Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Southern Plate: Classic Comfort Food That Makes Everyone Feel Like Family

Southern Plate: Classic Comfort Food That Makes Everyone Feel Like Family

Average Customer Rating:
4.968 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(31 Reviews) 25
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
30
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Recommendation100%31 out of 31reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
30
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Southern Plate: Classic Comfort Food That Makes Everyone Feel Like Family

You Gotta Own It!

10/05/2010
By ,
Alabama
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you have sworn off buying another cookbook(like I had) or just don't think you need another one, let THIS one be the last you own! This cookbook is unique: the recipes are easy, quick, and practical. You will find yourself saying over and over again, "Oh, I've always wanted a recipe for that!" Christy also adds a cupful of her good humor, kindness, and creative writing skills to her cookbook. It's not "just" a recipe book: its a book that really will make you feel like family.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Southern Plate: Classic Comfort Food That Makes Everyone Feel Like Family

Lived up to my expectations!

11/04/2010
By ,
Aurora, MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've been a follower of Christy Jordan's website southernplate.com for over a year now .. I've been fascinated by all the delicious recipes on her site so when I heard she was writing a cookbook, I jumped for joy! I knew it was going to be a great book but when I finally got it in my hands and looked it over, it met so many of my expectations and much more. True southern cooking, even truer stories about where the recipes come from (generations deep recipes). Some recipes I recognized from my Mama's cooking growing up .. how sweet the memories! I recommend this cookbook to anyone who is tired of the same ol', same ol' southern cookbook and wants something 'fresh' in their cookbook repertoire! Thank you, Christy for writing this book .. =)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Southern Plate: Classic Comfort Food That Makes Everyone Feel Like Family

You're Gonna Love It

01/12/2011
By ,
Battle Creek, MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I checked this out from the library first, then decided that I needed to have my own copy of this great cookbook. It isn't just a cookbook though ... it has interesting stories about Christy Jordan's life and all from a Southern perspective. You will enjoy reading and cooking and eating!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Southern Plate: Classic Comfort Food That Makes Everyone Feel Like Family

Great cookbook for a beginner.

03/20/2014
By ,
Jacksonville, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love to cook and bake (bake, especially). I've been given MANY cookbooks over the years as gifts. This, by far, is my favorite cookbook. Christy gives so many helpful tips, the ingredients are easy, and the stories are like reading about my family growing up in the South. I just recently bought this book for a young co-worker who doesn't know how to cook very well yet. I told her that this cookbook is my favorite and I hope this makes her want to cook more when she sees how easy it can be.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Southern Plate: Classic Comfort Food That Makes Everyone Feel Like Family

really like this cookbook.

09/06/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
fun cookbook! shared it with a friend who is also going to purchase one.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Southern Plate: Classic Comfort Food That Makes Everyone Feel Like Family

Southern Cooking Like it should be!

02/21/2011
By ,
Poquoson
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It's a great cookbook. I bought it for my wife. Christy Recipes remind me of my Okie Grandmother kitchen back in the early 60's. And the Southern women I knew back then. The recipes are simple and not intimidating. Like 2 cups of flour, etc, etc, A whole list of things that most people don't have or have time for. Christy says get a box of yellow cake mix then add this. I showed this cookbook to the girls in the office, and had to order 2 more copies. my only complaint is that the book is to small. Not allowing more of her real Southern Charm to shine though.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Southern Plate: Classic Comfort Food That Makes Everyone Feel Like Family

Much more than a cookbook!

10/27/2010
By ,
Warrior, Alabama
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm southern born and southern bread and I'm "all about" good honest southern cooking. This girl cooks just like my granny did! No fancy or expensive ingredients. Nothing complicated, just good flavorful dishes and wonderful stories to go along with them.
I'm a cookbook collector and I have many southern cuisine cookbooks, Mama Dip's, Paula Deens, etc. In my opinion Christy Jordan is right up there with the stars!
I've already tried 10 or more recipes and everything has been delicious. I'm already hoping for a Southern Plate II, the sequel!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Southern Plate: Classic Comfort Food That Makes Everyone Feel Like Family

Excellant cookbook

10/26/2010
By ,
Stockton, AL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This cookbook is wonderful. I stayed up the first night I recieved it and read it cover to cover. The recipes are great; but the stories that go along with them are what makes this book unique. They are stories that; if you grew up in the South; peppered your entire childhood. Christy is so down home and friendly, she becomes your best kitchen friend. I love that I can open her book and make just about any recipe without having to make a special run to the grocery store. Beginner or expert everyone should own this book.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Southern Plate: Classic Comfort Food That Makes Everyone Feel Like Family

The BEST cookbook I own!

