Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Vizio VIZIO 42" Class LCD 1080p HDTV 120Hz, E420VL

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Vizio VIZIO 42" Class LCD 1080p HDTV 120Hz, E420VL

ENERGY STAR ® Products that are ENERGY STAR-qualified prevent greenhouse gas emissions by meeting strict energy efficiency guidelines set by the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency and the U.S. Department of Energy. The ENERGY STAR name and marks are registered marks owned by the U.S. government, as part of their energy efficiency and environmental activities.
Average Customer Rating:
4.534 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(322 Reviews) 272
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
242
4 stars
46
3 stars
11
2 stars
10
1 star
13
Customer Recommendation90%291 out of 322reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
242
4 stars
46
3 stars
11
2 stars
10
1 star
13
Customer Reviews
Review 21 for VIZIO 42" Class LCD 1080p HDTV 120Hz, E420VL

Excellent TV

11/17/2010
By ,
Morgantown, WV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My first HDTV, could not be more satisfied. My biggest must was that the TV work well with a PC and this model is a champ, Crysis looks amazing on this screen. The "supported computer resolutions" spec seems non existent on other TVs in this price range, I didn't want to risk having any issues.
One of the coolest features is the Picture in Picture, where you select another input to have in PIP. So I can have Windows open surfing the web/playing games and have a PIP with whatever TV i'm watching. Its pretty darn cool, you can make the pip a small box in the corner or split the screen so both show equally (PC on one side TV on the other), and even select with input you want sound from.
I shopped for a HDTV that would do everything I wanted at a price I was willing to pay for 3 years and finally found this one. Ordered for pickup late Monday evening, picked up Tuesday after work with no issues. There may be better TVs out there, but not at this price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 22 for VIZIO 42" Class LCD 1080p HDTV 120Hz, E420VL

awsome tv for the $

09/24/2010
By ,
middleton Wi
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my second lcd tv and the Quick channel change,Being able to go to any source rather than one at a time threw the list of sources. Blacks are very black,the colors are very vivid the picture is very lifelike.there are several picture presets that you can adjust to your liking. Very many features are not listed.there is a good amount of bass and the 5 band eq helps.i actually watch without my surround sound all the time.except for movies and concerts..cant say enough.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Review 23 for VIZIO 42" Class LCD 1080p HDTV 120Hz, E420VL

Terriffic HDTV for Dummies and priced right too!

12/26/2010
By ,
Byron, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my second purchase of a HDTV. The first was not a Vizio and was only 20". Features that convinced me to buy the Vizio E420VL 42" TV were numerous, and the price was reasonable as well. Some of those features are: 1080p, 120 Hz refresh rate, progressive scan, and multiple and various inputs. There is a Composite input (red, blue, green), an RGB input (for computer), a usb input (on the side for easy connection), an A/V input, and three of the newer HDMI inputs for more up to date components (which we do not have yet). All of the inputs we have tried so far worked flawlessly. Playing pictures from a USB drive with files is relatively easy -- just connect the usb drive and follow the menus on the screen to navigate thru the pictures or see a slideshow. Another feature we like is the easily accessible switches behind the left side of the TV for basic functions so if the remote is temporarily misplaced, one can still watch a little tv.
I was actually shocked at how good this TV's picture was right out of the box with only a normal Cable TV input. We do not have a cable box. I was expecting to have to purchase an HD package, but that may not be necessary now! Even our older DVD player produces a very clear picture (its progressive scan option was turned on after being connected to the TV via its composite outputs). Regular DVD's are really very clear, and I'll bet the HDMI of Blue Ray will be exceptional.
I must say that the sound is pretty good for such small speakers (at least they are on the front). But we were able to vastly improve the sound by changing the audio output of the TV from fixed to variable and routing the signal using the analog audio outs into our stereo system (there is also digital output). This variable out gives the TV remote the ability to simultaneously control the volume and mute for both the TV speakers and our stereo system speakers.
I'm really pleased with this TV and would recommend it to anyone. We had a limited space for installation, and the listed dimensions were accurate so we were able to get the most picture for the space we have. Every feature of the TV we have tried has worked flawlessly right out of the box -- no problems. Set up was also fast an easy. This is a great 42" TV!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+10points
Review 24 for VIZIO 42" Class LCD 1080p HDTV 120Hz, E420VL

