Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Samsung Samsung HT-C6500 Blu-ray Home Theater System with Built-in Wifi

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Samsung Samsung HT-C6500 Blu-ray Home Theater System with Built-in Wifi

The Samsung HT-C6500 Blu-ray Home Theater System delivers a big home-theater experience in a more streamlined package, making it the perfect system for small spaces. Internet TV delivers the best of the web, straight to your HDTV, with downloadable widgets and apps like Blockbuster, Facebook, YouTube, Twitter, Flickr, Pandora and more. You can shop online, share pictures, and catch up with friends and more. Connect to a wide range of streaming digital content at the touch of a button. Built-in WiFi brings it all together beautifully. Your Home Theater is also part of DLNA (Digital Living Network Alliance). Samsung Blu-ray Home Theater Systems are DLNA Certified and have AllShare, which enables content to be seamlessly streamed between DLNA devices, allowing you to play files stored on your PC through your home theater. An earth-friendly Eco Power Management System uses only the energy it needs, and 30% less energy overall compared to 2009 models.
Average Customer Rating:
4.214 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(103 Reviews) 83
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
55
4 stars
33
3 stars
5
2 stars
2
1 star
8
Customer Recommendation88%89 out of 101reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
55
4 stars
33
3 stars
5
2 stars
2
1 star
8
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Samsung HT-C6500 Blu-ray Home Theater System with Built-in Wifi

very poor performance on SAMSUNGS customer service

01/12/2011
By ,
ramsey, nj
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
we purchased our product as a xmas gift paid extra shipping charges to insure its arrival and then it didnt work today is jan 12 and it still doesnt work we have talked with sam sung service at least 10 times and all they want to do is send us updates for the software I want a replacement unit but they wont do it so we keep fighting with them we are very unhappy and disappointed in their customer support
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
0points
Review 2 for Samsung HT-C6500 Blu-ray Home Theater System with Built-in Wifi

Stability Issues, DO NOT BUY!

03/09/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Well the system sounds great when it works, but that's the whole problem - it doesn't! When I first got the unit the setup was a breeze and everything was setup in less than an hour(I've setup many of these before, so I had a good idea where to start). Then after about a week, it starting switching modes on me randomly - we would be watching tv and the system would switch to dvd mode and cut off the sound to the tv surround sound. Then we were watching a blue ray dvd one night and it kept ejecting the dvd after about a half hour! After about 2 weeks of having these random issues, I said enough was enough and returned it to Walmart.
Customer support at Samsung was ok, but they had no fix for the issue and wanted me to send the unit in for "repairs". Obviously this is a known issue with this model, probably the reason why its on clearance and why its so cheap. I would definitely recommend skipping over this unit and reading the reviews carefully for any others that you intend to buy. Seems like a lot of these all-in-one systems have issues. I think Samsung should stick to making TVs and let someone else make surround sound systems...
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Review 3 for Samsung HT-C6500 Blu-ray Home Theater System with Built-in Wifi

didn't work

10/16/2010
By ,
Washington State
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Purchased this product online and attempted to install it after arrival. system would not turn on for longer that 5 seconds no matter what i did. returned it to the local WM store, no problems, bought a Sony and it installed quick and easy. I also agree that you would have to be an EE to operate the Samsung.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-1point
Review 4 for Samsung HT-C6500 Blu-ray Home Theater System with Built-in Wifi

Mine was defective.

02/12/2011
By ,
TN
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I was ready to really like this product.
Wireless is built-in, and setup was fairly painless.
Music sounds awesome, which is very important to us.
Features, options, looks, are all top notch.
But...
After I tried to play a couple of standard DVDs I noticed a problem.
The DVDs either would not start, or would lock up after a few minutes.
Now, I can either ship this new unit in for repairs, or take it back and start my search all over again.
Great!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 5 for Samsung HT-C6500 Blu-ray Home Theater System with Built-in Wifi

