Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Briggs & Stratton Brute by Briggs & Stratton 22" 3-N-1 Front Wheel Drive Gas Lawn Mower

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Briggs & Stratton Brute by Briggs & Stratton 22" 3-N-1 Front Wheel Drive Gas Lawn Mower

This new and improved Brute 22" self-powered lawn mower has user-friendly features to make taking care of your yard easy. It offers a Briggs & Stratton ReadyStart engine for easy no prime, no choke starting and a new mower deck for great cutting performance.
Average Customer Rating:
3.448 out of 5
3.4
 out of 
5
(58 Reviews) 57
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
23
4 stars
13
3 stars
2
2 stars
7
1 star
13
Customer Recommendation62%36 out of 58reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
23
4 stars
13
3 stars
2
2 stars
7
1 star
13
Customer Reviews
Review 41 for Brute by Briggs & Stratton 22" 3-N-1 Front Wheel Drive Gas Lawn Mower

A good mower at a good price

07/05/2010
By ,
Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this mower a month ago after doing plenty of research and review reading on other similar models. This mower has features that other brands charge much more for, and in reality is almost identical to many out there. Out of the box it has worked great and I have had no problems with it. I followed the instructions for set up to the letter and it never fails to start on the first pull and seems to be holding up well. Time will tell of course, but for under $300 it is a really good mower.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+7points
Review 42 for Brute by Briggs & Stratton 22" 3-N-1 Front Wheel Drive Gas Lawn Mower

First Off, It's a BRUTE!

06/10/2010
By ,
Richmond, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have probably been through more than a dozen mowers in my forty years of mowing, and consider myself something of a mowing aficionado. There's nothing I enjoy more than mowing the lawn on a late Summer evening.
This mower is well named, because it is a BRUTE! It does require some manhandling, but it's super powerful and gives a nice clean cut while mulching, even with the stock blade. Personally, I think anyone who bags or side discharges with this mower is really missing its best feature as a mulching mower. One down side, though, is that the side discharge door doesn't seem to clamp down hard enough to keep some grass from getting stuck under it. I think a couple of well placed pieces of duct tape should fix that problem ;-)
Otherwise I haven't noticed any of the wheel problems or anything else that others have mentioned, and plan to take better care of this mower to keep it around for a while like changing the oil to synthetic and adding a Gator Mulching Blade.
All in all, a super value!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 43 for Brute by Briggs & Stratton 22" 3-N-1 Front Wheel Drive Gas Lawn Mower

Very Nice Lawn Mower

06/21/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have had a Brute Lawn Mower before I bought this one. I had no problem with my old one. I bought the Brute Self-propelled one because I have a hurt back and pushing the old one hurt my back when I push it. I bought this on June 19,2011 and tried it for the first time that day. It was easy to set up it take about 10 to 15 min. to put it together. The self-propelled was awesome on it. After cutting my grass my back hurt but not like when I used my old one. I had my old Brute Lawn Mower for 7 years and had on problem with. I hope this one does the same and I think it will. The engine is big and the front wheel drive is good. I have no problem now cutting grass.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
0points
Review 44 for Brute by Briggs & Stratton 22" 3-N-1 Front Wheel Drive Gas Lawn Mower

Fantastic mower

08/20/2011
By ,
Central New York State Okay... Cortland, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have had this lawn mower for almost two years. It has been great and starts the first time every time except when I don't have gas in it. The only complaint is that Walmart needs to stock the parts for this lawn mower. The 22" Brute blades that are sold at walmart are not correct. They seem to be made to go on a lawn mower with a different connection on the shaft and they are sharpened on the back side. The other thing I can't seem to find at Walmart is the drive belts for this lawn mower. I love the lawn mower, but I wish Walmart would stock the parts for the lawn mowers they sell. The lawn mower is well worth the price I paid. I would buy another Brute 675 if I need another push lawn mower.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 45 for Brute by Briggs & Stratton 22" 3-N-1 Front Wheel Drive Gas Lawn Mower

Works great

07/09/2010
By ,
Missouri Ozarks
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Works great so far.
Has plenty of power. By adjusting to highest cutting level I was able to mow dense 3 feet tall weeds and grass. I have not used bagger.
Mowing speed is just right for me and my wife, not too fast or too slow.
I am 68 years old and I have NEVER experienced an easier starting rope start mower. No reason anyone should ever need an electric starter.
I have a riding mower that is temporarily out of service so we got this one to fill in. It works great and complements the rider in tight places where the larger mower does not fit.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+9points
Review 46 for Brute by Briggs & Stratton 22" 3-N-1 Front Wheel Drive Gas Lawn Mower

Great Value

07/13/2010
By ,
North Las Vegas, NV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just moved to Las Vegas and renting a house that actually has grass in the backyard. Didn't want to spend much for a mower since the yard is so small. Went to the Wal-Mart @ W Craig & Clayton and this model was marked down to $140 (all of them brandnew). It starts easy and cuts good. Bagging works well if you only clip up to an inch off the grass, otherwise it cloggs pretty quickly. None of the wheels are cracked like others have mentioned. I don't like FWD, but for the price, you can't beat it. At another Wal-Mart it was still $270...so go figure. I also got the 1 year additional warranty plan for about $10...what a bargain.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+4points
Review 47 for Brute by Briggs & Stratton 22" 3-N-1 Front Wheel Drive Gas Lawn Mower

