Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Cerave CeraVe Hydrating Cleanser 12oz

Cerave CeraVe Hydrating Cleanser 12oz

CeraVe Hydrating Cleanser, 12 oz works to help keep skin smooth and blemish-free. Its formula is designed to clear your pores and hydrate your skin to keep it healthy. This CeraVe facial cleanser can also be used to treat and help prevent acne.
Average Customer Rating:
4.524 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(21 Reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
16
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
1
Customer Recommendation90%19 out of 21reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 9 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
16
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
1
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for CeraVe Hydrating Cleanser 12oz

cleanser

12/02/2012
By ,
Columbus, OH
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have extremely dry skin and have been using Cerave Cream and Lotion for a few years. I use the cream in the winter and lotion in the summer. I decided to try out the cleanser because my winter skin is just so dry. I haven't noticed a huge difference, if I keep using it, it will just be for the winter months when it's so dry! I typically use aveeno, dove or olay body wash - I am used to having a lather when I clean myself. This does not produce a lather, so it's a bit different that I'm used to! If you have been using CeraVe products I feel like you'll know what to expect. If you're looking to start using this name brand - I'd use the lotion or cream first to see if it's what you need!
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for CeraVe Hydrating Cleanser 12oz

Love Love Love It!!!

01/26/2012
By ,
Indiana, Pennsylvania
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I take skincare very seriously! I have spent thousands of $$$ over the years on skincare. I am 54. I saw on 'Beutypedia' Paula Begoun #The Cosmetic Cop# gave the CeraVe Cleansers a good review so I decided to try it. The Hydrating cleanser is the most amazing cleanser I have ever used! I loved it so much I went back to Walmart #with CeraVe coupons in tow# to purchase the PM Lotion. I used it last night before bed and when I woke up I was SURE I was wearing someone else's face! I even did an experiment on one hand with cleanser and lotion to see if it really made a diff. WOW! The only concern I have is the absence of antioxidants which I easily remedied by using an Antioxidant rich serum along with my retinoid under the PM Lotion in the evening, and in the Morning I use the Antioxidant serum under the CeraVe AM Lotion. I love this so much I am buying CeraVe for my daughter who is 24 and fighting acne and dry skin. You must try this!! For the price it is worth trying so you can see for yourself! It is amazing how soft and wonderful your skin feels after using this! After all these years I have finally found my HG for skincare! Who would have thought it was affordable??? :)
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+30points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for CeraVe Hydrating Cleanser 12oz

My skin thanks me =D

08/31/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have very dry skin, and I honestly can't say when this happened (I used to have combination skin), but due to some self-education that I decided to undertake on the subject of skin care, I didn't realize how bad it was until very recently. I had been using Purpose Gentle Facial Cleanser, but even it left my face feeling very tight and uncomfortable all over. So I was on the search for a nice, mild cleanser that wouldn't leave my face feeling so stretched. After some reading, I learned that people with dry/very dry skin shouldn't use cleansers that produce a lather. In the long run I decided on CeraVe Hydrating. Today, after my first use, I could tell a slight difference. I had to use a second time around early evening because sunscreen that I applied earlier was stinging my eyes.
Third time's a charm: My bedtime use..... Ladies & Gents...I seriously have no way of conveying to you how much more comfortable my face is in such a short amount of time. I don't think there's ever been a time when I washed my face and not walked away from the sink with that stretched, taut feeling. Except for today!! My skin is so soft and dewy. My cheeks aren't as pink as usual. No sensitivity issues such as burning or itching. It seems like my tone is a bit more even, though this could simply be a subliminal trick my eyes are playing on me. As long as they keep making this stuff, I will keep repurchasing! No. Questions. Asked.
Unfortunately, as of this review, I can't speak for its makeup removal abilities. I know this is important to a lot of people, but for me, this is really a non-issue. If it doesn't, for me it's okay. The benefits of using this product far outweigh the slight inconvenience of having to break out a makeup removal towelette. Also, I don't wear makeup every single day, so its removal wasn't a factor in my decision. When (and if) possible, I will edit this review with my makeup removal experience with this product.
Finally, anyone else on the hunt for a non-foamy cleanser that's used to foamy cleansers: You will have to change your method of application. I've used lather cleansers for so long (since I was a little one) that the first two times I used CeraVe Hydrating, I pumped some out and immediately put my hands together, trying to work up a lather. Just a habit that I'm sure I won't have long. I hope this review is helpful to others in search of a product for their thirsty skin :)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for CeraVe Hydrating Cleanser 12oz
02/19/2013
By ,
Henderson, NV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product is amazing! I have never had a day where my skin was completely clear. I have been using this product and the moisturizers for three months and my skin is clear. It is also so soft. I wish I had discovered this product years ago. I am wearing less make-up and sometimes no make- up at all which is a first. I have very oily skin and would have to carry blotting papers everywhere. I no longer do that. It is worth trying.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for CeraVe Hydrating Cleanser 12oz

This was also recomended by our dermatologist

07/15/2011
By ,
Parlin, NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Babies skin was getting too dry from the Baby washes and shampoo. Needed something that would not damage the protectant layer of the skin from chemicals. This cleanser worked our perfectly and very soft and delicate on a babies skin. Would definitly recomend.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for CeraVe Hydrating Cleanser 12oz

