Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Vizio VIZIO 55" Class LCD 1080p 120Hz HDTV , E550VL

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Vizio VIZIO 55" Class LCD 1080p 120Hz HDTV , E550VL

ENERGY STAR ® Products that are ENERGY STAR-qualified prevent greenhouse gas emissions by meeting strict energy efficiency guidelines set by the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency and the U.S. Department of Energy. The ENERGY STAR name and marks are registered marks owned by the U.S. government, as part of their energy efficiency and environmental activities.
Average Customer Rating:
4.642 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(193 Reviews) 168
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
150
4 stars
33
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
7
Customer Recommendation95%183 out of 193reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
150
4 stars
33
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
7
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for VIZIO 55" Class LCD 1080p 120Hz HDTV , E550VL

Average consumer, great tv

06/18/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am an average consumer, I don't know everything about everything, and I rely fairly heavily on reviews when I buy online. As a measure of my "consumer-ness" when it comes to buying a new tv, I had to look up what 1080p and 120hz actually meant. I upgraded from a 200lb 37" tube tv, so this was a pretty big upgrade for me. My wife and I got the tv home and mounted it over our fireplace, connected the HD cable (not included), plugged in the power cord, and we were watching HD tv in a matter of moments. The picture is great, and I'm completely satisfied with this purchase. We've only had the TV for about 3 weeks, so this is by no means a long-term review, but to date this tv has been perfect. Some people we're negative about the sounds quality, but for a tv the sound gets plenty loud. I recognize that I bought a tv, and not a surround sound system, so the fact that it does not have 3D sound and banging bass is not a shock to me. I highly recommend this tv to anyone in the market, and this comes from an average, everyday guy.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+16points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
South Dakota, USA
Posted 06/29/2011
Thank you for taking the time to inform us on how much you are enjoying your Vizio product. It's customers like you that make us the Number 1 HDTV company in America. If you have any questions please contact our support at 877-698-4946 or chat/email us on our website!
-1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for VIZIO 55" Class LCD 1080p 120Hz HDTV , E550VL

Great TV!!! Great Price!!!

12/01/2010
By ,
Chicago, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought my 55" tv about a week ago. All I can say is WOW!! This tv has a crystal clear picture when you are using a HD Cable Box with HDMI cable. It took some time to get used to because the picture is SOOOO clear compared to my 720p Sanyo I just replaced. You can literally see the sweat dripping off people with this HD Crystal Clear quality picture. Also now that I have this 1080p tv, I WILL NEVER BUY ANOTHER STANDARD DVD AGAIN!! Watching Blu Ray movies on this TV is ABSOLUTELY AMAZING!! I have never been a big move fan, but now I come home from work everyday since last Wednesday and watch movies because of the picture quailty. Now the sound is not that bad compared to what the others are saying on here. But I did purchase a Sony Home Theater System which I connected with an optical cable. So my sound quality is amazing as well now. I highly recommend this TV to anyone who is looking for a large screen tv for a small price... Worth every dime!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 3 for VIZIO 55" Class LCD 1080p 120Hz HDTV , E550VL

Great TV IF you have surround sound system

01/13/2011
By ,
Prescott, AZ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
A former Samsung supporter, I am now a Vizio supporter. After really looking at the available models and reading online reviews here, I jumped in and got this model. I have no regrets, picture is fantastic, price was very reasonable for a 55" and set-up was very painless.
My only caution to a prospective buyer is, if you don't have this hooked up to a sound system, preferably a surround sound, you WILL be upset at the sound quality. Read other reviews, I'm not alone in my criticism. Sometimes the sound will be fine, other times you will need to crank up the volume to 50+ to be able to hear it, particularly if you are watching a movie that has a quiet conversation on it. On my previous tv, I would reserve using my surroundsound for movies, now it's almost a necessity. So if you have a surround sound, by all means get this tv, you'll be happy. But if you don't, you have been warned! C'mon Vizio, you have a great TV, let's get the sound bugs worked out.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+6points
Review 4 for VIZIO 55" Class LCD 1080p 120Hz HDTV , E550VL

Great TV at a Great Price

06/24/2010
By ,
KF, Oregon
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We changed from a Hitatchi 57" HD projection to this tv. The Hitatchi was great but we wanted something with a smaller foot print. We looked for a while and did a lot of comparison. Feature for dollar led us to this great tv. We watch a lot of movies on dvd and blu ray. The picture is amazing! The sound is very good too. We usually run audio through surround sound, but for normal tv veiwing sound is good. It has a lot of pre-programmed picture customization settings to choose from and a couple of audio options. Just select what settings you like, program the remote to control everything and enjoy! With a contrast ratio of 100,000:1 it is crystal clear in all light situations. If you are looking for a great all around tv in this size range, this is the one to get!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+62points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
florida
great price but bought a dud!
Posted 08/09/2011
we purchased a vizio in september 2010, after a few months we noticed a line running down the right side of the screen; what a hassle to get a replacement. they wanted photos of it. they were difficult to see with the camera. did that, what do they do, they send us a remanufactured vizio, really?! so what happens again, a line down the left side and the right side has a 6 inch band from top to bottom that looks like green screening! so again, take more photo's, try to sell me on an extended warranty, more hassle so they can wait for the warranty to run out! how about this, just give us our money back so we may purchase a quality set!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 5 for VIZIO 55" Class LCD 1080p 120Hz HDTV , E550VL

Great TV for the price...

