Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for LG LG 55" Class LED-LCD 1080p 120Hz Internet-Connected HDTV, 55LE5400

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

LG LG 55" Class LED-LCD 1080p 120Hz Internet-Connected HDTV, 55LE5400

The LG 55" 1080p LED-LCD HDTV lets you tap directly into instant movies and entertainment with NetCast. You'll break free of your cable box and tangled wires with wireless 1080p on this 120Hz Internet-connected model. Note: You must have a source of HD programming in order to take full advantage of the LG 55" 1080p LED-LCD HDTV. Otherwise, the picture quality of an HDTV without an HD source may not be much better than a standard-definition TV. Please contact your local cable or satellite TV service provider for details on how to upgrade to HD programming.
Average Customer Rating:
4.559 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(111 Reviews) 99
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
81
4 stars
21
3 stars
4
2 stars
0
1 star
5
Customer Recommendation93%103 out of 111reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
81
4 stars
21
3 stars
4
2 stars
0
1 star
5
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for LG 55" Class LED-LCD 1080p 120Hz Internet-Connected HDTV, 55LE5400

Good for 5 hours!!!

09/16/2010
By ,
Spring Creek, NV
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picked up the TV from my local store, brought it home, mounted it on the wall, connected my satellite and blue ray, & and everything worked great for the first night. Approximately 3 hours! turned it on the next morning and after about a half hour the picture froze and the the lines starting to form on the screen. Called LG customer service and was told that this is odd that it happened with a brand new set!!! But I could call the closest repair facility myself (located approx. 250 miles away). When I called I was told they couldn't do anything until LG contacted them with a warranty authorization number. I decided to just box up the set and return it to the store. WalMart took the set back with absolutely no hassles. If they hadn't I would have had to probably wait for who knows how long for the repair facility to actually come over the 250 miles and hopefully repair a brand new, used less than 5 hour set!!! I am now looking for another tv and it will be a different brand.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+4points
Review 2 for LG 55" Class LED-LCD 1080p 120Hz Internet-Connected HDTV, 55LE5400

Great - a couple of look outs

06/26/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wireless adapter not included. Only gets you access to LGs chosen websites. If you want full Internet you will have to connect your PC via VGA. Select wall mount carefully, ensuring you have enough space between the wall and the TV to hook up your components. I had to replace regular HDMI with swivel HDMI. Great TV. I paired it with LG Blu-Ray Home Theater. Both purchased from Wal-Mart and delivered to the house as promised. I would buy both again.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+40points
Review 3 for LG 55" Class LED-LCD 1080p 120Hz Internet-Connected HDTV, 55LE5400

LG 55LE5400

05/01/2010
By ,
Alabama
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is an outstanding LCD LED lit TV. It arrived ahead of the projected date and was in perfect condition. The things I like about this model is the non-glare surface, the picture quality, the easy wireless connection to the internet along with the pre-loaded widgets (more about that later), the price is excellent at Wal-mart.com, and the easy navigation using the remote. The only disappointment was the lack of Skype as a pre-loaded Widget. The LG site had Skype listed as being pre-loaded in their specifications page and they touted it as a big part of their new line of LED TVs. The advertisements leading up to the release went on and on about how this is what people want, so why was it not part of the release? I called customer service at LG and they said they would have to get back to me. After a couple of days I called them again and the person said they had the wrong telephone number and that is why I had not heard anything. Bottom line, Skype was not ready for release when the TV was, but they expect it to be on the ones that will ship midsummer or August time frame. They said they would notify customers when it is ready and we can download it to the TV. Should you buy this TV? I think you will be very happy with it. It does not have the almost artificial colors of some of the other top-end TVs--I think it is more natural. Finally, I use an A/V surround system, so I don't use the TV's speakers, therefore I can't comment on the sound quality. I've been watching it for the past month now and would buy it again.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+24points
Review 4 for LG 55" Class LED-LCD 1080p 120Hz Internet-Connected HDTV, 55LE5400

onlyOK

05/19/2010
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
brought this TV home along with the sony kdl ex500, compared them side by side and the sony picture quality blew this TV away. I couldn't get the picture to match the sony no matter what I did with the settings. It's not a bad TV but you can get far better picture quality for less money if you don't need the thin factor of this TV
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Picture Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Sound Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+13points
Review 5 for LG 55" Class LED-LCD 1080p 120Hz Internet-Connected HDTV, 55LE5400

