Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Briggs & Stratton Brute by Briggs & Stratton 22" 3-N-1 Front Wheel Drive Gas Lawn Mower

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Briggs & Stratton Brute by Briggs & Stratton 22" 3-N-1 Front Wheel Drive Gas Lawn Mower

This new and improved Brute 22" self-powered lawn mower has user-friendly features to make taking care of your yard easy. It offers a Briggs & Stratton ReadyStart engine for easy no prime, no choke starting and a new mower deck for great cutting performance.
Average Customer Rating:
3.448 out of 5
3.4
 out of 
5
(58 Reviews) 57
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
23
4 stars
13
3 stars
2
2 stars
7
1 star
13
Customer Recommendation62%36 out of 58reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
23
4 stars
13
3 stars
2
2 stars
7
1 star
13
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Brute by Briggs & Stratton 22" 3-N-1 Front Wheel Drive Gas Lawn Mower

Love this Mower

08/15/2011
By ,
Athol, MA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this mower. It's easily the nicest one I've ever owned. It's actually not brand new but rather a year old model that was sold to me for $35 because the owner hit a big rock and wrecked the engine. I replaced the engine with the same type, except this one doesn't have ReadyStart, it uses a Primer (I'm fine with that). Being a Biggs Quantum all of the parts I needed, even the Brute engine cover swapped over, so you'd never know. Starts first pull every time.
I like the 3-in-1 feature. I use the mulcher usually because it works excellent, leaves no visible clippings, and is good for the lawn. I do use the bagger from time to time in the back yard to get leaves and stuff up. Bagger works great too. It all stays in the bag.
I usually push the mower because its good exercise, and FWD doesn't work as well on a mower since all of the weight is on the rear wheels. Still I use it from time to time when turning in a tight spot and I can't get behind the mower, so I step aside and let it power itself out. The ig wheels help with maneuverability.
I love the way this thing looks. It's long, low and sleek, and the big wheels look nice on it, as does the black paint and yellow accents....very cool looking.
If I have one complaint, its the wash-out port for the deck. It works great, but is located very close to the engine so if its still hot be careful, and it's a little tricky getting the hose to thread in due to clearance with the fuel tank. I would have liked it to be located further away from the engine. With that said, its a minor complaint and still a great feature. Make sure to use it!
I'd like to offer a few tips to mower owners: Wash your deck out regularly, as this keeps grass from building up under the deck. Not only can grass buildup reduce the mower's performance, but if left there will rust, and eventually rot out the deck. When storing your mower for the season, in addition to performing season maintenance like oil and spark plug changes, use an Ethanol fuel stabilizer to prevent the fuel from separating and gelling. This can lead to starting problems. Gasoline can go bad in as little as 30 days if unused.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Review 2 for Brute by Briggs & Stratton 22" 3-N-1 Front Wheel Drive Gas Lawn Mower

Disappointing

07/05/2010
By ,
Tinley Park, IL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I was initially very excited to purchase this mower after reading many positive reviews however we got a lemon. Set up was easy but it took over 40 tries to get the mower started. I called their help line to inquire about this problem and got a computer generated answering machine with no real solution to the problem. There was no way to contact a human being via phone unless of course I went to their website, but I didn't have a computer handy at the time. After waiting about an hour my husband finally got it started. Everything sounded good, we liked the powerful motor and it cut the grass very well. After about 3 rows of cutting the mower died on us and began leaking gasoline. We let the gas pour into a jar, packed up the mower and took it back to Wal-Mart for a refund. The store refunded our money with no problems but I don't think I will buy another mower from Wal-mart. You get what you pay for and we got a piece of junk. Hope Briggs and Stratton improve their customer service help line
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+10points
Review 3 for Brute by Briggs & Stratton 22" 3-N-1 Front Wheel Drive Gas Lawn Mower

Great value for the price paid!

04/09/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I just got this mower today after doing tons of research on mowers from HD, Lowes, Walmart, etc. This mower was in stock at my local store, so I was able to pick it up right away. I checked to make sure the wheels were all intact before leaving as I had read that was a common complaint. Mower was ready to go in 10 minutes, started up great, and ran no problems! Our lawn was quite long, approx 18-20 inches some places, and it powered through without any difficulty. Self propelled worked wonderfully, didn't feel like I was doing any actual lawn work. Only downside was we have a couple slight hills/slants in our yard and since it is front wheel drive, it didn't help a ton there, but still wasn't an issue. I don't forsee having any problems mowing this summer, even being up to 9 months pregnant. Now I can't wait for my daughter to get up so we can go play on our nice lawn and not have to pretend we're hiking through the jungle anymore!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+7points
Review 4 for Brute by Briggs & Stratton 22" 3-N-1 Front Wheel Drive Gas Lawn Mower

