Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Vizio VIZIO 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV , E420VO

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Vizio VIZIO 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV , E420VO

ENERGY STAR ® Products that are ENERGY STAR-qualified prevent greenhouse gas emissions by meeting strict energy efficiency guidelines set by the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency and the U.S. Department of Energy. The ENERGY STAR name and marks are registered marks owned by the U.S. government, as part of their energy efficiency and environmental activities.
Average Customer Rating:
4.351 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(168 Reviews) 142
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
115
4 stars
26
3 stars
9
2 stars
7
1 star
11
Customer Recommendation86%144 out of 168reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
115
4 stars
26
3 stars
9
2 stars
7
1 star
11
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for VIZIO 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV , E420VO

Doesn't work less than 30 days from purchase

10/06/2010
By ,
Dallas, TX
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
And VIZIO customer service is a timely matter! After sitting on hold for 30 minutes waiting to hear a human voice, they wanted me to take pictures of the VIZIO logo and the screen with the messed up picture. I had to email those in to them, then they took 2 days to contact me to agree that the TV had a problem! Ya think? Have blown another 1-1/2 hours tonight while they reviewed the claim again, then informed me the service that will deliver the replacement set and pick up this one will contact me within 5-7 days to set up a time. I can hardly wait to hear that they don't work on Saturdays so that I have to take time off work to wait on them. For a set that had such great reviews on this site I am extremely disappointed. Hopefully their replacement set will have a better shelf life.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 2 for VIZIO 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV , E420VO

Perfect for my Condo

04/20/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The ease of buying - site to store. I ordered the TV here in NY to be delivered to Walmart in South Carolina. Was easy as 1-2-3. Quick pick up at the store and quick plug in for a great picture.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 3 for VIZIO 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV , E420VO

Best LCD For The Price!

09/03/2010
By ,
Tulsa, OK
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I did a lot of research before buying an LCD TV. I call Sony, Samsung, and Vizio asking questions about their warranty coverage and so forth. When I got to the store, I was going to get the Sony '40 but the picture wasn't as good as the others. Samsung had the best picture, but it's also has the most problems than any other brand. The Sony was on sale for $628 and then went back to $699, but when I went to the store the price was still $628, so if you find a TV that's in the store be sure to call and see if the prices match. I took a chance with the Vizio and I was more impressed than I thought I would be. If something goes wrong, Vizio doen't send you a refurbished TV, but one that someone returned to the store. Vizio's do contain some Sony parts due to the fact that their TV's are made by AmTran and Foxconn which are companies that make LCD and Plasma TV's for other companies as well(Sony, LG, etc...).
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+56points
Review 4 for VIZIO 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV , E420VO

Great TV, Great Price

07/21/2010
By ,
WI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I originally purchased the 40" Element TV and ended up returning it for this one. The picture quality is better, the picture seems much more stable, and the connections are easier to get to. I would like a single button control on the remote to switch between modes, or better yet, an auto-mode would be good. All that aside I am extremely happy with this set. Vizio made a believer out of me. A solid set for a very reasonable price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+89points
Review 5 for VIZIO 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV , E420VO

I'm very happy.

09/24/2010
By ,
Shelbina, MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been reading reviews on LCD's for about 2 weeks. The reviews scared me. The issue of 60hz versus 120hz refresh rate made me think I would not be happy with the 60hz LCD. It may not be quite as clear, but it is not bad. Also, consistent unfavorable reviews for the sound quality scared me. I think the sound is more than adequate. In fact it is very good. The picture on this thing is awesome. It exceeds my expectations and I would buy again.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+30points
Review 6 for VIZIO 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV , E420VO

awesome tv

07/05/2010
By ,
englewood fl
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this tv on fri the 1st It took me about thirty minues to hook up the other stuff i had like dvd dish network and my surround sound it is a brite clear picture easy to adjust i almost bought one at sears that was rated high on consumer reports and it only had 50,000 to one ratio and this one has 100,000 and the picture clearness is awesume i was happy with he price i would recomend it i hear no buzzing noise like the other reveiw maybe it was the connnection i used a hdmi cable worked great love it!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+22points
Review 7 for VIZIO 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV , E420VO

