Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Vizio VIZIO 47" Class LCD 1080p 120Hz HDTV, E470VL

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Vizio VIZIO 47" Class LCD 1080p 120Hz HDTV, E470VL

ENERGY STAR ® Products that are ENERGY STAR-qualified prevent greenhouse gas emissions by meeting strict energy efficiency guidelines set by the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency and the U.S. Department of Energy. The ENERGY STAR name and marks are registered marks owned by the U.S. government, as part of their energy efficiency and environmental activities.
Average Customer Rating:
4.511 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(137 Reviews) 117
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
103
4 stars
18
3 stars
6
2 stars
3
1 star
7
Customer Recommendation90%123 out of 137reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
103
4 stars
18
3 stars
6
2 stars
3
1 star
7
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for VIZIO 47" Class LCD 1080p 120Hz HDTV, E470VL

Cracked screen out of box

08/23/2010
By ,
Mountain Grove, MO
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Almost hate to do this review. Bought this TV at locale Walmart. No damage to packaging. As I was wall mounting TV, got first side view of screen. To my suprise, I saw cracks in the screen. Continued mounting and connections with hope. Turned power on and sure enough all I saw was backlite massive cracks. Damage must have happened prior to packaging as there was no damage to packaging or any other area of the set. No problem returning TV the next day. Must have slipped by QA at factory. Might have been a great set, wish I had the chance to see.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-42points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
South Dakota, USA
Posted 06/29/2011
I apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused you. In the future if you purchase any Vizio products please contact us so we can assist you. Technical support is available through chat: chat.vizio.com, e-mail: techsupp@vizio.com, or phones: 877-698-4946
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for VIZIO 47" Class LCD 1080p 120Hz HDTV, E470VL

Vizio HD Awesome.. for a while

09/24/2010
By ,
Portage, WI
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We own a 47" Vizio 1080i, paid near 1200. just under 2 years ago. I LOVED it, Picture everything was fabulous. UNTILL you need a repair which in less than 2 years is disappointing. It just started a buzzing/hissing noise. Probably the capacitor. Go online and research and you find this is a disposable television. Local repair shop says $50 to look, no guarantee. Vizio parts are hard to get cost a lot and the company offers no tech assistance for repair. Best Buy told us straight up it will not be cost effective to repair IF it was even possible. No one wants to waste their time because they say it is cheaper to buy a new one. Sad. Had I known that I would not have bought Vizio.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+4points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
South Dakota, USA
Posted 06/29/2011
I apologize you are experiencing an issue with your Vizio product. Please contact us so we can assist you. Technical support is available through chat: chat.vizio.com, e-mail: techsupp@vizio.com, or phones: 877-698-4946
-1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 3 for VIZIO 47" Class LCD 1080p 120Hz HDTV, E470VL

would give no stars if could

02/21/2011
By ,
omaha, ne
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
After setting this TV up we discoved major issues with the product. The power button on the tv turned the volume down, the input selection continually scrolled on the tv and would not go away. No batteries were in the remote so that was not the issue. After about 30 minutes we repacked and returned the product. Would not recommend.
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-3points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
South Dakota, USA
Posted 06/29/2011
I apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused you. In the future if you purchase any Vizio products please contact us so we can assist you. Technical support is available through chat: chat.vizio.com, e-mail: techsupp@vizio.com, or phones: 877-698-4946
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 4 for VIZIO 47" Class LCD 1080p 120Hz HDTV, E470VL

Cheap PC Boards

07/13/2011
By ,
Canton, Ohio
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Had my TV 1mo. Had to replace the main board under warranty. My power went on and off and the HDHI Tuner quit working. They would not fix under warranty. The TV is only 3mos. old. Found out they have had to replace many many Main boards. I'm getting it fixed at my own expense. SAVE YOUR MONEY!!!! Look at something else.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+6points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
South Dakota, USA
Posted 07/20/2011
I apologize you are experiencing an issue with your Vizio product. If the TV is still under warranty I'm not sure why this wouldn't be covered. Please contact us so we can assist you. Technical support is available through chat: chat.vizio.com, e-mail: techsupp@vizio.com, or phones: 877-698-4946
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 5 for VIZIO 47" Class LCD 1080p 120Hz HDTV, E470VL

fine TV for the price

10/09/2010
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
really like the TV...i did a lot of research and this was the best value for the price...i love the 3 HDMI and the fact that the picture quality is fantastic!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
-127points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
South Dakota, USA
Posted 06/29/2011
Thank you for the review, if we can ever be of assistance technical support is available through chat: chat.vizio.com, e-mail: techsupp@vizio.com, or phones: 877-698-4946
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 6 for VIZIO 47" Class LCD 1080p 120Hz HDTV, E470VL

DO NOT BUY THIS PRODUCT

09/08/2010
By ,
Evansville, IN
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
My TV went out in 18 months and Vizio would not even fix it. Horrible customer service!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
South Dakota, USA
Posted 06/29/2011
I apologize you are experiencing an issue with your Vizio product. Please contact us so we can assist you. Technical support is available through chat: chat.vizio.com, e-mail: techsupp@vizio.com, or phones: 877-698-4946
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 7 for VIZIO 47" Class LCD 1080p 120Hz HDTV, E470VL