So far,, Great

04/14/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Have cut over 1 1/2 acres with it 4 times now.
I have been using it as a side discharge.
It has done very well. The deck seems to "breath good" there are no clogging problems even in taller
grass. The blade is of very good quality, seems to hold an edge very well. I did file and stone it when it was new.
This is the first self propelled mower I have owned.
Very happy with it. Would say that the pace it keeps is in the 2 1/2 - 3 mile an hour range, very comfortable walking pace.
Along the road in front of my house there is a steep hill, it will pull itself right up it. If it does slip, just a little upward pressure on the handle puts enough weight on the drive wheels to get it going. Otherwise, it pulls very good.
The local store had this mower for $260 like I said, I am very happy with it.
I have not tried the bagging option as of yet, probably wont. It chops the clippings well enough I leave them on the lawn.
The "wash out port" does not get all the clippings from under the deck, it comes close, but still have to raise it up and use the hose nozzle.
This is the reason I did not give it 5 stars in the overall rating.
It seems to run about an hour and a half on a full tank of fuel. Starts very easily, even when it has ran for a while.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
+127points
Review 5 for Brute by Briggs & Stratton 22" 3-N-1 Front Wheel Drive Gas Lawn Mower

Disappointed...

05/09/2010
By ,
Colorado
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I bought this mower late last season and probably had used it for 4 weeks last year. The mower started on the first pull this spring and runs great. However, half way through the first mowing this year, it looked like the rear wheel was not tracking right. Upon inspection, each spoke of the plastic wheel has started to crack at the hub. The other rear wheel has fractures beginning as well. Brute really needs to fix this problem. Now I have a mower that runs great, sitting in my garage while I try to find replacement wheels.
Save yourself the headache and skip this mower until the problem is fixed.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:A few times per month
+58points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Roanoke, TX
Agree
Posted 04/01/2012
I have the same problem. Are there no available replacement wheels?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 6 for Brute by Briggs & Stratton 22" 3-N-1 Front Wheel Drive Gas Lawn Mower

So Close, Yet...

05/05/2010
By ,
Farmers Branch, TX
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
First, let me say that if I was only rating the engine and cutting power, I'd be giving it a 5 star out of the box. One pull and it cranks with no priming. Went through some amazingly tall and thick grass, only bogging down once or twice. Kudos to Briggs & Stratton for that.
However, after only five strips of grass under my belt, only in service for a few minutes, I pivoted the mower around to go back the other direction and the back wheel came off. I thought it might just have been loose, but a closer inspection saw the PLASTIC wheel was in pieces! (I was amazed to find another testimony on here about the same thing.)
I have a huge peeve right now about companies, in general, overusing plastic on parts that should be metal or some other sturdier material. Having had wheels come off my rolling garbage container, I am putting wheels in that category.
Still, being too lazy and not wanting to return it, I called their customer service number and told them that if they sent me TWO wheels, one to fix this and one as a backup for the future, I would keep it. They did that without hesitation. I guess customer service would get kudos on that front.
The other strange thing is the self-propel feature. Engaging it seems simple and straightforward, but I can't figure out how to disengage it. I tried releasing the blade lever, like my Craftsman does, and it doesn't do that. It will disengage itself in the middle of a mowing strip, all on its own. I might have to actually <gasp> read the manual, but it seems it should be more intuitive than that.
Until they change the wheel design or get better, I can't recommend it. However, if you buy it and don't experience this problem, I think you'll love it. The setup is intuitive and very quick. I had it out and mowing in only a few minutes, hooking everything up with only a glance or two at the manual. It is truly a monster at getting the grass cut, too.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+62points
Review 7 for Brute by Briggs & Stratton 22" 3-N-1 Front Wheel Drive Gas Lawn Mower

First Off, It's a BRUTE!

