Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for LG LG 42" Class LED-LCD 1080p 120Hz Internet-Connected HDTV , 1.2" ultra-slim, 42LE5400

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

LG LG 42" Class LED-LCD 1080p 120Hz Internet-Connected HDTV , 1.2" ultra-slim, 42LE5400

ENERGY STAR ® Products that are ENERGY STAR-qualified prevent greenhouse gas emissions by meeting strict energy efficiency guidelines set by the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency and the U.S. Department of Energy. The ENERGY STAR name and marks are registered marks owned by the U.S. government, as part of their energy efficiency and environmental activities. The LG 42" 1080p LED-LCD HDTV lets you tap directly into instant movies and entertainment with NetCast. You'll break free of your cable box and messy wires with Wireless 1080p, too. Note: You must have a source of HD programming in order to take full advantage of the LG 42" 1080p LED-LCD HDTV. Contact your local cable or satellite TV service provider for details on how to upgrade.
Average Customer Rating:
4.801 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(141 Reviews) 119
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
118
4 stars
20
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
1
Customer Recommendation99%139 out of 141reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
118
4 stars
20
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
1
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for LG 42" Class LED-LCD 1080p 120Hz Internet-Connected HDTV , 1.2" ultra-slim, 42LE5400

Meets all expectations

06/08/2010
By ,
Milton, Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Researched T.V.'s for several days and this one seemed to have everything I was looking for. It is unsurpassed in performance. Already had an LG DVD player and the two are 100% compatible, never touch the DVD remote.
Tried to buy this t.v. from another company but they did not live up to their advertisement. Never did receive the unit. Purchased from Wal-mart and the unit was delivered in less than 48 hours. You can't go wrong purchasing this T.V. from Wal-Mart.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+36points
Review 2 for LG 42" Class LED-LCD 1080p 120Hz Internet-Connected HDTV , 1.2" ultra-slim, 42LE5400

Probably not for the wall

09/10/2010
By ,
Pensacola
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture and features are fine. However the speakers are not for the hard of hearing. Being on the back side, I think wall mounting will only work with home audio.
Be prepared to spend a lot for a system that has an optical digital input as the only sound out put that the TV has is optical or headset.
For the hard of hearing: The volume goes from 0-100. Any thing above 50 is hardly noticed by me.
Can you believe I run with 100?
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Review 3 for LG 42" Class LED-LCD 1080p 120Hz Internet-Connected HDTV , 1.2" ultra-slim, 42LE5400

#1 LED HDTV

01/01/2011
By ,
Whoville, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The picture on this LG LED HDTV is absolutely superior!! It is the best of all the tvs we considered buying. We love love love VUDU and watching all the trailers to decide which movie to instantly stream, it makes watching a movie so convenient. I do think the wifi adaptor should have been included with the tv but found it on amazon for $40. We especially like how super thin it is, would look so sleek hanging on the wall. Very satisfied customer
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+8points
Review 4 for LG 42" Class LED-LCD 1080p 120Hz Internet-Connected HDTV , 1.2" ultra-slim, 42LE5400

Couldn't Ask for Better

07/18/2010
By ,
Tampa, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've been looking for an HDTV for a while and liked the new LED versions but waited for more brands to come on the market. When I saw the LG LED, I was immediately interested since I was so pleased with my LG Plasma that I had for 5 years at my prior home. Needless to say I am thrilled with the new TV. Everything you could ask for in picture quality, sound and convenience to use is there, and the lighter weight makes wall mounting easy.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 5 for LG 42" Class LED-LCD 1080p 120Hz Internet-Connected HDTV , 1.2" ultra-slim, 42LE5400

Absolutely Amazing

09/10/2010
By ,
Palestine TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My husband and I have been wanting to upgrade our living room television for a while, but we did not want to settle for something of low quality just bc of a low price. This television is worth every penny! Even after finding this on walmart.com we looked at other sites to compare prices and none even came close. There are many amazing options but the picture alone makes it well worth the money
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 6 for LG 42" Class LED-LCD 1080p 120Hz Internet-Connected HDTV , 1.2" ultra-slim, 42LE5400

Sweet

03/30/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love it! 10 days after I got it I checked the webpage and it was cheaper! They said no refund at the store, because I ordered it online. So shot off an email to corporate and waa-laa....same day got back to me and said, "We have refunded your account in the amount of 94.95" All I can say is sweet!!! Thank you, Wal-Mart!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 7 for LG 42" Class LED-LCD 1080p 120Hz Internet-Connected HDTV , 1.2" ultra-slim, 42LE5400