11/29/2010
By ,
Huntsville, AL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Being born and raised in the south, I love good southern cooking. This cookbook is my absolute favorite, and I have a bunch of them, including many of Paula Deen's. Every recipe in Southern Plate is easy to follow, the ingredients are basic and easy to find and everything I have cooked has been delicious! SO many recipes from my childhood and they all taste just like my grandmother's old recipes. This cook book is a must have for anyone that loves southern cooking!!!! A great gift for anyone that likes to cook!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Southern Plate: Classic Comfort Food That Makes Everyone Feel Like Family

Awesome Country Goodness

10/26/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Christy Jordan is one of the most down home country gals around and she has the recipes to prove it! I haven't tried them all but I have managed to serve up several of these delicious dishes and man oh man, this stuff is good enough to write home about! As a matter of fact I am going to purchase another book just for my own mother to have because even though we are pretty good cooks ourselves, we don't hold a light to Ms. Christy! BUY THIS BOOK!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Southern Plate: Classic Comfort Food That Makes Everyone Feel Like Family

Love It!

10/11/2010
By ,
Centerton, AR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really enjoy this book. My first thought was I don't need another cookbook on Southern Cooking. I have so many. Then I read a review saying what a good cookbook it is so I decided I had to have it. The review was right. I love this book. The recipes give me new ideas and help me recreate a dish I have made before. I could relate to Christy. Living in the south, and cooking for her family.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Southern Plate: Classic Comfort Food That Makes Everyone Feel Like Family
10/23/2010
By ,
Rock Hill, SC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is one of the best Southern Cookbooks I have ever seen. Lots of great favorites, all made with ingredients most folks have on hand. There is also a story behind each recipe. This is not just a great cookbook, it is also a good read. It makes you feel like your sitting on the front porch with a glass of tea, talking to an old friend.
This ccokbook is WELL worth the money!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Southern Plate: Classic Comfort Food That Makes Everyone Feel Like Family

Exactly what I hoped for

12/07/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By far this is the best cookbook I own. I enjoy cooking but hate cookbooks full of recipes that were not wrote for busy everyday moms full of recipes that I will never try. The best part of Southern Plate are all the recipes that I grow up eating from my grandmothers and great-grandmothers table. Thank you so much!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Southern Plate: Classic Comfort Food That Makes Everyone Feel Like Family

Great Purchase

08/12/2012
By ,
Greer, SC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I own this Cookbook and purchased these as gifts for 2 of my best friends. Of all the cookbooks I own, this one is definitely my favorite. Simple, easy to understand and follow, as well as knowing that every recipe is going to be delicious.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Southern Plate: Classic Comfort Food That Makes Everyone Feel Like Family

Good Southern Cookbook

12/18/2010
By ,
GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this cookbook to help show support for the Southernplate website, I love that all of the recipes are dishes that my family enjoy, and I have found a few shortcuts from the way I have been cooking different items. I love the cookbook and will use it often!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Southern Plate: Classic Comfort Food That Makes Everyone Feel Like Family

Great recipes

11/03/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Every recipe in the book looks delicious. And it's really helpful that there are pictures of each one. It reminds me of the food my Grandmother cooked when I was a child. If you are a fan of Southern food, you will love this book!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Southern Plate: Classic Comfort Food That Makes Everyone Feel Like Family

Southern Plate:

10/25/2010
By ,
Va, Beach, Va.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love Christy Jordan's new book, I have bought two, one for a gift and the other for myself,it would make a nice Christmas gift for someone hard to buy for.
Dolores
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Southern Plate: Classic Comfort Food That Makes Everyone Feel Like Family
11/04/2010
By ,
Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very fun to read and to cook from! Great, easy recipes that I can actually find the ingredients for and make for my family. Not fussy just yummy!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Southern Plate: Classic Comfort Food That Makes Everyone Feel Like Family

Best Cookbook!!

10/28/2010
By ,
Martinez, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have not found a recipe yet that my family has not loved! Just like my grandmother's cooking. A must have recipe book in any southern kitchen.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Southern Plate: Classic Comfort Food That Makes Everyone Feel Like Family
12/20/2010
By ,
Ellisville, MS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort food at its best. Easy to read recipes and fun! Food like my Mother and Grandmother would make, if they were still with us.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 26 total reviews
1 2 Next