Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Vizio VIZIO VBR200W Wireless Internet Blu-ray Player with Wireless Internet Apps

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Vizio VIZIO VBR200W Wireless Internet Blu-ray Player with Wireless Internet Apps

ENERGY STAR ® Products that are ENERGY STAR-qualified prevent greenhouse gas emissions by meeting strict energy efficiency guidelines set by the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency and the U.S. Department of Energy. The ENERGY STAR name and marks are registered marks owned by the U.S. government, as part of their energy efficiency and environmental activities.
Average Customer Rating:
4.141 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(128 Reviews) 113
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
70
4 stars
30
3 stars
11
2 stars
10
1 star
7
Customer Recommendation78%100 out of 128reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
70
4 stars
30
3 stars
11
2 stars
10
1 star
7
Customer Reviews
Review 21 for VIZIO VBR200W Wireless Internet Blu-ray Player with Wireless Internet Apps

A good player but the remote is awful

07/23/2010
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The player is good for DVD's, Blu-Ray's etc and the Internet apps work well (Netflix, Vudu, etc. I had no problem hooking up my network with it. On the downside is the remote. It won't always respond right away and it will actually go dead if left alone for too long. The only way to get it working again it to remove the batteries and re-insert them and then it is 'OK' for a while (I have installed brand new batteries so it is not the batteries causing this). I have a learning remote that I have now programmed to replace the Vizio remote. I didn't program all the keys but the ones I have programmed don't have the problems on the Vizio. I can't recommend this player as the included remote should work, period.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Review 22 for VIZIO VBR200W Wireless Internet Blu-ray Player with Wireless Internet Apps

Good BluRay; not so great streaming; BAD remote

06/13/2011
By ,
Austin, TX
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This player is very quick to set up and play blu-ray discs. I had no problem connecting to my AT&T internet. So if you need just a blu-ray this is a decent player.
However based on the Vizio website I understood any player with updated software would have the Hulu+ app. After multiple attempts I could never get this player to update. It said there were no updates. I saw others with this problem on another site as well.
I read the reviews about the bad remote and thought, 'oh those people are picky, it should be fine for me'... no it really is THAT bad. You have to basically jam your finger on each button to make it register.
Since my primary objective is to get rid of cable (and use streaming internet tv/netflix), I returned this player for a Samsung which has 100s of apps (including hulu), and a remote that works wonderfully.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
South Dakota, USA
Posted 06/29/2011
Thank you for taking the time to inform us on how much you are enjoying your Vizio product. It's customers like you that make us the Number 1 HDTV company in America. If you have any questions please contact our support at 877-698-4946 or chat/email us on our website!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 23 for VIZIO VBR200W Wireless Internet Blu-ray Player with Wireless Internet Apps

I had connectivity issues, but they were resolved.

09/08/2011
By ,
Indiana
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The only problem that I have had was in connecting it to the internet. I first tried to connect wirelessly. I was getting a strong signal (3 of 4 bars, sometimes all 4 bars). But it would not let me connect. Tech Support (who was very professional) said that my router had to be 20 feet away to get a good connection. As I discovered, distance was not the problem.
I purchased a Ethernet cable and tried unsuccessfully to connect. I called Vizio Support several times. They even sent me a new Blu Ray player. But when the new one had the same results, one of the techs finally addressed the real problem I was having.
For some reason the Blu Ray player and my router (Netgear 300) were not communicating. Long story short, Vizio told me that ports 80 and 443 on the router had to be "open." Netgear walked me through the process of adding the Blu Ray player, and I have not had any problems since.
I like being able to rent movies from my living room.
P.S. I'm not sure why I purchased a wireless Blu Ray player that I connect to the internet by way of a cable. Something is wrong with this picture. Vizio said wired connections work best - even when a router is 3 feet away. So why buy a wireless???????
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 24 for VIZIO VBR200W Wireless Internet Blu-ray Player with Wireless Internet Apps

Remote

04/25/2010
By ,
96003
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Vizio needs to fix there remote. it will not work if you
are sitting at 3 ft in a chair and the player is at 5 ft. high
you must be directly level to the DVD player. Received a
replacement remote but it did the same as the orginal.
The DVD works great my only issue is the remote.
I don't like holding the remote at arms lenght above my head to work the dvd player
I'm sure you will have the same problem if you are
3 ft. right or left of the dvd player
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 25 for VIZIO VBR200W Wireless Internet Blu-ray Player with Wireless Internet Apps

