Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Whitmor Whitmor Double Laundry Hamper and Sorter, Java

Whitmor Whitmor Double Laundry Hamper and Sorter, Java

Whitmor is a leading brand in garment care, storage products and laundry accessories. The Whitmor Double Laundry Hamper and Sorter is a stylish and durable product that is an essential accessory in every house. It is equipped with a mesh top and an aluminum rim to ensure durable performance. This heavy-duty laundry hamper not only sports good looks but also gives quality performance for all your washday needs. The external rim top of the hamper helps in creating a sturdy laundry solution. The interior of this Whitmor laundry hamper, in the java color, is entirely laminated and can be easily maintained by just using a damp cloth. The mesh top also has an adjustable string closure for practical usage. The exterior of the Whitmor Double Laundry Hamper and Sorter is very sturdy as it is made of heavy duty polyester.
Average Customer Rating:
3.882 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(136 Reviews) 108
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
61
4 stars
34
3 stars
19
2 stars
8
1 star
14
Customer Recommendation78%105 out of 134reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 22 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
61
4 stars
34
3 stars
19
2 stars
8
1 star
14
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Whitmor Double Laundry Hamper and Sorter, Java

good hamper

12/09/2012
By ,
Georgia
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
one side for lights and the other for darks. easy to put together and a decent size.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Whitmor Double Laundry Hamper and Sorter, Java

Not Great for Long Term Use

11/02/2011
By ,
Boston, MA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this double hamper because I'm honestly lazy to sort and separate my clothes when I do my laundry. Assembly was very easy, all you have to do is put the pole its designated pocket and velcro the cloth flaps down. However after 2-3 months of usage, the hamper's standing poles started to slip out of their holding flaps. Soon after 4-6 months, the black mesh starts to develop holes caused by the standing poles themselves and later the cloth flap that supports the pole has a hole. For short term use, it's great and does the job. I wouldn't recommend this product for long term use.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every few days
+34points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Texas/Minnesota
Could be from Over Stuffing the Hamper
Posted 06/19/2013
Too bad..nice hamper... I suggest washing more often and stuffing the dirty clothing down less.... :-) Hope this helps... (A Mom)
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 3 for Whitmor Double Laundry Hamper and Sorter, Java

Perfect dual hamper

07/24/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This hamper was extremely easy to assemble (place the small rods in the slots) and it fits perfectly in the narrow area I had available. I love that it says which side the clothes are to be placed so that the rest of the family does not get confused. Great value!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Whitmor Double Laundry Hamper and Sorter, Java
03/01/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
great product, it is really short though but wide enough to hold clothes. By the way if you purchase this product there is a slot for the poles you have to look really hard in the light. don't just use the straps to try and hold it at first like a did:)
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Whitmor Double Laundry Hamper and Sorter, Java

Not Too Big, Not Too Small

06/13/2010
By ,
Springfield, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this for my boyfriend, and it works very well. It's not too big, but it's not too small either. It works well for a single person's laundry. I love the fact that it's collapsable, so when we don't need it, we can just take the poles out of the sides and store it in the closet.The individual closures at the top of the basket works very good for preventing overflow when the laundry hasn't been done for a while.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+21points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Whitmor Double Laundry Hamper and Sorter, Java

Laundry Sorter- will do

10/20/2010
By ,
Dallas, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It sorts the laundry like I wanted it to. It is not super sturdy. The four corners are held up with rods that have velcro flaps to hold them in place. I do have to re-velcro the support system pretty frequently. For the price it is a good deal.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
DreamWorld
Never tried but want to try.
Posted 11/30/2011
I have never tried this item but would love to try this hamper a lot of the comments are good and some are bad but i would like to see for my self if it really does not work like it should than please comment back on this post.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 7 for Whitmor Double Laundry Hamper and Sorter, Java

have not had long enough to judge durability.