Cant beat the price

08/17/2010
By ,
Farmington Hills, MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Weve had vizio tvs for years and never had any problems, so when this went on sale for 548 we swooped it up and it works great. Picture looks great and there is no delay in switching channels like some of the other tvs. I would highly recommend it. Weve had it for a few weeks now and no probelms at all.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+20points
Review 8 for VIZIO 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV , E420VO

Great TV, Good Price

12/07/2010
By ,
Huntsville, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this TV just a coupe weeks ago and love it. It's got many features and easy access to the connectors/inputs. Remote has many buttons for quick access and the TV is easy to set up. Picture quality is superb and I've had no issues with sound quality or the "low buzz" many people have complained about. This is a great TV & a good price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+11points
Review 9 for VIZIO 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV , E420VO

Great Value

12/03/2010
By ,
Northeast, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a vendor that does a lot of business with bars/pubs. 90% of all my customers have Vizio TV's in their establishments.....most of the time they will have 5+ TV's. This is one of the main selling points for me to choose Vizio. Some of these people NEVER turn their TV's off. They will run 24 hours a day for many weeks of the year. I rarely hear any negatives about Vizio TV's from these people......but let's face it, there's no such thing as a perfect manufacturer.
We got a great deal on this 42" TV for $498. I paid over $1100 for my 42" Philips 3 years ago. I do experience the 'buzzing' from the Vizio's speakers, which I believe has to do with some sort of interference from the screen because it gets worse with a bright picture. You can only hear it if you're standing within a couple of feet of the TV and only if the volume is low (normal volume drowns out the buzz). The sound quality is not 'outstanding', just OK, but I've never seen a flat panel TV with great sound from it's built-in speakers...regardless of brand/price. A good surround sound solves a lot of sound quality issues.
The picture is outstanding with a little tweaking here and there. Mine is connected to a HD satellite receiver via a HDMI cable and most HD channels are about as good as I've seen even compared to higher end brands. 2 thumbs up, here.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+9points
Review 10 for VIZIO 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV , E420VO

Great TV

12/17/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The quality of picture and sound are fantastic. I ordered this product online and it arrived on my doorstep in 3 days instead of the expected 1-1 1/2 weeks. Setup was a breeze. I contacted Direct TV to get the Vizio remote programmed with Direct TV's remote, also a breeze.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+7points
Review 11 for VIZIO 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV , E420VO

Great picture......"OK" sound!

12/04/2010
By ,
Nashville
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Overall, for the price of this tv, it's a good deal. Obviously, you get what you pay for. The picture is great however the sound is "tinny". It gets better if you change the sound settings to "Rock" or other setting. As in other reviews, there is a low level "buzzing" that is noticeable at volumes 14 and below. For a large room, you'll likely have it set above 20 and it won't be noticeable. I did turn the internal speakers off and used my surround sound and the sound was PERFECT. Most likely, the internal speakers are cheap but again, if there were better speakers, I'm sure the tv would be more money. Unless you are in a quiet room with the volume low, you probably won't notice the buzzing. My recommendation would be to connect to a surround sound system. Problem solved!! In summary, for the money....it's a good tv. Picture is awesome!! Sound is "ok"!! I'm going to keep this tv and just use my surround sound, which is ultimately the BEST setup anyway!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 12 for VIZIO 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV , E420VO

Buzzing in Speakers

10/27/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall this is a wonderful tv with good size and quality for the price. The downside of this is (and you can google about it) the television produces a very loud buzzing noise at volume 1 or higher. You can turn the set up to about 20 to 'drown' out the buzz but for night watching or a bedroom set it can be a bit annoying. The audio from the tv is great at higher volume but the buzz can be very frustrating at lower levels.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+8points
Review 13 for VIZIO 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV , E420VO

Great Buy

02/03/2011
By ,
Arizona
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this as my second TV. Was very impressed at it's quality. Some of the reviews talk about a buzz coming from the speakers. That is because they hooked up the dvd player incorrectly. Switching the video cable to the correct input will fix that.
This will happen on any TV if the DVD player is hooked up incorrectly.
The sound is very good. Very easy to set up.
Very light in weight too.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Review 14 for VIZIO 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV , E420VO

