Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for The Wizard Of Oz (70th Anniversary) (Blu-ray) (Full Frame)

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

The Wizard Of Oz (70th Anniversary) (Blu-ray) (Full Frame)

Average Customer Rating:
4.476 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(21 Reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
16
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
2
Customer Recommendation90%19 out of 21reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
16
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
2
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for The Wizard Of Oz (70th Anniversary) (Blu-ray) (Full Frame)

Wizard of OZ Blue Ray disk

12/10/2012
By ,
Texas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great movie as expected. I gave it arating of 4 because for the price I would have expected to have a Digital copy in it also! Just BR disk -thats all. Not much NOT to love on the MOvie!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 2 for The Wizard Of Oz (70th Anniversary) (Blu-ray) (Full Frame)

Beautiful Technicolor

04/05/2011
By ,
Helena, Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The colors in this movie are brilliant...It was like sitting at the Cinema and watching it. The old 3 layer technicolor process is still superior to technicolor process used now....I plan on purchasing Gone with the Wind in Bluray too...
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+5points
Review 3 for The Wizard Of Oz (70th Anniversary) (Blu-ray) (Full Frame)

Travel over the rainbow on Blu-ray

02/18/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The restoration of this classic film is just awesome. Restored to all it's technicolor glory from the moment you put in the disc. The sound is even better in Dolby 5.1 that provides a much fuller sound as compared to the original mono. If you are building your Blu-ray collection up this is one to add to your collection as it is the best available format out there for picture and sound. Buy it and go over the rainbow like it was made yesterday.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Once per month
+2points
Review 4 for The Wizard Of Oz (70th Anniversary) (Blu-ray) (Full Frame)

EXCELLENT! LOVE IT!

04/13/2010
By ,
springfield, mo.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MY AND I LOVE THIS MOVIE AND WE WATCH IT ON CERTAIN OCCASIONS. WE WANTED TO WATCH THIS MOVIE ON EASTER DAY BUT WE DIDN'T GET IT UNTIL AFTER BECAUSE IT SIT IN THERE SORTING FACILITY FOR A WEEK. SO NOW WHEN WE ORDER THINGS THROUGH THEIR SITE TO STORE WERE GOING TO ORDER THINGS TO OUR HOME. HADN'T HAD NO PROBLEMS WITH SITE TO STORE TIL ON THIS ORDER.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
-2points
Review 5 for The Wizard Of Oz (70th Anniversary) (Blu-ray) (Full Frame)

Shipping to home took way too long.

10/23/2012
By ,
Santa Clarita, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The website stated the same time for delivery (about a week) whether I had it shipped to my home or "site to store". I figured I pay a little more and get it shipped to my home. Boy was that the wrong thing to do. Shipping to my home took 2 1/2 weeks and cost me $. I have used "site to store" before and always received my item quickly, within a week as promised. Needless to say the blu-ray came a week late for my Wife's birthday.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Review 6 for The Wizard Of Oz (70th Anniversary) (Blu-ray) (Full Frame)

THe best of course.

01/09/2013
By ,
Elmira, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What can I say about a famous movie like this. Introducing it to my great-nephew (along with the book and Toto stuffed animal). Watched this movie with his mother when she was young, and now it is his turn.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Review 7 for The Wizard Of Oz (70th Anniversary) (Blu-ray) (Full Frame)

Screen size too small

01/08/2012
By ,
Pulaski, VA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
When I ordered this Blu-ray, I thought that full screen meant "full screen", it doesn't. When I tried to have it appear in full screen, portions of the video were missing; either sides or top and bottom. Additionally, when forced full screen is used, the picture is not as clear as the DVD that I had of this movie previously. I am disappointed with this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Centerville, Iowa
Posted 09/04/2012
I will say it again:
This is why I hate the terms like full screen or full frame, they no longer apply since 16x9 TVs came out. Better would be to label them OAR or MAR (original aspect ratio and modified aspect ratio.)
Since WoO came out before 1953, it is filmed in Academy ratio AKA its OAR is 1.37:1, obviously this doesn't match the 1.78:1 ratio of your TV, so the "bars" on the sides are supposed to be there.
IOW it was shot in 4x3, meant to be shown in 4x3, and widescreen didn't even exist when it came out.
You can't put a 4x3 (12x9) image on a 16x9 screen and have it fit, there will be 4 units of unused space on the sides unless you crop, stretch, or otherwise butcher the pristine image of this movie.
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 8 for The Wizard Of Oz (70th Anniversary) (Blu-ray) (Full Frame)
01/01/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
One of our favorite movies, enjoyed the quality of the bluray. This price only includes the bluray and does not have the usual dvd also.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
0points
Review 9 for The Wizard Of Oz (70th Anniversary) (Blu-ray) (Full Frame)