05/23/2014
By ,
Minden, NV
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Don't like draw strings. Carries great with full load.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Whitmor Double Laundry Hamper and Sorter, Java

Flimsy, will not last long

01/09/2014
By ,
Miami, FL
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ordered this item online. It looks nice in the picture, but after waiting weeks, once I finally received it, I was not impressed with it at all. I bought it for my son because I liked the sorting of lights and darks, but I don't think it will last him too long, it's REALLY flimsy. It's only held up with 4 thin plastic sticks on each corner. I would have been better off getting one of the wicker ones for the same price. Oh and do not be confused, the mesh on top appears to be removable laundry bags, but they are not. The mesh is attached to the hamper and there is not even a cloth lid on top to cover the clothes, so I just don't see what the Velcro strips along the rim are for.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Whitmor Double Laundry Hamper and Sorter, Java

good thought poor quality

10/09/2010
By ,
PA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this same hamper from another company before walmark was carrying it. I thought it would be great for my kids and husband in terms of getting laudry done efficiently. I was mistaken. The fram is so flimsy, that it collapses with clothes near the top. When there are no clothes in it, it collapses. Mostly, the poles do not stay in place by the velcro flap. Lastly, the poles make holes in the netting at the top. I would not reccomend this product. It was too expensive to buy another type of product. Had to wait for more income.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Whitmor Double Laundry Hamper and Sorter, Java

Keeps Falling Apart...

10/31/2010
By ,
AR
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
While I do realize that this was an inexpensive hamper, I did give this a one star rating because it is not well made. You get what you pay for. We needed a hamper ASAP and this seemed like a cheap replacement. But after it arrived it was much smaller than expected. Also I would not recommend this hamper for those with indoor pets. This hamper is literally held together with four, small tent poles. If a pet plays in it, the poles constantly slip out of their cheap, velcro tabs making this hamper very unstable. I wish I had put the money I spent on this towards a much better hamper.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
um
Posted 03/06/2012
since when are pets suppost to play in hampers
+2points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 11 for Whitmor Double Laundry Hamper and Sorter, Java

Nice looking, good value for price

04/09/2014
By ,
Utah
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The outside looks classy. It is a good value for the price. The inside separator is thin plastic, which was disappointing considering the rest is durable canvas.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Whitmor Double Laundry Hamper and Sorter, Java
11/19/2011
By ,
Reno, NV
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I used this for my two kids and I but honestly it is more of a headache than anything. I hate the netting because i cant leave it open where I can easily throw the dirty clothes in instead I have to clip the netting together so I can do that. I wish it had a WHITES side too. I sort my clothes out DARKS, LIGHTS, WHITES and so now I just put the whites in another laundry basket. IM RETURNING THIS TOMORROW, not worth the money if you have more than one person using it.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Whitmor Double Laundry Hamper and Sorter, Java

Functional Hamper

10/06/2011
By ,
D.C. Metro
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This hamper is compact. About one load of clothes fits on each side. Since it is labeled "Light/Dark," I can just grab a load to wash without having to sort. I love the color... brown and tan. It matches my decor nicely.
Be sure to read the specs because this hamper is on the smaller side. Ideal for use by an individual or couple, not a family.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Whitmor Double Laundry Hamper and Sorter, Java

Awesome

03/24/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It's cute and durable.
Product Attributes:
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Whitmor Double Laundry Hamper and Sorter, Java

Wont hold

03/01/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this hoping it would help with all the laundry I have because one basket does not cut it. At first it seemed okay but the small poles poke out of the holds and the laundry basket will fall down. I have to fix this thing everyday, it is not worth the money I paid for it.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Whitmor Double Laundry Hamper and Sorter, Java
09/27/2011
By ,
WI
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Very cute, but was terrible. The snap in poles poked through the sides and it was in the garbage within two weeks. Not heavy duty at all. Very flimsy. It was very cute, but not practical.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Whitmor Double Laundry Hamper and Sorter, Java

Very Small

02/03/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This item was very small. It would probably only hold 3 towels. Not large enough for a family. Perhaps good for a single person.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Whitmor Double Laundry Hamper and Sorter, Java

Much smaller than it looks

09/03/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This hamper looks ok but the quality is not what i expected and it is WAY smaller than i anticpated it to be.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Whitmor Double Laundry Hamper and Sorter, Java

great value just what I have always wanted

03/03/2014
By ,
willis, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
perfect fit where I wanted it to go and
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Whitmor Double Laundry Hamper and Sorter, Java

not as big as i expected

02/22/2014
By ,
Philadelphia, PA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
i like these hampers, they aren't as big as i expected them to be but definitely hold a load of wash in each side. maybe it'll be better cuz i'll do my laundry every time there's a load instead of 10!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 109 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 6 Next