06/10/2010
By ,
Richmond, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have probably been through more than a dozen mowers in my forty years of mowing, and consider myself something of a mowing aficionado. There's nothing I enjoy more than mowing the lawn on a late Summer evening.
This mower is well named, because it is a BRUTE! It does require some manhandling, but it's super powerful and gives a nice clean cut while mulching, even with the stock blade. Personally, I think anyone who bags or side discharges with this mower is really missing its best feature as a mulching mower. One down side, though, is that the side discharge door doesn't seem to clamp down hard enough to keep some grass from getting stuck under it. I think a couple of well placed pieces of duct tape should fix that problem ;-)
Otherwise I haven't noticed any of the wheel problems or anything else that others have mentioned, and plan to take better care of this mower to keep it around for a while like changing the oil to synthetic and adding a Gator Mulching Blade.
All in all, a super value!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 8 for Brute by Briggs & Stratton 22" 3-N-1 Front Wheel Drive Gas Lawn Mower

Disappointed but satisfied

06/24/2010
By ,
Lake Wales, FL
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ordered this mower on line on June 11, 2010 and it was delivered on June 16. Set up was quick and easy, however, I noticed the back wheel was wobbling while cutting grass. Checking it out I found the wheel was cracked in three places. I saw a review stating they had the same problem. I don't know if it is a defective design or was damaged in transit. Called the Briggs and Stratton customer service number listed on the mower on 6/17 and was told a new wheel would be sent via UPS and they apologized for the inconvenience. Received the new wheel on 6/23. Mower works great, starts on first pull, self propelled pace is right.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+10points
Review 9 for Brute by Briggs & Stratton 22" 3-N-1 Front Wheel Drive Gas Lawn Mower

A good mower at a good price

07/05/2010
By ,
Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this mower a month ago after doing plenty of research and review reading on other similar models. This mower has features that other brands charge much more for, and in reality is almost identical to many out there. Out of the box it has worked great and I have had no problems with it. I followed the instructions for set up to the letter and it never fails to start on the first pull and seems to be holding up well. Time will tell of course, but for under $300 it is a really good mower.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+7points
Review 10 for Brute by Briggs & Stratton 22" 3-N-1 Front Wheel Drive Gas Lawn Mower

Works great

07/09/2010
By ,
Missouri Ozarks
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Works great so far.
Has plenty of power. By adjusting to highest cutting level I was able to mow dense 3 feet tall weeds and grass. I have not used bagger.
Mowing speed is just right for me and my wife, not too fast or too slow.
I am 68 years old and I have NEVER experienced an easier starting rope start mower. No reason anyone should ever need an electric starter.
I have a riding mower that is temporarily out of service so we got this one to fill in. It works great and complements the rider in tight places where the larger mower does not fit.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+9points
Review 11 for Brute by Briggs & Stratton 22" 3-N-1 Front Wheel Drive Gas Lawn Mower

great mower

04/06/2010
By ,
Pensacola,FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Best mower I have ever owned. Plenty of power starts with half a pull. Who ever designed this mower has cut grass.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+28points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
DC
Disappointed
Posted 08/30/2011
I got the mower at a good price, but stuff breaks too often too soon. Wheel cover fell off one day and the drive cable snapped another. What's next? I should have paid more for a good mower.
0points
Customer Avatar
OH
Poorly Engineered Wheels
Posted 08/07/2011
Two months ago our new push mower was stolen. We replaced it with this Brute model from Wal-mart. The second time we mowed with it, the plastic wheel broke into pieces at the hub (as another poster mentioned). The company replaced it but it took 2 weeks to get the new wheel... Mowed with it the second time today on the new wheel....the opposite side wheel broke in exactly the same way, so we're down again. We replaced the rear wheels with the wheels from the old mower we had to replace this year (which were an exact fit). Not 10 minutes into mowing on the new wheels (which had operated perfectly for 3 seasons for us till now), the make-do wheel broke off at the central hub in exactly the same way.
The mower starts easily, runs beautifully...but the wheels are definitely poorly engineered.
Now anyone know where I can find a couple of goats :)
+1point
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 12 for Brute by Briggs & Stratton 22" 3-N-1 Front Wheel Drive Gas Lawn Mower

very powerful mower

07/02/2010
By ,
sturgis south dakota
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Purchased this mower because of the 190cc engine it exceeded my expectation as it easily cut through grass of 18 inches with no struggle at all .
the only thing that I found to be a problem is its plastic wheels
make sure you check the box before bringing it home . Mine had a broken wheel in the box .
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+7points
Review 13 for Brute by Briggs & Stratton 22" 3-N-1 Front Wheel Drive Gas Lawn Mower

Great mower

04/29/2010
By ,
Belleville IL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Just bought this and used today. This mower was very easy to set up and use. I had been using a mower on our lawn that mulched but it still left a lot of grass lying on top of the lawn.
This mower with its bagging - the lawn looks like the pro's did it!
So far - so good!!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+7points
Review 14 for Brute by Briggs & Stratton 22" 3-N-1 Front Wheel Drive Gas Lawn Mower

