Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Channel Sources Channel Master 4228HD Long-Range Outdoor HDTV Antenna

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Channel Sources Channel Master 4228HD Long-Range Outdoor HDTV Antenna

Get optimal reception of both digital TV and HDTV programming with the Channel Master 4228HD Long Range Outdoor HDTV Antenna. This outdoor TV antenna receives the highest quality of HDTV, High VHF and UHF signals available. It picks up high VHF band signal range up to 45 miles away. The compact TV antenna picks up the UHF band (channels 14 thru 69) and has a reception range up to 60 miles. It comes assembled for easy installation. This Channel Master 4228HD Antenna is compact in design and offers high UHF reception along with high band VHF capabilities. With an HD television, you will pick up any crystal clear HD signals being broadcasted in your area.
Average Customer Rating:
4.583 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(48 Reviews) 44
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
36
4 stars
9
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
2
Customer Recommendation89%42 out of 47reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
36
4 stars
9
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
2
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Channel Master 4228HD Long-Range Outdoor HDTV Antenna

Great Reception

03/01/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I live 45 miles away (line of sight) from all but one transmitter, from RF Channel 11 through 43. I literally just placed this antenna in the attic (single story), and I was able to get solid reception of all channels without an amp when hooked up to one TV. I was worried about it picking up the VHF channel (11), but it brings it in great.
Just a tip... check out antennaweb.org to see the real RF channel of your local stations before you presume you need a (low-band) VHF antenna. For example, 2.1 (WESH) in Orlando is really on RF channel 11. This site also tells you how to aim the antenna relative to your street; great for the directionally challenged non-owners of compasses.
So now I'm getting HD quality broadcasts of all the networks and a few independent stations without paying money to the cable company, yeah!
You may need an amp if you are going through a splitter to multiple TVs.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+22points
Review 2 for Channel Master 4228HD Long-Range Outdoor HDTV Antenna

Works Well , very easy to put together .

10/01/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
About two months ago there was a power outage . So I cranked up the antenna on my old camper in the driveway expecting maybe 4 or 5 channels . Well I was shocked to find 23 . 5 of which you can't get on cable. local channels that carry local events like highschool football games. well found out it was harder to buy a good antenna than it was years ago. The local Radioshack doesn't carry them. I ordered my first choice ,which was a multidirectional antenna from sears . It took them a week to inform me it was out of stock. This antenna was my second chioce . I picked it up at my local Wal-mart 7 days after I ordered it on line . Two of the parts were loss in the box. The Antenna was ready to put up in less than 5 minutes . I picked up a signal amp at my local wal-mart to complete the system . I live about 45 miles equal distance from 6 broardcast sources. you can check on line to find what channels you can get over the air for free. I can understand now why cable and dish want to get rid of free over the air TV.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 3 for Channel Master 4228HD Long-Range Outdoor HDTV Antenna

great antenna

12/12/2010
By ,
FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had an Antenna's Direct DB8, but the lowest channel it would pull was channel 13 of the High VHF (rightfully so because it is a UHF antenna.) In my area three of the local stations CBS, FOX, NBC are in the High VHF band. I replaced it with this Channel Master 4228HD, now I am picking up High VHF Channels 7 -13 at distances of over 50 miles installed in the attic. Note : Attic installs cause signal loss and blah blah, blah, but mine seems to work fine. Check your station distances and heights on tvfool.com and plan accordingly. The upper UHF around channel 38 and above do not provide as much signal as the DB8 (this is only reason I marked it 4 stars in meets expectations,) but I am getting all the local channels in the area and I am very happy with it overall and give it 5 STARS.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+32points
Review 4 for Channel Master 4228HD Long-Range Outdoor HDTV Antenna

Excellent Buy!!