Great Product

08/13/2010
By ,
Athens,OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This face wash is the best invention out there for people with sensitive skin. It cleans while it treats. l love this product!
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for CeraVe Hydrating Cleanser 12oz

Good for dry skin

05/12/2014
By ,
Anderson, SC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I normally use Eucerin redness relief cleanser but its hard to find in the area I live so decided I would try Cerave instead. Cerave doesn't remove my makeup as well as Eucerin but I noticed my face did fell a little softer after washing my face. I will continue using Cerave in the mornings until I use it up but I probably will not repurchase. I would still recommend it to anyone with dry skin.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Effectiveness
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Female
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for CeraVe Hydrating Cleanser 12oz

Really hydrates your skin

06/29/2014
By ,
United States
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
As a person with dry skin, I was desperately looking for a cleanser that would do as it promises. I've used other cleansers and exfoliators that guarantees soft moisturized skin but although they have really amazing reviews, my skin would be dry a few minutes later. Because of this, I was very skeptical to try out new products as I believed none would ever work for me but I went ahead and did it since others had promised a much more smoother skin and I wanted to see it for myself.
At first, I was very uncomfortable; this product has a lotion-like texture and it's kind of weird at first when you're used to the sud other cleansers have. Not only that but it felt like it was burning but it could also be because of how dry my skin was at first. This has happened to me before with other products but it goes away eventually. It happened for 2 days (I only clean my first at night) then at the 3rd day, it went away. My skin actually didn't become soft until after the 2nd day.
After using this, my skin is now the softest it has been (without overusing moisturizers or any oils which barely helped me) and it wouldn't have without this product. I'd highly recommend this to anyone who has dry-very dry skin. It cost a little more than other drugstore products but I'd rather spend more for one product that works that pay twice as much for products that won't work.
And for those who'd like to try the product the same way I did:
I used this product once a day, massaging into my skin for a minute, gently wiping it off with a wet face towel while exfoliating, splash some water again, then dry and top it off with nice moisturizer.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for CeraVe Hydrating Cleanser 12oz

Awesome cleanser

01/20/2014
By ,
Akron,OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great cleanser; your face feels refreshed, clean & moisturized- immediately
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for CeraVe Hydrating Cleanser 12oz

Gentle cleansing for sensitive skin

07/30/2013
By ,
Deepintheheartof,TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I read about this product in a magazine so I decided to try it. I have oily sensitive skin and it's hard for me to find a facial wash that will not dry out my face or make my skin shiny and tight in a bad way. After using this once I have never had to look for anything else. It's a little pricey but it goes a long way and is good for your skin.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for CeraVe Hydrating Cleanser 12oz

Great product

01/07/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this proudct . I use it everyday for the last six years . Great on dry skin
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for CeraVe Hydrating Cleanser 12oz

Stung my eyes

02/19/2014
By ,
MS
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I was using ceraVe Foaming Cleanser and loved it.When I went to Walmart to re buy the cleanser,Walmart didn't have it.I ended buying the Hydrating Cleanser instead and when I wash my face it felt burning sensation I let go.keep washing product burned my skin around my eyes.I have red dots around my eyes.I now brought the Foaming facial cleanser use it with my Clinique moisturizer.
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for CeraVe Hydrating Cleanser 12oz

Higher quality Cetaphil

08/08/2013
By ,
SPARKS, NV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
More effective than Cetaphil but is double the price. A small amount is all you need. Derm recommended my hubby use this instead of bath soap as he has eczema. very gentle & odorless
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for CeraVe Hydrating Cleanser 12oz

Good price for product.

05/06/2013
By ,
Farmville, ND
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
CeraVe is more expensive than many products, but it is what my dermatologist recommended for dry skin. He specifically stated the lotion, but I began to use others as well.
To Walmart staff: Question below should read: How long have you owned OR USED this product?
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for CeraVe Hydrating Cleanser 12oz

Who knew?

01/20/2012
By ,
Louisiana
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My dermatologist recommended this facial wash for use before applying my prescription acne medication. I must say this is a nice facial wash. It's easy to apply and doesn't have a fragrance. I use this in conjunction with the Cera Ve PM moisturizer and now my skin looks great.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for CeraVe Hydrating Cleanser 12oz
04/01/2013
By ,
Oxford, AL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Cleanses well and leaves your skin soft
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for CeraVe Hydrating Cleanser 12oz

Rx by My Dermatologist!

11/25/2012
By ,
Paradise
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have only used it a few times and already I can feel the difference!
Great Product!
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for CeraVe Hydrating Cleanser 12oz

Dermatologist Recommended

03/04/2011
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This cleanser was Dermatologist recommended for dry skin. It cleans good but nothing special about it. My pores are still clogged.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for CeraVe Hydrating Cleanser 12oz

Good price and product

01/15/2014
By ,
Sherman Oaks, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love this. It's a staple.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for CeraVe Hydrating Cleanser 12oz

helped signifinately helped my exema

09/24/2013
By ,
corpus christi
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
you have to use it consistently and frequently. It does not have an odor and rubs in readily.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 21 total reviews
1 2 Next