Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Channel Sources Channel Master CM-7000PAL Antenna-Compatible DVR

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Channel Sources Channel Master CM-7000PAL Antenna-Compatible DVR

Let the Channel Master DVR with antenna enhance your TV viewing experience. View and record local over-the-air digital broadcasts. With the Channel Master DVR, you can pause, fast forward and rewind your programs; you can even use the slow-motion feature to watch clips frame by frame. The Channel Master DVR offers an electronic program guide that allows you to preset recording schedules so you never miss your favorite shows. Unlike many other DVR set-top boxes, there are no monthly subscription fees. The unit includes an infrared remote control, which operates the CM-7000PAL and up to three other components.
Average Customer Rating:
4.236 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(72 Reviews) 69
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
46
4 stars
14
3 stars
1
2 stars
5
1 star
6
Customer Recommendation85%61 out of 72reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
46
4 stars
14
3 stars
1
2 stars
5
1 star
6
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Channel Master CM-7000PAL Antenna-Compatible DVR

Exactly what I was looking for

01/15/2011
By ,
New Berlin, WI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I only have a rooftop antenna, no cable. I used to use a VCR to record programs but couldn't because of the new over the air signals. The CM-7000 PAL DVR works like a converter box and also records in HD. The HDMI port allows me to connect directly to my HDTV and the other ports (RCA or RF) allow me to connect to my old VCR. This allows me to download DVR recordings to video tapes to give to people. The VCR tapes are not in HD, but in the old format (480i) which is fine. I did alot of research before buying this because it was kind of expensive. My family picked up on how to use it easily. It even downloads a program guide over the air. I put a splitter on my antenna and ran to the TV and DVR. This allows recording 2 shows at once with the DVR and watching something something else on TV. I like the fact that Channelmaster puts a 1 year guarantee on it too. No monthly subscription fees either like TIVO. You won't be disappointed.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+19points
Review 2 for Channel Master CM-7000PAL Antenna-Compatible DVR

Everything we hoped it would be

01/19/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We went with the channel master about 2 months ago, after a family member got the magnavox dvr/dvd recorder. The magnavox seemed complicated to set up & has no channel guide, and the channel master was easy & works great!!
Found it on walmart.com for cheapest we'd seen and ordered site-to-store for free shipping and it arrived earlier than expected.
Love the on-screen guide (give it a few days to update at first) and it can record 2 channels at the same time and we can watch tv/recordings on our analog tv in 2nd room!
(Although, unless you are able to find & set up a remote signal transmitter, you can only control the dvr from the 1st room.)
The cost was more than we had hoped but since we dumped satellite, it will pay for itself in a few months. And it is very similar to satellite dvr.
My only complaint is that it is a little slow when changing channels and you have no idea if a show is a new episode, but it's not a deal breaker for me.
We are totally happy with the channel master!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 3 for Channel Master CM-7000PAL Antenna-Compatible DVR

Nice for a change!

05/17/2010
By ,
Chicago, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased a DVR from Channel Master about 2 weeks ago and wanted to say that this product exceeded my expectations! I am cost minded like every other person out there but when times got tough I decided it was time to get rid of the cable and try the over the air antenna! I have to say that I am able to get the most out of all this Digital Over the air stuff now that I can record during the day while I'm at work! I didn't realize that a lot of the channels I watch are over the air and that I was wasting money each month! This box is 100% free service after you buy it! Not like the other DVR's that want a monthly fee. I am bummed out that I paid more than what they show here on Walmart.com but none the less I am very happy with the product!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+55points
Review 4 for Channel Master CM-7000PAL Antenna-Compatible DVR

Good Bye Cable

03/22/2011
By ,
South of Houston, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I waited 3 months before writing this review. This DVR is fantastic! Dual tuners are as good, or better, as my Vizio 47" TV. Of course, you'll need an antenna, but amplified rabbit ears worked for me with stations 27 miles away. However, occasional glich on picture prompted me to install outside antenna. Now, I get perfect pictures and no gliches.
Picture quality is excellent on playback - just like original HDTV broadcast through HDMI cable. This unit does not use any video compression - so you get the original HDTV broadcast quality.
Programing guide popped up within a minute after startup. One time recording is just one button. Multiple recordings (e.g. weekly) take a little longer:
1. Highlight future program in guide
2. Press Select
3. Set interval (daily, weekly, mon-fri)
4. Select create timer
I have the unit and cable plugged in surge protector. And, I have had no problems even though several power gliches cause the TV and DVR to reset. Everything came back right where it was - including resuming my dvr program.
Overall, this is an excellent product that will pay for itself in just a few months.
One big bonus from OTA (over-the-air) stations is you get ALL the sub-channels. Cable or dish only provides the main digital channel. Most of the subs have excellent programming - especially the PBS stations.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+27points
Review 5 for Channel Master CM-7000PAL Antenna-Compatible DVR

works great!

