Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for LG LG 47" Class LED-LCD 1080p 120Hz Internet-Connected HDTV, 47LE5400

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

LG LG 47" Class LED-LCD 1080p 120Hz Internet-Connected HDTV, 47LE5400

This LG 47" LED HDTV lets you tap directly into instant movies and entertainment with NetCast. You'll break free of your cable box and messy wires with Wireless 1080p. Note: You must have a source of HD programming in order to take full advantage of the LG 47" LED HDTV. Otherwise, the picture quality of an HDTV without an HD source may not be much better than a standard-definition TV. Please contact your local cable or satellite TV provider for details on how to upgrade to HD programming.
Average Customer Rating:
4.69 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(113 Reviews) 103
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
87
4 stars
21
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
1
Customer Recommendation95%107 out of 113reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
87
4 stars
21
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
1
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for LG 47" Class LED-LCD 1080p 120Hz Internet-Connected HDTV, 47LE5400

A good price for a LED.

08/20/2010
By ,
St. Cloud, MN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall, a nicely priced tv. Internet features are great, but it does not support wireless internet/widgets without a media box purchase. Picture looks great with dynamic contrast turned on.
I only have two issues. The first being trivial. I cannot custom name inputs, which seems odd to me. Most standard LCDs have no problem in adding this feature. The other issue is the 120 Hz. When I play games like Halo 3 and Fallout on my Xbox, the movements do not feel smooth at all. In fact, a lot of screen tearing occurs, often making your movements feel clumsy. Not true for every game, but I noticed it on these two. It was honestly better to play Halo 3 with the refresh rate set to 60 Hz. Otherwise, movies look great on this set. I also enjoy watching MP4s from my flashdrive on the tv.
Again, if you're not a gamer, this tv has no downside. But if you're like me and want wireless internet connection, more luxurious features and better gaming capacity, consider a different tv.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 2 for LG 47" Class LED-LCD 1080p 120Hz Internet-Connected HDTV, 47LE5400

Get the extended warranty - problems to come

10/20/2010
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I've had problems with this tv. The Network software updates fail over and over. I'm a network engineer so I know its the TV with the problem.
Don't spend the money for a networked TV such as this. You're better off with seperates. Luckily I had seperates for most networked functions.
Just get a good picture HDTV 1080p and leave the network stuff to seperate devices.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+27points
Review 3 for LG 47" Class LED-LCD 1080p 120Hz Internet-Connected HDTV, 47LE5400

Our very first HDTV - worth the wait!!

06/15/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I can't begin to tell you how excited I was to get rid of our old 27" tube TV and finally upgrade! I was impressed by the reviews of LG on this and several other websites, which is why I put them into my consideration set. I must say, after watching TV on this beauty, I've become a complete Hi-Def snob...I can't imagine how I was watching TV on our old one?
The picture on the TV is incredible in HD, so as long as you have a cable box or something to receive the HD signal, you're in for a fantastic treat. I don't think standard def looks that great on this or any other TV but again, that's my Hi-Def snobbery coming out.
The TV is an LED LCD, so it's thin and extremely sleek. The matching stand swivels, which was great for us b/c we have it on a TV console near the corner of a room and the swivel allows us to center the TV in the middle of the console and still swivel it slightly so that the screen faces directly towards our sofa.
I never thought I needed an internet-ready TV but now that I've experienced it, again - I can't imagine going back. We are able to stream Netflix on our TV and it looks great. We've already streamed Avatar on Vudu for the full 1080p/hi-def experience and it looked amazing! We're able to also browse YouTube, but I'm not sure if that's through our TV or Blu-ray player. Regardless, it's been pretty cool to pull up videos on YouTube of friends and show them on our TV when they come over - they're blown away. There is definitely a nice "dazzle" factor with the TV, in terms of appearance, quality of picture, and the very cool features. One friend of mine who incessantly razzed me about our antiquated TV set up, suddenly changed his tune and admitted he'd been leapfrogged by our new TV set up. We also have Y! widgets on the TV, though we haven't explored them as much and therefore don't use them as much. Pandora has been great and all of these apps are very easy to use.
Honestly, I don't have any complaints with the TV. I've seen other reviews that complain about the sound. I'm not an audiophile and the volume on this TV works more than fine for our needs (our room is approximately 30' x 20').
I highly recommend this TV and am thrilled to own one!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+66points
Review 4 for LG 47" Class LED-LCD 1080p 120Hz Internet-Connected HDTV, 47LE5400