Great product for price

09/08/2010
By ,
IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The price difference between store and online was considerable. If you're going to do wireless don't forget to order the network dongle online it's probably cheaper. Using some of the network features might be better over a wired connection. Hanging this on the wall was about my only option and the Peerless 37 - 60 Universal Tilt wall mount worked well since we only needed it to tilt a little.
In my opinion the picture was unsurpassed by anything in the store, and the online price just made it better. Too bad they can't sell it from the store for the same price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 6 for LG 55" Class LED-LCD 1080p 120Hz Internet-Connected HDTV, 55LE5400

A fantastic Product

10/03/2010
By ,
Kempner, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
One of the best purchases we have made, very happy with the quality, cost and best around picture quality...
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 7 for LG 55" Class LED-LCD 1080p 120Hz Internet-Connected HDTV, 55LE5400

Fantastic

09/15/2010
By ,
Mosca, CO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Everything about the LG 55" LCD/LED is FANTASTIC. The picture is perfect in every way. The only thing I can say didn't meet expectations is the sound. But I understand if I add a surround sound system it's out of this world. Would recommend this unit to everyone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 8 for LG 55" Class LED-LCD 1080p 120Hz Internet-Connected HDTV, 55LE5400

LG

03/20/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture quality is great souds good. a little disappointed in the fact that you still have some scene not being used, also the features are seemingly easy to use.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+7points
Review 9 for LG 55" Class LED-LCD 1080p 120Hz Internet-Connected HDTV, 55LE5400

GOOD VALUE

07/01/2010
By ,
Marquette, MI
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
In reading these customer reviews I was able to make my decision. THANKS to all of you who took the time to provide your opinion. I am not tech savy nor am I ignorant. I am however, a T.V. addict! The HD on this outstanding. The widgets and all the "extras" in conjunction with the specs of this model at this price, is hard to beat. I'm greatful I didn't buy the Sony. I wasn't impressed with shipping time. I chose to buy from the web site because there is/was enough of a price difference to make it worth while. I also chose ship to store for added security of undamaged product. Seriously, if you're on the fence, jump off and buy this set.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 10 for LG 55" Class LED-LCD 1080p 120Hz Internet-Connected HDTV, 55LE5400

Great value for money

12/05/2010
By ,
Bealeton, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Replaced a 65" DLP in our family room with this TV. Had earlier bought a 50" LG in the UK, and decided to go with the brand again. Very pleased with the quality of the image, sound, initial set up and ease of use. Use Directv DVR and LG Blue Ray/internet box (also purchased from Walmart). Movie quality from the DVD player is excellent as is the broadcast TV image. Have not yet connected to the internet, but do so shortly.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 11 for LG 55" Class LED-LCD 1080p 120Hz Internet-Connected HDTV, 55LE5400

Excellent Choice

09/14/2010
By ,
Springfield, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was very surprised when I received my new TV. It more then met my expectations and was well worth the money that I paid for it. The picture quality was beyond anything that i expected and setting it up was easier then I thought it would be. However, the sound quality is good, but this set plays even better with a surround sound system. I would highly recommend this TV set to everyone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 12 for LG 55" Class LED-LCD 1080p 120Hz Internet-Connected HDTV, 55LE5400

Great T.V. at a great price!

09/14/2010
By ,
Abilene, Tx.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was a very good product and a good price. Makes a beautiful picture. The Football games are like being there!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 13 for LG 55" Class LED-LCD 1080p 120Hz Internet-Connected HDTV, 55LE5400

Great TV recommendation

12/21/2010
By ,
Jasper, IN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've only had the tv for a couple weeks, but I was impressed right out of the box. It is sleek, and had a great picture from the get go. I'll be honest to say I haven't played with all the features yet. I'm going to get an HDMI ethernet cord to make things a little easier with the extra features. I'm also in the process of ordering a surround sound system. It is true with this flatter screen, you practically have to turn the volume all the way up to hear it decently. But, that is just standard with these sorts of tv's as I understand it. You could survive with out the surround, but I think it will make it better. So be prepared for that extra expense. All in all, I would purchase this tv again. For the look and the price, it is a good tv most would be happy to have.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 14 for LG 55" Class LED-LCD 1080p 120Hz Internet-Connected HDTV, 55LE5400

Awesome TV

12/28/2010
By ,
Houston,TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This Tv has an awesome picture when connected with an HDMI cord from a true HD provider like Directv. Set up & programing was very simple.
The sound quality is like a transitor radio, but I knew this going in.. You can't get good sound out of 2 small speakers in an inch thick television. Beware: This set only has an optical audio output. Luckily my DTV box has 2 channel A/V outputs, so I was able to run the audio through my home stereo system. (You do have to turn the televisions volume all the way down, otherwise you get an echo. The HDMI cord delivers audio a split second sooner to tv than A/V cables do to the stereo.
All in all I'm very happy with this set.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 15 for LG 55" Class LED-LCD 1080p 120Hz Internet-Connected HDTV, 55LE5400