Great TV but NOT Internet Connected

05/27/2011
By ,
Boulder, Colorado
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
While LG is a great TV, we expected that "Internet Connected" meant just that. We had to buy an Ethernet cable (50') and connect our DSL modem, via the cable, to the TV. There are about 5 or so Internet choices where the only one that is of any value is "You Tube". Even that one is not really Internet connected, you have to choose your You Tube video, save it to Favorites, and then you can bring it up on the TV under Favorites. All the other videos available on the TV are pre-chosen by ?someone, and are just about useless. The only way we can access the Internet will be to connect to our PC with an HDMI cable. I imagine one can do that with most new TVs, Internet Ready or not. The sound does not even come close to the quality of our 15 year old TV, so will have to buy and connect to a decent sound system. The picture is beautiful and controls are easy to use. We did a lot of checking and this seemed to be the best buy and best Consumers Report rated TV.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 8 for LG 42" Class LED-LCD 1080p 120Hz Internet-Connected HDTV , 1.2" ultra-slim, 42LE5400
05/17/2011
By ,
NH, seacoast
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very nice Led tv for the money or any price!
very slim ...very clear picture and with a Blu Ray disc. it looks amazing!
I have a 40" Sony Bravia that we moved to the bedroom and The LG 5400 is far superior picture.
Very happy with my purchase .
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 9 for LG 42" Class LED-LCD 1080p 120Hz Internet-Connected HDTV , 1.2" ultra-slim, 42LE5400

Disapointed

09/10/2010
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture quality is average for what I paid. THe processor still can't keep up and causes blurs.
The back light doesnt seem to work right- it cast uneven shadow on dark scenes-and the top right corner of the screen is illuminated way more than the rest-
Thinking about returning it.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-3points
Review 10 for LG 42" Class LED-LCD 1080p 120Hz Internet-Connected HDTV , 1.2" ultra-slim, 42LE5400

perfect for what I need it for

10/26/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
very clear picture, plus it's energy efficient
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 11 for LG 42" Class LED-LCD 1080p 120Hz Internet-Connected HDTV , 1.2" ultra-slim, 42LE5400

Pretty nice overall

04/25/2011
By ,
Coronado, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ive had the TV about 2 weeks. The picture when watching an HD movie is absolutely amazing. My wife doesn't like it because it's too clear and shows the imperfections of the movies! It's a beautiful set, even when off. However, the sound--although loud enough--sounds like a tin can. You will want a sound bar or home theatre system for movies. The refresh rate says 120hz, and it gets blurry at fast action movies and in sports. Watching NBA now, and you can see the blur. Also watched Planet 51 with my son, and the explosion scenes were very blurry. Not sure if this is just an LCD issue with all 120hz, or just this LG. If you like sports, better get the 240hz at minimum.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 12 for LG 42" Class LED-LCD 1080p 120Hz Internet-Connected HDTV , 1.2" ultra-slim, 42LE5400

Unbelievable Price

05/12/2011
By ,
NH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Maybe it was a sale but I go this for $798. The cheapest that I found it anywhere was $999.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 13 for LG 42" Class LED-LCD 1080p 120Hz Internet-Connected HDTV , 1.2" ultra-slim, 42LE5400

Best investment we've made to date!

08/03/2010
By ,
Upstate Western New York
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Spent M-A-N-Y hours checking out the different brands, models and types. This TV had everything we wanted at a price that was so low that it was hard to believe. Placed the order with Walmart at 10:30 in the evening and a day and a half later it was at our door! Clearest picture we've seen on A-N-Y flat screen TV LCD, Plasma or LED-LCD! Has so many "goodies" we really have a hard time finding the time to play with them. We would highly recommend this Product/brand/type to any and all our friends. Should have gone to Walmart first; it would have saved a lot of time and energy.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 14 for LG 42" Class LED-LCD 1080p 120Hz Internet-Connected HDTV , 1.2" ultra-slim, 42LE5400

Amazing TV!!

05/15/2011
By ,
Akron, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This tv is simply amazing! It is 42 inches but only weighs about 40 lbs.! The picture is crisp and clear and the sound is beautiful! I love the internet hookup and I used it already! If you want a big tv for a good price this is the one to get!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 15 for LG 42" Class LED-LCD 1080p 120Hz Internet-Connected HDTV , 1.2" ultra-slim, 42LE5400

Love it

05/13/2011
By ,
IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I did a lot of shopping around both online and in stores before purchasing this TV. For the price of 799.00 @ Walmart I just couldn't beat the features. As with most TVs these days the sound isn't the greatest, but not terrible. I do wish it had built in wifi, but it's nice that I can get a USB adapter later. The picture is amazing. The whole family sits and marvels at the size and clarity. We love it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 16 for LG 42" Class LED-LCD 1080p 120Hz Internet-Connected HDTV , 1.2" ultra-slim, 42LE5400

