Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Vizio VIZIO XVT423SV 42" Class LCD 240 Hz HDTV SPS, Full-Array TruLED w/ Smart Dimming & VIZIO Internet Apps

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Vizio VIZIO XVT423SV 42" Class LCD 240 Hz HDTV SPS, Full-Array TruLED w/ Smart Dimming & VIZIO Internet Apps

The VIZIO 42" 1080p LED-LCD HDTV features TruLED, a high-end display monitor with excellent 1920 x 1080 resolution for a sharp picture. Featuring five HDMI ports for a crisp, sharp HD viewing experience, this mesmerizing full-HD 240Hz model will wow you with its perfect color saturation and clearly defined images even during fast-motion action scenes.
Average Customer Rating:
4.692 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(26 Reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
22
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
Customer Recommendation92%24 out of 26reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
22
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for VIZIO XVT423SV 42" Class LCD 240 Hz HDTV SPS, Full-Array TruLED w/ Smart Dimming & VIZIO Internet Apps

got it for gaming

11/06/2010
By ,
FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
the tv did cut off in the mid of a movie idk why? i did not have it in move mode thow. but other then that its good for gaming in game mode. the apps are ok not a lot yet but there will be more a lil slow and dont update all the time. O! and i dont have my sound set up for the tv its set up for my receiver thats why its a 3 of 5. haha
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-19points
Review 2 for VIZIO XVT423SV 42" Class LCD 240 Hz HDTV SPS, Full-Array TruLED w/ Smart Dimming & VIZIO Internet Apps

Good Value 240hz 1080p TV!

11/27/2010
By ,
Houston, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picked the xvt423sv up from Walmart on Nov 23 so I would have a HDTV for the family to watch football on Thanksgiving. Previous TV was a 27" Panasonic CRT with a built in VCR, so this was quite an upgrade. My local store price was $50 more than online, but I didn't want to wait for delivery. So far I am very happy with this TV. I think the Vizio 3sv series TVs are pretty much the best that Walmart sells right now. I had this TV on all day for football and the picture was great, deep blacks, amazing colors, very good action viewing. I tried a few DVD movies and the picture was excellent as well. Some review claim the remote is too fat, but it really isn't that bad. I love the built in keyboard. Yesterday I plugged it into my PC for some Battlefield Bad Company 2 at 1920x1080 at 60hz. At first there was a noticable delay in screen response: when I move the mouse, a split second later the screen responds. I tried a higher quality HDMI cable and this improved. I think that also the specific HDMI port you use makes a difference. Other reviewers don't seem to have problems, so I will experiment more on this, but for now I'm a little let down with the PC gaming performance.
Internet apps are nice. Loading is a little slow, but that is to be expected. Used pandora quite a bit and the sound was good. Haven't tried Netflix yet.
The speakers are what I consider decent for a big screen. If you want good sound, though, you should definitely connect separate home theater speakers. I did like that the volume levels could go pretty high, and the SRS surround setting definitely gave depth to the sound.
My only complaint so far is that the TV takes a while to turn on. Thats it.
I really like this TV and definitely recommend it to anyone looking for upper-end picture quality and internet features at a good price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+48points
Review 3 for VIZIO XVT423SV 42" Class LCD 240 Hz HDTV SPS, Full-Array TruLED w/ Smart Dimming & VIZIO Internet Apps

vizio 240hz 42"

12/03/2010
By ,
mich
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
nice picture, excelent color, and the tv apps are nice. i compared this tv to sony hs800 3D it also has 240hz frame rate
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+6points
Review 4 for VIZIO XVT423SV 42" Class LCD 240 Hz HDTV SPS, Full-Array TruLED w/ Smart Dimming & VIZIO Internet Apps

TV Review Vizio XVT4235SV

12/04/2010
By ,
Raleigh, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We have had our Vizio XVT423SV for about a month. Highly satisfied in all respects. On line connection via wireless to NETFLIX was very easy. App. for NETFLIX provided code number that I entered into my account on line. Log in was only a few seconds. Quality of picture great. Would buy same again if needed another TV. With more and more linking to web this is the one. Remote features built in keyboard.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 5 for VIZIO XVT423SV 42" Class LCD 240 Hz HDTV SPS, Full-Array TruLED w/ Smart Dimming & VIZIO Internet Apps

Great TV

12/27/2010
By ,
CT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fantastic picture clarity. Great for streaming media from Netflix. Terrific price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 6 for VIZIO XVT423SV 42" Class LCD 240 Hz HDTV SPS, Full-Array TruLED w/ Smart Dimming & VIZIO Internet Apps