Exceeds expectations

10/25/2010
By ,
Johns Creek, Ga
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I looked TVs for a year before buying. I am very picky about my electronics... This TV is amazing, especially for the price. Vizio TVs beat out almost all the competition. The Aquos TVs are better, but the cost is 4 times more and they arent THAT much better.
That said, the sound is pretty flat. No matter, I dont use the internal speakers. Spend some of the money your saved on a good surround sound system.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+7points
Review 15 for VIZIO 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV , E420VO

Problems with Audio

09/27/2010
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Purchased and installed this TV and noticed a buzzing noise from the speakers. Called Vizio and described the problem. Vizio suggested several things to try to eliminate the buzzing. -nothing worked.
Called Dish Network out to check HD receiver and connections. Problem is with the TV.
Called Vizio again and they said there is an isolated problem with a circuit board in the TV and they will replace the board in 7 to 10 days.
Took the TV back to Walmart and exchanged for another 42" Vizio. SAME buzzing noise from 2nd TV.
Vizio refused to replace the TV with a model that does not have the circuit board problem.
Not a good experiance with Vizio.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 16 for VIZIO 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV , E420VO

Great TV for the money!

12/06/2010
By ,
Michigan
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We bought this TV because we didn't want to spend more than $500. This TV is worth every penny. There is little to no glare in our living room, and we have a very large windown and a smaller one, no noticeable glare! Sound could be better, but it is not bad at all. Big recommendation: use componet cables! Do not use the bottom of the barrell cables, it will make a huge difference (with any tv). We used our standard cables from our old TV (the huge old TV's that they dont make anymore) and it didn't look that great. We bought HDTV componet cables and HUGE difference! Overall, GREAT tv for the money!! Very happy with it!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 17 for VIZIO 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV , E420VO

We LOVE this TV!!

09/15/2010
By ,
Frankfort, KY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We shopped around a lot before purchasing this TV, and we are very happy with our decision! The picture quality is great and this is a fabulous value! We highly recommend this television to anyone who wants a good TV at a great price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every day
+6points
Review 18 for VIZIO 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV , E420VO

Happy with Visio HD

12/01/2010
By ,
Antioch, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm totally enamored of my Visio 42" HD flat screen TV. The picture is amazing. I watch a lot of sports and it's like being there ... so clear and big!
The only slight complaint is it seems to take a long time for the HDMI connection to handshake with my satellite dish. Probably no more than 10 seconds but it seems like forever compared to non-HD sat. TV which connects immediately.
I would heartily recommend this TV to anyone.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 19 for VIZIO 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV , E420VO

Nice TV for the $$ but.....

06/28/2010
By ,
Billerica, MA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I bought this TV about 1 1/2 weeks ago. TV has nice appearance, was easy to set up and has a great picture. From day 1 I have noticed if the volumn is low you can hear a constant sort of buzzing sound. This is the first Vizio we have ever purchased. I think I'm going to return it for another and see what happens with that one. The only reason I chose NO as a recommendation is because we want to see what happens with a replacement of the same TV. If all is OK with the replacement, I will post another review. We also purchased a stand (online from Walmart). We haven't had a chance to even take it out of the box yet. We'll see how the TV adjusts to the stand (or vice versa) which has a mount that we plan to use.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Review 20 for VIZIO 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV , E420VO

Good TV for the price.

10/11/2010
By ,
Columbus Ohio
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
When compared to other 42" TVs, I thought it was above average for the sale price. I purchased this one for my elderly father-in-law. He seldom expresses much enthusiasm for anything but a good free dinner. After using it a while, I asked him how he liked the new TV. In his words,"Wow that thing is wonderful!"
If I have any minor complaints, it would be the layout and print size on the remote control and the owners manual. I work with electronic equipment but still found a few things to be confusing. For example: setting your desired default screen width format and getting it to always default to that setting, was problematic. Likewise, my father-in-law has some hearing issues and often uses the closed caption feature. The menu selection for "closed caption" has an "off " but no simple"on." One has to select CC1, CC2, etc. That would not be a problem if the manual offered a decent explanation of that feature. Also, I was surprised that a coax cable to connect the set to the cable connector on the wall was not included.
Over all, I would recommend the set. It has a good picture and better than average sound.
DB
Columbus Ohio
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
1-20 of 143 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  8 Next