Below Par for Vizio

06/11/2010
By ,
North Carolina
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The performance of the player is avarage, but the remote is terrible. The remote is not well designed, feels flimsy, and the unit is often unresponsive to the commands. The buttons fail to work so often that they are receiving excesssive wear and I anticipate they'll fail soon.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 26 for VIZIO VBR200W Wireless Internet Blu-ray Player with Wireless Internet Apps

OK for the money

05/04/2010
By ,
Littleton CO
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Looks good except for the obnoxious silver label "VIZIO" considering everything else in my system is black with small emblems. Hook up is easy. I had trouble with the wireless system, my signal was too weak to work correctly. Once I connected with a direct wire ( CAT 5) it runs excellent. My only complaint was the Vizio remote is very weak. I have to lean forward to get it to work. I set it up on my system remote both the Satellite and Logitech 890. Both of these send the signal very well. Having access to Netflex, VuDu, and Pandora is very convenient .
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 27 for VIZIO VBR200W Wireless Internet Blu-ray Player with Wireless Internet Apps

Nice product but needs some improvments

07/26/2011
By ,
Fort Worth, TX
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I like my new Blu-Ray player and the design is nice also, but there are a couple of things I don't like. To start with is the new design of the remote. The button are to stiff to push and clicking sound is somewhat annoying. The second thing I did not like was the setup for the wireless internet. The setup instruction were not very clear. Other than that I love the machine.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
South Dakota, USA
Posted 08/02/2011
Thank you for taking the time to inform us on how much you are enjoying your Vizio product. It's customers like you that make us the Number 1 HDTV company in America. We thank you for the feed back for future products. If you have any questions please contact our support at 877-698-4946 or chat/email us on our website!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 28 for VIZIO VBR200W Wireless Internet Blu-ray Player with Wireless Internet Apps
07/15/2011
By ,
Indiana
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I purchased this blu-ray player because of the Netflix option. It locked up the first time we turned it on. We did a reset by unplugging the unit. Then it worked really good for about a week & a half. Now it won't power up. I'm returning it.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
South Dakota, USA
Posted 07/19/2011
I apologize you are experiencing an issue with your blu-ray. Please contact us so we can assist you. Technical support is available through chat: chat.vizio.com, e-mail: techsupp@vizio.com, or phones: 877-698-4946
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 29 for VIZIO VBR200W Wireless Internet Blu-ray Player with Wireless Internet Apps

Blu-ray okay

05/07/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This unit works very well but has the usual blu-ray hangups. Slow to load & play, remote range is short and slow to respond. Avatar takes forever to start playing but rental blu-ray movies from Netflix don't take much longer to load than a regular DVD. It took many tries to get connected to our wireless router but once set up, it works fine.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 30 for VIZIO VBR200W Wireless Internet Blu-ray Player with Wireless Internet Apps

Meets expectations

08/17/2011
By ,
Corvallis, OR
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It does what it's supposed to do but nothing too fancy. The menus and remote controls are a little clunky. Netflix app doesn't seem to allow searching so I have to add anything I want to watch to my instant queue first. Overall pretty good for the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
0points
Review 31 for VIZIO VBR200W Wireless Internet Blu-ray Player with Wireless Internet Apps

Very good player for the money!

06/26/2011
By ,
Tennessee
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This player exceeded my expectations when I brought it home. My wife and I had bought a Vizio TV for our living room and was looking for a blu-ray player to go with it. Our main focus was trying to find one that had the WIFI already built it and one that had Netflix. The wireless picks up the signal great and the picture while watching blu-rays or Netflix is very good as well. We have a Sony surround sound also and this player utilizes it perfectly with its multiple decoders. THE SOUND IS EMERSIVE! Would definitely recommend this to a friend or someone that has a home theater!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Every few days
0points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
South Dakota, USA
Posted 06/29/2011
Thank you for taking the time to inform us on how much you are enjoying your Vizio product. It's customers like you that make us the Number 1 HDTV company in America. If you have any questions please contact our support at 877-698-4946 or chat/email us on our website!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 32 for VIZIO VBR200W Wireless Internet Blu-ray Player with Wireless Internet Apps

