Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Sony Sony MDRXB500 40MM Extra Bass Headphones

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Sony Sony MDRXB500 40MM Extra Bass Headphones

Sony MDRXB500 40MM Extra Bass Headphones comes with a monster bass sound quality so that you can enjoy thumping music every day. The extra bass headphones with 40mm driver units and sealed acoustic design have a frequency response of 4-24000 Hz achieved through sound isolation. They have a circum-aural closed structure that minimizes leakage of sound and improves audio quality. The headphones feature a seamless cloth headband that ensures utmost comfort when you wear it. The ear cushions used in the headphones are angled parallel which helps to reduce the headphone pressure, giving you a comfortable listening experience. Popular with music lovers, over-the-head headphones will provide high levels of sound isolation. They come along with a carrying pouch, making it an ideal accessory for people who love to listen to their favorite music when they are on the go. They are also fitted with Y-type cords which help to minimize any tangles while you are traveling.
Average Customer Rating:
4.865 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(96 Reviews) 90
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
86
4 stars
8
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
0
Customer Recommendation95%91 out of 96reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
86
4 stars
8
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
0
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Sony MDRXB500 40MM Extra Bass Headphones

Amazingly good sound

07/13/2010
By ,
California
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
These headphones are great. I've had them for 7 months now, and they are very durable with not a scratch, crack, or faulty wire. They have EXCELLENT sound, very very nice deep bass, but not boomy like other headphones (Roxy headphones have this "boomy" effect). Clear, pure treble. I have not regretted buying them, not once!! Except I payed $80 for them at Best Buy. But that doesn't really matter. Overall, fabulous headphones with excellent sound. A must-have!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Female
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every day
+24points
Review 2 for Sony MDRXB500 40MM Extra Bass Headphones

These is Legit!

01/31/2011
By ,
Platteville, WI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I cannot say enough how much I love these headphones! They are AMAZING! I hear parts of songs I've never heard before! You get the complete music-listening experience with these! they really turn heads at school too! Many asked if they were "Beats!" Although I've never heard music through Beats, these have GOT to compare! I don't think you can get much better than these Sony's! They are legit-good! Bass is SUPERIOR! Especially with movie-soundtrack orchestra songs, the bass of the string instruments blows you away! Ok, ya know when you watch a really cool action movie at a huge theater with a really loud sound system in the theater? And at a big part in the movie, it's so loud and powerful that it feels like there's a wind blowing you back into your seat? That is what it is like to listen with these headphones! Anyone would be crazy not to buy these! If they compare to $450 headphones, then these $50 ones are a major steal! The only downside is that it drains the iPod battery a little faster than smaller headphones because the iPod's battery powers the headphones, but that's not bad at all compared to how great they are! They are also so comfortable and they really keep the music in (they don't leak sound unless turned up all the way) and they keep outside noise out! I can't hear ANYthing with these babies on!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+17points
Review 3 for Sony MDRXB500 40MM Extra Bass Headphones

They sound better than headphones 5x their price

08/31/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I consider myself an experienced user of headphones, as I use them every day for music, audiobooks, and gaming. I have gone through more pairs of headphones than I care to count and have used almost every style at some point.
I first tried a demo of these headphones alongside several more expensive models from companies like Bose, and much more expensive than these Extra Bass headphones. These headphones stood out for several reasons. First, the earcups are massive, and big enough that your ears do not feel squished or at all uncomfortable. The headband is also wide and padded which only improves the comfort.
As for the audio quality, these headphones definitely live up to their name. The bass is full and obvious without overpowering the rest of the sound spectrum. The extra Bass headphones feel very durable, though I have not had them long enough to make an accurate statement. The cord is flat, so seems almost impossible to tangle.
Overall, these are some of the best headphones I have ever tried and I hope their long-term durability lives up to their apparent quality.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 4 for Sony MDRXB500 40MM Extra Bass Headphones
09/13/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent value! Smooth response from low to highs. Accurate sound reproduction! Low power consumption for longer battery life in portable CD player! Very comfortable!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+7points
Review 5 for Sony MDRXB500 40MM Extra Bass Headphones