LG LED Wireless "Ready" TV

05/07/2010
By ,
Florida
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The LED technology makes the picture pop out at you, especially when watching a DVD. The colors are vivid.
The only issue is the networking capability. Unless you buy a $79.00 wireless USB adapter, you need to hook up the network via an ethernet cable. Not many people have ethernet near thier TV. The advertising and product description did not make this clear, so I'm a little disappointed.
However this is the best picture and color I've seen on any TV ever.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+15points
Review 5 for LG 47" Class LED-LCD 1080p 120Hz Internet-Connected HDTV, 47LE5400

Wonderful Purchase

09/22/2010
By ,
Baltimore, Maryland
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I let someone talk me into the LED technology and am I glad that they did. I have 2 LCD tv's and while they are both good; they do not measure up to the quality of my new LED. I look forward to using the many features this tv offers.
This was a very easy setup. I looked at many prices for an LED tv and Walmart offered the very best. I love shopping at Walmart. I am a fan of Walmart and so are many family members. This is a great buy!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+7points
Review 6 for LG 47" Class LED-LCD 1080p 120Hz Internet-Connected HDTV, 47LE5400

would rcomend this TV to everyone

07/04/2010
By ,
Indiana
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
More than I expected. The features are more than I will use. But I love the quality, the size. Best of all I love the people who see it , and are just blown away.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 7 for LG 47" Class LED-LCD 1080p 120Hz Internet-Connected HDTV, 47LE5400

Everything great as expected!

09/07/2010
By ,
Grand Forks, ND
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This TV has performed excellent, just as I expected. It has a very nice design, picture quality looks great, and the features are a great addition to the mix. This TV has integrated many useful features and extras, like netflix streaming, youtube, and vudu. I love the fact that they make it easy to type in a search by using your remote as you would type a text message to a friend on a cell phone. It make searching for movies or videos, ect, a very quick and painless process. The sound was not bad on this TV, but I still prefer sending it through my stereo speakers. To do that, I had to use the headphone jack, which I didn't want to use. I would rather use RCA cables. Overall, you can't be disappointed with this TV.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 8 for LG 47" Class LED-LCD 1080p 120Hz Internet-Connected HDTV, 47LE5400

first LED tv for me

06/23/2010
By ,
oshkosh,wi
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I read many reviews and even looked at this tv in another retailer. The picture quality is very good. However, I am still getting use to the sharp image quality as I do see a difference between the LED and my previous LCD. I did also purchase the wireless adapter. Set up was very easy and only took about 15mins. The down side I see so far is the following: the speakers are in the back. I recommend a soundbar or home theatre. Also there does seem to me a image blur on some shows. It may be a lag or pixal issue. However based on other reviews on websites and instore, I recommend this unit based on price and value.
Really looking forward to my first purchase from VUDU. No more Blockbuster for me
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-1point
Review 9 for LG 47" Class LED-LCD 1080p 120Hz Internet-Connected HDTV, 47LE5400

What am I missing?

12/05/2010
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Okay, either I have a defective television or every other person that left a four and five star review has never seen another HDTV.
I bought this television about three hours ago due to an unfortunate accident to my Phillips LCD TV. The Phillips was a great TV and I had every intentiion of buying the exact one.
Instead of buying another television exactly like my old one, (for $300 less), I was enticed by the internet readiness and LED technology.
This is my first LED and I feel like I'm watching TV with a piece of celaphane in front of my eyes. It gave me the worst headache within minutes of watching it and nothing seems remotely fluid.
But my biggest complaint is the color. There's no white! Whites are displayed as egg shell white, yellow, grey or light blue. Mot of the time, there's no distinction between greys and whites. This is especially true in video gaming.
I've tried to figure out how to adjust this in the picture settings. Brightness does NOTHING. Now you can choose different settings: standard, vivid, movies, gaming, baseball, football, golf, etc.; whereby the movies is the only one that is tolerable.
Okay, next complaint seems trivial but relevant: when I change the channel it should change now, or at least within a fraction of a second; not two seconds later.
This is a cool looking TV and displays well in the store. I especially like the thin design and the fact that it is so lightweight; however given the murky picture quality, I feel these advantages are lost.
The internet applications are also really cool, however they aren't anything you cant get from an X-Box or Playstaion 3.
Needless to say, I'll be packing up the TV in the next few days and taking it back to Wal-Mart, where I'll exchange it for another Phillips LCD.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Review 10 for LG 47" Class LED-LCD 1080p 120Hz Internet-Connected HDTV, 47LE5400

