Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for ProScan Proscan 42" Class LCD 1080p 240Hz HDTV, 42LC55S240V87

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

ProScan Proscan 42" Class LCD 1080p 240Hz HDTV, 42LC55S240V87

For lifelike motion and full HD resolution, check out the Proscan 42" LCD HDTV. With advanced features like a 240Hz refresh rate, built-in digital tuner and high 10,000:1 dynamic contrast, you'll see why this TV belongs in your living room. Note: You must have a source of HD programming in order to take full advantage of the Proscan 42" LCD HDTV. Contact your local cable or satellite TV provider for details on how to upgrade.
Average Customer Rating:
4.319 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(138 Reviews) 111
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
94
4 stars
23
3 stars
3
2 stars
7
1 star
11
Customer Recommendation85%117 out of 138reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
94
4 stars
23
3 stars
3
2 stars
7
1 star
11
Customer Reviews
Review 41 for Proscan 42" Class LCD 1080p 240Hz HDTV, 42LC55S240V87

Nice LCD TV

06/23/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have had this tv for about a month and have been very happy with it. It doesn't compare to my 47" LG BUT this TV was also 1/2 of the cost without being 1/2 of the quality.
I think the 240HZ is some type of gimick and do not notice the improvement over my 120HZ television. The sound is just ok but again, it is a great buy and I am glad I didn't spend more on another TV.
Shipping from FedEX was another story. My 1st delivery was horrible. The box was manhandled, crushed and punctured. The screen was shattered when I turned it on. The 2nd delivery wasn't much better. The box was destroyed but the TV was ok.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 42 for Proscan 42" Class LCD 1080p 240Hz HDTV, 42LC55S240V87

Worked For 2 Minutes

01/02/2011
By ,
Atlanta, GA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Received the Proscan 42" as a Christmas gift, and was excited about all the features that it claimed to have (HD, LCD, 240 HZ). I guess I will never know though, because after lugging it up three flights of stairs and setting up the massive unit, the TV worked for about 2 minutes before the picture went out. Everything else works fine...can change channels and input, and the sound seems OK. Shame I didn't want a radio. Now I have to shove the thing back in the box, lug it back down three flights of stairs and take it to the nearest Walmart. Merry Christmas to you, Proscan.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
-1point
Review 43 for Proscan 42" Class LCD 1080p 240Hz HDTV, 42LC55S240V87

TV is more than I expected

01/06/2011
By ,
New Castle, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
You will not find a better deal for a TV of this quality. The picture is unreal, it is so clear and almost looks like every movie is filmed live. It makes older movies (in HD) look like they were filmed yesterday. I have a Samsung LCD and this Proscan blows it out of the water. The 240hz makes a HUGE difference because it makes everything "pop" out of the screen and looks like the action is being filmed right in your living room. Sound quality is also very good, it can get really loud! I highly recommend this TV to everyone!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 44 for Proscan 42" Class LCD 1080p 240Hz HDTV, 42LC55S240V87

Terrible Product & Customer Service

01/18/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This television is a piece of junk. My first one came broken. After this headache I got another one, which started turning off by itself in less than 6 months. I called ProScan and had to wait several weeks for the repairman to come to tell me that it was broken completely. Then I had to wait another 2 weeks to have Proscan call me to give me a replacement. They then told me they were out of stock for their current TV and refused to give me a replacement (after I had to call back multiple times).
Worst. service. ever.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 45 for Proscan 42" Class LCD 1080p 240Hz HDTV, 42LC55S240V87

Great TV

01/29/2011
By ,
Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This 42 inch is a great buy. Don't waste your time spending more $$ for a name brand when you can save hundreds and get this ProScan. The picture quality couldn't be better, hands down. It set up easily, and works great. I honestly don't have a single bad comment to make. in fact I felt the audio was so good that instead of buying a surround sound system I purchased a BlueRay player without all the additional speakers. The HD coming through this box is as good as anything you'll see on any other set.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 46 for Proscan 42" Class LCD 1080p 240Hz HDTV, 42LC55S240V87

Great TV For The Money!!!!

05/12/2010
By ,
Chandler,AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The TV has met all my expectations. The picture quality is excellent. The sound is great. Unlike other LCD's the sound is superb it has a voice feature that is quite useful like some of the higher end TVs do.
The features are plentiful and easy to use. TV setup was quick and easy. A TV with all these features would cause you three times as much especially one with 240hz
I would recommend this TV to anyone. I have only owned it for about 2 months. Its a good value and worth the money.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 47 for Proscan 42" Class LCD 1080p 240Hz HDTV, 42LC55S240V87

Excellent TV

06/02/2010
By ,
Denver, CO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Took a chance and ordered online without seeing a display model. My last TV was Panasonic and they make excellent products. TV arrived a few weeks ago and WOW. Superb picture, great sound, gaming is fantastic and worth the price of admission alone (XBOX360). Does not get very warm at all, assembly was a piece of cake. Highly recommended, and yea, can't beat the price! Especially for a name like Panasonic. IMO plasma beats LCD any day of the week. Energy star compliant too. Get it!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-4points
Review 48 for Proscan 42" Class LCD 1080p 240Hz HDTV, 42LC55S240V87

Glad I decided to buy.

