Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Whitmor Whitmor 18-Pair Over-the-Door Wire Shoe Rack, White

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Whitmor Whitmor 18-Pair Over-the-Door Wire Shoe Rack, White

Get your shoes organized with the Whitmor 18-Pair Over-the-Door Wire Shoe Rack. Just hang this wire shoe rack over the door and create storage space to accommodate 18 pairs of shoes -there is no need for floor space. This shoe storage rack is made from steel with epoxy coating for enhanced durability. Apart from its functionality and durability, this over-the-wall shoe rack in white ranks high in looks too - it can complement any room decor. You can easily assemble this shoe rack in minutes, requiring no tools.
Average Customer Rating:
2.609 out of 5
2.6
 out of 
5
(23 Reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
4
4 stars
4
3 stars
4
2 stars
1
1 star
10
Customer Recommendation39%9 out of 23reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
4
4 stars
4
3 stars
4
2 stars
1
1 star
10
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Whitmor 18-Pair Over-the-Door Wire Shoe Rack, White

Great Product, Great Service

12/16/2012
By ,
Whittier, California
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am delighted with my shoe rack, It went together as described. However, two of the shoe holders were broken, so I called the help Line the next day and reported the problem and they sent two to me and it looks great. All I need is more shoes to fill it.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 2 for Whitmor 18-Pair Over-the-Door Wire Shoe Rack, White

No improvement over time.

06/23/2011
By ,
Fort Wayne, IN
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Several years ago I had an over-the-door wire shoe rack similar to this one by Whitmor; however, the similarity was only in looks. This rack was--yes, past tense--considerably more flimsy than the old style. As well, in that I could tell where the old style had been attached to the inside of the door (my option), the new one turned out to be a few inches narrower; whereas, when it came to putting three pairs abreast, the fit was so tight that I had difficulty mounting shoes to the rack and then removing them. Too, the materials of construction proved all to cheap and poorly designed for me to keep the item, believing it probably could not tolerate 36 shoes.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+3points
Review 3 for Whitmor 18-Pair Over-the-Door Wire Shoe Rack, White
08/08/2010
By ,
Costa Mesa
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Overall configuration is good, easy assembly however most of the welds for the brackets are weak, and may break.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+4points
Review 4 for Whitmor 18-Pair Over-the-Door Wire Shoe Rack, White

Fell apart almost immediately

06/12/2012
By ,
Provo, UT
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
As I was putting this together I realized they gave me the wrong size of screws so I couldn't even attach the pieces together. I decided to use duct tape to keep them together but it didn't matter because the little bars started snapping off and it became irreparable. I'd had it for less than a week when this happened. . . and it's not like I'm placing ski boots on this rack! The quality is incredibly poor.
Would NOT recommend buying!
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 5 for Whitmor 18-Pair Over-the-Door Wire Shoe Rack, White

PERFECT BEHIND DOOR

03/02/2011
By ,
Southampton, NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have over 100 shoes; trust me when I say that having 18 on the back of the door is perfect for most used favorites! Have have one on each door!
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 6 for Whitmor 18-Pair Over-the-Door Wire Shoe Rack, White

THIS SHOE RACK IS WELL MADE .

12/09/2011
By ,
STUART, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I HAVE PURCHASED SHOE RACKS FROM OTHER PLACES. THIS IS THE BEST SO FAR, VERY WELL MADE AND DURABLE. WOULD NOT HESITATE TO PURCHASE IT AGAIN.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 7 for Whitmor 18-Pair Over-the-Door Wire Shoe Rack, White

Not the best purchase

07/22/2012
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I purchased this product about a week ago and after putting it together found that the pieces do not attach securely. I keep having to re-secure the parts because they don't want to stay fastened. That's probably going to get annoying. Also, the hangers for the top don't stay in an upright position unless you're holding it together. That made putting it up on the door a little tricky since I'm not the tallest person in the world. All in all it's been a little frustrating and definitely isn't going to be something I'll keep for years to come but at the present moment it has my shoes off of the floor so I guess the mission has been accomplished more or less.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 8 for Whitmor 18-Pair Over-the-Door Wire Shoe Rack, White

Great for small storage area

01/19/2012
By ,
Alvin, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This worked great when you have limited closet space.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 9 for Whitmor 18-Pair Over-the-Door Wire Shoe Rack, White