This is what true Love is. And FAAAAST delivery

08/25/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wow. You cant really appreciate these until you own a pair.
I have always had great experiences with anything Sony!
Right away you notice the light weight of the things. The ear muffs are like a giant comfy clouds. I have a bigger than normal head, and wear glasses. these are a fantastic, with no pinch or discomfort.
the sound is as predicted amazing. Highs lows, and in between!!,And if you like bass these are it.
Dont assume that since they are 50 bucks they are on the lower end. Not at all.
They sound like there is a true sub-woofer in them.
If you like action movies youl never watch another movie without these again.
( im watching Batman dark night and just too cool)you can feel the exlopsions.
If you really want a set of cans that will put you into whatever you watch or listen to these are it!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 6 for Sony MDRXB500 40MM Extra Bass Headphones

Comfortable with great sound

05/07/2011
By ,
Middle Alabama
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfortable enough for a 2 hour movie.
Excellent sound. I am in the process of buying another set.
Only one problem - no in-line volume control. Bought one from ebay.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 7 for Sony MDRXB500 40MM Extra Bass Headphones
12/26/2011
By ,
northeast Oklahoma
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Headphones offer a great bass response and the over all sound quality is excellent. Very comfortable to wear and isolates outside sounds without the need for for more expensive headphones. A Walmart competitor had a " special sale " at the price of $89.00. Walmart's price of $49.00 is a fantastic value. I am more than happy with this purchase
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 8 for Sony MDRXB500 40MM Extra Bass Headphones
03/20/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
These headphones are awesome, I have listened to headphones that cost 3 times the price of these,and the sony extra bass sound just as good or better then those. They also are very comfy to where, and they look trendy. Do yourself a favor and purchase these headphones, you wont be disapointed.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 9 for Sony MDRXB500 40MM Extra Bass Headphones

EXTREMELY COMFORTABLE and LOVE THE SOUND!!

07/27/2010
By ,
Houston, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
its ridiculous how comfortable these headphones are!! and the sound is great that extra bass sound really good!! i can listen to music for hours with these.. and walmart offers a way better price then other stores who want to charge almost $80 for the exact same ones..
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 10 for Sony MDRXB500 40MM Extra Bass Headphones

GREAT

07/01/2010
By ,
long island ny
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I HAD BOSE IN EAR HEADPHONES, AND THESE SOUND JUST LIKE THEM. IF YOU LOVE BASS LIKE ME THIS IS IT. THEYRE JUST LIKE THE BEATS BY DRE ONES. TRUST ME! WORTH EVERY PENNY.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 11 for Sony MDRXB500 40MM Extra Bass Headphones
11/22/2011
By ,
Bahston
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great value , super bass , worth the purchase ! If you enjoy rock or hip-hop , these are perfect ! I'm really surprised at the quality , just fantastic !
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 12 for Sony MDRXB500 40MM Extra Bass Headphones