02/21/2011
By ,
La Palma
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I read the reviews and got this antenna, it was sitting in the garage in the box, and were not sure if it was going to be good enough. And the day we were left with no signal. I went to get it connected it inside the house, just to give it a try, and right away it got 117 channels. The image is crystal clear and the sound is great too. We don't need to pay any cable, we get all the local channels, even chinesse, vietnamesse, spanish, armenian, pbs, christian channels, children's channels, news, music, it's more than what we expected, for a great price. Now it's outside in the backyard because my husband still hasn't gone to the roof to install it. I strongly recommend this antenna, a great buy with an excellent price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+8points
Review 5 for Channel Master 4228HD Long-Range Outdoor HDTV Antenna

great reception

04/18/2011
By ,
Pierceton, IN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We bought two of these antennans hoping to get reception from Ft. Wayne and South Bend stations.(45 mi. each direction) These will be installed on an existing tower. Just one of the antennas picked up both directions, while it was still in our home. I reccomend this if you don't want to pay for cable, in this case cable is not available in our area. Although they are big, they are light weight. Use site to store pickup to avoid shipping and handling charges. Two will fit in a minivan. Happy channel surfing....
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+14points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Texas
It's OK but...
Posted 04/03/2012
I paid only 46 bucks for a smaller antenna a few years ago. It gets just as good reception of more channels. You can pay the 90 bucks or 50 bucks. Your choice. I'm also going to have to buy a booster to get the weaker channels. I'm not in LA so there aren't 117 channels to recieve within 20 miles.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 6 for Channel Master 4228HD Long-Range Outdoor HDTV Antenna

no more cable

11/10/2010
By ,
temple city ca
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this is a excellent antenna I get 117 stations no more cable I live in los angeles and i pick up stations more than 50 miles away definately a keeper also easy to install
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+17points
Review 7 for Channel Master 4228HD Long-Range Outdoor HDTV Antenna
02/12/2011
By ,
Los Angeles,Ca.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am really satisfied with the Channel Master 4228HD Long Range Outdoor HDTV Antenna.I am receiving a clear and beautiful picture with a variety of channels.
Many of the channels are foreign language channels,but I am still receiving the channels I am most interested in.The only problem about the antenna is that it does'nt come with a bar or tubing to attach the antenna to the antenna and bracket on my roof.I had to improvise on that with some tubing of my own.I give the antenna 5 stars overall,with 4 stars for Features,being there isn't a bar for attaching the antenna.I have and will recomment the antenna to family,friends and others that are interested.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+6points
Review 8 for Channel Master 4228HD Long-Range Outdoor HDTV Antenna

Channel Master 4228HD Long-Range Antenna

08/26/2010
By ,
Hot Springs, AR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This Antenna meets all expectations, picture quality,sound quality for the Hot Springs, AR.(Area)
Channel Master will pickup Ch: 2,4,7,11,16,25,26,38,42 for this area.
Thank You Walmart
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Review 9 for Channel Master 4228HD Long-Range Outdoor HDTV Antenna

Wonderful

10/07/2011
By ,
Oak Island Tx
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this antenna thinking it would be like the rest but WOW. I live in a small town and my yard has many trees but I have all the channels I should have no monthly bill. I couldn't belive how great this antenna is. I now can watch PBS CBS ABC!! All I can say is WOW. It is perfect!!! I should of purchased this one first and not spent money on the other 3 that didn't work.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 10 for Channel Master 4228HD Long-Range Outdoor HDTV Antenna

Looks modern

02/06/2011
By ,
dfw tx
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price is somewhat high but i receive almost 50 channels with great clarity. I'm outside of fort worth tx
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 11 for Channel Master 4228HD Long-Range Outdoor HDTV Antenna

Comcast Killer

02/12/2011
By ,
Spanaway, WA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This antenna will pay for itself in 1 and a half months since I'm now saving 60 bucks a month on my comcast tv bill, which I cancelled. I get around 30 channels or so, and the picture quality ranges from good to excellent. ABC, NBC, and CBS have excellent reception, although FOX seems a little fuzzy. Still, all the channels are HD, and completely watchable.
Don't bother with the less expensive antennas, unless maybe you live in a major city, where they might be worth a try. Just keep the receipt, because if other brands don't work, you can be assured that this antenna will.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 12 for Channel Master 4228HD Long-Range Outdoor HDTV Antenna