Soo Far Soo Good

07/12/2010
By ,
Hertford, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have used the mower twice and it works fine. It starts easily and the grass bag works very well. It is a good value for the money and the 22ins. is a plus.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Review 48 for Brute by Briggs & Stratton 22" 3-N-1 Front Wheel Drive Gas Lawn Mower

Good mower

05/09/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great mower alot better than the lawnboy i had for the last 3yrs...great power and very easy to start...how ever the walk rate of the selfpropel is a little slow.....But it is a great mower !!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Review 49 for Brute by Briggs & Stratton 22" 3-N-1 Front Wheel Drive Gas Lawn Mower

awesome product

05/11/2010
By ,
shreveport LA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This machine works really well. Very happy with it so far
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Review 50 for Brute by Briggs & Stratton 22" 3-N-1 Front Wheel Drive Gas Lawn Mower

great mower

04/06/2010
By ,
Pensacola,FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Best mower I have ever owned. Plenty of power starts with half a pull. Who ever designed this mower has cut grass.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+28points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
DC
Disappointed
Posted 08/30/2011
I got the mower at a good price, but stuff breaks too often too soon. Wheel cover fell off one day and the drive cable snapped another. What's next? I should have paid more for a good mower.
0points
Customer Avatar
OH
Poorly Engineered Wheels
Posted 08/07/2011
Two months ago our new push mower was stolen. We replaced it with this Brute model from Wal-mart. The second time we mowed with it, the plastic wheel broke into pieces at the hub (as another poster mentioned). The company replaced it but it took 2 weeks to get the new wheel... Mowed with it the second time today on the new wheel....the opposite side wheel broke in exactly the same way, so we're down again. We replaced the rear wheels with the wheels from the old mower we had to replace this year (which were an exact fit). Not 10 minutes into mowing on the new wheels (which had operated perfectly for 3 seasons for us till now), the make-do wheel broke off at the central hub in exactly the same way.
The mower starts easily, runs beautifully...but the wheels are definitely poorly engineered.
Now anyone know where I can find a couple of goats :)
+1point
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 51 for Brute by Briggs & Stratton 22" 3-N-1 Front Wheel Drive Gas Lawn Mower

Great mower!

05/19/2010
By ,
Frederick, Md
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Without a doubt, a great mower. Followed the instructions, setup was a breeze, started on the VERY first pull. I had grass well over 2 feet tall, the mower didn't even slow down. Mowed nearly 2 acres of high grass and hills in under 2 hours. HIGHLY reccommend you get this. Bargain for the money.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+3points
Review 52 for Brute by Briggs & Stratton 22" 3-N-1 Front Wheel Drive Gas Lawn Mower

great product

07/03/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
apart from nice features, I bought this lawn mower because it was made in North America, I'm Canadian and when I shop I look for products made in North or South America.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
-1point
Review 53 for Brute by Briggs & Stratton 22" 3-N-1 Front Wheel Drive Gas Lawn Mower

Starts very easy

05/29/2010
By ,
South Carolina
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was a gift to our son. He told us that the mower starts very easily and works very well.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 54 for Brute by Briggs & Stratton 22" 3-N-1 Front Wheel Drive Gas Lawn Mower

Love this product

05/29/2010
By ,
Chuluota, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a wonderful mower. It was easy to put together and use. My grass was quite tall as my old mower broke and it took me a few weeks to get a new one. This mower cut it like it was nothing. When I finished I was not nearly as hot and tired as I usually am. It almost makes cutting the grass fun.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Review 55 for Brute by Briggs & Stratton 22" 3-N-1 Front Wheel Drive Gas Lawn Mower

Meets Expectations

04/15/2010
By ,
Kankakee, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this product today. It was actually $260 at my local walmart. The box had everything in it, and the directions for setting it up were very simple. I also used it today. It worked very well. I had a lot of places in my yard where the grass was very thick and long and the mower had no problems going right through it. The self propel was very nice. First time buying a lawn mower and so far i've had no issues with it...
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+3points
Review 56 for Brute by Briggs & Stratton 22" 3-N-1 Front Wheel Drive Gas Lawn Mower

self powered mower

05/30/2010
By ,
Pennsylvania
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I like how this lawn mower starts right up when pulling the cord, and not having to prime it . Works great, I would recommend it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Review 57 for Brute by Briggs & Stratton 22" 3-N-1 Front Wheel Drive Gas Lawn Mower

very happy

06/11/2011
By ,
gainesville ga
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I baught this lawn mower a week ago i love it. great power easy to use . it is a solid machine. and good value for the dollar. i have to say it is heavy to push when not using the self propelle .
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
0points
Ratings-Only Reviews for Brute by Briggs & Stratton 22" 3-N-1 Front Wheel Drive Gas Lawn Mower
Based on 1 ratings-only review
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
41-58 of 58 total reviews