Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Pride & Prejudice (Widescreen)

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Pride & Prejudice (Widescreen)

Average Customer Rating:
4.943 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(35 Reviews) 22
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
34
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Recommendation97%34 out of 35reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
34
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Pride & Prejudice (Widescreen)

A classic updated

09/14/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a hugh Pride and Prejudice fan, and was excited to see this version restored. I have seen many of the different movie interpretations, and this by far is my favorite. It follows fairly close to the book (more than the other movies I have seen) and has a great chemistry between the main characters, Elizabeth and Darcy. If you're looking for a great, classic love story-this is it.
I read a few negative reviews about the restoration quality, but I didn't notice any issues. It's better than the previous version's video quality. There are a few darker scenes where it can be harder to make out all the details (like around the edges of the screen), but I think that is more due to the original film. It's not going to be super awesome high definition, like a current day HD or Bluray movie, but I didn't have any issues watching it on my large screen LCD tv.
There is also a lot of great bonus material included with the DVDs, mostly "making of" with commentary from some of the original actors. For a P&P nerd like me, it was a really great bonus.
I was a little disappointed with the $.99 shipping option though. The delivery window was quite large, and it arrived almost at the end of the projected window. Should have sprung for the faster shipping option.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+8points
Review 2 for Pride & Prejudice (Widescreen)

BBC Production

03/03/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Contains 6 BBC Episodes, approx. 5 hrs, 23 mins. Colin Firth is terriffic and so is Jennifer Ehle. This is my favorite version of the Jane Austen classic.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+6points
Review 3 for Pride & Prejudice (Widescreen)

true love

05/13/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This movie is an example of what true love really is and why it is worth waiting for and saving yourself for.
I highly recommend this to any one. My husband even thought it was a very good movie!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+5points
Review 4 for Pride & Prejudice (Widescreen)
07/10/2012
By ,
San Antonio, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My favorite movies are those that I watch over and over. Since I've watched this three times in eight days, it's destined to probably be one of my favorite movies of all time. No easy feat as the entire movie is nearly 5 1/2 hours long, but it does help that it is divided up into 6 separate episodes so that you can take a break without feeling that you're stopping right in the middle of a storyline. A lot of the dialogue comes straight from the book and the actors have done such a wonderful job of becoming these characters that when I watched the bonus section, I almost expected them to speak in the same manner as their characters. An absolutely beautiful retelling of a Jane Austen classic.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Review 5 for Pride & Prejudice (Widescreen)

Love it.

07/12/2011
By ,
Queens, New York
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Its a joy to have this in my collection. I love the wide screen and the crispness of the color. The price was rediculous. i have seen it elsewhere for alot more. Will enjoy this for years to come.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+4points
Review 6 for Pride & Prejudice (Widescreen)

LOVE THIS MOVIE

03/11/2012
By ,
South Carolina
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A fantastic adaptation of a much loved book. A love story, written over 200 years ago, that people can still relate to today. Since this was originally a mini-series and not a major motion picture, I was a little concerned that i wouldn't like it as much. This movie did not disappoint. Excellent actors, beautiful scenery. I love this version, plus the version that stars Kiera Knightly. Some of the scenes I like better in this movie, and some of the scenes I like better in the Kiera Knightly version.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
 
My Product Recommendations
 
+1point
Review 7 for Pride & Prejudice (Widescreen)

Love this movie!!!!!

08/07/2012
By ,
Tulsa, Ok
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Seen this mini series on OETA and didn't know that they had it on dvd, until i seen it at barnes and noble. but it was 24.99 and got a better deal on walmart.com for 12.98. can't beat walmart prices. Its a great movie, it is a long movie since it was a mini series but its worth the time.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Review 8 for Pride & Prejudice (Widescreen)

Gift for mom!

03/27/2012
By ,
Philadelphia, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is one of my moms favorite movies and I seen it for a great price online and decided to order it for her and gift it. It is a great movie with love and passion. Mom was estatic once she got it and the clarity was great and dvd was brand new.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 9 for Pride & Prejudice (Widescreen)

Great interpretation of the classic novel

03/20/2012
By ,
Carlsbad, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Loved this series! They stay true to Jane Austen's novel, but expand on certain elements to give you a very satisfying, well-rounded story. I thought I couldn't be more in love with Colin Firth, but I was wrong.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+1point
Review 10 for Pride & Prejudice (Widescreen)

Brilliant adaptation of the book!

01/18/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This miniseries was a fantastic adaptation of a brilliant book, stayed true to the original story and did it justice in bringing it to the screen. Excellent casting and very enjoyable!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+1point
Review 11 for Pride & Prejudice (Widescreen)
12/13/2011
By ,
Las Vegas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pride & Predjidice is my favorite book, this movie follows it so well. I had heard Walmart had movies to buy on line and it was so easy.
Thank you
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 12 for Pride & Prejudice (Widescreen)

Great

10/24/2011
By ,
Utah
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Came before it was supposed to. I love this movie.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+1point
Review 13 for Pride & Prejudice (Widescreen)

The best Pride & Prejudice to date!

09/30/2011
By ,
Indianapolis, IN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The best Pride & Prejudice to date! Love it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 14 for Pride & Prejudice (Widescreen)

Beautifully restored!

07/03/2012
By ,
Oklahoma
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pride and Prejudice Widescreen DVD (2010)
I don't need to give kudos for this wonderful A&E version of P&P. We know how great it is!
First of all I suggest that the buyer watch the bonus feature “Technical Restoration” on disc 2 before viewing this digitized version. You will have a greater appreciation of what these people have done to restore P&P. I watched “Technical Restoration” on my computer & monitor (HD) which shows how remarkable the difference is between a transfer from the negative and a transfer from a print (2001). P&P lovers will not be displeased.
Thank you Wal-Mart for Site-to-Store option!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
0points
Review 15 for Pride & Prejudice (Widescreen)

A jewel for my Austen Collection

09/13/2013
By ,
East Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pride and prejudice is my favorite of all the works of Lady Jane Austen. And I have always believed that Colin Firth is the best Mr. Darcy and this version did not disappointed me for nothing. Now if we are talking about Lizzy Jennifer Ehle did well but I still prefer Kiara Knightly over her. The set contains five episodes adapted by BBC in 1995. An awesome version to have in your collection of Austen.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per month
0points
Review 16 for Pride & Prejudice (Widescreen)

Buy the newer Keira Knightly version

10/13/2013
By ,
Atlanta, GA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I was disappointed that this mini series didn't give more information than the much shorter newer version. Everything happened VERY slowly and was almost boring.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
0points
Review 17 for Pride & Prejudice (Widescreen)

The Best Pride and Prejudice Ever!

10/04/2011
By ,
South Carolina
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have all of the Jane Austen movies, including several versions of Pride and Prejudice. This version is my all time favorite. And don't you just love that Colin Firth! I needed to update my collection with this dvd from vhs. When the modern world gets tedious just pop this in the player and relax in another place and time!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
 
My Product Recommendations
 
0points
Review 18 for Pride & Prejudice (Widescreen)
07/29/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The best version of the Pride and the Prejudice ever made!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:7 - 8 months
0points
Review 19 for Pride & Prejudice (Widescreen)
03/16/2013
By ,
St Paul MN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this movie. the color was great i could watch it twenty four seven.
I would recomend it to my friends and family.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 20 for Pride & Prejudice (Widescreen)
11/30/2011
By ,
Jackson, Ms
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This version of Pride & Prejudice is the very best one out there. Pride & Prejudice has wonderful characters, beautiful scenery, an overall fantastic love story that you can watch with your entire family.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
0points
1-20 of 23 total reviews
1 2 Next