Channel Master 4228HD does the job

03/23/2011
By ,
Missouri
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am using this at a camping lot around 65 miles south from St. Louis, MO. Out of the box with no signal booster, I am getting 5 channels fairly well. My antenna is at around 18 foot high above the ground. Everyone once in a while during the day and depending on weather, a couple of the channels break up a bit. My neighbor next to me has the same antenna with a signal booster and he gets around 12 channels most of the time. His antenna is about 10 foot higher than mine. I am thinking about raising mine, and adding the booster to get more channels. Overall, I think it works very well considering the distance from the stations.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Review 13 for Channel Master 4228HD Long-Range Outdoor HDTV Antenna

A Keeper

02/02/2011
By ,
Whitesboro,ny
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is one awesome antenna.I have tried others at my location and they would never pull in the channels this one did.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 14 for Channel Master 4228HD Long-Range Outdoor HDTV Antenna

very good antenna

01/03/2012
By ,
Garden Grove, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When I bougt this antenna, I was not sure if it would work because I planned to put the antenna on the attic. I can install one on my roof but only the little one ( I live in a condo), anyway, everything turn out perfect, the picture were crystal clear and I had 2 TVs. Forget about cable, I can watch a lot more channels for free. I paid $16 a month to Time Warner Cable to watch basic local channels from 2 to 13.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 15 for Channel Master 4228HD Long-Range Outdoor HDTV Antenna

Free TV! Yeah!!!!

10/13/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
So glad to be able to cut the cable with this outdoor TV antenna. Picture quality is better than ever before. I'm amazed. Doubled the number of stations out here in the countryside since I tried using an indoor antenna and dropped cable service (10 channels). Most of the stuff on cable wasn't worth watching anyway. Aim it in the right direction, place it at the right height, and it did the rest.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Review 16 for Channel Master 4228HD Long-Range Outdoor HDTV Antenna

Excellent product

01/29/2012
By ,
Pensacola, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Best antenna I have ever owned! I purchased this antenna as an experiment because I did not want to rent another cable box for my master bedroom, and because I was curious about how good an over-the-air broadcast would look on a digital television. I have to say that I am absolutely amazed at the picture quality and the number of channels I can pick up with this antenna, absolutely flawless. It arrived at my front door in two days and I installed it in the attic because I knew it would work just as well as if it was outside the house. Besides, it is protected from the elements and no one knows it is there. Ironically, I used an old satellite dish mount to hang it from the rafters so I could adjust it easily if needed. The nearest broadcasting antennas near my home are between 45 and 56 miles away and this antenna picked up all of the signals perfectly without the need for adjustment. (Check the digital tv signal websites to find the best azimuth to point the antenna for your particular location). The quality of the signal in some of the channels is better than some of the HD channels I get from a major digital satellite provider. If you are sick and tired of paying for local tv channels or cable for that matter, I highly recommend getting this antenna. You will not regret it and this thing will pay by iself after a few months of not having to pay for cable. The only negative comment I have is that it is not packaged very well and mine arrived with some of the elements bent in different directions. This was not a big deal because I easily took it apart and straightened them in less than 20 minutes. All the elements are made of soft alumium so they are very easy to bend with the use of household pliers.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 17 for Channel Master 4228HD Long-Range Outdoor HDTV Antenna

better than what we had

03/16/2011
By ,
philadelphia tn
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
we did not get anymore channels, and lost wb channel 20.1, but the pictures are clearer and the channels we are getting come in good. but i thought for the money it should pick up more than the little $50 antenna that we had.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 18 for Channel Master 4228HD Long-Range Outdoor HDTV Antenna

Worked better than expected!

11/01/2010
By ,
Byron, Georgia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This antenna is directional but brings in the signal great with a rotor. I would highly recommend this antenna along with a good rotor. It is lightweight, but seems to be well constructed. So far I'm very satisfied.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 19 for Channel Master 4228HD Long-Range Outdoor HDTV Antenna

great picture.

08/07/2010
By ,
Minnesota
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great picture. Easy to install. I have this antenna in my attic. The hdtv programes are crystal clear, just as good as when i had cable. worth every penny and with 97c delivery a bargain.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 20 for Channel Master 4228HD Long-Range Outdoor HDTV Antenna

Channel Master 4228HD

08/02/2010
By ,
West Linn, Oregon
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was using an antenna about 25% the size of this one and receiving 70% signal strength or less for all stations with some un-detectable. Now it's over 90% and very clear for all.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
1-20 of 45 total reviews
1 2 3 Next