Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Vizio VIZIO VBR200W Wireless Internet Blu-ray Player with Wireless Internet Apps

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Vizio VIZIO VBR200W Wireless Internet Blu-ray Player with Wireless Internet Apps

ENERGY STAR ® Products that are ENERGY STAR-qualified prevent greenhouse gas emissions by meeting strict energy efficiency guidelines set by the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency and the U.S. Department of Energy. The ENERGY STAR name and marks are registered marks owned by the U.S. government, as part of their energy efficiency and environmental activities.
Average Customer Rating:
4.141 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(128 Reviews) 113
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
70
4 stars
30
3 stars
11
2 stars
10
1 star
7
Customer Recommendation78%100 out of 128reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
70
4 stars
30
3 stars
11
2 stars
10
1 star
7
Customer Reviews
Review 21 for VIZIO VBR200W Wireless Internet Blu-ray Player with Wireless Internet Apps

I had connectivity issues, but they were resolved.

09/08/2011
By ,
Indiana
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The only problem that I have had was in connecting it to the internet. I first tried to connect wirelessly. I was getting a strong signal (3 of 4 bars, sometimes all 4 bars). But it would not let me connect. Tech Support (who was very professional) said that my router had to be 20 feet away to get a good connection. As I discovered, distance was not the problem.
I purchased a Ethernet cable and tried unsuccessfully to connect. I called Vizio Support several times. They even sent me a new Blu Ray player. But when the new one had the same results, one of the techs finally addressed the real problem I was having.
For some reason the Blu Ray player and my router (Netgear 300) were not communicating. Long story short, Vizio told me that ports 80 and 443 on the router had to be "open." Netgear walked me through the process of adding the Blu Ray player, and I have not had any problems since.
I like being able to rent movies from my living room.
P.S. I'm not sure why I purchased a wireless Blu Ray player that I connect to the internet by way of a cable. Something is wrong with this picture. Vizio said wired connections work best - even when a router is 3 feet away. So why buy a wireless???????
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 22 for VIZIO VBR200W Wireless Internet Blu-ray Player with Wireless Internet Apps

OK for the money

05/04/2010
By ,
Littleton CO
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Looks good except for the obnoxious silver label "VIZIO" considering everything else in my system is black with small emblems. Hook up is easy. I had trouble with the wireless system, my signal was too weak to work correctly. Once I connected with a direct wire ( CAT 5) it runs excellent. My only complaint was the Vizio remote is very weak. I have to lean forward to get it to work. I set it up on my system remote both the Satellite and Logitech 890. Both of these send the signal very well. Having access to Netflex, VuDu, and Pandora is very convenient .
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 23 for VIZIO VBR200W Wireless Internet Blu-ray Player with Wireless Internet Apps
07/15/2011
By ,
Indiana
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I purchased this blu-ray player because of the Netflix option. It locked up the first time we turned it on. We did a reset by unplugging the unit. Then it worked really good for about a week & a half. Now it won't power up. I'm returning it.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
South Dakota, USA
Posted 07/19/2011
I apologize you are experiencing an issue with your blu-ray. Please contact us so we can assist you. Technical support is available through chat: chat.vizio.com, e-mail: techsupp@vizio.com, or phones: 877-698-4946
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 24 for VIZIO VBR200W Wireless Internet Blu-ray Player with Wireless Internet Apps

Below Par for Vizio

06/11/2010
By ,
North Carolina
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The performance of the player is avarage, but the remote is terrible. The remote is not well designed, feels flimsy, and the unit is often unresponsive to the commands. The buttons fail to work so often that they are receiving excesssive wear and I anticipate they'll fail soon.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 25 for VIZIO VBR200W Wireless Internet Blu-ray Player with Wireless Internet Apps

Nice product but needs some improvments

07/26/2011
By ,
Fort Worth, TX
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I like my new Blu-Ray player and the design is nice also, but there are a couple of things I don't like. To start with is the new design of the remote. The button are to stiff to push and clicking sound is somewhat annoying. The second thing I did not like was the setup for the wireless internet. The setup instruction were not very clear. Other than that I love the machine.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
South Dakota, USA
Posted 08/02/2011
Thank you for taking the time to inform us on how much you are enjoying your Vizio product. It's customers like you that make us the Number 1 HDTV company in America. We thank you for the feed back for future products. If you have any questions please contact our support at 877-698-4946 or chat/email us on our website!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 26 for VIZIO VBR200W Wireless Internet Blu-ray Player with Wireless Internet Apps