Nice

07/06/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was my first Hight Def Tv also. I took alittle time finding a tv with great picture and sound, but mostly picture. Couln't find anything I didn't like, about the Visio 42inch. My Movies, and gaming experience are what i expected them to look like. Great tv, great price!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+8points
Review 25 for VIZIO 42" Class LCD 1080p HDTV 120Hz, E420VL

A "keeper"

03/03/2011
By ,
Colorado
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We were thrilled to find such a great quality of picture for the value with the Vizio brand. We started our upgrade from 2 old "tube" TV's to Hd flat screens very modestly with a 26" Vizio Razor to fit in a slot on our bookcase in the living room, and a Vizio 37" LCD 1080/60 for our fairly small den - and then the upgrading really took off. In short, we have now settled on this 42" LCD 1080/120 for the living room and are awaiting shipment of a 42" Vizio Razor LED-LCD 1080/120 for the den. The 42" size is big and fabulous for our fairly small rooms. All of these Vizio models were great - but we found the 120Hz really did make a difference in the quality and clarity of the picture over the 60Hz at a very minimal price increase. And even though it's a bit higher in price, we know the LED on the Razor will be crisper still. We now would recommend getting the largest screen, with the highest pixels and refresh rate you can afford - and believe you can't go wrong with Vizio. This model is definitely a "keeper". Fabulous picture at an affordable price! Also - cheaper ordered online with free site-to-store shipping, which is great if you can wait a week for your TV.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 26 for VIZIO 42" Class LCD 1080p HDTV 120Hz, E420VL
09/08/2010
By ,
Stoneboro, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This TV is by far the nicest TV I have ever owned. The picture is just about perfect, even when compared with Sam sung, LG, Sony or Panasonic TV's. The back light that it uses provides great detail in colors, in all areas of the screen. The only thing that should prevent you from buying this, is if you do not have an HD source, even though it still looks great with Standard definition material. There are so many picture settings and options that it would be impossible to not be able to find one that satisfies you. The navigation with the remote is very handy, due to an easy to understand interface. One thing that makes the viewing of this TV even better, is a quality HDMI cable.
I play video games most of the time that is in the day, haha. This TV has been nothing but amazing for playing games. I've used an Xbox 360, and my PS3 on it, and am not disappointed a bit.
I promise that with all of the technology that this TV offers, it would be hard to find a better one for under $1000. If you are hesitant about buying this, there is no reason to be. This Vizio is beyond most people expectations.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 27 for VIZIO 42" Class LCD 1080p HDTV 120Hz, E420VL

value but

08/30/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
only has room for one opt video equip or wii. we had to leave off our dvd player to hook wii into it.
but can switch to it if get to backof tv. this is very lite tv one person can carry it .
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+6points
Review 28 for VIZIO 42" Class LCD 1080p HDTV 120Hz, E420VL

ViZIO 42" LCD

03/27/2011
By ,
Anza,Ca
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I own one JVC DLP HD 64" an AOC 22" LCD HD as well as VIORE 24" LCD HD... our JVC DLP during the time we have owned it has cost us over $600
in BULB replacement and just lost the power supply instead of spending over$500 to have it repaired once again I found the VIZIO 42" while going through the WALMART Internet site it technically was what I was looking for and the price was well under some of the other major brands with a lower refresh rate and it was 1080p .. I had it delivered to the house and it arrived in just 4 days .. it worked quite well right out of the box and having only owned it for approximately two weeks I have had no problems .. THE picture quality was better then expected and so far it preforms
excellently.. I would recommend this set to anyone looking for an LCD set on a budget with as large a screen as possible for less money then several sets with less technical assets and smaller screen size... If it continues to preform as it has to-date I think it is an excellent purchase and would buy it again as well as recommend it to anyone on a tight budget.. what it lacks in options it makes up for in Picture quality,,,
Videogenie
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 29 for VIZIO 42" Class LCD 1080p HDTV 120Hz, E420VL

Great TV!!