Absolutely Great Product

12/29/2010
By ,
New Hampshire
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've done a lot of research on LCD HDTVs, particularly wanting LED backlighting (not edge lighting) and CCFL (cold cathode fluorescent) edge lighting, and the VIZIO TruLED family meets my demands. This model (XVT423SV, 42") is perfect for my needs. The backlighting LED has 128 zones of control so the signal colors are augmented by the LED zones being turned off if black is necessary, giving this model it's 10,000,000:1 contrast ratio. And believe me, it is phenomenal. The price is right, although I saw it before Christmas 2010 with $200 discounts. The universal power supply signals the arrival of modern display technology (from computers and laptops) to flat screen TVs (which, by the way, are nothing more than displays with built-in or attached tuners (for TV, HDTV, DVDs/Blu-rays, DVRs, home theater speaker systems (audio only), Playstations, Wiis, etc.). Don't mistake the VIZIO Razor LED models with the TruLED models...the backlighting LEDs are beautiful. The VIZIO Internet Apps are cool, but I don't know that I'll use them too often; time will tell.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+24points
Review 7 for VIZIO XVT423SV 42" Class LCD 240 Hz HDTV SPS, Full-Array TruLED w/ Smart Dimming & VIZIO Internet Apps

GREATEST TV EVER MADE!

01/12/2011
By ,
MN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I previously owned a Samsung and it was nice, but this TV is better. I play Black Ops and I've never noticed that there were foot steps noises when people walk by until I bought this TV, the sound quality is AWESOME! I also love the Blue ray movies, I watched a few last night and the quality is AMAZING. I paid half of what I paid for my previous TV and this TV is way better. Don't forget the Apps, Netflix, Hulu, web videos, Blockbuster comes directly to your TV, you can even check your Facebook. This is officially the ultimate TV!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 8 for VIZIO XVT423SV 42" Class LCD 240 Hz HDTV SPS, Full-Array TruLED w/ Smart Dimming & VIZIO Internet Apps

great tv

01/26/2011
By ,
Missouri
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Had this product delivered directly to store. Arrived earlier than expected. Set up and connected everything myself. Turned on the Tv and followed the setup instructions and everything worked just as advertised.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 9 for VIZIO XVT423SV 42" Class LCD 240 Hz HDTV SPS, Full-Array TruLED w/ Smart Dimming & VIZIO Internet Apps

Great Picture

01/27/2011
By ,
Newton, Ks
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I did quite a bit of research and felt full array LED is the way to go for the best picture quality. This television exceeded my expectations. The Apps are nice but fluff unless you would use them often. Netflix straight to the TV is a very good feature. Love it!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Review 10 for VIZIO XVT423SV 42" Class LCD 240 Hz HDTV SPS, Full-Array TruLED w/ Smart Dimming & VIZIO Internet Apps

60 min review

02/20/2011
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
It only worked for first 60 min and then it spectacular turned off and never powered again. Also, a very curious glitch was observed while scanning for tv channels. During setup process it found 30 digital channels and then it could not display any of then. Rescanning yelled 0 digital channels and only after complete power cycle was it able to find and display tv channels.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Picture Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Review 11 for VIZIO XVT423SV 42" Class LCD 240 Hz HDTV SPS, Full-Array TruLED w/ Smart Dimming & VIZIO Internet Apps

Great buy

03/06/2011
By ,
Boaz, AL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I researched for weeks about what TV to buy. The picture is stunning, especially on blue ray disc. The features are good, and easy to use. Have had absoluetly no problems with it so far. The sound is okay, but overall a great tv. My first HDTV. I am very pleased. Can't wait until football season!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 12 for VIZIO XVT423SV 42" Class LCD 240 Hz HDTV SPS, Full-Array TruLED w/ Smart Dimming & VIZIO Internet Apps

Sweet

03/09/2011
By ,
In your thoughts and dreams
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Set-up was easy, picture is perfect, no noticeable glare, apps are nice, sliding keyboard on remote, bought this set as an interim to await the 4D that is coming in the near future, i hope. If your looking for a 42" do your self a favor and buy this set. wanted a bigger one but my wife did not want to tear apart our existing entertainment center. so i'll wait until she does. until then. This Led TV is SWEET. will update after i've had it a while
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 13 for VIZIO XVT423SV 42" Class LCD 240 Hz HDTV SPS, Full-Array TruLED w/ Smart Dimming & VIZIO Internet Apps

Excellent Value for the Money!

03/14/2011
By ,
Bossier City, LA.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I happened to be in Walmart over the weekend and i saw this TV with a 35% off sign. I asked the sales person if this was the actual price and he said yes that it was on sale now for $551.00. I had jsut bought the 37" version 2 months before at Sam's for $598.00. The TV is excellent just like the 37" version, can't believe I got it for such a great price. I love vizio products and they have always performed well for me. Buy this TV, you will not be disappointed!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-1point
Review 14 for VIZIO XVT423SV 42" Class LCD 240 Hz HDTV SPS, Full-Array TruLED w/ Smart Dimming & VIZIO Internet Apps