Numerous issues right out of the box

01/03/2011
By ,
Chicago, Il
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I purchased the HTIB on walmart.com on 12.28 and it delivered to store 12.29 so that was very impressive. that is where the joy ride stopped however.
Right out of the box I experienced numerous problems in the first 3 days.
First day, I could not work the HDMI out through my Vizio 42" tv. Just to be sure it was not the TV or the HDMI cables, I tried 3 different sets of brand new Vizio HDMI cables and then also tried the HTIB on my other, smaller and new Vizio tv. it did not work on either. I run my Comcast cable through the HDMI port on the tv so the player must be the problem.
Anyhow, I was able to run the HTIB through the AV port to test the sound, etc. I have to admit the surround sound was impressive. That is one thing that is a bright spot on this product. However, that was short lived due to other problems.
Day 2 found the HTIB changing functions without touching the remote or the unit itself. Watching tv and using the surround sound after about 20 mins the unit would automatically switch to the Blue Ray/DVD function. I would use the remote to go back to the TV surround sound and about 20 mins later it would do the exact same thing. It was very annoying. Then, the next day (day 3 out of the box) the unit would shut off by itself altogether. this would happen every few minutes. I contacted Samsung and they opened a ticket and instructed me to send it in.
Since it was sunday i kept using the unit since i would not be shipping until Monday. On day 4 the remote stopped working as well. Actually, I think the remote works fine it is the unit that stopped responding to the remote. In addition, at the same time the buttons on the receiver stopped working as well. So basically, i could not use the HTIB at all. the remote and buttons on the unit no longer worked at all. I called Samsung and referenced my ticket number . They added these to my list of complaints.
Here's my concern. I really like the looks and sound of the unit but all these problems at once have me worried. The customer service rep said I have a warranty through June. I'm worried that they will refurbish this and then a few months after the warranty I'll have more problems. All these issues right of the bat makes me think i just got a junk unit.
Should I push to get a new receiver, or just return to walmart and get a new one?
Suggestions?
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 6 for Samsung HT-C6500 Blu-ray Home Theater System with Built-in Wifi

ALL GUD BUT MY NEW SYSTEM WAS VERY SCRATCHY

03/01/2011
By ,
Islamabad, Pakistan
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I bought this unit because of its high features and great price, but when i received the product, the main unit was full of scratches. It was a shock that a new system in a box is scrached. I had to travel abroad and had no time to request a change but my experience from walmart is now rough with this. The system is running great as per expectations but first eye sight of system with scratches makes all experience bad. Walmart/ samsung, kindly look into this matter!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 7 for Samsung HT-C6500 Blu-ray Home Theater System with Built-in Wifi
03/05/2011
By ,
vancleave ms
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Unit is difficult to operate and does not have the sound and range of my old Sony Surrond System
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 8 for Samsung HT-C6500 Blu-ray Home Theater System with Built-in Wifi

its nice unit but :(

01/29/2011
By ,
louisiana
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
it is easy to hook up, im unhappy b/c, I can not find the right speaker setting for watching blurays, listening music or watching tv, it is aggraveting. SFE mode, DSP mode it all confusing.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 9 for Samsung HT-C6500 Blu-ray Home Theater System with Built-in Wifi

Good but some issues

01/30/2011
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I've had this system for two months now. I really like the system but I have a few issues with it. First, I have been unable to upgrade the firmaware over Wi-fi...after some troubleshooting I was able to upgrade it over usb (put the usb in the slot while system is turned off, then turn it on has worked for me). If you connect your ipod using the dock you can't control anything through the ipod, you have to use your remote and the poorly designed samsung software interface for this. Lastly, and most important, the system will not recognize the remote about an hour into a movie. This seems specific to blu-rays and doesn't happen when watching DVDs or streaming Netflix, and I can still control my Samsung TV just fine with the remote so the problem must lie with the system itself (probably be a firmware issue). It looks like another reviewer was having the same problem.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 10 for Samsung HT-C6500 Blu-ray Home Theater System with Built-in Wifi

It would be much better if a SWA5000 were included

01/27/2011
By ,
Omaha
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The sound quality and features are excellent. It's easy to use. I understand (I haven't done so yet) that you can connect it to Wi-Fi internet to get Netfix for $8/mo.
The problem is that it says Wi-Fi speakers but the Wi-Fi is only for the two rear speakers and the two critical components for Wi-Fi are not included. One is a card that installs in the back of the receiver that costs $19 and the other is a SWA5000 wireless receiver. I found a reciever at Amazon for $99, but they were out of stock and will probably never be in-stock. I've found others on-line for $200 or so. That is a rather expensive component to not be included.
If it weren't for the SWA5000 cost/problem it would be highly recommended and a very good value.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 11 for Samsung HT-C6500 Blu-ray Home Theater System with Built-in Wifi

a couple of hiccups, but...