Total Piece Of Junk

04/01/2012
By ,
Memphis, TN
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bought this today, returning it tomorrow. It's pretty much the cheapest piece of junk I've ever seen. During assembly, almost every single plastic nub broke/crumbled as I inserted the shoe wire part to the poles. Then, once it was hung on the closet door, I tried to scootch it over and one of the metal welds completely snapped off, rendering that portion of the rack completely useless. Took the whole thing apart, put it back in the box, and it's going back to the store in the morning. What a waste!
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Review 10 for Whitmor 18-Pair Over-the-Door Wire Shoe Rack, White

Garbage

06/11/2012
By ,
Riverside, California
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bought 2
first one broke off my closet door within 2 days. (broke not just fell apart which it did that as well)
Will NOT fit on front door. door is to thick, (company does offer a piece to fit on front door)
second one cant get the hooks to stay in. the whole single rack will fall off if not watched and pushed back in every so often.
My husbands shoes are also to large to fit on this rack (size 13) The shoes are both to long and to wide. so you waste both right and left up and down space.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 11 for Whitmor 18-Pair Over-the-Door Wire Shoe Rack, White

Junk

04/01/2011
By ,
Spring Creek, NV
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this a bit ago and found out it is nothing but junk. the over the door part is too thick- so you cant shut the door. The shoe part doesnt want to stay attached to the frame- It only is held by 2 flimsey metal pegs. The shoe part is too big to go into the toe of most of my shoes. I have already gotten rid of the packaging but Im sure going to try to take this back.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 12 for Whitmor 18-Pair Over-the-Door Wire Shoe Rack, White

not worth it.

05/20/2012
By ,
hendersonville,NC
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I put the rack together and placed it on a door. I began putting shoes on the rack and the shoe part kept coming out of the holes that were supposed to hold it. Pushed the plugs back in but it kept coming out with shoes on the rack. Finally took the rack apart and returned it to the store.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Review 13 for Whitmor 18-Pair Over-the-Door Wire Shoe Rack, White
10/25/2012
By ,
Wv
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Not worth the money. Falls apart easily & barely holds shoes or stays hooked onto door. Fell off numerous times. Finally threw it away last week. Aweful, aweful, aweful!!! I found studier and better quality shoe racks in the actual store.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 14 for Whitmor 18-Pair Over-the-Door Wire Shoe Rack, White

Absolutely not worth buying

10/04/2012
By ,
Wallingford, CT
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
One rung fell off a couple of days after putting it up, now we're down to three left after a couple of months, and it's never been overburdened. Definitely not worth buying if it has too be replaced so quickly anyway.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 15 for Whitmor 18-Pair Over-the-Door Wire Shoe Rack, White

Very convenient and organized for shoes

03/30/2012
By ,
B.C. Canada
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product is very good, I love to use it for all my shoes, it is very easy to put shoes on and take them out later. I placed it on the wall in my garage and love how all the shoes are organized. Very good product and durable.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 16 for Whitmor 18-Pair Over-the-Door Wire Shoe Rack, White

Could use 1 improvement

04/20/2012
By ,
Viper,Ky
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Love it minus one thing! I wish there was a way to hold the bottom in place in goes in the crack of the door and the wall. had to make a brace on the sides to keep the bottom from moving!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 17 for Whitmor 18-Pair Over-the-Door Wire Shoe Rack, White

disappointment

06/05/2012
By ,
illinois
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
it won't stay together!! The racks or shelves or whatever you want to call them won't stay connected to the main frame. I'm totally disappointed in it.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 18 for Whitmor 18-Pair Over-the-Door Wire Shoe Rack, White

Horrible, broke first week and unsteady

09/30/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I am very disappointed in this product. Way below expectations and worthless. I will be returning this product. It lasted lest then one week.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Review 19 for Whitmor 18-Pair Over-the-Door Wire Shoe Rack, White

piece of junk

04/12/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The racks came off the 2nd day of use, we have the racks rubberbanded on now so they stay on. Waste of money!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Review 20 for Whitmor 18-Pair Over-the-Door Wire Shoe Rack, White

works wonderful

10/03/2011
By ,
sc
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
love it
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-1point
1-20 of 21 total reviews
1 2 Next