07/19/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I read several reviews before placing my order. My prayer was not to be one of those whose product did not work from the start. As you can see from my ratings, I have no complains. The size is just right, the color is fantastic and I am playing with the HD-DVR. I should have done this a long time ago. I had a professional handyperson mount the TVs before the technician came to hock up the sets. I bought 3 different makes of HD LCD TVs and I am happy with all of them
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 49 for Proscan 42" Class LCD 1080p 240Hz HDTV, 42LC55S240V87

Perfetct TV

07/04/2010
By ,
Breinigsville, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was a little skeptical about buying a TV I could not see but this was such a great deal that I took the chance and it is absolutely perfect! I have a fairly large living room and it is the perfect size without making my room look like one big TV. It has a beautiful picture and the sound quality is great without any additional sound system. Would definitely recommend. One note, you WILL NEED a magnetic screw driver to attach the base - it took me forever!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 50 for Proscan 42" Class LCD 1080p 240Hz HDTV, 42LC55S240V87

Incredible Picture

01/24/2011
By ,
Grove City,OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
With twice the refresh rate (240mHz) of a majority of HD tvs in this class,the picture during sporting events is incredible. We also have a Wii,Xbox 360, and a BluRay hooked up to this tv and the pictures are SWEET! The stand also swivels 25-35 degrees left and right for optimal viewing.I just couldn't be happier for the price! The sound is great also. I use a Vizio soundbar for movies,sports,and gaming but usually leave it off otherwise. Buy It!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 51 for Proscan 42" Class LCD 1080p 240Hz HDTV, 42LC55S240V87

Great buy for the Money!

12/06/2010
By ,
Lake Havasu City AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We purchased this for a second home and it has been great right from the start.
For the price and what we were looking for in a TV you can't beat it. It has enough of the options to be a good buy but not all the super extras like 3d etc which we would never be likely to use anyhow
Sound is great and the the picture is too which was important for watching the Canucks hockey games.
I would recommend this tv to anybody looking for a great buy.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 52 for Proscan 42" Class LCD 1080p 240Hz HDTV, 42LC55S240V87

Pathetic

12/18/2010
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Lugged this item home; much heavier than Vizio or Sony or Samsung. Had it working on HDMI. 20 minutes later, the picture went blank. 2 minutes after that the sound went dead. Even unplugged it for 24 hours; absolutely dead.
Walmart was great on the return by the way...good place to purchase HD TVs.
Worthless piece of trash. Returned it for a Vizio which is terrific. Much easier to use and hasn't failed. DON'T BUY PROSCAN.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-2points
Review 53 for Proscan 42" Class LCD 1080p 240Hz HDTV, 42LC55S240V87

Good tv for the price

09/28/2010
By ,
Ripley, MS
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We purchased this TV a few weeks ago. Delivered straight to our home. Very easy to use, just remove from box and attach cable and the setup was very simple. Shows a very good and crisp picture. Sound could be improved upon but is very acceptable. Great product and value for the price. I was concerned because of not being a name brand, but we are very satisfied with it. I do recommend this brand for the value.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 54 for Proscan 42" Class LCD 1080p 240Hz HDTV, 42LC55S240V87

very satisfied

12/05/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
First HDTV purchase...and my family & I are completly satisfied with our puchase. We did a lot of reasearch and feel like we are definitly goin to get our $$$$'s worth...picture quality and sound are both excellent. Football is fantastic and movies are as good as going to a movie theater. I would recomend this TV without reservation to anybody looking to get a high quality HDTV at a very good value .
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 55 for Proscan 42" Class LCD 1080p 240Hz HDTV, 42LC55S240V87

Well Worth The Money

06/08/2010
By ,
Maryland
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is my second blue ray purchase of the same item. Being a photographer I really like the idea of the sd slot for viewing pictures without having to hook a computer up. Picture quality is good using HD cable. A little slow opening, closing and reading dvd but they all are. Well Worth the $120+ I paid for it.
Only complaint is with Walmart. Took over 2 weeks to get it with site to store shipping.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
-8points
Review 56 for Proscan 42" Class LCD 1080p 240Hz HDTV, 42LC55S240V87

Great Value

08/10/2010
By ,
Greenville, MS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My wife and I recently moved and our hugely heavy tv didn't make the trip and broke the next day my brother had it. We decided it was time to get ourselves a TV and a friend got this one. We were impressed and we are really glad we have gotten it. I have loved the computer hookup and we use it as a 2nd monitor. We watch shows online all the time with the TV. It has been a great purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 57 for Proscan 42" Class LCD 1080p 240Hz HDTV, 42LC55S240V87

A great deal

06/27/2010
By ,
Downey, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We looked at several TV's, both LCD and Plasma, and I decided on this one.
Has a host of features, easy to use, and great quality.
The ONLY thing that would prevent 5 stars is that the remote isn't that easy to use (I use a univeral remote now), and the CC (closed captioning) doesn't work with every channel, but that may be broadcast based.
Overall, tho, pretty great.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 58 for Proscan 42" Class LCD 1080p 240Hz HDTV, 42LC55S240V87

Beats all the Big Names

11/22/2011
By ,
Atlanta, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Iv had this tv for about a year now and I am really impressed, the picture quality is amazing and everybody who watches makes the comment that the picture is "too real". I have a sony which is the same size in my living room and this tv has a picture quality that is 10x better. I havent experienced the lag or sound issues everyone else is talking about.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 59 for Proscan 42" Class LCD 1080p 240Hz HDTV, 42LC55S240V87
01/25/2011
By ,
tyler tx
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
picked the tv friday. Saturday I connected to tv box and was fairly impressed with picture. The set up and instructions left alot to be desired. After about 10 minutes I walked back into the room and I had no picture just audio. I returned to tv monday. I have to have a tv for the super bowl party I have planned so best buy tonight.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Review 60 for Proscan 42" Class LCD 1080p 240Hz HDTV, 42LC55S240V87

Excellent TV

06/14/2010
By ,
Denton,TX.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I did my homework before buying this TV. I waited for weeks and checked all the reviews and i'm here to say I MADE AN EXCELLENT CHOICE! I haven't even hooked it up to HD yet and the picture is good enough. The sound quality is so good that i can only raise the volume control to 20 out 100. I love this TV! Many features too.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
41-60 of 112 total reviews