Really great movie and picture is amazing

01/14/2013
By ,
New York,ny
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have always loved this movie but on bluray it's amazing!
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Review 10 for The Wizard Of Oz (70th Anniversary) (Blu-ray) (Full Frame)

Blu Ray DVD

12/09/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just bought the DVD, haven't had a chance to watch it yet but heard it was very good. I was wondering if anybody else that bought this DVD had 1 that only had 1 disc in it. Or did it only come with 1 disc. I was wondering cause the disc said disc 1 so I was automatically thinking it came with 2
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
-1point
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Centerville, Iowa
Blu-ray disc
Posted 12/09/2011
There is no such thing as a Blu-ray DVD, Blu-ray and DVD are 2 completely separate optical disc technologies. My player even has 2 lenses, one for DVD, one for Blu-ray. Blu-ray uses a blue laser, DVD uses a red laser, and CD uses an infrared laser.
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 11 for The Wizard Of Oz (70th Anniversary) (Blu-ray) (Full Frame)

Great classic

10/30/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Got it for my grand daughter. Love it especially in bluray. Amazing clarity for the age of the movie.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
0points
Review 12 for The Wizard Of Oz (70th Anniversary) (Blu-ray) (Full Frame)

BLURAY WIZARD OF OZ

05/11/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
1) FOR A BLURAY DISC PICTURE QUALITY DOESN'T EVEN MATCH VHS TAPE. 2) CLAIMS FULL-FRAME. PICTURE HAS WIDE BARS ON LEFT AND RIGHT OF SCREEN. 3) DON'T BUY IF YOU'RE LOOKING FOR BLURAY QUALITY PICTURE AND A FULLSCREEN.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-13points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Centerville, Iowa
"Full Frame"
Posted 12/09/2011
This is why I hate the terms like full screen or full frame, they no longer apply since 16x9 TVs came out. Better would be to label them OAR or MAR (original aspect ratio and modified aspect ratio.
Since WoO came out before 1953, it is filmed in Academy ratio AKA its OAR is 1.37:1, obviously this doesn't match the 1.78:1 ratio of your TV, so the "bars" on the sides are supposed to be there.
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 13 for The Wizard Of Oz (70th Anniversary) (Blu-ray) (Full Frame)
03/11/2012
By ,
arizona
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this and had it sent to my 3 grandchildren, ages 4 - 7. My daughter-in-law said they sat and watched the entire movie without getting up once. Thank you.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
0points
Review 14 for The Wizard Of Oz (70th Anniversary) (Blu-ray) (Full Frame)

All time classic and good value.

12/26/2011
By ,
Fargo, ND
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is one of my favorite movies, never gets old. Great to see it in such detail.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Review 15 for The Wizard Of Oz (70th Anniversary) (Blu-ray) (Full Frame)
01/08/2012
By ,
wis dells wi
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
not full frame
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per year
-1point
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Centerville, Iowa
Yes, it is.
Posted 09/04/2012
This is "full frame" because you are seeing the entire 1.37:1 film frame as shot by the camera. The fact that 1.37:1 aspect ratio doesn't and can't neatly fit your 1.78:1 aspect ratio TV doesn't mean it isn't full frame.
The only way to make it "fit" your TV is to either crop off the top and bottom or stretch it, either way it would be butchering the movie.
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Ratings-Only Reviews for The Wizard Of Oz (70th Anniversary) (Blu-ray) (Full Frame)
Based on the average of (6) ratings-only reviews
4.8 out of 5
4.8 out of 5
Product Attributes:
Value
4.7 out of 5
4.7 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4.8 out of 5
4.8 out of 5