Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Vizio VIZIO 55" Class LCD 1080p 120Hz HDTV , E550VL

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Vizio VIZIO 55" Class LCD 1080p 120Hz HDTV , E550VL

ENERGY STAR ® Products that are ENERGY STAR-qualified prevent greenhouse gas emissions by meeting strict energy efficiency guidelines set by the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency and the U.S. Department of Energy. The ENERGY STAR name and marks are registered marks owned by the U.S. government, as part of their energy efficiency and environmental activities.
Average Customer Rating:
4.642 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(193 Reviews) 168
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
150
4 stars
33
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
7
Customer Recommendation95%183 out of 193reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
150
4 stars
33
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
7
Customer Reviews
Review 161 for VIZIO 55" Class LCD 1080p 120Hz HDTV , E550VL

You get what you pay for....

07/12/2011
By ,
Portland, Oregon
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Nice picture, nice price, but the sound is terrible. It goes up and down all the time all by itself. A sound bar will fix this problem; but NOT a Vizio sound bar...Samsung is the best but Vizio is what I could afford...
It's a $900 dollar TV and for an extra $300 dollars - a nice sound bar
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Picture Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
South Dakota, USA
Posted 07/20/2011
I apologize you are experiencing an issue with your TV. Please contact us so we can assist you. Technical support is available through chat: chat.vizio.com, e-mail: techsupp@vizio.com, or phones: 877-698-4946
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 162 for VIZIO 55" Class LCD 1080p 120Hz HDTV , E550VL

Caution

02/20/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this tv after much research! I've had the tv since aug 09 and it's out!! The screen is black!!! I'm so disappointed...I called their support center and went through the whole process of unplugging it and putting it in safe mode resetting an still nothing worked!!! I spent 1500 on this tv! I would not Recommend this tv 2 anyone! While it was working I received many compliments on the pic but alot of good that does now I can hear everything that's on tv just have to imagine what it looks like I guess!!!
Product Attributes:
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
-5points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
South Dakota, USA
Posted 06/29/2011
I apologize you are experiencing an issue with your TV. Please contact us so we can assist you. Technical support is available through chat: chat.vizio.com, e-mail: techsupp@vizio.com, or phones: 877-698-4946
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 163 for VIZIO 55" Class LCD 1080p 120Hz HDTV , E550VL

Wosrt TV I've ever owned

08/14/2012
By ,
MariahH
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Do not... I repeat, DO NOT buy this piece of junk TV. I bought mine new for over $1000. HDMI 1 went out after only a few months. Vizio fixed it under warranty, but the repair was only covered for 30 or 90 days. HDMI 1 went out again just after the warranty. Vizio refused to fix it, even though it was the same issue, unless I paid over $500 because it was no longer under warranty. So I just used the other 2 HDMI ports. Then HDMI 2 went out about a month later. Now HDMI SIDE went out 3 weeks after that. So I can't watch my TV that is just over a year old. I called a TV repair guy who told me this is a common reoccurring issue that Vizio just sends out the same mainboards new that will have the same problem. Vizio needs to correct the issue & recall it for PROPER REPAIR!!
It is now just a big useless junk item in my house taking up space. Worse TV I've ever owned. My Sanyo that is nicer, loaded, smaller, & bought the same day, no issues ever.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 164 for VIZIO 55" Class LCD 1080p 120Hz HDTV , E550VL

disappointment

01/19/2011
By ,
hollywood, fl
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The product is a great disappintment to me. i have 55 inch samsung and i bought this for my masterbedroom. the picture quality is awful. i ordered hdtv box still no comparison to samsung. i am not sure why they all said when vizio everyone reviewed great?
the price was awesome.
but vizio need to improve the quality of the picture closer to samsung please
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
-4points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
South Dakota, USA
Posted 06/29/2011
I apologize you are experiencing an issue with your TV. Please contact us so we can assist you. Technical support is available through chat: chat.vizio.com, e-mail: techsupp@vizio.com, or phones: 877-698-4946
0points
Customer Avatar
South Dakota, USA
Posted 06/28/2011
Java55 - We are sorry that you are not happy with your VIZIO. Please contact us for assistance Technical support is available through chat: chat.vizio.com, e-mail: techsupp@vizio.com, or phones: 877-698-4946
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 165 for VIZIO 55" Class LCD 1080p 120Hz HDTV , E550VL