Don't buy an LG

12/12/2010
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought the LG 55LE5400 from Walmart online. Order went well, Walmart delivered on time etc.
This set has very poor picture and sound quality.
I was at a friends yesterday and he has two large screen LED edge lit HDTV's on a common cable feed. One is a Samsung and the other a LG.
There is a very noticeable difference in the picture and sound quality from the Samsung as compared to the LG. Same football game, same channel. Almost everyone watched the Samsung. Man, am I mad at myself for buying the LG. I wasted $1700.00.
The clincher:
Then I want to hook the sound output from the TV to my stereo. Guess what... You can't. You need an optical cable to transmit digital sound and this naturally won't connect through RCA plugs to an existing stereo.
You would think LG could provide two simple connectors for an analog output wouldn't you.
And of course when calling a store including Walmart about it, nobody knows this is the case. Calling LG direct, naturally with a person barely speaking English, put me on hold for several minutes then mentioned an opto cable and converter.
So now I have an additional $125 worth of cable and audio digital to analog converter on order. Oh, and if you order a converter be sure to get the more expensiive one that supports Dolvy and has a delay feature to sync sound with moving lips on the screen.
*Note to all potential buyers of TV's with optical digital sound output.
When using this wonderful digital sound output, the TV no longer controls the volume output. You must change volume level on the sound equipment you are using.
LG? Never again.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-3points
Review 16 for LG 55" Class LED-LCD 1080p 120Hz Internet-Connected HDTV, 55LE5400

Great T.V.

05/09/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Hands down, a great HDTV for the price, Very easy to set up and even though it goes through a Home Theater System I test the internal speakers and they work great. The picture is outstanding and when tied to a Blu-Ray it makes for enjoyable family movie time,
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 17 for LG 55" Class LED-LCD 1080p 120Hz Internet-Connected HDTV, 55LE5400

Good purchase

12/15/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We opted to have tv shipped to our home address. Confirmation was quick and we received the unit within a few days. There were no problems and the entire transaction was very satisfactory.
Set up for the tv was quick and easy. We have had it installed for about a week now and we are pleased with the overall quality and picture. The only negative is what others have mentioned regarding the sound. It's not terribly bad and about what to expect with these type of tv's so it was not a surprise. In summary, we are very happy with the purchase and would recommend this unit for the quality and price.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 18 for LG 55" Class LED-LCD 1080p 120Hz Internet-Connected HDTV, 55LE5400

Good value

01/05/2011
By ,
Washington, DC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Not a tech spec-y buyer here, but wanted something substantial in size with a quality picture, and this set appears to deliver. Also had a friend who purchased this set and it came highly recommended.
Pros: Easy set-up; value for the size; clear picture; ample HDMI outlets.
Cons: Delivery is not as quick and easy as the "big box" store, particularly in an urban area (delivery took almost 3 weeks); sound quality (plan to address through auxilliary sound bar).
So far happy with this purchase. Ordered through Wal-Mart as the same set was several hundred dollars cheaper than the competition.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 19 for LG 55" Class LED-LCD 1080p 120Hz Internet-Connected HDTV, 55LE5400

LG 55" LED-LCD - Best TV I've Ever Owned

08/12/2010
By ,
Northlake Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this TV. From the minute I turned it on. The picture is fantastic. Unbelievably real looking, takes a little getting used to. My dog saw a dog on TV barking and thought it was in our house. I don't worry about the sound as I use a home theater surround bar and woofer, but the sound is not that bad if you use the TV. I think the features are good, really haven't had time to try them all out yet as it does not come with what you need to hook it up WIFI, you have to buy something extra. I would definitely recommend this TV.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 20 for LG 55" Class LED-LCD 1080p 120Hz Internet-Connected HDTV, 55LE5400

Buy It! Awesome TV!!

09/09/2010
By ,
Rigby, ID
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is by far the best tv I have ever owned. I will never buy a plasma again. I had a vizio plasma that was 4 1/2 yrs old and it crapped out in July. I really researched a lot of tv's before deciding on this one. I paired it with an LG home theater system. And no regrets there! The picture & sound is totally amazing. Buy it! You will not be disappointed!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
1-20 of 39 total reviews
1 2 Next