Good basic internet BluRay player

09/14/2011
By ,
MD
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Easy set up. Needs a strong wireless signal. I used the Linksys dual band router. Remote is a little clunky, but effective.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 33 for VIZIO VBR200W Wireless Internet Blu-ray Player with Wireless Internet Apps

Good product for price

05/20/2010
By ,
Philadelphia, PA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
After reviewing different wireless blu ray players, chose the Vizio mainly due to its price. Loading did take a long time and made some unusually loud noises during boot up. Guess I just got to get used to it. Watched Avatar and found the picture to be extremely clear on my 55" LED-LCD tv and using HDMI cables. It did freeze up once during the movie. Not sure if it was the blu ray player or disc. An inconvenience since I had to start from the main menu again. Downloaded a movie from Netflix in a matter of minutes but was disappointed in the picture quality. Almost unbearable after seeing the blu ray movie. May have to upgrade my DSL to get something faster. Overall, very pleased with the blu ray picture and its easy set up and use for the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Review 34 for VIZIO VBR200W Wireless Internet Blu-ray Player with Wireless Internet Apps

vbr200w and Wireless connection

04/18/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I wanted to comment about the wireless connectivity for this box. I was not able to initially connect to my Verizon wireless router.
However I found that the Vizio player wants to use "shared access" (verizon routers are set to "open access" by default) , once this was enabled under the WEP settings my player was able to connect to it via wireless.. Hope this helps others who see the same issue
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+5points
Review 35 for VIZIO VBR200W Wireless Internet Blu-ray Player with Wireless Internet Apps

Nice player, wireless makes it better than others

04/14/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased this player from vizio to watch Netflix on my television. I liked the fact it had wireless internet. Setup was a snap and after activating the box at Netflix I was watching streamed movies in no time.
My one complaint is the video quality of the streamed movies. Netflix claims HD but it is far from it. Picture VHS quality for those of you old enough to remember it. Still, it is an included service from Netflix and it comes in handy when nothing is on and we want a movie.
For the price, I recommend this player. Wal-Mart had it at my door a day earlier than promised too. Thanks for that Wal-Mart.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+7points
Review 36 for VIZIO VBR200W Wireless Internet Blu-ray Player with Wireless Internet Apps

Easy to set up & use.

07/21/2010
By ,
West Palm Beach, FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This was the easiest to set up & use of any DVD player I have ever owned.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 37 for VIZIO VBR200W Wireless Internet Blu-ray Player with Wireless Internet Apps

Great value

07/27/2010
By ,
Albuquerque NM
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
A lot of great features for the price.
But have a good return policy in case your machine has defect--similar to early Vizio flat panel TVs.
When the WiFi works, it does Netflix & Vudu great. When it doesn't, mfg reps have no explanation or fix.
DVD drive occasionally noisy.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 38 for VIZIO VBR200W Wireless Internet Blu-ray Player with Wireless Internet Apps

I'm Pleased

07/21/2010
By ,
Friendship, MD
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The remote and interface are a bit clunky. However, once I hooked it up to my network, it worked better than the Samsung BD player I bought last year. Well worth the money.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 39 for VIZIO VBR200W Wireless Internet Blu-ray Player with Wireless Internet Apps

Very Good

06/01/2010
By ,
Holly Springs, NC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this product at a local Walmart store about 3 weeks ago.
Total setup took about 15 minutes. It took very little effort to get this to router.
Note: It will be an easier setup if you temporary enable SSID broadcasting during setup. I will also note that it does not support MAC Addressing. I have my system set up to WPA2 settings. Once it was hook up I disabled my SSID broadcasting and have not had any problems.
The steaming with Netflix is great!!!!!
It plays Blu-Ray and DVD great.
The only negative to this item is that the remote while it looks like it would be a good one - it seems that the signal is a little weak and I have yet to be able to find a universal one that will support it.
Over all a very good product!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 40 for VIZIO VBR200W Wireless Internet Blu-ray Player with Wireless Internet Apps

Nice Product

07/23/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Works well. Does a great job with Netflix and Vudu. It is a little slow responding to the remote.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
21-40 of 114 total reviews