outstanding performance

09/29/2011
By ,
Mamaroneck, NY.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm a fan of great sound when it comes to my music, and always have been but I had no idea this was possible for headphones too, I mean I have great speakers for my computer and the quality and the bass are outstanding. Well.. one day in some store I was listening music from one of those music stations with the touchscreen interaction and they had this headphones with amazing sound but I never really paid attention to what brand they were, so I went back the next day and it turned out to be this brand from this famous rapper So I started going online and look'em up but the prices were sky high, and I decided to go for the cheapest ones and bought'em they were still out of my expectations and as soon as I put'em on and start listening to them realized how low quality the sound was, no better than a pair of headphones worth $30 bucks, so it was a huge disappointment because I couldn't afford the really good ones so I returned'em like half an hour after I pruchased them because I knew exactly what I wanted, Until one day looking up on line I came across the SONY EXTRA BASS the name sounded exciting so I started reading all people's reviews and I as I was reading it got more interesting and more convincing although I was a little skeptic because I've had some bad experiences before but decided to go for it and the price was also the best part of all but at the same time like a sign that maybe it wasn't gonna be that great, but don't get fooled by the price, anyway... I decided to go for it and as I was waiting for the confirmation e-mail I got more anxious about it, every day more and more until I finnally got'em and immediately put'em on and I was blown away I mean the beats sound great but these are just as good or better but definitely not less and the price $50 bucks??? I was like you gotta be kidding me this is like a dream come true... I mean yes they are that good and the words EXTRA BASS aren't there just for nothing, it really blows my mind it's like having a jaw dropping subwoofer inside your ears nothing beats them and I listen to heavy metal music which you know it's not intended to have a great bass sound over all else and yet it delivers it, no problem, I'm so glad I purchased them and the search for excellent quality sound is over and if I ever have to buy another pair it would be these I mean, SONY really nailed it plus you know how reliable this brand is and they prove it, thay are the best at electronic entertaiment and for only $50 bucks!!!! Well I hope my little story helped you, you'd be crazy not to get them or spending a huge amount of money for something that is not better than this.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 13 for Sony MDRXB500 40MM Extra Bass Headphones

Headphones

09/14/2010
By ,
Indianapolis, Indiana
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My husband loves these headphones. They are perfect for him at work.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-2points
Review 14 for Sony MDRXB500 40MM Extra Bass Headphones

The Poor man's BEATS

07/25/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
For $50 these are an awesome buy. Fit nice and cozy, heavy duty cord to keep from breaking/ripping the cord, very refined sound, fair noise cancelling, and BASSSSSSS! Great, great bass. AND no batteries required like Beats Audio headphones. Would recommend to ANYONE.
Also note, a 1 year extended replacement plan only cost me an extra $3! Whole purchase was totally worth it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 15 for Sony MDRXB500 40MM Extra Bass Headphones

A World of Sound

08/11/2011
By ,
Miami
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
These headphones really immerse you in the music, you can hear music all around you and notice subtleties in songs that are lost when using speakers. The only headphones I'd recommend more than these would be some with noise cancellation, but anything with actual noise cancellation costs four times as much as these. My only complaint is that the cord is very short, I bought an extension cable to make up for it.
Highly recommended, great quality sound and deep bass.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
 
My Product Recommendations
 
0points
Review 16 for Sony MDRXB500 40MM Extra Bass Headphones

Wow

10/17/2011
By ,
Middleburg, Fl
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Much better than what I was expecting for this little money. These are my first headphones since the 1970's and they have made some amazing changes over the years. These are comfortable around my ears. I forget I am wearing them. I don't even have to turn the volume up very much and my hearing is terrible after being around Navy Jets for nearly 29 years. Ordered on Wal-Mart.com and arrived in 3 days to store.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 17 for Sony MDRXB500 40MM Extra Bass Headphones

not that great

05/04/2011
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Very comfortable, but sound is just okay for a $50+ purchase. Not that I expected Dr. Dre's, but seriously. The sound is actually drowned out by all the cushioning!
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-19points
Review 18 for Sony MDRXB500 40MM Extra Bass Headphones

Wonderful!

01/13/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My mother and I got these for my Father for Christmas this year and he loves them! The sound is amazing. They make you feel like you're in the same room with whoever you are listening to. I highly recommend!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 19 for Sony MDRXB500 40MM Extra Bass Headphones

SATISFIED

07/21/2010
By ,
Pensacola, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
These headphones are great for bass trip addicts like me. Very powerful. I hear details and bass lines i never knew were in songs ive had for months. Highly recommended especially for the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 20 for Sony MDRXB500 40MM Extra Bass Headphones

great item

02/12/2011
By ,
Fort Wayne, IN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought these for my 17 year old grandson. He told me they are very comfortable, they look great and they sound awesome!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
1-20 of 27 total reviews
1 2 Next