Great Player - Terrible Remote

05/10/2010
By ,
Charleston, SC
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The Good: This player is great! It offers everything I needed and more! Also connecting to the Internet was very easy.
Helpful Hint: Reboot your wireless network equipment prior to connecting this up the first time.
The picture and sound are terrific and this unit would be a 5 Star rating if it wasn't for the Remote!
The Bad: The Remote is terrible. I have to keep removing the batteries to get the remote to work. You have to be right in front of player for the Remote to work, when it does...
Vizio needs to do something about the remote!
Based on so many other complaints the Remote should be recalled Immediately before everyone returns this unit for something else!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 27 for VIZIO VBR200W Wireless Internet Blu-ray Player with Wireless Internet Apps

Good BluRay; not so great streaming; BAD remote

06/13/2011
By ,
Austin, TX
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This player is very quick to set up and play blu-ray discs. I had no problem connecting to my AT&T internet. So if you need just a blu-ray this is a decent player.
However based on the Vizio website I understood any player with updated software would have the Hulu+ app. After multiple attempts I could never get this player to update. It said there were no updates. I saw others with this problem on another site as well.
I read the reviews about the bad remote and thought, 'oh those people are picky, it should be fine for me'... no it really is THAT bad. You have to basically jam your finger on each button to make it register.
Since my primary objective is to get rid of cable (and use streaming internet tv/netflix), I returned this player for a Samsung which has 100s of apps (including hulu), and a remote that works wonderfully.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
South Dakota, USA
Posted 06/29/2011
Thank you for taking the time to inform us on how much you are enjoying your Vizio product. It's customers like you that make us the Number 1 HDTV company in America. If you have any questions please contact our support at 877-698-4946 or chat/email us on our website!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 28 for VIZIO VBR200W Wireless Internet Blu-ray Player with Wireless Internet Apps

A good player but the remote is awful

07/23/2010
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The player is good for DVD's, Blu-Ray's etc and the Internet apps work well (Netflix, Vudu, etc. I had no problem hooking up my network with it. On the downside is the remote. It won't always respond right away and it will actually go dead if left alone for too long. The only way to get it working again it to remove the batteries and re-insert them and then it is 'OK' for a while (I have installed brand new batteries so it is not the batteries causing this). I have a learning remote that I have now programmed to replace the Vizio remote. I didn't program all the keys but the ones I have programmed don't have the problems on the Vizio. I can't recommend this player as the included remote should work, period.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Review 29 for VIZIO VBR200W Wireless Internet Blu-ray Player with Wireless Internet Apps

awesome purchase

07/31/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I've only had this product one day and I love it. The only problem I had was not with the blu-ray player but with my wireless router. I just needed to change the channel on it to get a better signal output. The response to the remote control is a little slow but being able to watch Netflix on demand is worth it. Don't forget to purchase an HDMI cable if you don't already have one.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 30 for VIZIO VBR200W Wireless Internet Blu-ray Player with Wireless Internet Apps

vbr200w and Wireless connection

04/18/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I wanted to comment about the wireless connectivity for this box. I was not able to initially connect to my Verizon wireless router.
However I found that the Vizio player wants to use "shared access" (verizon routers are set to "open access" by default) , once this was enabled under the WEP settings my player was able to connect to it via wireless.. Hope this helps others who see the same issue
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+5points
Review 31 for VIZIO VBR200W Wireless Internet Blu-ray Player with Wireless Internet Apps

Great value

07/27/2010
By ,
Albuquerque NM
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
A lot of great features for the price.
But have a good return policy in case your machine has defect--similar to early Vizio flat panel TVs.
When the WiFi works, it does Netflix & Vudu great. When it doesn't, mfg reps have no explanation or fix.
DVD drive occasionally noisy.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 32 for VIZIO VBR200W Wireless Internet Blu-ray Player with Wireless Internet Apps

Good product for price

05/20/2010
By ,
Philadelphia, PA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
After reviewing different wireless blu ray players, chose the Vizio mainly due to its price. Loading did take a long time and made some unusually loud noises during boot up. Guess I just got to get used to it. Watched Avatar and found the picture to be extremely clear on my 55" LED-LCD tv and using HDMI cables. It did freeze up once during the movie. Not sure if it was the blu ray player or disc. An inconvenience since I had to start from the main menu again. Downloaded a movie from Netflix in a matter of minutes but was disappointed in the picture quality. Almost unbearable after seeing the blu ray movie. May have to upgrade my DSL to get something faster. Overall, very pleased with the blu ray picture and its easy set up and use for the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Review 33 for VIZIO VBR200W Wireless Internet Blu-ray Player with Wireless Internet Apps