Blade Replacement

06/07/2010
By ,
Cortland, NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
While mowing the lawn, I hit a hidden tree stump. It bent the blade in a 90 degree angle down. That isn't the problem. The problem is finding that blade replacement. I Checked several places where the lawn mower is sold at and others as well, and found a blade lablled Brute 22" 3 in 1 blade. I went home and put it on and found that the blade sharpened edge is on the back side of the blade when installed the way the original one was. The shaft fitting is suppose to wedge in the groove to prevent spinning on the shaft. If it was installed that way the blade would be upside down. The problem is that the replacement blade is not easily found. I haven't found it yet. It would be nice if replacement parts could be purchased locally. The lawn mower is great and does a fabulous job. I would just like to locate the blades within a 30 mile radius. I do recommend the lawn mower.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Texas
Same problem
Posted 05/26/2011
Bent the blade and went back to Walmart and bought a new The Brute blade and it only mounted upside down !!! so had to buy the universal.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 15 for Brute by Briggs & Stratton 22" 3-N-1 Front Wheel Drive Gas Lawn Mower

Great Value

07/13/2010
By ,
North Las Vegas, NV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just moved to Las Vegas and renting a house that actually has grass in the backyard. Didn't want to spend much for a mower since the yard is so small. Went to the Wal-Mart @ W Craig & Clayton and this model was marked down to $140 (all of them brandnew). It starts easy and cuts good. Bagging works well if you only clip up to an inch off the grass, otherwise it cloggs pretty quickly. None of the wheels are cracked like others have mentioned. I don't like FWD, but for the price, you can't beat it. At another Wal-Mart it was still $270...so go figure. I also got the 1 year additional warranty plan for about $10...what a bargain.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+4points
Review 16 for Brute by Briggs & Stratton 22" 3-N-1 Front Wheel Drive Gas Lawn Mower

Works Great!!!

06/07/2010
By ,
Oregon Coast
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great mower and a great value! Starts first pull and never bogs even in tall wet grass. The big rear wheels are a must for rough terrain. I've had a couple of Sears Craftsman self powered mowers and this out performs them and was less money! Excellent value!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per month
+3points
Review 17 for Brute by Briggs & Stratton 22" 3-N-1 Front Wheel Drive Gas Lawn Mower

Disappointed

06/22/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I gave this mower one star because of the quality of the wheels. When we pulled the mower out of the box to put it together we noticed that a piece of one of the back wheels was chipped off. It was a small piece so we went ahead and assembled it and decided to use it but while mowing the wheel started cracking in multiple places. We knew it would not hold up so we called our local Walmart and they said that they would replace the wheel for us. We went up to the store and they were going to take off one of the wheels on the floor model for us to have. We noticed that both wheels on the floor model were also cracked so we decided to return the mower instead of trying to find a good wheel. The mower mowed great the one time we used it but obviously the plastic they used for the wheels does not hold up.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Review 18 for Brute by Briggs & Stratton 22" 3-N-1 Front Wheel Drive Gas Lawn Mower

poorly constructed

06/18/2010
By ,
Deptford, NJ
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this lawn mower on walmart.com. when it arrived the back wheels where cracked and broken. I did not realize that the wheels where made of light weight plastic. I was able to return mower to my local Walmart, but discovered the same lawn mower had been returned by other customers because of the light weight plastic wheels. The wheels were unsteady and not durable. However there was another Briggs & Stratton that was $100 more but worth it(the $350 one). I have had mower for about a month, no proble,s and I love it!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+3points
Review 19 for Brute by Briggs & Stratton 22" 3-N-1 Front Wheel Drive Gas Lawn Mower

Meets Expectations

04/15/2010
By ,
Kankakee, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this product today. It was actually $260 at my local walmart. The box had everything in it, and the directions for setting it up were very simple. I also used it today. It worked very well. I had a lot of places in my yard where the grass was very thick and long and the mower had no problems going right through it. The self propel was very nice. First time buying a lawn mower and so far i've had no issues with it...
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+3points
Review 20 for Brute by Briggs & Stratton 22" 3-N-1 Front Wheel Drive Gas Lawn Mower

Great mower!

05/19/2010
By ,
Frederick, Md
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Without a doubt, a great mower. Followed the instructions, setup was a breeze, started on the VERY first pull. I had grass well over 2 feet tall, the mower didn't even slow down. Mowed nearly 2 acres of high grass and hills in under 2 hours. HIGHLY reccommend you get this. Bargain for the money.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+3points
1-20 of 58 total reviews
1 2 3 Next