POOR QUALITY

03/12/2011
By ,
PALM COAST
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
PICTURE IS DARK. EVEN AFTER RAISING UP THE BRIGHTNESS, IT'S STILL TOO DARK. COLORS ARE NOT DEEP. I'M RETURNING THIS TV.ORDERED A PHILIPS LED-LCD 46IN FOR $100.00 MORE. TV HASN'T ARRIVED AT THE STORE YET. PICTURE ON THE VIZIO ALSO FLUCTUATES,GETS DARKER,DARKER,DARKER AND THEN RESUMES NORMAL PICTURE. IF YOU'RE INTERESTED IN QUALITY STAY AWAY FROM THIS MODEL.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
South Dakota, USA
Posted 06/29/2011
I apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused you. In the future if you purchase any Vizio products please contact us so we can assist you. Technical support is available through chat: chat.vizio.com, e-mail: techsupp@vizio.com, or phones: 877-698-4946
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 8 for VIZIO 47" Class LCD 1080p 120Hz HDTV, E470VL

throw a way

11/04/2010
By ,
MUNCIE INDIANA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
we have this same size lcd visio tv we purchased at Sears 3 years ago. something is wrong with it and Sears won't do anything about it. they said we should have bought the extended warranty(which i think would have also run out by now) it's tolerable to watch but just not right(picture is darkened and can not adjust it out)BUT, WE ALSO PAID $1700. AT THE TIME. WOULDN'T MIND LOSING $700 NEARLY AS MUCH AS $1700.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
-27points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
South Dakota, USA
Posted 07/06/2011
I would also like to let you know that we are excited to announce our new Tablet is available for pre-order on VIZIO.com. It is available as a standalone item or in a bundle at vizio.com/vtab1008.html
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 9 for VIZIO 47" Class LCD 1080p 120Hz HDTV, E470VL

Good buy, broke in 3 weeks!

08/06/2011
By ,
Chattanooga
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
we purchased this TV and within 3 weeks, a red line appeared from top to bottom. We called Vizio who was very helpful in troubleshooting, however it was a defective TV and we had to return it. It did have a good picture until e red line appeared. And Wal Mart was hassle free and we decided to buy an LG.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
South Dakota, USA
Posted 08/10/2011
I apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused you. In the future if you purchase any Vizio products please contact us so we can assist you. Technical support is available through chat: chat.vizio.com, e-mail: techsupp@vizio.com, or phones: 877-698-4946
-1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 10 for VIZIO 47" Class LCD 1080p 120Hz HDTV, E470VL

Stay away from VIZIO

05/14/2011
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I bought this for my Son, and bought the extended warranty. 1 HDMI jack went out in a few weeks, then it went totally out right after 1 year, I have been a solid month trying to get their service provider to come perform warranty repairs. Several emails, calls, & online headaches. The extended warranty is a joke. I was told vizio was made by Samsung.... don't believe it. STICK WITH A SAMSUNG. I have never written a review.... so I'm fairly sure you might want to listen.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Picture Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+2points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
South Dakota, USA
Posted 07/06/2011
I apologize you are experiencing an issue with your TV. Please contact us so we can assist you. Technical support is available through chat: chat.vizio.com, e-mail: techsupp@vizio.com, or phones: 877-698-4946
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 11 for VIZIO 47" Class LCD 1080p 120Hz HDTV, E470VL

Unhappy....

09/14/2010
By ,
Sullivan, MO
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
We bought this tv 2 yrs. ago. For about a year it was great. Then it got 2 different problems. One is we have slim red vertical line on the left side of the screen about 3 inches in from the side. The first thing we noticed was a gray ghosty image/object imbedded in the screen. At first we thought the screen was just dirty, but it doesn't come off. It's inside. It appears to be getting bigger cause it's really starting to interfer with some movies.
Would I buy this set again....I don't know. It was over $`1200. when we got it and I know I darn sure wouldn't pay that for it again!
Wish there were other options for ratings.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
-2points
Review 12 for VIZIO 47" Class LCD 1080p 120Hz HDTV, E470VL