02/02/2011
By ,
Iowa
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
First one ordered was no good. Volume would climb spontaneously & dramatically. A reading of 15 became 23 in minutes. Returned it. Re-ordered. Second one fine but: (1) on start-up automatically changes mode from HDMI 1 (TV) to D. IN. Slight inconvenience to change it back. BOTH units did this. Tried to set up the WIFI but my router wasn't compatible. Also, if you have your cable box going into the unit and then HDMI out to your TV, the TV will not pick up the cable box unless the unit is on. So, you have to turn the 6500 on to watch TV. So, if you can live with the last two mild issues and you don't get one a crazy one like my first one, it's got a lot going for it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-1point
Review 12 for Samsung HT-C6500 Blu-ray Home Theater System with Built-in Wifi

HT-C6500

02/19/2011
By ,
Western Wisconsin
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Works great! Slight blemish on the blu-ray player. It's just a bubble on top of the unit which doesn't have anything to do with how the player works. Sounds great with surround sound. Radio reception isn't very good where I live, so i don't have much to say about that. Otherwise seems to be a very good product!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 13 for Samsung HT-C6500 Blu-ray Home Theater System with Built-in Wifi

Awesome player with a few bugs

12/15/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have nothing bad to say about the quality of the picture or the sound of the system. It Rocks!! There are just a few little "bugs" that maybe only affecting my unit. Is anyone having an issue with the touch sensitive buttons on top of the unit? There is no common theme causing the problem that I can tell but the issue is that when the unit is turned off the buttons on top stay illuminated and stop working completely. I’ve upgraded the firmware which didn’t help and the only thing Samsung tech support has me do is unplug the unit from the wall. The buttons start working again but only for a short amount of time and the problem reoccurs.
The other issue is I purposely purchased a Samsung TV (55” LED…it rocks!) figuring the two Samsung devices would be compatible with each other. Actually there is a built in feature that is supposed to make 2 Samsung devices work better together with a single remote etc. In my opinion is makes it worse. I would recommend turning off that feature. That has made my experience much better.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 14 for Samsung HT-C6500 Blu-ray Home Theater System with Built-in Wifi

Blu Ray and sound is GREAT

02/09/2011
By ,
Atlantic City,NJ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Blu Ray and sound is GREAT!
Only problem was I had to go to Radio Shack to buy a optical cable for the cable box to the Blu Ray to get sound on the Television.
$25.00 optical cord should be included with the system.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 15 for Samsung HT-C6500 Blu-ray Home Theater System with Built-in Wifi

Awesome after setup

09/20/2010
By ,
Mayville, WI
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
this home theater system sounds great. we couldnt have asked for anything more. the setup wasnt that easy. it took like 4 hours for us to finally figure everything out with what cables we needed, how to connect them and then how to adjust what settings etc. but once it was all done, we couldnt be happier. the pandora is awesome and we use the netflix all the time. its really a good buy for the money...oh and the people at samsung were very helpful when we called with our setup issues.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 16 for Samsung HT-C6500 Blu-ray Home Theater System with Built-in Wifi

i like it a lot, but...

11/01/2010
By ,
Wisconsin
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
it's a fantastic system! the only thing is that there are some glitches within the user interface. it froze up twice on us, and then we installed the update (which was somewhat tricky), and it seems okay since then. It's also our first blu ray system and it does seem that blu rays are more "finicky" or something because sometimes they take for frickin ever to load, and sometimes we experienced some type of minor but noticeable 'skipping' effect...? the remote is nice and works okay with our Samsung TV, but i wish there was a Ch List button.. oh well.
So aside from that stuff, and once you get it set up and updated, it is a very amazing system especially for the price.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 17 for Samsung HT-C6500 Blu-ray Home Theater System with Built-in Wifi

Great Product

01/24/2011
By ,
Hartford, WI
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a great product. It met all of my expectations. I did a lot of research before buying and found this to be the best product for the price. Setup was easy and setting up the wireless was pretty simple. I needed a secondary system for the living room and this fits the bill. This is my first HTIB and did not know what to expect. I have a full theater system in the basement, so I was not sure if I would like it. But I was pleasantly surprised by the sound. You will not be disappointed.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 18 for Samsung HT-C6500 Blu-ray Home Theater System with Built-in Wifi
01/12/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
works great for the money.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 19 for Samsung HT-C6500 Blu-ray Home Theater System with Built-in Wifi

Decent

01/20/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great sound! Glitchy controls.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 20 for Samsung HT-C6500 Blu-ray Home Theater System with Built-in Wifi

Needs parts to be complete

02/04/2011
By ,
Orlando, Florida
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The only problem I had with this offer is I thought it came wireless, the main reason I bought it. I did not know I would have to invest another $200.00 in parts after I bought it to make it wireless when the only reason I bought it was because it said wireless and I thought to myself, get rid of all those wires. Hmmm! Great sound though with wires!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
1-20 of 62 total reviews
1 2 3 4 Next