Great Features LG 47LE5400

09/10/2010
By ,
Bonita Springs, FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This HDTV is everything we expected. Picture quality is the very best and easy to adjust for Sports, Movies, Expert 1 & 2, etc. Audio is as good as you can get from small speakers and likewise adjustments can be made for Cinema, Sport, Music, and Standard. I especially like the automatic volume control to suppress loud commercials and the voice enhancement when background volume is loud enough to drown out the speech.
Delivery was on time and the product was in perfect condition. We used the enclosed stand and set-up was EZ with just 8 screws.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 11 for LG 47" Class LED-LCD 1080p 120Hz Internet-Connected HDTV, 47LE5400
10/27/2010
By ,
Florida
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I love the TV and picture it out. I am disappointed because I can't get the wireless to work yet! I bought a Netgear USB wireless thingy like I was told and it doesn't want to work? I also looked at the specs on the TV and it says it is only a 60 hz and it is suppose to be 120? Not sure what is up with that? It's a great TV and I love it but you should get what you pay for and I paid for it!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 12 for LG 47" Class LED-LCD 1080p 120Hz Internet-Connected HDTV, 47LE5400

LG 47" Class LED-LCD

07/11/2010
By ,
Sunnyside, WA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a very nice TV. The picture quality is great and it has a lot of nice extras features built in. The LED make the colours very bright and vibrant and the blacks very dark. The remote also has a back-lite which makes it nice when your watching movies in the dark. Overall this is just a very well designed television and I'm very satisfied with it so far.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 13 for LG 47" Class LED-LCD 1080p 120Hz Internet-Connected HDTV, 47LE5400

Great product

12/10/2010
By ,
Toledo, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am extremely happy with this TV. The picture is beautiful. I love being able to stream videos directly to the TV. Setup was fairly straightforward. The sound quality of the TV isn't that great; I use external speakers anyway, so it's not a detraction but deserves to be mentioned. Overall, it is a wonderful TV.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 14 for LG 47" Class LED-LCD 1080p 120Hz Internet-Connected HDTV, 47LE5400
11/06/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Thank you all for taken your time to write bout this great tv really made me pickup the best of the best which is this product i love my tv picture is great.....all i can say is if you"r lookin for the best tv in market this tv will keep you happy go for the best LGLE5400.....
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 15 for LG 47" Class LED-LCD 1080p 120Hz Internet-Connected HDTV, 47LE5400

Great TV

12/12/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm glad I waited to buy my first flat screen TV until the technology evolved. This TV has an awsome picture, it is easy to set up and simple to navigate.
Great picture. You need a sound bar or surround sound to get the full effect. Love it!!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 16 for LG 47" Class LED-LCD 1080p 120Hz Internet-Connected HDTV, 47LE5400
01/14/2011
By ,
Chicago, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wal Mart had the best price for this TV of any stores and websites I search..whcih were many. The TV not only met but exceeded my expectations. It's a fantastic TV and I would recommend it to anyone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 17 for LG 47" Class LED-LCD 1080p 120Hz Internet-Connected HDTV, 47LE5400

Stunning!

02/24/2011
By ,
Northeast Pennsylvania
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The picture quality of this LED-LCD is absolutely first-rate and the Walmart online price made it a world-class bargain to boot. My family and I couldn't be more pleased. Highly recommended!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 18 for LG 47" Class LED-LCD 1080p 120Hz Internet-Connected HDTV, 47LE5400

Unbelievable Gem!

03/19/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent buy! Walmart continues to sale quality merchandise. This LG shows a great picture and I am very pleased. Site store delivery is very convenient.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 19 for LG 47" Class LED-LCD 1080p 120Hz Internet-Connected HDTV, 47LE5400

LG 47'' number 47le5400

02/04/2011
By ,
Cypress, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LG 47" Class LED-LCD 1080p 120Hz Internet-Connected HDTV, 47LE5400
The only problem you have you cant get the picture to use the whole screen.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 20 for LG 47" Class LED-LCD 1080p 120Hz Internet-Connected HDTV, 47LE5400

ABSOLUTELY LOVE IT!!!!!!!!

08/30/2010
By ,
Kentucky
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
for the money, i honestly dont think u could get a better tv. buy it, u wont be sorry!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
-1point
1-20 of 24 total reviews
1 2 Next