Love it

05/19/2011
By ,
Georgia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is our first flat screen HD TV. Have had it for a week but very satisfied so far. Very easy to set up. I had been watching for a good deal as our old analog tv was telling us it was time to upgrade. After considering several others I could not pass up this deal at Walmart.com. No other retailer was even close on price and I knew this was the one. Could not be happier with the picture quality. The only negative is the sound quality is not as good as the old tv and I am considering some external speakers, but otherwise the best value out there at this time.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 17 for LG 42" Class LED-LCD 1080p 120Hz Internet-Connected HDTV , 1.2" ultra-slim, 42LE5400

Awesome Picture

05/18/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I too did several weeks of research, both on line and visiting several stores before deciding on this product. I couldn't be more pleased. I currently have three HD TV's in my home all connected to Directv in High Definition. This new TV absolutely blows away my other TV's in picture quality. I bought this TV for the bedroom, and now my wife is upset because I spend so much time there. The downside, I now have to purchase a new TV in the DEN. It's that much of a difference.
My neighbor who has a new high end Plasma couldn't believe the picture quality on my LG. Great deal and highly recommended. The people at walmart were extremely friendly when I picked up the TV at the store (free shipping). If you haven't shopped at Walmart lately, they really are focused on customer service as stated in their new advertising.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Review 18 for LG 42" Class LED-LCD 1080p 120Hz Internet-Connected HDTV , 1.2" ultra-slim, 42LE5400

LED TV is Better

04/16/2011
By ,
Del Mar, Ca.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have had the TV for 2 weeks now. The picture is very nice, better than my four year old Sony Bravia 40 inch LCD was. The sound quality and volume is fine with the built in speakers. I have not used the Internet option because it does not come with the required external Wifi adapter and I already had an LG BlueRay DVD player with built in Wifi which I am using for Internet access. The TV does have Amazon movie access which the DVD player does not so maybe someday I will get the Wifi adapter, but I use Netflix streaming to the DVD player and Netflix has enough movies to satisfy me for now. The main reason I am writing this review is to comment on the added value of the LED TV versus non-LED LCD TVs. The non-LED TVs are cheaper at the initial purchase but can cost more in the long run. I purchased a Sony non-LED LCD TV a bit less than 4 years ago. Three weeks ago it died because of a failure of the fluorescent backlights that illuminate the LCD screen. When I checked on the Internet I found this failure is common. And the cost to repair is $1140, so more than the cost of a new TV. And also the boards that create the high voltage to feed the fluorescent have a high failure rate. Cost to repair those is a few hundred dollars. But the LEDs have a much longer life than fluorescents and the LEDs don't require as high a voltage as the LEDs so the drivers are less likely to fail. Plus the LEDs use about 50 watts less electricity. The money saved on electricity is not huge, but the 200 watts a non-LED TV uses also heats up the room the TV is in more. Plus the LED TVs have a slightly better picture quality. So I think it is worthwhile to pay more to get an LED TV. I ordered my TV from Walmart via their web page on Saturday, using the least expensive $20 shipping method. The order was processed on Sunday and marked as "shipped" on the web site. But Fed Ex Home Delivery picked it up on Monday in Georgia and delivered it to my house in California on Friday morning. It required a signature for the delivery so fortunately I was home to sign.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 19 for LG 42" Class LED-LCD 1080p 120Hz Internet-Connected HDTV , 1.2" ultra-slim, 42LE5400

Goodbutnotperfect

04/10/2011
By ,
Sacramento
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good to go except for some little things. Even after purchase I can’t find one that I believe has better value. However, it is not truly internet ready. Gotta buy some more stuff. I am a Netflix subscriber and have to access through the Wii. No big deal but internet connected was one of the features I weighed while deciding. Not as advertised. The only other thing is the sound. Not great but OK. Goes from 0 to 100, haven’t needed above 40 even with a roomful. It will go loud but doesn’t have any bass. As I am a renter and am planning to move in the next few months my surround sound system will stay packed as the sound is good enough. Anyone new to HD will be amazed by the picture as I was. Must buy LCD.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 20 for LG 42" Class LED-LCD 1080p 120Hz Internet-Connected HDTV , 1.2" ultra-slim, 42LE5400

Fantastic!

05/31/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture quality is...how can I say it...WOW!This is not my first HDTV. The one I had was about 10 years old and the improvements that have been made over that period of time are astonishing. Very easy to install and set up....my kids did the install and set-up for me and were very impressed with the ease. Walmart's service was everything I expected. The TV has only been up one day...will comment further if there are any problems. If not, I am just going to sit back and enjoy it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
1-20 of 47 total reviews
1 2 3 Next