap hard drives. If they were $280 cheaper they would be worth purchasing.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Review 7 for Channel Master CM-7000PAL Antenna-Compatible DVR

Channel Master CM-7000PAL OTA DVR is GREAT

06/26/2011
By ,
Scottsdale, AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My father has had the Channel Master over the air DVR for a few years with no issues. I finally got tired of my $90 per month cable bill and purchased this and an OTA antenna and went over the air.
The Channel Master CM-7000PAL OTA DVR was very easy to install and has a weekly guide for quick programming. A friend of mine that installs for Directv and Dish said that this DVR is very similar (same?) as the ones for Dish.
I've had it up and running for about a month with no issues. Very satisfied!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 8 for Channel Master CM-7000PAL Antenna-Compatible DVR

Works as advertised

06/23/2011
By ,
Raleigh, NC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Programming Instruction are somewhat hard to follow. Some of the remote buttons don't do what I would expect. Overall works fine, no problems. I wish the TV Guide was more accurate, but, that is info supplied by the stations and not the fault of the CM-7000PAL.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 9 for Channel Master CM-7000PAL Antenna-Compatible DVR

Best video recorder I have ever owned.

06/23/2011
By ,
Santa Ana, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great DVR. Able to watch program and rewind to catch up on anything I missed. Speedy response from Remote. Easy to record by just selecting a program on the TV Guide channel lists and pressing a button on the Remote. No more having to input a start and end time, channel number date, etc. Watching a program thru the DVR seems clearer and higher in definition than watching it directly on my 240 HZ 1080P HD TV without going thru the DVR.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 10 for Channel Master CM-7000PAL Antenna-Compatible DVR

Better than TiVo! same features but no monthly bil

06/15/2011
By ,
Bristol PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Better than TiVo! same features but no monthly bill, and now finally in high definition
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 11 for Channel Master CM-7000PAL Antenna-Compatible DVR

Not for me

05/30/2011
By ,
Jacksonville, FL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I had three of these units and all three were defective. Hard drive locked up - remote just refused to operate. Maybe my three units were the only three bad ones in the lot - I'm not going to try a fourth.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 12 for Channel Master CM-7000PAL Antenna-Compatible DVR

Great Alternative To Cable DVR

05/27/2011
By ,
Shawnee, KS
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I've looked all over the internet for a device like this. There aren't any products like this unless you get Tivo, but forget Tivo's subscription fees.. I also didn't want the hassle of building a PC DVR. The only complaint I would have about this device is that it doesn't record based on the show, and instead on the time slot you set. (I knew this prior, but I was ok with that) Otherwise it's been very fast, has a fairly nice interface, and loads all the channel info up to a week out.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 13 for Channel Master CM-7000PAL Antenna-Compatible DVR

Good recorder but tuner could be better

05/26/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
When I use a different tuner I can get a few more channels. Signal strength must be very good for the tuner to work.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 14 for Channel Master CM-7000PAL Antenna-Compatible DVR

Better than Expected

05/24/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After reading some reviews I was a little skeptical, but this DVR is awesome, I've been in consumer electronics over 30 years and have tried alot of products and this one definetly gets the thumbs up
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 15 for Channel Master CM-7000PAL Antenna-Compatible DVR

It Works!

05/18/2011
By ,
Albany, OR.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I live in Albany Oregon. With my over the air antenna I can get all of the networks from Eugene Oregon. Works as stated. I have not been able to get the TV Guide - "tvgos" however it works just fine with the content info the networks provide. Works also as a vcr if need be! Very pleased! It will also allow you to name or rename a show that is recorded if your local network just leaves it as "No info provided." On windy days it can get pixel drops and some times need a reboot. However the overwhelming majority of the time it works perfect! I have only rebooted it once in 3.5 weeks. Works good and is a "Free" DVR" I would recomend this product to someone who knows a little about the nature of how digital signals work and can understand the related tech. issues. I would recomend getting an extended warranty only because with the other DVR's I have had - the harddrive eventually goes out.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 16 for Channel Master CM-7000PAL Antenna-Compatible DVR

Great OTA receiver DVR

05/18/2011
By ,
Richmond, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Works as advertised. HDTV receiver is much better than receiver built into our LCD TV. Signal on all local channels are 90-100%. During windy weather we would loss half our local channels on the TV receiver. Reception problems are not a problem with the 7000. TV guide and recorder programing couldn't be simpler. It is compatable and I run it through our SONY Google TV box. Little pricy, but worth it.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 17 for Channel Master CM-7000PAL Antenna-Compatible DVR

Suprisingly satisfied!

05/18/2011
By ,
Los Angeles, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
So I bought this DVR for me and my boyfriend's house. I like the fact that it's quality TV for no monthly costs. I'm not a very tech savvy person, so I looked up a few of these boxes online. Just seemed to be the best value in what you get. Initially when I took it home, it functioned as it was supposed to and I was glad to see my boyfriend enjoy it so much. The set up took us no time. He works a lot and the recording features of a DVR are great. When I read other reviews about this product, I became a little skeptical about the CM customer service. I decided to get a box and test the waters for at least the first 30-day money back guarantee. I thought I had a malfunction with my unit and called the tech support team immediately, however, come to find out the customer service really took care of me. I called on a Friday and within 45 minutes, they got back to me. I was pleased to hear that I just had my remote on the wrong frequency and my issue was handled in no time. Through this process I believe CM is a company with integrity. I recommend Channel Master and this DVR to anyone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 18 for Channel Master CM-7000PAL Antenna-Compatible DVR

Goodbye Cable TV!

05/17/2011
By ,
Lexington, KY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was a bit nervous about buying this DVR and cutting the cord with cable TV, but I've had it for a month and it has worked flawlessly! I bought the 3 year service plan just in case as well. As far as previous reviews stating that it didn't keep good time, so far this unit has kept perfect time with my cell phone. I don't know where it gets the listing information, but so far in Lexington KY it gets all program information over the air (OTA). I have 2 MINOR complaints about this unit. 1- if you are watching a program and decide to record it in progress, it doesn't "go back to the beginning" to record, instead it records the "remainder of the program". This is a bummer if you like something and want to record it for another person. 2- when you push the "guide" button, it doesn't display the current program, but when you go to other buttons, like DVR, it does display the current program in a small screen. This is weird, it would be great if it kept playing the current program while letting you to go the "guide" button to see what you want to record. Overall, this thing works great. I am saving $58 per month in cable fees, so this thing will be paid for in 5-6 months. If I want to see a sports program, I will either go to the gym and watch it there, or I will go to a bar and have a beer. Either way, it's a win-win. So far, love this thing. I get all 4 big networks in my house with just a cheap indoors rabbit ear antenna. Might try a bigger outdoors antenna, see if I can get a few more. Bottom line: if most of what you watch is on the "big 4 networks", buy this DVR. Get the rest from the internet or your local bar!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 19 for Channel Master CM-7000PAL Antenna-Compatible DVR

Oh yeah

05/16/2011
By ,
Chicago, IL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I like the product. I just wish it would jump from day to day in the guide section instead 1 and a half hour at a time.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Review 20 for Channel Master CM-7000PAL Antenna-Compatible DVR

A great satellite replacement

05/13/2011
By ,
Arcade N.Y.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had Direct Tv and realized that most of what I was recording was from network TV. Now I still DVR what I want but its free. My only complaint is that the DVR tapes both new shows and reruns. Its a small price to pay for free tv. Other than that it works great!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
1-20 of 70 total reviews
1 2 3 4 Next