02/11/2011
By ,
Siloam Springs, AR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
So many options on this tv make a big difference!!! I just went from a 32" crt tv to this beast and didn't realize what I was missing.
Probably one of the best features for myself is that it is HD Ready ... not HD Capable, but READY!!
We didn't need an HD receiver to have to view HD channels...that alone saves us about $15 a month.
The stand is a lot more sturdy than I had expected, with a 2 and a 3 year old running around here we needed to make sure that this thing wasn't going to just flip over from all of the mini "stampedes" we have around here.
Looks great with sports since it is a 120hz and has the TruMotion options on it.
Thought of getting the Element 55", but compared the reviews and realized that the extra $200 would save me some headaches later on.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+24points
Review 6 for VIZIO 55" Class LCD 1080p 120Hz HDTV , E550VL

Supurb value and a GREAT TV

03/16/2011
By ,
Oneonta Alabama
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The is is the best TV I have ever bought. I researched for a few months to find the best bang for my buck and WOW did I get it!!! The picture quality is like you are watching a live taping of the show. I stepped up from a 32' LG, and I will never turn back. We got it Feb 10th 2011. I agree with the people that talk about the sound quality, but I use my surround sound most of the time anyway so it's ok. I've owned almost every major brand of TV, and it's Vizio from here on out. The quality to price ratio is off the chart compared to other brands. We are about to add on another bedroom and den, so I will be purchasing another one for the den. My verdict for anyone reading this is to stop looking and just get this TV, you will NOT be dissappointed!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+22points
Review 7 for VIZIO 55" Class LCD 1080p 120Hz HDTV , E550VL

"PLUG AND PLAY"

09/05/2010
By ,
Spartanburg, S.C.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the simplist set up, I have ever experienced with an HDTV. I have owned plasmas and other LCD's but the engineers who came up with this design did a an amazing job. From unboxing to complete set up in minutes. The box was very large but it was easy to remove. That alone was impressive. The box filled the back of my truck nicely. And more internal packaging than any others. Once it was unboxed and placed on my stand it was basicly plug and play. I would suggest a very large stand for this set. Pluged in the power supply, hocked up my HDMI cables, and then placed the batteries that were supplied into the remote. A few minutes going through the set up menu and done. I would also suggest using all HDMI cables and no AV cables. The only thing extra, I purchased was a 2 year extended warrenty. I got an amazing sale price on this set as well. I would suggest to any one buying any flat screen to purchase a protection plan. When these sets start having issues it's usually the screen. And the screen will cost more to repair or replace then buying a new one. This HDTV is a piece of art. The remote on this set is also a piece of art. The remote is universal and works great with my sat. system. Xbox 360 games are bar none on this set. The audio is truly amazing. Xbox Live is (ya you guessed it) amazing!
Pros:
Well engineered. A piece of art to look at on or off. Ease of set up. Amazing visual and audio. Great price!
Cons:
None.
Wish list:
One more HDMI port.
Overall:
5 stars
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+71points
Review 8 for VIZIO 55" Class LCD 1080p 120Hz HDTV , E550VL

Blown Away

02/16/2011
By ,
Derry NH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love it. Set up took 1 minute. Picture quality even for 480 is amazing. With the full 1080p it appears more like a window than a tv. It looks like the people are just standing on the other side that's how life like the picture is.
Sound is pretty good too. Haven't gotten the house quiet enough to really hear it but overall it is decent. I will be hooking up a home theatre system so I won't use the tv sound very often. The size is also perfect. I can walk about 25 feet away from the tv and still be amazed by the picture. If you are budget minded and looking for a great tv this is it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+24points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Gastonia, NC
Vizio 55in
Posted 06/27/2011
Great TV. Sometimes though on some channels the lip synic is off bad even though I have adjusted it to the max. Other than that it is a really good tv for the money.
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 9 for VIZIO 55" Class LCD 1080p 120Hz HDTV , E550VL

LOVE IT

12/29/2010
By ,
Springdale, AR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I don't know all the technical issues of an LCD v. LED, but my husband and I went to the store and the 55" LCD and LED were side by side. The only difference we could tell is that the LED is a bit thinner from front to back. We are very pleased with our new tv and I can't believe the difference in picture quality. Thanks Wal-Mart for offering a great product at a great price!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+91points
Review 10 for VIZIO 55" Class LCD 1080p 120Hz HDTV , E550VL