02/06/2011
By ,
Twin Cities, MN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My older big screen TV failed and I wanted to watch the football games on something bigger than my other 32 inch LCD. I had no problem deciding on VIZIO because a friend of mine has this same 42" model and I was extremely impressed with the picture quality from blu-ray and his PS3. This is a bargain price for a TV like this. ____ Like others have said, turn off the SRS tru volume. Also change it to "home" mode from the "retail" mode. --- This also works great as a clone monitor for my computer. I love it!! Its a shame that cable TV is not true 1080p instead of 1080i but none the less the picture quality is excellent. My only real complaint is the remote control could bet better but that is a minor issue. There was a review here that said the VIZIO logo doesn't light. On my set is does and actually after you shut it off and it goes to orange it dims down after a few seconds. ++++ Overall I would recommend this TV.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 30 for VIZIO 42" Class LCD 1080p HDTV 120Hz, E420VL

Very disappointed !!

07/18/2010
By ,
Tampa, Fl.
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
My son bought this about two years ago. He is away at boot camp and we have used the set for about a month till one night the screen went black. After a call to Vizio they referred me to a local repair group in my area but it took them three days to get to me. The technician after awhile informed us what the problem was ( a bad power inverter) but could not give us a cost to repair or replace the part that would have to be sent as an estimate by email. After 5 days the estimate came in and including the service charge for the diagnosis the cost was just under $300. With new sets being advertised at $650 this is about half the cost of a new one. Need less to say there will be no repair and we feel that this item should be recalled after the similar reviews that I have read about the same TV. Will never buy a Vizio again and hope that you will learn from our mistake.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
-4points
Review 31 for VIZIO 42" Class LCD 1080p HDTV 120Hz, E420VL

Great picture, clunky remote.

01/02/2011
By ,
Louisville, KY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bought the Vizio TV 3 days ago. Was looking for something that was 1080p and 120hz and would not break the bank. This one was the answer. The picture quality is excellent even when watching SD content and mind-blowing with 1080i broadcast. This is our first HD tv. Audio through the built-in speakers is OK but works great routed through an old shelf unit that I have. Would be even better with a home theater system. My biggest complaint about the unit is in the remote. Many of the buttons on the remote make a very loud clicking sound when pressed. Also, there is no button to cycle through the four zoom modes as you can find on many TVs. This requires several button pushes and audible clicks to switch zoom modes when watching content that is not formatted to fit the TV (happens frequently in this time of transition). There is a button, however, that will cycle through the input sources. Lastly, there are four colored buttons on the remote that have absolutely no use at all. Even the manual says so. Overall, this TV was a great bargain and is great for our jump into the HD world.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 32 for VIZIO 42" Class LCD 1080p HDTV 120Hz, E420VL

hate it

03/03/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
2 weeks after the warranty went out so did the panel. called vizio and was informed there was nothing they could do. took it to a tv repair shop and was informed that they can not find the panel anywhere for the serial number of the tv. called vizio again and now all of a sudden they are willing to see what they can do. really people
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 33 for VIZIO 42" Class LCD 1080p HDTV 120Hz, E420VL

Beats Competitors

11/21/2010
By ,
Iowa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Purchased a Sony 40 inch 60Hz LCD TV. Had it for 1 week and returned it back to the store. Picture was cloudy with halo around images, even with an HD Satellite receiver. I was very disappointed and was going to exchange it for a Samsung 40 inch 120Hz, although it was more money, I wanted to be sure I would get a TV that would produce better images.
Had my mind made up on the Samsung..UNTIL I saw the VIZIO 42 " 120Hz in action that was on display for a lot less money. I stood there for a few minutes comparing the 2 and I was totally blown away by the clarity and color of the VIZIO. It didn't take me long to change my mind sine it was 2 inches bigger and cost a lot less than the Samsung. I purchase it and once home I had it set up and running in less than 15 minutes.
My husband and 2 daughters were totally amazed at the vibrant picture and clarity compared to the Sony. My youngest daughter, who is now in college, asked; “Mom, can I take this back to college with me"? Momma said; Fat chance! LOL! She also made the comment that the images look like they could walk right out of the TV (so life like). I am very pleased with my purchase and savings which I decided to purchase the extended 2 year warranty for just $65.00. What a bargain!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 34 for VIZIO 42" Class LCD 1080p HDTV 120Hz, E420VL