excellent first HDTV

03/16/2011
By ,
Lake county, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great design, but kind of cumbersome. Make sure you clear a path when setting it up. If you connect to the internet. it will update itself one or two times when powering off, so don't mess with the apps until after updates are done and be patient. The set up wizard was painless and the bluetooth remote works great. I wish that the buttons lit up or had varied textures. The picture quality is AMAZING. This is my first HDTV, so I may not be the most qualified judge, but watching even familiar content I've previously seen in standard def is like watching for the first time, in HD. The wi-fi set up was quick and simple and works well. I suppose Netflix content automatically loads in HD (if available) so loading netflix movies via Wi-Fi can take up to 3min on 802.11g from about 20'. HULUPlus content, while still HD (again, when available) loads considerably faster. I have not tried the wired Ethernet port yet, so it stands to be an improvement. Sometimes apps get stuck at loading screens, but they work normally after going back and reloading. I haven't played around with too many of the apps yet, but most of them seem pretty useless. The Pandora app has yet to function for me, but my girlfriend gets it to work for her. I don't know if I'm missing some vital info, but i can't seem to remove any apps I'm not using, so be careful of what you add to your app collection. The speakers are adequate at best, get a home theater to complement the great picture. The PIP and POP also work well, except for when using the TV as a PC monitor (but that's mentioned in the manual.) This TV is worth every penny of the $998 I paid for it. ALSO, pick it up in store if it's available. Don't wait 2-3 weeks for shipping to the store like I did. It's worth a short road trip.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 15 for VIZIO XVT423SV 42" Class LCD 240 Hz HDTV SPS, Full-Array TruLED w/ Smart Dimming & VIZIO Internet Apps
03/28/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very nice tv. Recommend it to anyone. The only problem I had with it is when I first turned on tv it has an initial set up of tv. It sat there telling me to put batteries in remote which I did(batteris supplied and new ones I had) and the remote would not work. Very frustraiting! It came down to me programming my dish(universal) remote for the tv to get past that first part of the set up then the tv searched for the TV remote and found it. Remote worked immediatly after that. Other than that very happy with it so far. Recommend gettint the Vizio sound bar for it, sounds great with it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 16 for VIZIO XVT423SV 42" Class LCD 240 Hz HDTV SPS, Full-Array TruLED w/ Smart Dimming & VIZIO Internet Apps
03/29/2011
By ,
NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Wow, what a great picture. Free shipping took longer than the estimate... almost 3 weeks.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 17 for VIZIO XVT423SV 42" Class LCD 240 Hz HDTV SPS, Full-Array TruLED w/ Smart Dimming & VIZIO Internet Apps

Excellent picture

04/11/2011
By ,
Brick, NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have Direct TV and upgraded my service to high definition and the picture I get is beautiful. It is very close to 3-D. The TV was very easy to set up and the wifi connection was straight forward. The sound isn't terrific but I installed the Vizio 5.1 Surround Sound Home Theatre with wireless subwoofer and it is like sitting in a movie theatre.
The TV also has PIP but I found out you need a two wire connection to take advantage of that feature. I haven't investigated how to go about that with my supplier but I think you need an additional cable box and if that is the case I'll do without it.
The TV has a feature that keeps the commercial volume down which is a real plus. No more lowering the volume every time a commercial comes on.
Before buying this set I read all the reviews and everybody was more than satisfied with this product. I bought it on other buyers experience and I have to say so far it has lived up to the reviews.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+13points
Review 18 for VIZIO XVT423SV 42" Class LCD 240 Hz HDTV SPS, Full-Array TruLED w/ Smart Dimming & VIZIO Internet Apps
04/15/2011
By ,
Taft, Tx
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We are very pleased this this television. We saw it in the store on display but it was not available in any store. Read reviews online and knew this was the product for us. The television has more internet apps than we understand yet, but the quality of this TV is great.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 19 for VIZIO XVT423SV 42" Class LCD 240 Hz HDTV SPS, Full-Array TruLED w/ Smart Dimming & VIZIO Internet Apps

Great picyure

04/24/2011
By ,
Spartanburg,SC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Best picture I have seen in a LCD, in HD and non-HD. Set-up is easy and except for no backlight, the remote is simple to use and works all my components.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-1point
Review 20 for VIZIO XVT423SV 42" Class LCD 240 Hz HDTV SPS, Full-Array TruLED w/ Smart Dimming & VIZIO Internet Apps

When it works, it's great. VIZIO Cust SVC BAD

04/30/2011
By ,
Portland, OR
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
First, and I'm sorry to say this, I would NOT buy this product again or accept a replacement. When I got the thing in Mar 2010 it worked great out of the box. Then Vizio did a "midnight" upgrade to my software and it's been downhill ever since. First they thought is was my remote, they "required" I email a photocopy of my receipt, charged me $59.95 to send a replacement remote (after two additional phone calls), replacement did not fix the problem, had to send it back and only after they received the remote would they credit my account for the $59.95. Sorry, that's not right.
Now the TV will not always work. It can take 2-3 on/off attempts for it to boot-up and work and most times after not booting-up the remote will not work. Sometimes the screen is clogged with vertical lines. If the "Interenet" does not register, there's NO WAY to do it manually, there's a menu item to login manually, but it NEVER works.
Vizio Customer Service has been really difficult to work with. Now I am required to email them pictures of the pixelated screen before they will send a repair person and/or a replacement unit.
Thankfully, WalMart has a way around all this. Within 90 days they will give me a full refund and even have a shipping company come and take it away.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
1-20 of 21 total reviews
1 2 Next