Not 120Hz

09/17/2010
By ,
Long Beach
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ok, My first TV I bought from Walmart broke, and it was still under warranty. So I got to change it with another one, so I decided to invest more money to buy a TV with 120Hz refresh rate so I can play 3D movies/games (The technology that requires 3D Glasses). I bought this TV because it says on the specs on the website and on Box that it’s 120Hz, I paid couple hundred dollars extra for this feature (The 120Hz).
I was very excited and I went back home, first thing I did I connected it to my computer using HDMI (Tried VGA too) I could get 60Hz refresh rate only. So I contacted Vizio support several times. They say its 120 Hz refresh rate but not on with the computer it’s only with other devices, when I asked what kind of “other devices”? One of the reps told me when you run it as TV!?? And then they get frustrated and tell me “I have given you all the information you need, you need to call in the tomorrow early during day time in order to speak to level 3 support”. I called again and spoke with a tech support for 45Minutes. After she consulted the level 3 Support, she told me The TV will work on 60Hz only, but the TV is capable with “specific” devices by doubling the 60Hz and play it as 120Hz. But it will work as 60Hz only, then she told me “I gave you all the information you need”.
They tell me I should look in the manual where it says it will work 60Hz only with 1080P! When you buy a device, do you open the box and read the manual before buying it or you read the specs on the box? One of the reps told me “I would do some research on the Internet before I buy stuff”. OK! On the Internet, Vizio, Walmart and other websites it says it’s a 120Hz refresh rate!
I am so disappointed, and I admit, I should have been more careful about choosing the TV, a one that is reviewed and fully tested to work @120Hz. But I did not have enough time as I was exchanging it with my broken TV.
Don’t get me wrong, this TV has a great picture, nice colors and solid made. If you don’t want the 120Hz refresh rate capability, you can’t go wrong with it.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+16points
Review 13 for VIZIO 47" Class LCD 1080p 120Hz HDTV, E470VL

Terrible Sound !!!

04/13/2011
By ,
Monroe, MI
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I have only owned this TV for a couple of weeks and the sound is already going out of it. Sometimes I have no sound at all when I turn it on and at other times the speakers make a crackling sound and then the sound goes in and out. I have registered this product and am about to call Vizio to complain... It's a shame because all in all, the picture on this TV is amazing... crisp, clear and colorful... but it does me no good if I can't hear the sound... :(
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 14 for VIZIO 47" Class LCD 1080p 120Hz HDTV, E470VL

Extremely dissapointed, 3D?

11/27/2010
By ,
Kemp Texas
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This tv is pretty blurry/pixelated on almost any kind of movement. It seems as if its a 3D Tv no where on the box does it mention anything about 3D but everything seems as if it is, and its terrible to be honest. I am a gamer, I have a PlayStation 3 and I played Call Of Duty: Black Ops on and and I actualy got very upset at the quality it was horrid. It was so blurry when I moved around on the game it instantly made me think about returning the tv. The price is worth it if your a 3d fanatic but if not honestly dont waste your time.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Sound Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-21points
Review 15 for VIZIO 47" Class LCD 1080p 120Hz HDTV, E470VL

Not 1080

03/07/2011
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I recently bought this TV and I really am not that happy with the fact that it says it is a 1080 but it is not. It will only show in 720p. Very dissapointing. I have tried to tolerate it for for the past 3 weeks but just can't get past the fact that they are so misleading. I think I will return it and get a Samsung as I initially planned.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Picture Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-7points
Review 16 for VIZIO 47" Class LCD 1080p 120Hz HDTV, E470VL

Great TV

05/19/2011
By ,
Powder Springs, GA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We bought this TV online and saved some money doing that. We got the email, went over to the store (so we saved shipping fees too), and they helped us load onto the truck. My son came over and hooked it up for us. It was pretty easy for him. A few days later we upgraded to high definition. It has a great picture, great sound (we didnot hook up any speakers), and looks great! I am glad I did not get the 55". This TV is perfect. Vizio is a great product and far exceeded my expectations.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 17 for VIZIO 47" Class LCD 1080p 120Hz HDTV, E470VL

good price awesome tv

10/18/2010
By ,
iowa
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bought this tv through the site to store option and couldnt be happier. Its a great tv for the price, got it for $798. I looked at alot of tvs and read alot of reviews and found this to be the best. There are alot of reviews that say to turn off the ambient light feature which is something you should do, it makes the picture better.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 18 for VIZIO 47" Class LCD 1080p 120Hz HDTV, E470VL

Great Value

11/08/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a nice tv. The price is reasonable. the setup is easy, and the picture is good. You may be able to find some better features, but you will pay much more.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 19 for VIZIO 47" Class LCD 1080p 120Hz HDTV, E470VL

Good buy

01/11/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great picture, great value. Turn off the "Smooth Motion Effect"! All that did was make everything look like it was in permanent fast foward mode.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 20 for VIZIO 47" Class LCD 1080p 120Hz HDTV, E470VL

premium features at a reasonable price

11/23/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
After having my old Vizio L42HDTV10A for 5 years it was time for an upgrade and I was looking to get into an LED tv. I went to Walmart and picked up the Vizio E470VL and the 120hz feature makes for a great viewing experience and is almost as good as the LED but this set is feature packed and the sound is adequate without requiring an expensive sound bar or running a surround system for everyday viewing. All of this for the same price as the bigger name yet stripped down sets.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
South Dakota, USA
Posted 12/01/2011
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback, we value hearing from all of our valued customers. We’re happy to hear you’re enjoying your TV! Should you ever have any questions or need assistance, please don’t hesitate to contact us through chat: chat.vizio.com, e-mail: techsupp@vizio.com, or by phone: 877-698-4946.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
1-20 of 118 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 6 Next