07/26/2010
By ,
central mo
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this dvr!
i live 50 miles east of springfield mo and recently ordered this recorder. it has a 7day onscreen guide sent via KOLR10's signal over air and you record shows from the guide just like a cable box dvr. no tapes or programming the recorder. no internet sat or cable required and no monthly fees.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+20points
Review 6 for Channel Master CM-7000PAL Antenna-Compatible DVR

Nice product -- fills important niche

09/06/2010
By ,
Carmel, IN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Was looking for awhile for a "free" DVR for OTA (I gave up cable about 6 months ago) that didn't require a bunch of money up front or monthly service fees like TIVO. This DVR was exactly what I was looking for.
I've had it for a few weeks now and haven't had any problems with it. I had DVR service from my cable provider before, so was familiar with how the concept works. I've seen two drawbacks so far compared to cable DVR service: 1) the inability to move the calendar ahead a day when looking through the onscreen TV guide. The only thing I've been able to do is scroll hour by hour until I get to the next day. 2) You can't add more than 5 minutes to the length of a program. So, if you are recording the football game you can't add 30 minutes to the end of the scheduled recording so you don't miss anything if it goes over. You have to actually record the next show as well.
I was pleased that I was able to get the 7 days of OTA TV guide information from the local PBS channel that broadcasts that information.
I love not letting the TV control my schedule again.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 7 for Channel Master CM-7000PAL Antenna-Compatible DVR

Not bad for ditching Satellite

05/11/2011
By ,
DFW, TX
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I ordered this unit because it is very specialized in its niche, and has been held in high regard by AV hobbyists since it's prior Echostar days as the DTVPal. It is one of the few HD OTA DVRs anywhere. We are ditching $atellite for HDTV OTA and internet viewing.
My experience is that it usually does exactly what I need it to. But I have observed a bug in the programming feature where sometimes programs are mysteriously dropped from the DVR queue after some time. Maybe it's me, but I am still trying to solve that.
The unit is still based on the Echostar DVR design, and actually allowed me to switch right over from my Dish Network DVR without reprogramming the Logitech remote!
Cons - Menus are pretty slow, and a few of the programming sequences are somewhat unintuitive. I mentioned the issue losing scheduled tasks.
Pros - Picture quality is very good. Dual tuner allows splitting a single HDTV antennea lead for watch/record or dual recording.
Overall, I'd say it was a good purchase. But only just, considering the price point.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 8 for Channel Master CM-7000PAL Antenna-Compatible DVR

The ONLY OTA DVR without a contract!

11/11/2010
By ,
Rockford, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you want a DVR to use with Over The Air TV, you can buy this or TiVo. The TiVo costs slightly less, but you sign on for a hefty monthly fee. the end result is significantly more money. This unit is ready to go out of the box, and there is no monthly fee.
Programming is easy, and the unit works flawlessly. If TV Guide OTA is not available in your market, the programming is a little more involved, but not enough to matter.
If you are a total technophobe, buy the TiVo. The monthly fee will give you an idiotproof experience. However, I use OTA to avoid the fees (Which always seem to go up.) so, buying the Channel Master was easy.
No issues. Highly recommended. No regrets.
If you do not have a DVR, or if you divorced cable/dish and have DVR withdrawal, strongly consider this DVR.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Review 9 for Channel Master CM-7000PAL Antenna-Compatible DVR

Works well in Milwaukee

01/21/2011
By ,
Milwaukee, WI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Antenna DVR works well in milwaukee and gets over the air schedule info from TV guide broadcasts. We have two kids and I record PBS and QUBO shows and then play them back in the evening. Works great, you can set M-F or Weekly schedule so all pretty much automatic once you set it up.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+9points
Review 10 for Channel Master CM-7000PAL Antenna-Compatible DVR