Vizio e552vl Power problem

04/20/2011
By ,
San Antonio, TX
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
3 days after purchase the power went out.
Google Vizio power supply problems. Vizio said they would send me a new TV. May have to return to Walmart for a Sony. I had a surge protector and there was no surge. Sounds like vizio has a problem. Google it before you buy.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-10points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
South Dakota, USA
Posted 06/29/2011
I apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused. If you have any questions please contact us so we can assist you. Technical support is available through chat: chat.vizio.com, e-mail: techsupp@vizio.com, or phones: 877-698-4946
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 166 for VIZIO 55" Class LCD 1080p 120Hz HDTV , E550VL

horribile... power source gone w/i 10 minutes.

07/25/2011
By ,
Casselberry, FL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Terrible, ordered online, waited 2 1/2 weeks, received it and the power source blew within 10 minutes of it being plugged in.
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-5points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
South Dakota, USA
Posted 08/03/2011
I apologize you are experiencing an issue with your TV. Please contact us so we can assist you. Technical support is available through chat: chat.vizio.com, e-mail: techsupp@vizio.com, or phones: 877-698-4946
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 167 for VIZIO 55" Class LCD 1080p 120Hz HDTV , E550VL

55" Vizio E55OVL

03/11/2011
By ,
Buffalo, NY
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I had purchase this tv Feb. 25, 2011 and since the very first day day we had this tv we have had a hazy circle in the middle of the screen. Called customer service and was told by them that is is the back lighting and this shouldn't be happening. Was told to send picture and did. Still not enough proof wanted more picture and I got aggravated. Customer service at Vizio is uncorporative and wouldn't do anything to make it right. No exchange but we can return it..which I did.
I will never buy this brand ever again. Vizio does not stand by their product what so ever.
Great price but poor product and customer service.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
South Dakota, USA
Posted 06/29/2011
I apologize you are experiencing an issue with your TV. Please contact us so we can assist you. Technical support is available through chat: chat.vizio.com, e-mail: techsupp@vizio.com, or phones: 877-698-4946
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 168 for VIZIO 55" Class LCD 1080p 120Hz HDTV , E550VL

Not Worth Money

02/27/2013
By ,
Sykesville, MD
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We purchased this product 27 months ago and now a year out of warranty it is riddled with technical bugs. Within a 2 week period the television began failing to recognize components via HDMI inputs, then TV would arbitrarily mute itself and would need to powered down to reset sound. Finally the TV began randomly powering itself off and on to the point it would become unresponsive to remote or manual power button and would have to be unplugged. After contacting VIZIO, a brief explanation of problem and volunteering the TV was out of warranty we were quickly referred to a local "HD Repair" service and were told VIZIO couldn't help. Our joy of owning a 55 inch LCD 1080p TV was short lived. Very disappointed that VIZIO does not stand behind its product when there is an obvious defect. We paid too much money for this TV to self destruct after only 27 months. We highly recommend not purchasing this VIZIO and suggest caution when purchasing any other VIZIO products If they can't back this product outside a generic 1yr warranty what about others? Do your homework and note all the previous, "positive" reviews are within 1 yr of ownership. Hope they didn't have same problems we did. Hopefully the suggested $291 repair bill gets me at least 27 more months...
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Ratings-Only Reviews for VIZIO 55" Class LCD 1080p 120Hz HDTV , E550VL
Based on the average of (25) ratings-only reviews
4.7 out of 5
4.7 out of 5
Product Attributes:
Value
4.8 out of 5
4.8 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4.8 out of 5
4.8 out of 5
Picture Quality
4.6 out of 5
4.6 out of 5
Sound Quality
4.3 out of 5
4.3 out of 5
Features
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5
161-169 of 169 total reviews
Previous 1  ...  5 6 7 8 9