Best 55 inch Tv

12/02/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Firts off you can not beat the value. A 55 inch tv under $1000. The picture quality is superb if you are judging by the store display dont,get it home and set up the picture yourself it becomes 10x better.I have owned several other flat screens and never turned the volume up on the tv always used surround sound do to really poor sound.The sound that this tv gives you is nothing short of AMAZING best sounding tv I have heard in years.And if you are a gaming fan as I am this tv is exceptional for gaming.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+34points
Review 11 for VIZIO 55" Class LCD 1080p 120Hz HDTV , E550VL

Great TV

02/17/2011
By ,
Danbury, CT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I spent about a month researching TV's and I didn't want to go any smaller than 50". After comparing this Vizio with other well known brands this beat them in price, sound quality and picture quality. The best thing about this TV was it recognized my DirecTV box and my BluRay player so I didn't even have to program the remote. Easy setup, great price and a happy camper!!! BUY THIS TV>
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+29points
Review 12 for VIZIO 55" Class LCD 1080p 120Hz HDTV , E550VL

Awesome Deal - Highly recommend purchase.

11/05/2010
By ,
KC, MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The 55 in Vizio E550VL is a great buy. The price just dropped and for the price there are no comparable LCDs. Not even close for - 1080p, 120hz.
Without cable hooked up, and a wire antenna taped to the wall, I received over 20 HD channels. The quality was better than when I hooked up HD cable.
There are better LCD pictures for a lot more money, but I don't regret purchasing this TV at all.
Bought a mount at the store, but found one online at Wal-Mart.com for less than 1/2 the price that worked great so I returned the other one.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+42points
Review 13 for VIZIO 55" Class LCD 1080p 120Hz HDTV , E550VL

Great Value

11/29/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
For the money, I love this TV. I didn't want to spend a ton on a 55" TV since there will be something better that I will want down the road. It has a great picture. I also have a Toshiba 42"Regza 60 hz and a Sharp LCD 60 hz. The Vizio picture is far superior, especially in sports. I don't have any more ghosting.
I give it 5 stars for everything but sound quality and features. The reason is that they are both very average
I find the Vizio speakers are not as good as my Toshiba (but about the same as the Sharp). The base is not as deep.
The only other issue I have is that I can't get the mute to work on the TV with my ATT uverse remote. I don't have this problem with my two other TV's.
Small issues for an otherwise great TV.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+7points
Review 14 for VIZIO 55" Class LCD 1080p 120Hz HDTV , E550VL

Glad I was talked into it.

04/26/2011
By ,
Tampa, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Originally I did some shopping around and liked the feedback I read on this device. I wanted to go with something smaller but my wife talked me into getting a bigger model than we previously had. As soon as I turned it on I was in love. The picture quality is great and it makes all of those HD products and services we have worth it. I've had this TV now for about six months and I love it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+24points
Review 15 for VIZIO 55" Class LCD 1080p 120Hz HDTV , E550VL
08/02/2010
By ,
Lake Havasu City, AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We love our new TV and when I did have a few things I couldn't figure out...Vizio's tech support was helpful and courteous.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+23points
Review 16 for VIZIO 55" Class LCD 1080p 120Hz HDTV , E550VL

Great Value

12/17/2010
By ,
Illinois
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this for the price and on line reviews. Love it. It started right up with very little programing hassel. The instructions are in english only and in color, and very well writen. I am working on getting an HD feed but just the regular 480 feed looks much better. I would buy this again. 55" is a small as I would go.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+46points
Review 17 for VIZIO 55" Class LCD 1080p 120Hz HDTV , E550VL

So much more clear than I expected for this price

06/27/2011
By ,
Oaklyn, NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We plugged everything in, turned it on and in under 5 minutes (going through setup) we were watching TV. I hooked up my laptop to the TV and it instantly detected it and brought my desktop right up under the RGB input. The video and sound streamed seemlessly through my laptop and upon playing a DVD, I could swear to you that the Hulk was in my living room (since I was watching The Hulk). The Netflix app built right in with WiFi also makes it unnecessary for me to have anything else hooked up to this TV like an XBOX or WII so I can keep the area around the TV (hung over my fireplace) clear of clutter yet its still super functional.
Maybe in another 4-5 years I'll upgrade to Vizio's LED when its price comes down to match this one, although the TV bulb life should of this TV boasts that it will last me for 20 years, and thats if I watch 6 hours a day, every day for 20 years. Great purchase, no regrets!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 18 for VIZIO 55" Class LCD 1080p 120Hz HDTV , E550VL
10/01/2010
By ,
new york
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my third Vizio hdtv-LCD TV. I have a 37inch and a 26inch. I love Vizio because the picture is so clear and it is easy to set up. I just took it out of the box and plugged it in. It is great!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+17points
Review 19 for VIZIO 55" Class LCD 1080p 120Hz HDTV , E550VL

Vizio 55"

08/07/2010
By ,
Cocoa, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great TV for the price, picture is awesome!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
+17points
Review 20 for VIZIO 55" Class LCD 1080p 120Hz HDTV , E550VL

Perfect Picture and Sound

10/23/2010
By ,
KY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Looked at several and owned quite of few. I use it with a Dish Network HD receiver and could not be happier. I am glad i shopped around and found this baby.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+14points
1-20 of 169 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  9 Next