Nice Product

03/29/2011
By ,
South Central Kansas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This was the first item needed to “Cut the Cord” and fulfilled my needs and expectations.
Pros: great picture and the FF / RW functions operate very well, better than the DVR supplied by my cable company.
You’ll need a quality antenna to receive all the stations. Don’t blame the DVR if you have reception problems.
Cons: using the DVR record function is clumsy. I’ve had it say there is something scheduled to record when I hadn’t entered it. It didn’t record, but it was showing on the “Guide” that it was to record. I’ve had it erase recorded shows with no indication (not protected). I generally enter shows to record manually, which means you need to keep up with an updated TV Guide. The OTA guide is cool, but not all that accurate.
All in all, this is just what I needed. You’ll be frustrated with the DVR record functions at first, but you’ll eventually get the hang of it.
I wish it had a clock on the face of the unit.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 11 for Channel Master CM-7000PAL Antenna-Compatible DVR

Great !

10/17/2010
By ,
Cranston , RI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A great device! Arrived at Site to Store ahead of schedule. Set up took about 10 minutes and was very easy. I have been using both cable and an antenna for Over The Air digital since the analog shut off, and overall, found the OTA broadcast to be of better picture quality than cable (uncompressed signal, I guess). The one drawback was that I cound not record these free shows until now .This DVR, with it's on screen program guide/grid, is very similar to my cable DVR in operation and the picture quality is excellent. I am VERY happy with this product, for now. BUT, It is a bit pricey, and I am concerned about how long it will last. ( Other reviews have noted that this might be an issue. Read PAL reviews elsewhere). One important note: A Good Antenna is crucial!!! The better the signal, the better this thing works.
Overall, Very Satisfied !
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 12 for Channel Master CM-7000PAL Antenna-Compatible DVR

Tips

12/04/2010
By ,
Cypress, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This compares to the K-Mart DTVPal at $299.
If the internal disk drive goes bad, or you want a larger one, just put it in. All of the disk initialization software is built-in on chips.
Use a UPS systems on it, as power glitches tend to make it loose it's settings, and mess things up.
Watch out when recording shows that start/stop at odd times. For example, if you record a show that ends at 8:01pm, and you have 2 shows set to records at 8:00pm, it will silently cancel one of the 2 recordings with no warning. You will think it just didn't records for some reason. In this case, use a manual timer, rather than the red button.
I bought 2 of them. The HMDi driver went out on one of them. But the RGB still worked fine in HD, using the 3 RGB cables plus 2 audio cables.
Be sure to read the manual about keeping the latest firmware installed on it.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 13 for Channel Master CM-7000PAL Antenna-Compatible DVR

Suprisingly satisfied!

05/18/2011
By ,
Los Angeles, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
So I bought this DVR for me and my boyfriend's house. I like the fact that it's quality TV for no monthly costs. I'm not a very tech savvy person, so I looked up a few of these boxes online. Just seemed to be the best value in what you get. Initially when I took it home, it functioned as it was supposed to and I was glad to see my boyfriend enjoy it so much. The set up took us no time. He works a lot and the recording features of a DVR are great. When I read other reviews about this product, I became a little skeptical about the CM customer service. I decided to get a box and test the waters for at least the first 30-day money back guarantee. I thought I had a malfunction with my unit and called the tech support team immediately, however, come to find out the customer service really took care of me. I called on a Friday and within 45 minutes, they got back to me. I was pleased to hear that I just had my remote on the wrong frequency and my issue was handled in no time. Through this process I believe CM is a company with integrity. I recommend Channel Master and this DVR to anyone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 14 for Channel Master CM-7000PAL Antenna-Compatible DVR

It Works!

05/18/2011
By ,
Albany, OR.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I live in Albany Oregon. With my over the air antenna I can get all of the networks from Eugene Oregon. Works as stated. I have not been able to get the TV Guide - "tvgos" however it works just fine with the content info the networks provide. Works also as a vcr if need be! Very pleased! It will also allow you to name or rename a show that is recorded if your local network just leaves it as "No info provided." On windy days it can get pixel drops and some times need a reboot. However the overwhelming majority of the time it works perfect! I have only rebooted it once in 3.5 weeks. Works good and is a "Free" DVR" I would recomend this product to someone who knows a little about the nature of how digital signals work and can understand the related tech. issues. I would recomend getting an extended warranty only because with the other DVR's I have had - the harddrive eventually goes out.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 15 for Channel Master CM-7000PAL Antenna-Compatible DVR