Great Television

04/11/2011
By ,
OAKLAND TENNESSEE
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We purchased two (2) of these for our new home in July of 2010. This is a great buy as the price has dropped about $100 dollars. These are great televisions and if needed I would purchase a third just like the ones we have. You will not be disapointed and at the current pricing it is a steal. We have had no problems and do not expect to have any. Great buy and great service from Wal-Mart.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 35 for VIZIO 42" Class LCD 1080p HDTV 120Hz, E420VL

AMAZING HANDS DOWN A++++

01/07/2011
By ,
Mt. Laurel, NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I literally have been searching for a 42inch LCD TV for over a year, tons of research and reading customer reviews. I actually went into Walmart to buy the Vizio LCD LED tv but soon changed my mind. This LCD tv was right below the LED tv and there was really NO difference in the quality of the picture, I think the picture on this one was even better than the LED. Beautiful VIVID colors,the sound is perfect, easy navigation thru menus. I have an xbox, blue ray DVD and HD cable box hooked up to the HD inputs. OMG, everything is amazing on this!!! 3 siblings, and I got the electronic gene from dad.
I am in my late 30's and am a huge electronic junkie.
This TV is worth every penny....Such a great price too!!
I even save $100 buying this one compared to the LED with no difference in picture!
Oh and the tv is SOOO light!!!!
Again, hands down a superb TV!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 36 for VIZIO 42" Class LCD 1080p HDTV 120Hz, E420VL

Sounds off...

11/23/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Okay so if you decide to watch tv late at night or like your tv loew while you sleep youre going to hear a loud buzzing sound. Thats the only issue I have with this tv. Its great and great looking, but that drives me nuts.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 37 for VIZIO 42" Class LCD 1080p HDTV 120Hz, E420VL

Vizio 42"

03/10/2011
By ,
El Paso, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this tv a few days ago simply for the price and features. Read all the reviews and decided on this one. Pictures great, the options are better. And as usual the speakers on these flat screens are lacking. But a surround will help greatly. Speakers are good enough to watch tv shows, just not for movies. No problems with the set up. Bought a cordova stand to go with it. I recommend this stand for your vizio. Clean and an easy set up. I also bought the vizio sound stick but I found it was lacking, so I returned it and plan on buying the vizio with the 4 speaker combo. Alll in all, this tv is your best bet.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 38 for VIZIO 42" Class LCD 1080p HDTV 120Hz, E420VL

this tv is beyond my expectations

11/28/2010
By ,
florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My old tv died and i needed to join the 21st century. Been doing a lot of online research, came down to this and a samsung 1080 120hz. the picture with this and the samsung were identical.The 150 buck price difference was just too much. Pulled the trigger on the Vizio. This tv is just amazing. Football in high def is insane, movies are unbelievable, and im happy as a kid in a candy store. The sound on this tv is very acceptable, on a sound system even better. if you are on a budget and want a great tv, pull the trigger, you will not be dissapointed.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
+1point
Review 39 for VIZIO 42" Class LCD 1080p HDTV 120Hz, E420VL

Wow-great product

04/18/2011
By ,
Jamestow Ca.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have never bought anything on-line before and I ws very suspicious about the product (Vizio). I am disabled and I am not savy to the electronic world.I ordered the product on the 26th of March and it arrived on the 29th.I called my service provider to install the TV at a cost of 49$. The TV works great,the pcture is outsanding. I had heard negative things about the sound quality but found it to be good. However I didpurchase the sound Bar for the Vizio and now the sound is great.Everything said it was a great buy and I am more than pleased.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 40 for VIZIO 42" Class LCD 1080p HDTV 120Hz, E420VL

dissapointed

08/31/2010
By ,
mesa, az
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
My problem with this tv is the motion. I was expecting perfect non-blur motion with this 120hz tv but I found it to be its biggest problem!! The picture quality is outstanding and it is very 3D like in a way i've never seen before. But i'm going to return it because when there is motion this tv does not handle it well at all. I do not recommend.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Picture Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
21-40 of 273 total reviews
Previous 1 2 3 4 5  ...  14 Next