Meets expectations

08/17/2011
By ,
Corvallis, OR
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It does what it's supposed to do but nothing too fancy. The menus and remote controls are a little clunky. Netflix app doesn't seem to allow searching so I have to add anything I want to watch to my instant queue first. Overall pretty good for the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
0points
Review 34 for VIZIO VBR200W Wireless Internet Blu-ray Player with Wireless Internet Apps

Easy Setup

08/16/2011
By ,
Shelby, NC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We bought this blue-ray player so that we could get netflix through it. It was very easy to set-up, basically setting itself up. The only issue is that if it has been on for a while and sitting idle, we have to turn it off and back on to get it to connect to the internet again. Overall a great buy though. We have enjoyed many hours of netflix because of it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 35 for VIZIO VBR200W Wireless Internet Blu-ray Player with Wireless Internet Apps

Great player for the price!

06/19/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I got this Bluray player a few weeks ago. It works great, haven't had any problems yet. There is a bit of a delay from the time that you insert a DVD until the time it begins to play, but I've heard this is a common issue for many Bluray players. All in all, it is great for its value, Netflix (and the other internet apps) are great, the quality is amazing, and I am very happy with my purchase!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
South Dakota, USA
Posted 06/29/2011
Thank you for taking the time to inform us on how much you are enjoying your Vizio product. It's customers like you that make us the Number 1 HDTV company in America. If you have any questions please contact our support at 877-698-4946 or chat/email us on our website!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 36 for VIZIO VBR200W Wireless Internet Blu-ray Player with Wireless Internet Apps

Very Good

06/01/2010
By ,
Holly Springs, NC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this product at a local Walmart store about 3 weeks ago.
Total setup took about 15 minutes. It took very little effort to get this to router.
Note: It will be an easier setup if you temporary enable SSID broadcasting during setup. I will also note that it does not support MAC Addressing. I have my system set up to WPA2 settings. Once it was hook up I disabled my SSID broadcasting and have not had any problems.
The steaming with Netflix is great!!!!!
It plays Blu-Ray and DVD great.
The only negative to this item is that the remote while it looks like it would be a good one - it seems that the signal is a little weak and I have yet to be able to find a universal one that will support it.
Over all a very good product!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 37 for VIZIO VBR200W Wireless Internet Blu-ray Player with Wireless Internet Apps

Great product for a great price!

08/06/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Easy setup, easy use!
While some have complained about the remote, I have had very little problems with it. It is a little cheapy feeling, but it works pretty well.
The only problem I've had is when watching Netfilx it sometimes has to rebuffer in the middle of a movie. It usually resolves itself rather quickly though.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 38 for VIZIO VBR200W Wireless Internet Blu-ray Player with Wireless Internet Apps

Finally

07/05/2010
By ,
Boone, IA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Once I was able to get this connected everything is great. I had to go in and change my router settings to shared access, from open and then all my computers that were wirelss had to be changed also. My other devices (tivo's,wii and all other wireless devices) had to be redonealso. Tech support through Vizo and my service provider were not of any help. I am not a computer expert so it took me awhile to figure this all out but in the end everything worked out. The remote could be better also. But all in all I think I am going to like this.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Review 39 for VIZIO VBR200W Wireless Internet Blu-ray Player with Wireless Internet Apps

Very good player for the money!

06/26/2011
By ,
Tennessee
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This player exceeded my expectations when I brought it home. My wife and I had bought a Vizio TV for our living room and was looking for a blu-ray player to go with it. Our main focus was trying to find one that had the WIFI already built it and one that had Netflix. The wireless picks up the signal great and the picture while watching blu-rays or Netflix is very good as well. We have a Sony surround sound also and this player utilizes it perfectly with its multiple decoders. THE SOUND IS EMERSIVE! Would definitely recommend this to a friend or someone that has a home theater!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Every few days
0points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
South Dakota, USA
Posted 06/29/2011
Thank you for taking the time to inform us on how much you are enjoying your Vizio product. It's customers like you that make us the Number 1 HDTV company in America. If you have any questions please contact our support at 877-698-4946 or chat/email us on our website!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 40 for VIZIO VBR200W Wireless Internet Blu-ray Player with Wireless Internet Apps

Great

06/05/2010
By ,
cali
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Just bought it ..plug and play internet ready with your home wifi....you need nothing..try and beat it you will waste your time i read hundreds of reviews before i buy anything..took 10mins to set up Pandora's playin in the back ground as i write this enjoy you wont be burned..
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
21-40 of 114 total reviews