Great product

03/18/2011
By ,
NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very happy with this and would recommend it to all! It gives you a program guide for most channels - lets you see what's coming on for upto a week as well as descriptions of each show. Just press a button to record any show right from the guide. Can record upto 2 shows at the same time, while you watch something that was previously recorded. Pause and rewind live tv - very fast, no loss of quality. Press the record button while halfway through a show and you can tell it to record the show from the beginning! Very easy to use, a breeze to setup. Also love these two handy buttons on the remote: press one button to "skip forward 30 seconds" or another button to "rewind 10 seconds".... we use these all the time. Also has options to record a show daily or weekly. And it also automatically detects any new channels that become available, so you don't have to manually search for them.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 16 for Channel Master CM-7000PAL Antenna-Compatible DVR

Locks up all the time-Customer service is a joke

07/16/2011
By ,
Missouri
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this unit last year. When it works it works pretty good. However it randomly locks up when the unit is off and will not respond to remote. When locked up it will not record programmed times for shows you do not want to miss. The only solution to the lockup problem is to unplug the unit for a minute or so and then plug back in. The system will then re-boot and once again respond to the remote allowing you to turn it on and watch TV. Also when locked up the hard drive is spinning -so the unit will probable not last very long before the hard drive fails.
Customer service pretends that they have not heard of the problem but if you do a quick internet search you will see that many reports have been made by many other customers having the same problem. Technical service was suppose to call back to help with the issue but never have (its been over 6 months).
The result of the locking up means that you can never record your shows when you are not home because if the frequent random lockup occurs then nothing will be recorded until you get back and unplug it and let it reboot.
If I had to do it over again I would choose a different product. I definitely will never buy from channel master again.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 17 for Channel Master CM-7000PAL Antenna-Compatible DVR

Great DVR

10/02/2010
By ,
Surprise, AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This DVR works just like the Cable/Satellite DVRs that everyone is familiar with, but it works with free over the air digital/HD TV signals. Set-up was easy and straight forward. The unit gets the time and station line-up over the air from the antenna and displays a guide similar to the listing in the newspaper/TV guide. Recording programs is easy, and can be done from the guide, or from the main menu. Watching recorded programs is simple. The 30 second skip button is especially useful for skipping commercials. The remote control buttons are well laid out and well labled as to function. Operation using the remote is straight forward. A big advantage with this DVR is that there are no monthly/anual fees as with TiVo.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 18 for Channel Master CM-7000PAL Antenna-Compatible DVR

Excellent product

06/20/2010
By ,
Ottawa, Wi
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It you are looking for a DVR for over the air DTV, look no further. The Channel Master will record two stations at one time and with the pass through feature let you watch a third. It you you wonder what it does, think TiVo without the monthy fee, which incidentally make no sense for over the air broadcasts. You can pause and scan back live broadcasts and everything can be in HD to boot. It has an excellent menu system and the recording menu puts the old VCR to shame. I would highly recommend this for any one with over the air DTV but think it would be a great alternative to TiVo on cable.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 19 for Channel Master CM-7000PAL Antenna-Compatible DVR

Channel Master CM-7000 PAL Exellent

07/25/2011
By ,
SF Bay Area
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Purchased the the Channel Master DVR about a month ago.....it works great for me. I have been without subscription TV for 6 months now, not because I could not afford it, but because of the monopoly it has become! The Channel Master has been great. I record most late night shows, my personal favorites.....Letterman, Leno, Fallon and Kimmel and watch them when I want. I also really like CBS Sunday Morning which starts at 6am here in the bay area. Both recording situations are either too late or too early for me. Now I can watch them anytime. The Channel Master DVR is bit of a steep initial cost, but after that there are no costs! $300 plus tax at Walmart, but if the cable bill was $50 a month, that's $600 a year.....so DVR pays for itself in 6 months or so. Remember it is an Over-The-Air DVR only which is exactly what I wanted. Reords perfect HD quality. Hopefully it will last for 4 or 5 years.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 20 for Channel Master CM-7000PAL Antenna-Compatible DVR

everything as advertised

09/12/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This DVR is everything that it is advertised to be-
It seems to have nearly all of the bells & whistles that my Cable Co's HDDVR box had, so it's just what I wanted. *While it does have a record a show feature, it does not seem to have a record a series feature.
This is the only HDDVR (with a fairly reasonable price) that I could find anywhere that did not require a Pay Service. I'm not sure why these are SO hard to find.
I am Cutting The Cord on Pay TV Service and this is Just The Ticket for allowing me to do this.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
1-20 of 70 total reviews
1 2 3 4 Next